Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

QUICK!!!!

• 21-08-2011 9:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭

My neighbour is a pilot and is going to Russia tomorrow, where can I get this watch?

410658d1301066828-its-friday-so-what-russian-watch-your-wrist-amph-cccp.jpg

If I can't get that where can I get them in Russia. Are they common?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

That's a vintage model, made in the Soviet Union ...so finding it in today's Russia will be very difficult.
    Your neighbour won't be able to just walk into a shop and buy it.

You'd probably have more luck finding it on ebay at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

Is it still possible to get a Vostok Amphibian with the plain pilot dial?

With Vostok you get what's available at the time you're looking :D

Their supply is sketchy and haphazard and their site is very poor
    http://www.vostok-inc.com/index.php?do=col&lang=eng&group=amfiby&PHPSESSID=8g72ne5lcu04vd1b2b4q6cvfs0

other sellers of new amphibias include the shop you already know and also these:
    http://stores.ebay.com/zenitar-store
    http://www.meranom.com/

shops from inside the EU would be these
    http://www.m-watches.com/catalog/
    http://www.vostok-watches.com/

so basially you snoop around there long enough and you will find something you like ...hopefully it will also be in stock then :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Vernesash Market (famous street market) will have Russian wrist watches.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Vernesash Market (famous street market) will have Russian wrist watches.
    Do you mean the Vernisazh Market?

Yeah that's the one. Not sure how you would spell it in English.

peasant wrote: »
    With Vostok you get what's available at the time you're looking :D

Their supply is sketchy and haphazard and their site is very poor

so basially you snoop around there long enough and you will find something you like ...hopefully it will also be in stock then :D

Could it be any more stereotypical Russian :pac:

I've found out it's a Vostok Antimagnetic Amphibia, supposedly able to keep working after a nuclear strike! :)

"antimagnetic" just means that it has another metal cover between caseback and movement that supposedly shields the movement from becoming magnetised. A whole generation of Vostoks had that feature.

Luckily the nuclear strike resistance didn't have to be tested by anyone :D

I've put a bid on this one:

0_6413f_22758a3e_L.jpg

This will be my first collectors watch :rolleyes:

So, what strap should I use (Not a NATO)? I was thinking something like this:

http://www.watchworx.co.uk/pages/lwb/MilitaryPop/Hydro%20Waterproof.htm

or

http://www.watchworx.co.uk/pages/lwb/diverPop/dive3.html

or

http://www.watchworx.co.uk/pages/lwb/puPop/Sil-Tech.htm

What colour is the dial? Looks black but photography can be deceiving. Out of the three you posted I like the third best. Stitching looks well on leather straps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Watch looks great :)

Out of the three you posted I like the third best. Stitching looks well on leather straps.

I prefer the second strap, maybe I'm wrong but on the 3rd as the strap is made of silicone I presume it doesn't need stitching. So while ,like Bullseye, I like the stitching, I think it should be there for some reason.

What colour is the dial? Looks black but photography can be deceiving. Out of the three you posted I like the third best. Stitching looks well on leather straps.
    Third is my favourite atm. The dial is black (is the dial the "background"). The third strap isn't leather btw ;)

I'm not sure on the heritage of this watch. Is it a diving watch? Maybe a rubber strap or mesh is more appropriate. But if your going for the black casual look i would try and source a nice black leather with stitching.

AFAIK it's a "Military" watch if you know what I mean. Rarely issued. It supposedly will go down to 200m which is about 100 times deeper than I'll typically go. I don't want to go with normal leather as I want to use it in the water if possible.

Then rubber or mesh it is. Have you dived 100m? Impressive stuff. I like diving watches but have no experience LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Zagato

Looking at similar ones for sale, they all seem to have steel bracelets or rubber straps alright.

I quite like the strap that this very similar one (although much more beat up) is on, but bearing in mind your last post, maybe just go for a rubber strap

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Longford Leader

Peasant is the expert on Russian watches. It's interesting that both are located in Russia. Alot of these seem to come from Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Both the same as far as I can see.

The Vostok Amphibia was made for donkeys and still is. Accounts for the varying condition of the ones on ebay. I like the strap on the first.

Then rubber or mesh it is. Have you dived 100m? Impressive stuff. I like diving watches but have no experience LOL.
    Jaysus no! :D

Are these the same watch

Who is selling the real one. The second one seems dodgy.

Nope ..two different watches.

The first one is an Amphibia, automatic, 200 m waterproof

The second one is a Komandirskie, handy-windy, 20-30 m waterproof.

The first seller is an authorised Vostok dealer, the second one has good feedback and a good reputation (and the cheaper watches)

Both watches are brandnew

I've bid on a few more Vostoks incase I don't get it:

Currently at €9.06, free shipping and 5 hours to go. (Please don't bid on them :o)
    0_63e58_6c86e602_orig.jpg

€6.62 with free shipping, 3 days to go:
    0_64136_1e699323_orig.jpg

Then of course, there's the first one I put a bid on, 3 days left going for €8.01 with free shipping :D

0_6413e_714a81ef_L.jpg

heheh ...you're worse than me :D

You will end up with three watches for less than 30 quid. LOL

I was thinking, should I replace the last two bezels with one of these, or leave it original?

http://cgi.ebay.ie/BEZEL-VOSTOK-MILITARY-AUTO-AMPHIBIAN-WATCH-NEW-/120680451671?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item1c191d8e57

Leave the original. It's part of it's history.

That's what I was thinking. If one of them has a very bad bezel, but is pretty good elsewhere I might still.

Resist temptation to outbid mtb_kng :D

mtb_kng wrote: »
    I was thinking, should I replace the last two bezels with one of these, or leave it original?

The original bezel (on the bottom one) would have a lume dot at 12 (by now pretty likely a non-lume dot) ...the new ones don't have that any more.

Old bezels (in decent condition and with working lume) are actually more desirable than new ones (by people who take that sort of thing seriously)

peasant wrote: »
    The original bezel (on the bottom one) would have a lume dot at 12 (by now pretty likely a non-lume dot) ...the new ones don't have that any more.

Old bezels (in decent condition and with working lume) are actually more desirable than new ones (by people who take that sort of thing seriously)
    You really do know your stuff ;)

Get yourself over on watchuseek, in the Russian watches sub-forum, read a bit and ...one day, Grasshopper ....you will know just as much as me :D

(which is feck all really, in the grand scheme of things)

Been doing that actually, 45minutes left to go on this one:

0_63e5a_4deae2b4_orig.jpg

Still at €9.06 :D

Pretty beat up though...

Heading to eBay now. Nothing like a bit of snipping on a Friday night :D.

"Haigh! I'll shoot you with a shovel!" :pac:

LOL. Hope you get them mate.

I won :D

Grand total of €9.22.

I went to €9.20. To be beaten by two cents is sickening.

That's odd, I got it for €9.06 and the €0.16 was PayPal charges :P

Are all Vostoks 18mm?

the very large majority would be, yes
    The Amphibia ministry (the square-ish case) does have 20 mm lug width (or is it even 22?)

Anyone else think these go pretty well together?

http://www.watchworx.co.uk/pages/lwb/puPop/Tactical%202.htm

Nylon%20Watchstrap%201.jpg
    Black%20Nylon%20Watchstrap.jpg

Yes, they look pretty well.

However, my advice would be to wait until you get the watch and check it out, before you spend money on a strap.

Some of these cheap old watches do not warrant the expense (sadly) ...on e-bay and in that price and age range there is always the danger of buying a dud (or the watch getting the final coup de grace during transport)

I got this strap for $7.99 (€5.69) with free shipping so it was worth a punt :)

2357916_DSC01734.jpg

and the watch itself:

Brings me to a grand total of €14.91 inc. shipping :D

Here's a link to the strap: http://cgi.ebay.ie/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270809616872

My neighbour is a pilot and is going to Russia tomorrow, where can I get this watch?

410658d1301066828-its-friday-so-what-russian-watch-your-wrist-amph-cccp.jpg

If I can't get that where can I get them in Russia. Are they common?

My neighbour has gotten me one :P I'm going to have two now, but its supposed to be a surprise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,412 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Funny enough bought a strap for my old timex expedition last week
    proper timex strap, only slightly dearer than the non timex ones. Green mightn't suit your watch though

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/360324810239?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_947wt_952

Funny enough bought a strap for my old timex expedition last week
    proper timex strap, only slightly dearer than the non timex ones. Green mightn't suit your watch though

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/360324810239?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_947wt_952
    Only had €6.78 left in paypal after fatcheese paid up. Didn't want anything coming up on dad's visa (which he's forgotten I'd put on :pac:).

I got this strap for $7.99 (€5.69) with free shipping so it was worth a punt :)

2357916_DSC01734.jpg

Thats a timex expedition strap, or it looks like one :)

I'm still waiting on the post for my vostok :D

Neighbour did a pretty good job I think :D Strap is truely aweful. Perfect ending to my first day as a Mechanical Engineer in UL (Was offered a place at 6am today :D)

6104294368_89fba67e69_b.jpg

6104270258_a3eb9e2b4e_b.jpg

6104271012_6376b34428_b.jpg

Also, is it real? :confused: If it is, I'll be getting this for it:

http://www.watchworx.co.uk/pages/lwb/elitePop/TSS%20MotorSport.htm

Nice back plate on this.