Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

A few years ago i had a dog, little cross terrier (like one of these but darker). The gentlest dog ever. Got scared if a kitten came near him. He could sing along with the coronation street theme.

Anyway, he was given to me to mind because my brother had split up from his girlfriend and was moving into a flat. At first me and my mother just done what was necessary to look after him, walks, feed well etc not knowing how much a part of the household he was becoming.
    Few years on and my brother told us he wasnt going to be taking him back when he moved into a house. I think it was too tough for him taking him back from us because Rex was a reminder of his ex. I dunno, thats my spin on it.
    So we were delighted we didnt have to give him back, it meant i could call him my dog and all that.

Few more years passed with untold happiness as a pet owner.
    Every night we would check to make sure the side gate was closed, he never went out, just never wanted to explore the front of the house unless he was going for a walk. I jokingly said I'd make sure it was closed so no one would come in and get ripped apart by him where in truth any potential intruder would be licked to death.

The one night i get home late and go to bed before my mam gets in from work or whatever, i'm lying in bed all snuggly when the thought occurs, a thought that woke me from my sleep.. I hadnt closed the gate. I look at the time and know that if my mam was at home she would have done it.
    I get up the next morning and done the routine of filling a 5L bottle of water and picking up his food to bring out to him. When i went out he wasnt in his bed or under a line of trees i have at the bottom of the garden. I looked all around for him and nowhere to be found. Then it hit me.
    I was too scared to turn around and look up the side of the house but i had to; The gate was open.
    I wasn't driving at the time but had a moped, (dont laugh) and jumped straight on it and started going up and down all the roads, stopping at all the houses that i knew had dogs to peer in seeing was he there.

I go back home and let my mam know whats going on, she gets on the phone to the radio station and all that while i start making print outs with a picture of rex and phone numbers. The village i live in is fairly close nit so when a picture like this goes up, everyone will keep an eye out.

I put the posters up and kept calling the likes of the dog warden and them while my mam went round to some of the big farms.

The next day, i'm back in school and can't concentrate.
    At lunch i get a call from another brother telling me that someone called about rex. But he told me it wasnt good news.
    Someone was driving down a road thats only about a mile from mine and supposedly rex came running out of a house and onto the road and was hit by a jeep who couldnt avoid him. Thankfully the jeep wasnt going too quick and didnt kill him, but left him that he had to be brought to the vets.
    The guy that was behind him seen all this happening and the two cars stopped and the jeep driver allegedly didnt have time to bring him to the vets but man number 2 (who called my bro) did. The jeep driver gave the other guy 50 quid to cover the medical bills and gave his number if any more was needed, which was nice of him.
    This all happened about two hours before i realised he was gone and on the first road i went down that morning.

My brother tells me he is at the local vets and the vet said that he hasnt broken anything but they need to keep an eye on him overnight and wait until he has enough strength to scan him so they said they would keep in touch and let us know if anything changes.
    The Vet calls us that evening and says that he is getting stronger and looking likely that if the scan comes back alright we can bring him home the next day.
    We were delighted and started joking about having a welcome home party for him and picking up some marrow and stuff like that for him.

The next day i'm at school and again my phone rings at lunch. Its my mam asking me can she pick me up. I say yeah, i'll be outside. I was excited because the vets is only down the road from the school so i could help get him home, make sure he is ok and then head back to school.

I got in the car and instantly somethings wrong, my mam's eyes are the size of tomatos and the same size. "Whats wrong?"
    Turns out rex had went into some sort of shock or heart attack and died during the night. The nurse went in to check on the animals early in the morning and said he was just lying there, the way he used to at the bottom of my bed.
    I was shocked. She said she was told half an hour after i left for school but couldnt bring herself to go pick him up.

We went to the vets and picked him up. He was put in a black plastic bag and a big cardboard box and was cold because they kept him in the freezer for us.
    We put him in the back and drove home in silence and i took him out, brought him into the garage and just stared at the box trying to convince myself that it wasnt him inside.
    My mam obviously thought the same as she came out and said to open it to have a look at him. I didnt want to but i did.
    I ripped the plastic half round him and sure enough, that was him. Curled up with his nose over his back ankles just like he was if he was on my bed.
    We spent a few moments just looking at him. My mother cried a cry i've never heard before. It was more than when she was told her father had died, even.

I wrapped him up and took the shovel and dug a hole for him down beside where his box was in the garden. All the while thinking off the times i would argue with him to try and get him into the box on those nights that i knew he wanted to stay in the house or when my nephew had a bouncing castle for his birthday party and rex went and superman dived into the thing and couldnt stand or walk in it, but his tail told us he was still having fun doing so.

That's about 6 years ago at this stage and i still get teary looking at his 'spot' in the garden.
    Pets give you a hell of a lot when they are alive and its only fitting that they also take with them a whole lot when they go.

I know your pain Sean and Lisa and i know it might be hard to imagine right now, but take solace in that fact that Bruno isn't leaving this life the same way my Rex did. You can surround him with the love and affection which you have always given him in his final time instead of cold and alone in a vets.
    Enjoy the time you have left with him and when he does go remember the great times you had and the pain will be lessened.

Sorry about the long post, but once i started sharing the story i kept adding little bits here and there and became pretty long. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Thanks so much for sharing CMPunked, your story about wee Rex is so sad, but by the sounds of it he was very well minded and doted on by you and your family. That's all we really can do for dogs, the unconditional love they give in return is so wonderful to experience.

Loved that Rex sang along to Corrie! Bruno's showpiece was singing along with The Simpsons theme song :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I love it when dogs watch the television with you and they get that bit closer to the T.V if there's another canine on the screen. It can be difficult if there's a lot of them though, as I have seen some dogs start to go a bit mental and growl at the T.V. I find it funny though!

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Ha ha, I know! Bruno loves the Specsavers ad where the old man shaves the dog, he only has to hear the music and he's bashing his way through the door to get to the TV! Have so many videos of him going mad at the TV, he enjoyed a wide range of programming! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Sorry to hear about your dog TBC, totally understand how hard it can be saying goodbye to a pet. Will you get a new dog now? I'm not suggesting a replacement the moment he passes, but it could help to ease the pain a little with someone else running around your gaff all day :)

Had a dream last night about dogs, not sure if it was due to reading the posts here or due to that movie with Michelle Rodriguez last night on RTE2 about the dogs that rule the island. Name escapes me now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Christ what a win that was I feared we'd blow it after a MONSTER first half performance but thankfully today was our day.
    Diabhal will have a very sore head for the week now, must be lovin it up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,604 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Charisteas wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about your dog TBC, totally understand how hard it can be saying goodbye to a pet. Will you get a new dog now? I'm not suggesting a replacement the moment he passes, but it could help to ease the pain a little with someone else running around your gaff all day :)

Had a dream last night about dogs, not sure if it was due to reading the posts here or due to that movie with Michelle Rodriguez last night on RTE2 about the dogs that rule the island. Name escapes me now.

The Breed

Just heard there was nine stabbings and one death at Swedish House Mafia gig in Phoenix Park :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Thanks for all the support guys, it means the world to myself and Lisa. Thursday is D day so until then he is the most spoiled dog in the world.

That video of the 3 legged dog is heartbreaking, I can't do that with Bruno though. The cancer was eaten away at so much of his weight so quickly I know it would be too painfull to look back on. Have a large amount of videos and photos of him during the bette years though!

CMPunked that is horrible about what happened to your fella, I'm sorry for you. There is nothing worse than thinking everything is going ok then to have it snatched away from you. It's amazing how quickly a dog becomes part of the family!

Gonna stay up with Bruno and watch Destinion X tonight with him on the couch, that dog was named well because he will sit and watch wrestling without a bother!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

Really sorry to hear about Bruno TBC! Hope you's enjoy the PPV together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

Sure that was sad, but this youtube video really got me. I cried for the first time in years while watching it. I think everyone who has a dog will know what the guy in the video and what thebostoncrab is going through.

My old dog of 12 years old had to put down a few years ago as he developed terminal cancer.
    But I wasn't living in ireland at the time. I think that made it easier in a way, not having to see him fade away. But keep strong TBC, its selfish to keep him alive if hes in pain, so your doing the right thing, think of it this way; hes going to be sharing a few bones with his mates and chasing bitches all day upstairs now! (see what I did there :pac:)

Anyway, here is the video, dont watch it if you dont want to cry, as if you've had a pet dog before, you will cry, but its a good video, such raw emotion during that moment we dog owners dread.

So sorry but I can't watch that. That is so sad. Just flicked through it but I had to stop

Punk nice story but sad at the same time. Would ye ever get a new dog down the line bostoncrab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Not the foreseeable future, to be honest Id just feel like I was trying to erase or replace Bruno, and I can't do that, he is too awesome of a dog to do that. He will bark if I do a Ric Flair "Wooo!" and anytime the crowd boos John Cenas entrance he often growls at the tv :p

man if you have a flipcam or any kind of video recording thing you should so record him doing that tonight. He sounds like the best smark dog ever!

Sounds like a really cool dog. Somewhere along the line ye may get one maybe when ye have kids they could play with your new dog.

Our dog loves toast in the morning crys if he doesn't get and having hugs. He snores lound enough that we say nana is in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Judging by the drunken/drugged up state of some of the eejits before they even got to that Swedish concert thingy in the Phoeno yesterday I'm not too surprised about what happenned regarding the OD's,and a fair amount of the 'clientele' looked like proper gurriers so not all that shocked about the stabbings either.

Say it will be hard enough for any promoter to get a license to put on anymore gigs in there next year.

Man, things just go from bad to worse for Oxegen. Those concerts were instead of it this year and now this has to happen. It really paints Irish festival crowds in a bad light. We're so lucky that people come to Ireland to perform for us, and that we have people organising the shows. People will be too freaked out to go and see a show if this stuff persists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

My head is sore, I lost my voice and I've spent over 80 yoyo today. Worth it though seeing those peckish young Galwegians absolutely rape KK (Graeme Souness is typing this post). KK were so bad it was funny. Like Galway against Waterford bad.

Wait till the sunny days start turning up.

The Road To WrestleMania, I mean....All-Ireland starts here. Kilkenny will make their way via Elimination Chamber.

We will see who's smiling the first Sunday in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I felt bad for Murray after that Wimbledon final. I wanted Federer to win it all along, mainly because I can't stand the BBC's coverage, especially the insufferable cheerleader that is Andrew Castle, but he earned my respect in his post-match speech. I'll probably root for him to win in future events. Maybe I'll just mute the sound next time.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,174 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Gotta let off some steam somewhere and without the risk of trolls or any kind of bs.

I have to put my dog down this week. Bruno Sammartino the Rottweiler has severe bone cancer, with a tumour growing on his rib cage and pushing into his lungs. He has been given two months to live, but it will be a very painfull end so we have made the call to put him to sleep. He is getting a fry up for dinner and pigs ears with chocolate for desert, going out with a bang!

The thing is I'm angry as well as sad, because he is a rescue dog. We got him two years ago, where he previously spent 7 years as a forced breaking dog that was just skin and bones. If we never took him in then his old "owners" probably would have him still tied up and do nothing to help his pain. How anyone can do something so sick to an animal without a single bad bone in his body, that plays with my nephews and will give you non stop affection on command is beyond me.

He is living proof that there are such things as bad dogs, only bad owners. I'm glad he has gotten two years of attention, love, the highest quality food and got to be named after a wrestling legend :p I'm sad to see my best friend go, but happy he gets to go out with bang.

/rant. Sorry about that I just needed to vent somewhere :)

So sorry to hear about Bruno :(:(

We had to put my old dog down good few years ago and its easily the hardest thing to do , since anyone who has a dog realises that they become one of the family and a part of the furniture .

My old dog was in the back garden one day and slipped a disc in her back , we knew something wasnt right because when we all moved into house she just stayed in garden and didnt move . Since we couldnt bring her to the vet till the following day we basically had to get her on a blanket and carry her or slide her into/out of the house .

My mam brought her to the vet the following day to see what was wrong , and were told to bring her to some specialist in Malahide for more tests . So we left her up there for the night and my mam was called back up the following day and we were given the news . We were told she had slipped a disc but they could do a surgery on her but was told that there was a large chance that it wont work and will cost a lot of money . So my mam had the tought decision to make either go with the surgery or put the dog down . She can still remember Jess just looking at her as she was leaving and it broke my mams heart .

After getting the txt while i was coming back from a rugby match with school , i didnt hit me straight away . I remember getting back home and going to my room to "try Study" and i just broke down in my room . Till this day i still remember her since she was our 1st dog.

Its such a horrible decision to make and wouldnt wish it on anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,164 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Only seen this earlier, awesome.

Arsenal fan REACTS:pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I kinda know how you feel TBC, woke up today to find one of my dogs had died :( She's a dog I've had for years, and earlier this year we took her to the vet, where we were told she had a tumour. She was getting on in years, so the vet didn't want to do surgery on her, and we had prepared ourselves for the worst. She managed to last a few months more, but it's still horrible that she's not there.

Loved that dog so much, when our dad left I used to just sit in the kitchen with her on my lap, she'd just sit there licking my arm or nuzzling my chest. I loved her so much and it's killing me now that she's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Fantastic, best promo I seen in ages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

We also scored that french guy geyrard think thats his name, nice one. Love the way he loses all composure and winds himself back in only to do it all over again.
    Felt he really stook it to v.Persie by bringing FIFA into it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,419 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I felt bad for Murray after that Wimbledon final. I wanted Federer to win it all along, mainly because I can't stand the BBC's coverage, especially the insufferable cheerleader that is Andrew Castle, but he earned my respect in his post-match speech. I'll probably root for him to win in future events. Maybe I'll just mute the sound next time.

TG4!

Charisteas wrote: »
    Fantastic, best promo I seen in ages!

Worked shoot if you ask me!

Went to see Spider-Man tonight. Think people were talking about it on here. What did ye think?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I enjoyed it, easily the best of the 4 films, but the story wasn't hugely interesting. There were some cool scenes like when Spidey's in the sewer. Overall I'm pleased but wouldn't go crazy for it. Best part is not having knob-end and scrunchy-face as the leads! What did u make of it?

Hey lads where's the best place in Dublin I can order chicken wings? It's my bro's birthday and it's one of his favourite foods.

Ehm, that depends on whether or not you mean this minute, or for an upcoming celebration?

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Hey lads where's the best place in Dublin I can order chicken wings? It's my bro's birthday and it's one of his favourite foods.

I've heard the Pizza huts who deliver have nice wings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Elephant and Castle in Temple Bar have the best chicken wings that I've ever tasted in Dublin!

Nice. Nah we'll be celebrating it on Sunday but it's good to not leave it til the last minute! As long as I can order or if it's not too far from Dublin city centre I'll pick some up

Anyone heading to dundrum tomorrow to see the batmobile and batbike?

Dundrum Shopping Centre? Do u know if they'll still be around in the evening? One day only?

Only till like half 2.

Hang on and i'll get a press release.
    And by press release i mean facebook status.

Yep, half 9 till half 2.
    The Tumbler & Batpod from The Dark Knight Rises here today from 9:30AM-2:30PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Make Your own!!

Get to a butchers and you will get a kilo of plain ones for about 3-4 yoyo.

Then head to tescos and get some franks hot sauce or discovery sauce (mild but nice and fruity) 40-50 minutes in the oven should do them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

Dancor wrote: »
    Make Your own!!

Get to a butchers and you will get a kilo of plain ones for about 3-4 yoyo.

Then head to tescos and get some franks hot sauce or discovery sauce (mild but nice and fruity) 40-50 minutes in the oven should do them.
    I agree, if youve got your own barbie or even a grill, make your own if you want/able to. Much healthier and tastier ive found. not to mention cheaper. Get some premium wings from a butcher, some of their sauce, chuck them on the barbie. Delicious.

Also, there's this nice stuff you could use when you're making it, you've probably heard of it: J.R's Bar-B-Q Sauce. It sure is swell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Roger Sterling

Jesus lads I'm bet after reading all these doggy stories.:(

Very sorry to hear your painful story tbc, hope you can take some enjoyment from your last days with Bruno Sammartino and make some memories you can cherish forever. You'll never have as loyal a friend as a dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Saw this on 9gag.

4733191_700b.jpg

Not to nitpick, but does anywhere sell Lucky Charms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

There's a sweet shop in Galway that imports them

Candy lab in temple bar sell them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I think there's a shop called Falllon an Byrne in Dublin that do them. Expect to pay around €8 a box though. I vaguely remember something about Superquinn possibly having them too.

I got a box last year but they weren't as great as I remembered.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I've seen them in SuperValu in Longford too, but they are pretty expensive.

Yeah they are not as i remember them. Americans are weird when it comes to sweets, everything is a cardboard or just straight up sugar taste.

Heading to the four courts tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

cena wrote: »
    Heading to the four courts tomorrow.

Who did you murder?

Dancor wrote: »
    Who did you murder?

Its family stuff. My father has got alzheimer's the last few years and we carried on his court case for him from an accident in work he had.