Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'M SO SICK OF YOUR F**** SERVICE

• 23-08-2011 9:14am
    Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭

I just can't use proper language as im so tired to struggle every day with your f***** service provided.I pay 60euro a month for NOTHING. When your wireless connection is dropping every minute (from yesterday approx every 20sec) you would kill those people from tech support who advise you doing the same thing all the time to solve problem..
    Yesterday ive been told by tech support i've problem either with router or connection with exchange and enginner would come over within 3 days..
    But im sure 100% PROBLEM IS WITH YOUR CRAP MODEM!!!! Ive borrowed my friends modem yesterday and internet is flying without any issue and interruption..So the question is WHY you supply customers with faulty MODEMS???????!!!!!!!!!! IT's so annoying and frustraiting...!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

P.S and if i had any chance to switch to UPC i would do it immediately but unfortunately they are not in Tralee yet :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭eircom: Tony

BaguMka wrote: »
    I just can't use proper language as im so tired to struggle every day with your f***** service provided.I pay 60euro a month for NOTHING. When your wireless connection is dropping every minute (from yesterday approx every 20sec) you would kill those people from tech support who advise you doing the same thing all the time to solve problem..
    Yesterday ive been told by tech support i've problem either with router or connection with exchange and enginner would come over within 3 days..
    But im sure 100% PROBLEM IS WITH YOUR CRAP MODEM!!!! Ive borrowed my friends modem yesterday and internet is flying without any issue and interruption..So the question is WHY you supply customers with faulty MODEMS???????!!!!!!!!!! IT's so annoying and frustraiting...!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S and if i had any chance to switch to UPC i would do it immediately but unfortunately they are not in Tralee yet :(

Hi BaguMka
    I understand your frustration at not having identified and resolved this issue, a tech has been assigned to investigate this again and I am awaitng his technical feedback and will contact you as soon as I have this. If is with modem as you suspect we should be able to confirm this and resolve.
    Tony

• Registered Users Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Hi BaguMka
    I understand your frustration at not having identified and resolved this issue, a tech has been assigned to investigate this again and I am awaitng his technical feedback and will contact you as soon as I have this. If is with modem as you suspect we should be able to confirm this and resolve.
    Tony

Oh it's the modem all right. You only have to look at a thread dedicated on boards to the modem and how much problems people have with it. If you want to use it wirelessly it signal shuts off every 5-20 seconds most of the time. Bit of a joke really. The Netopia router was grand. Never had any problems like the ones you get with this new one. Eircom are obviously pushing out this new modem as it's a lot cheaper (and thus a lot crapper).

Obviously you have no input in to what modem they use so I'm not getting on to you but surely everyone at Eircom know how crappy this new modem is and how their customers hate it?

/Rant.

hI BaguMka
    Spoke to tech and he should be on this issue this afternoon.
    Tony

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭BaguMka

hI BaguMka
    Tony

Will see what happens

hI BaguMka
    Tony

Tony
    I was given second hand router NETOPIA by technician and THANK GOD either wireless and connection via Ethernet fine with no interruption..
    i will keep update this thread..

Tony
    I was given second hand router NETOPIA by technician and THANK GOD either wireless and connection via Ethernet fine with no interruption..
    i will keep update this thread..

I am happy to hear that BaguMka and certaily supports your original suggestion, I will be speaking to tech later also.
    Let me know if any further issue or query.
    Regards
    Tony

• Registered Users Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭jay93

But the problem here is the router and not the actual connection that Eircom are proivding!

The wireless dropping really isn't a connection problem or anything wrong with the service coming down the phone line.
    Granted tough that ZYXEL modem they provide is a really bad one and drops connections alot a solution is to change your wireless security to WEP from the standard WPA.

You can always buy your own router which would be the best solution routers that comapanys proivde with their services are never great no matter which proivder you go with take vodafone's router for example it has alot of problems too.

I think Eircom really need to stop using those ZYXEL routers and proivde a better one for their customers the Netopia models where great i have one myself and the connection never ever drops its beyond me why they stopped using such a good brand of routers a replaced it with one that has so many problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

LOL!!! Buy your own router and UPC will never be in Tralee.

It still baffles me how people won't pay 60 euro and save themselves a lot of headaches.

Why do i have to pay extra 60 euro from my pocket if the problem is with eircoms equipment they providing?!

Hi BaguMka
    I don't think that Poisenedstream was offering this as an option to router found faulty which have been issued by broadband providers, well maybe he was :).....you obviously should not have to pay for any equipment that was faulty in the first place...as an obviously technical person I imagine he was pointing out that specialist routers can help in situations where a standard modem may suffer.
    Wi fi users in particular have found extended reach routers have enhanced performance.
    I am happy that this second router seems to have resolved your router issue and any further issue just let me know.
    Tony

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

So the question is WHY you supply customers with faulty MODEMS?

Eircoms tech support are saying exactly the same thing to the next up the chain. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

Such true words ^_^

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭Italia

True, but why should you shell out for a different modem?
    IMHO, I see it differently. I choose to subscribe to a service which, as part of its T&C's, supplies an appliance and which does not require me to provide my own.
    Given that premise, surely its not unreasonable to have an expectation that the service runs as trouble free as possible? If the service does not run smoothly then, just as surely, is it unreasonable to have an expectation that the service provider rectify the issue - even if that remedy is to supply different brand of modem?
    Such true words ^_^

Italia wrote: »
    True, but why should you shell out for a different modem?
    IMHO, I see it differently. I choose to subscribe to a service which, as part of its T&C's, supplies an appliance and which does not require me to provide my own.
    Given that premise, surely its not unreasonable to have an expectation that the service runs as trouble free as possible? If the service does not run smoothly then, just as surely, is it unreasonable to have an expectation that the service provider rectify the issue - even if that remedy is to supply different brand of modem?

That's TRUE WORDS! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭gerryk

Such true words ^_^

And if you do buy your own router, the next time you have a problem, you get told that they don't support it.

gerryk wrote: »
    And if you do buy your own router, the next time you have a problem, you get told that they don't support it.

Thats only fair. Talking to someone over the phone (who may or may not have any technical knowledge ) when you know what you are talking about is stressful enough. Trying to blindly funble through something you are not trained in can degenerate into a nightmare.

So which is it? A few posts ago you state that people should buy their own router, and now you admit that this might not be the best course after all. You need to get your story straight there fella.

Lol. Your ignorance is showing.

Buying a different router in this instance would be the correct course of action as the zyxel one may not be suitable for your setup. What I said in the previous post was that it's unreasonable to expect agents over the phone to support every router on the market.

Now, feel free to flame away. It will only provide me with further giggles.

Buying a different router in this instance would be the correct course of action as the zyxel one may not be suitable for your setup. What I said in the previous post was that it's unreasonable to expect agents over the phone to support every router on the market.

If you can point out what in what set of circumstances the supplied router may be unsuitable, as opposed to defective, I will gladly defer, otherwise you are just making sweeping statements in the hope of not being called on them.

The router is provided by Eircom as part of your package. The only way to get end-to-end support is to retain the supplied router. Finally, the supplied router should be fit for purpose. Now if you can't or won't see that, then I shall just leave you to your giggles.

I think you're missing the point here.
    Eircom supply a service (ADSL connectivity / Broadband). With this service, they supply an appliance (the modem) which should allow you to make use of their service. In the T&C, there is NO requirement on you to buy your own modem.
    If Eircom's modem does not perform to an acceptable standard (DHCP, Wireless, sustained connectivity are all standard features in modern modems) then they need to resolve the issue. If they don't, then they are (IMHO) in breach of contract.

I fully agree that the solution (at the moment) is to supply your own, but that does not absolve Eircom for resolving the issue at hand. It is not a question that having a particular setup, requires a particular modem - the complaints about the Zyxel all refer to bog standard functionality that any modern modem should supply without a problem. Eircom's Zyxel doesn't do this.
    It could be the modem itself but, as someone posted in another thread, other vendors supplying the identical modem but with different firmware don't have these issues. It then comes down to the customised firmware that Eircom installes on the device.

With regards to the callcentre agents, I also beg to differ. If I call the Broadband technical help line, I expect to get a person who is technically competent (with technical qualifications) on the other side. I don't expect him/her to know the ins and outs of every modem, but definitely the basics which are the same for all modems (IP address, DNS etc).
    Any end user who is not using a Eircom supplied modem will know where to look himself to apply/ change settings. Otherwise how else would he have been using BB until then? Noobs will use whatever Eircom supplies.

The reality (I have experienced this myself) is that when you call the help line, you invariably get through to a person is not a native english speaker (I think they might be Indian), who does not readily understand what you are saying and who tries to troubleshoot using a script. This does not work.
    I appreciate that they would have to start by assuming that the caller knows nothing, but any technical agent worth his or her salt, should be able to determine within a couple of seconds that they are not dealing with an inexperienced person and adjust their interaction accordingly. Unfortunately this does not occur and you're left to try and navigate your way around the mess. To someone who, possibly, has more knowledge and experience this is extremely frustrating.
    And don't even mention that you are using a non-eircom supplied modem. The call will be terminated there and then with a request to contact the manufacturer of your own modem.

Italia wrote:
    think you're missing the point here.
    Eircom supply a service (ADSL connectivity / Broadband). With this service, they supply an appliance (the modem) which should allow you to make use of their service. In the T&C, there is NO requirement on you to buy your own modem.
    If Eircom's modem does not perform to an acceptable standard (DHCP, Wireless, sustained connectivity are all standard features in modern modems) then they need to resolve the issue. If they don't, then they are (IMHO) in breach of contract.

The modem is supplied as is. If you read the terms of service even though the modem may have issues they are not breaking anything.
    Italia wrote:
    I fully agree that the solution (at the moment) is to supply your own, but that does not absolve Eircom for resolving the issue at hand. It is not a question that having a particular setup, requires a particular modem - the complaints about the Zyxel all refer to bog standard functionality that any modern modem should supply without a problem. Eircom's Zyxel doesn't do this.
    It could be the modem itself but, as someone posted in another thread, other vendors supplying the identical modem but with different firmware don't have these issues. It then comes down to the customised firmware that Eircom installes on the device.

Actually, the aerial and cheap capacitors are an issue too...
    Italia wrote:
    With regards to the callcentre agents, I also beg to differ. If I call the Broadband technical help line, I expect to get a person who is technically competent (with technical qualifications) on the other side. I don't expect him/her to know the ins and outs of every modem, but definitely the basics which are the same for all modems (IP address, DNS etc).
    Any end user who is not using a Eircom supplied modem will know where to look himself to apply/ change settings. Otherwise how else would he have been using BB until then? Noobs will use whatever Eircom supplies.

The reality (I have experienced this myself) is that when you call the help line, you invariably get through to a person is not a native english speaker (I think they might be Indian), who does not readily understand what you are saying and who tries to troubleshoot using a script. This does not work.
    I appreciate that they would have to start by assuming that the caller knows nothing, but any technical agent worth his or her salt, should be able to determine within a couple of seconds that they are not dealing with an inexperienced person and adjust their interaction accordingly. Unfortunately this does not occur and you're left to try and navigate your way around the mess. To someone who, possibly, has more knowledge and experience this is extremely frustrating.
    And don't even mention that you are using a non-eircom supplied modem. The call will be terminated there and then with a request to contact the manufacturer of your own modem.

The basic information is easily gotten and any agents can give it out. You appear to have gotten a bad agent and that's no reason to tar every agent with the same brush.

I will say this however, what you expect is a bit over the top (with regards qualifications and the like) for the pay.

If you think ANY company is going to get away with simply supplying the modem 'as-is' and then not being arsed about fixing problems...sorry mate, but you're living in dreamland.
    My first step would be trying to resolve here and with help centre. Failing that a nice complaint to Comreg and followed up by Small-claims. Just see how fast my problem will get solved then.
    The equation is quite simple - If I pay for a service and adhere to the T&C, I expect to get full value for my hard earned money. No more, no less.

With regards to the callcentre - No, I am not expecting too much. It is a TECHNICAL helpdesk, and as such should be staffed by competent qualified people, not somone who was a bricklayer (no offense to bricklayers) in a previous life and barely knows how to switch on a pc, let alone troubleshoot issues by reading a script. I happen to have called the helpdesk several times over the past few years and as far as I am concerned the quality of the agents has been steadily getting poorer.

Just to give you an idea of call-centres and what they pay: Call-centre agents for technical jobs, in Ireland, start on average at €17-18k a year, rising. For this, recruitment companies require qualifications (A+, N+, Microsoft, Cisco etc) or in depth knowledge gained by experience in a relevant filed. Normally a technical test needs to be passed before being offered the job.
    In Italy, the same job, with the same qualifications required, is paid on average €800 per month (around 10k a year) and it is a contract job, not permanent.
    In Bulgaria, the same job gets you about €680 a month
    In India - around €400 a month
    In the Philippines - around US$400 a month
    (BTW - these figures are 100% legit and based on direct personal discussions with people working in the industry)

Personally, I am sick and tired of accepting the garbage that is dished out by faceless companies /multinationals and keeping quiet so as not to rock the boat.
    Sorry, but in 2011 with the world economy in the state it is, my HARD EARNED money needs to work properly. If it doesn't, either I cut the expense or I do everything I can to make sure it does work. If that includes rocking the boat until it sinks - so be it.

If you're happy to accept what's being dished out to you, no problem. It's your choice.
    The modem is supplied as is. If you read the terms of service even though the modem may have issues they are not breaking anything.

Actually, the aerial and cheap capacitors are an issue too...

The basic information is easily gotten and any agents can give it out. You appear to have gotten a bad agent and that's no reason to tar every agent with the same brush.

I will say this however, what you expect is a bit over the top (with regards qualifications and the like) for the pay.

Italia

I wouldn't engage in polemics with him instead of you..It's pointless :D

Italia

It really is. We each clearly have differing points of view.

I agree totally. ;)
    That was my last post in response to someone who clearly lives in a parallel universe where everyone conforms, everyone is happy, those in power always know better, no one complains and complaints (if any) are ignored....... ah...wait.. no, that's not a parallel universe...that's North Korea :rolleyes:

I hope you get yourself sorted out.
    Italia

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Fair play eircom for having to deal with this chap who can't get across his frustration in a maure way without throwing all his toys out of the pram at once.

I have to agree with him, unfortunately - my own experience with eircom was one of constant problems, no will on ye're behalf to improve or to solve them and epic fail all round - but nobody is paid enough to have to listen to abuse. I turn people away in my place of work when they treat me like that.

Italia wrote: »
    I agree totally. ;)
    That was my last post in response to someone who clearly lives in a parallel universe where everyone conforms, everyone is happy, those in power always know better, no one complains and complaints (if any) are ignored....... ah...wait.. no, that's not a parallel universe...that's North Korea :rolleyes:

I hope you get yourself sorted out.

Good one post made me smile:D and Yes i did get sorted thank god ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Since the OP has had the issue resolved, and pretty much all of the recent posts have been nothing but bickering, this thread has served it's purpose.

Remember people, this is a support forum, not a place to shout abuse or for general ranting.