Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

O.T.B 2.1

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

LyndaMcL wrote: »
    I fell over again, wahey. Fell head-first into a door this time, and have a lovely lump just above my forehead and feel super dizzy.
    Have you gone to a doctor about it? It could be an inner-ear problem, or something effecting you in this way. (I had similar stuff with 'Dizzy spells' caused by an endocrine problem)
    Jebus, I should be shot with balls of my own sh!te for forgetting that one! :rolleyes: 1982 IIRC and one of my favourite sci-fi/horror movies. Wilford Brimley was alright in it too.
    I had to read that twice, as first time I read it as "I should be shot in the balls with my own sh!te"... :D
    Great movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Have you gone to a doctor about it? It could be an inner-ear problem, or something effecting you in this way. (I had similar stuff with 'Dizzy spells' caused by an endocrine problem).

Nope, never even considered it. I only get dizzy in the mornings for a few minutes. I just fall over a lot because I'm clumsy. :pac: I had so many health problems in the past that I'm sure the hospital would have picked up on it if it were something medical causing it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Don't over-estimate the doctors and nurses. While they may do a great job, they can easily overlook something if they're simply not looking for it. I'm only alive today because of my dad's insistence that I go and get something checked out that I'd been to the doctor about before and they'd found nothing wrong the first time. Luckily saw a different doctor that time, and he had seen someone with the rare condition that I'd developed, and put the wheels in motion.

Anyway, this is bordering on medical advice, which isn't allowed, but I'd say get them to take a look if you can. It could be as simple as a slight imbalance in your body chemistry.

Don't over-estimate the doctors and nurses. While they may do a great job, they can easily overlook something if they're simply not looking for it. I'm only alive today because of my dad's insistence that I go and get something checked out that I'd been to the doctor about before and they'd found nothing wrong the first time. Luckily saw a different doctor that time, and he had seen someone with the rare condition that I'd developed, and put the wheels in motion.

Jesus. :eek: I'm glad you're alive, fair play to your dad for insisting you get checked out. :eek:

I have to go to the doctor in the morning for something so I might say it to her. My mam is always giving out to me over it because I'm usually covered in bruises. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

It could be as simple as a slight imbalance in your body chemistry.

Yeah she was full of vodka :p

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Which Tescos is that? I think some of them are 24 hour, except for bank holidays!
    And I know one that was 24 hour, and now closes at midnight. :( Found this out as I arrived there one night just as they were locking the door. :mad:

It was the Tescos in Lucan it is meant to be a 24 hour I get the feeling the staff locked the doors on the sly because all lights were on and a few cars in the car park which I can only assume were staff cars :mad:, as I was leaving another car pulled up so I hung on to see how that went your man doen the exact same thing I done walk up to the doors then stand there looking all confused for a minute then walk away :o.
    Big Trouble In Little China hands down, best Kurt Russell!
    Honourable (serious) mention to The Thing, and Escape From...

Im with yeh on that one Big Trouble in Little China is his best one love that film, and an honorbale mention since he dont make many films these days to Deathproof he was class in it.

It was the Tescos in Lucan it is meant to be a 24 hour I get the feeling the staff locked the doors on the sly because all lights were on and a few cars in the car park which I can only assume were staff cars :mad:, as I was leaving another car pulled up so I hung on to see how that went your man doen the exact same thing I done walk up to the doors then stand there looking all confused for a minute then walk away :o.

Should have gone to the Tesco out in my area, both of them were open 24 hours last night. :p Sure it was only miles out of your way. :p

Yeah she was full of vodka :p

I didn't drink last night! For once... :pac:

I may have a few glasses of wine with dinner this evening, though. :rolleyes:

Should have gone to the Tesco out in my area, both of them were open 24 hours last night. :p Sure it was only miles out of your way. :p

Fine for the tacos but dont think Ben N Jerrys would have survived that trip, the slice of buttered brown bread I had last night instead was so much better anyway :mad: no food in the house. Ill just have to make tacos today instead.

In other news Flight of the Navigator is just about to start on the syfy channel thats me not budging for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

In other news Flight of the Navigator is just about to start on the syfy channel thats me not budging for a while.

Another classic. You gotta love "Max" :pac:

Since you lot seem to know your movies, and I know feck all about films 'cause I never really watch many, give me some film suggestions, guys?

I'm gonna go buy some stuff today, because I need to expand my horizons, but I hardly ever watch tv/films, so I need suggestions! :)

Any genre bar horror ('cause I squeal and get scared at horror films. :pac: ).

gogogo :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

No budging for me, sleepless in seattle is on :D

Since you lot seem to know your movies, and I know feck all about films 'cause I never really watch many, give me some film suggestions, guys?

I'm gonna go buy some stuff today, because I need to expand my horizons, but I hardly ever watch tv/films, so I need suggestions! :)

Any genre bar horror ('cause I squeal and get scared at horror films. :pac: ).

gogogo :D

Narrow it down. What are you into? RomComs, comedy, thriller.... or would you watch a sh!te film if there's eye candy in it? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Lyssa

I have horrendous taste in movies so i'm keeping schtum! :D

Mylina wrote: »
    I have horrendous taste in movies so i'm keeping schtum! :D

Ah go on, give us a larf. :D

Narrow it down. What are you into? RomComs, comedy, thriller.... or would you watch a sh!te film if there's eye candy in it? :rolleyes:

Why do men always mention rom-coms and eye candy when women look for film suggestions? :pac:

Erm.... I love anything subtitled, anything quirky or 'unusual,' cult films, that sorta thing? I don't give a shíte about rom coms and I won't watch a shíte film just 'cause someone hot is in it, feck that! I also like violence in films. :pac:

Why do men always mention rom-coms and eye candy when women look for film suggestions? :pac:

Erm.... I love anything subtitled, anything quirky or 'unusual,' cult films, that sorta thing? I don't give a shíte about rom coms and I won't watch a shíte film just 'cause someone hot is in it, feck that! I also like violence in films. :pac:

Ah - you're a breath of fresh air!!!! :)

I watched Hard Candy recently. The girl from Juno is in it (can't remember her name) and it's not bad at all. Might be worth a look. If you're looking at classics, Goodfellas!!! Great movie and lots of violence! LOL The Hand That Rocks The Cradle is decent too, John DeLancie really isn;t in it long enough but Rebecca DeMornay plays psychotic REALLY well.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Studio Ghibli films (all of them!)

Machete
    Hobo with a Shotgun
    Starship Troopers

I've completely blanked randomly.

Ah - you're a breath of fresh air!!!! :)

I watched Hard Candy recently. The girl from Juno is in it (can't remember her name) and it's not bad at all. Might be worth a look. If you're looking at classics, Goodfellas!!! Great movie and lots of violence! LOL The Hand That Rocks The Cradle is decent too, John DeLancie really isn;t in it long enough but Rebecca DeMornay plays psychotic REALLY well.

haha, I'm not a typical woman, clearly. :pac:

I'm pretty sure I've seen Hard Candy while drunk a few years back, but might give it a shot again because I can't remember it. :pac:

I actually do want to see Goodfellas. :)

Never heard of any of the films Orim posted about, so I'll check 'em out. :)

Supertroopers
    Breakfast Club
    Goodfellas
    The Host
    Oldboy
    City of God
    Shaun of the Dead
    Inglorious Basterds
    Drive
    Plains,Trains and Automobiles
    Natural Born Killers
    Flame and Citron
    Platoon
    Running Man

there a few for starters I could go on for hours :o

Supertroopers
    Breakfast Club
    Goodfellas
    The Host
    Oldboy
    City of God
    Shaun of the Dead
    Inglorious Basterds
    Drive
    Natural Born Killers

We were talking about Supertroopers last night, weren't we? Or was that something else and I'm being stupid? :pac:

I looooooooooooove Inglorious Bastards, hated Shaun of the Dead. Will have a look for the rest.

Jesus, you're all giving loads of suggestions. I'll be going out with a DVD list the size of my arm. :pac:

haha, I'm not a typical woman, clearly. :pac:

Nah, we kinda knew that anyway! hehehe
    I'm pretty sure I've seen Hard Candy while drunk a few years back, but might give it a shot again because I can't remember it. :pac:

It's basically about a 14 year old girl who sets up a guy who stalks underage girls on internet sites. The whole movie is in his home. For a young one, she was a mental bitch.
    I actually do want to see Goodfellas. :)

Ah you can't go wrong! DeNiro, Pesci, Liotta - all amazing performances! And of course there's the legendary "how am I funny" scene! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Erm.... I love anything subtitled, anything quirky or 'unusual,' cult films, that sorta thing?

Safety Not Guaranteed

Or my all time favourite movie, Garden State.

I'm your man when it comes to quirky indie-ish movies :p

Supertroopers
    Breakfast Club
    Goodfellas
    The Host
    Oldboy
    City of God
    Shaun of the Dead
    Inglorious Basterds
    Drive
    Natural Born Killers
    Flame and Citron
    Platoon
    Running Man

Great selection there! Most of John Hughes' stuff from the 80's is decent enough. I love anything with Steve Martin in it too. Father of the Bride was funny I thought and Housesitter was brilliant!

I love garden state!

Watched troll hunter the other night, it was great! Norweigen for troll is troll.

Haven't seen anything much else new to me lately cause I've seen all the films!

We were talking about Supertroopers last night, weren't we? Or was that something else and I'm being stupid? :pac:

I looooooooooooove Inglorious Bastards, hated Shaun of the Dead. Will have a look for the rest.

Jesus, you're all giving loads of suggestions. I'll be going out with a DVD list the size of my arm. :pac:

Yeh I love Super Troopers brilliant comedy that could be described as a cult comedy since it didnt get a wide cinematic realease, also check out The Goods Live Hard Sell Hard some tasteless humour in it ;).

Oh and since ya never knew there was live action Turtles films check them out to :D.

I love garden state!

Watched troll hunter the other night, it was great! Norweigen for troll is troll.

Haven't seen anything much else new to me lately cause I've seen all the films!

Hans the Norwegian superhero :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Orim

Hard Candy is really good. Kind of disturbing though.

Right considering you haven't seen Goodfellas, I have more.

Scarface (With Al Pacino, although the 30s version is a classic as well)
    Casino (Similar cast and vibe as goodfellas but it's in Vegas)
    Mean Streets
    Taxi Driver
    Rounders
    Commando (Best Arnie film)
    Taken
    Pulp Fiction
    Trainspotting
    Go
    Clerks II
    Chasing Amy
    O Brother Where Art Thou?
    Big Lebowski

I think that may be enough.

Great selection there! Most of John Hughes' stuff from the 80's is decent enough. I love anything with Steve Martin in it too. Father of the Bride was funny I thought and Housesitter was brilliant!

Sprry for the triple post :o, but yeh big fan os Steve Martin love the Jerk. I like Father of the Bride myself but does that not count as a guilty pleasure? It is a bit of a chick flick after all.

Oh Hans, the things I would do for him if he would let me, like mend his cardigan.

I've taken Norway off my travel list anyway! Being a Christian and all :p