Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's Mandarin or Japanese for an elective?

Options
  • 25-08-2011 10:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 21

I'm a first year architecture student and was thinking about taking mandarin (LANG10020) or Japanese (LANG10210) as an elective. Just wanted to know what I'd be letting myself in for. Anyone know if there's a high failure rate or if it's difficult?

Maybe I'm naive but whatever elective I do I'd be aiming to get a 4.0 or 4.2 in it. Would mandarin or japanese be ones that this could easily happen in or would I be just making it harder for myself?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭LifesaverNiall

I'd also like to know about japanese? I took it for the leaving cert so hoping to keep it up :) thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭xxpopopxx

I'm also thinking of doing them , but I'm thinking of doing both. Would this a bit too much to handle , should I just pick one , but I'm really interested in both of them! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I did Japanese L&C 1 last year. It was pretty good. The teacher was a native Japanese speaker and the classes were pretty small, around 10 of us, might vary though.

FAR easier to make friends in that small a group since you're interacting with each other rather than some ~100 person lecture.