Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAI Cup some round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Should have Sprayed the lads chucking things down from the back of the Stand to the people outside :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

To add to what I said, I've been going to matches for nearly 10 years and never have I seen anything more sickening than Gardai pepper spraying 15/16 year old kids.
    ACAB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Has anybody taken it up with the UN yet?

One of the Bohemians officials got a lot of hassle from some of the lads refused entry for pointing them out as lads who were barred from Dalymount.

Is the stuff on fool.ie true about the amount of cops there? Sounds well OTT.

Wasnt that many Gardai before kick off that I could see when I went into the ground around 7:10pm.

There were two Gardai with two adorable dogs sitting back near the trees well away from anyone and a couple of Gardai walking around outside.

After the fun started though I think every squad car in the midlands arrived.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,013 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

One of the Bohemians officials got a lot of hassle from some of the lads refused entry for pointing them out as lads who were barred from Dalymount.

Interesting night indeed. From reading the posts - some bohs fans ( pissed I think and possibily banned from home games) were not allowed entry. Some fans inside were chucking things at fans outside. After trying - unsucessfully - to get their friends inside, they tried opening a gate to let them in - gardai pepper sprayed them. Then another few fans tried again to get the gardai to let the ( aforementioned pissed and banned) fans in again, they failed.

The use of pepper spray - I presume- would normally be used as a last resort - I've never personally seen it used before) For it to be used AND to be used for such a sustained length of time is very strange and startling! For some of the younger fans ( I presume not pissed !) to have felt the pain that pepper spray no doubt brings, is very disappointing and disturbing. I look forward to hearing the full and accurate ( hopefully) story tomorrow as the details come though. If the gardai over reacted then action should be taken against them. If the fans deserved to be pepper sprayed - then fúck them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

bohsman wrote: »
    Nothing I'm hearing condones the use of tear gas at a football match with an attendance of less than 1000 people.

The use of pepper spray at a League of Ireland match is an absolute disgrace. This matter should be taken up with the Garda Ombudsman and the FAI.
    The clowns in Longford havn't a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

The use of pepper spray at a League of Ireland match is an absolute disgrace. This matter should be taken up with the Garda Ombudsman and the FAI.
    The clowns in Longford havn't a clue.

so wait, the clowns in longford dont have a clue, because the gardai peppered sprayed banned bohs fans from breaking into the ground by forceably trying to open a gate after being refused entry by the police!? yeah your right it was not the gardai who lost the run of themselves and acted like clowns when stopping the drunken bohs fans from breaking into the ground, it was the people involved with longford town! good reasoning there.... it was like two different sets of bohs fans, one interested in the match, the other, smaller section interested in a bit of trouble kicking off...

the youg lads who got caught up in it were not making it easy on themselves, and stupidly the guards, who are paid to act professional let themselves down and were fcukin pr1cks, the young innocent lads caught up in it should report it to the ombudsman.

why there was so many police there is baffling, no doubt their heavey handed tactics added to everything that happened...

feel a bit sorry for the bohs offical who pointed out the banned lads, all sorts of threats against him...

just for your information, it is the gardai super in longford station who sets out security for any games in longford, not the club, because it is a public event, the gardai go through protocol with the stewards before every game, and longford fans have never been involved in any trouble anywhere in the league, ever, but your right it is longford's fault... should have fcuked out the clowns throwing stuff from the stand at people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I think he means Longford the place rather than Longford the club. The guards down there can be a bit OTT.

dan1895 wrote: »
    I think he means Longford the place rather than Longford the club. The guards down there can be a bit OTT.

the guards for last nights game were drafted in from different stations in the midlands, mostly mullingar...the guards in longford usually have enough with travellers family fueds a few times a week to get their kicks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Those pepper sprayed should be quite thankful really, if they'd been mentally challenged they'd have been shot.

Töpher wrote: »
    Those pepper sprayed should be quite thankful really, if they'd been mentally challenged they'd have been shot.

only if they had loaded shotguns and would not put them down after numerous demands to do so, then they would be shot by the harcourt street based eru, yes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Meanwhile back at the showgrounds Mons drew 0-0 with Sligo and meet them again on Wednesday in Gortakeegan at 8pm.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Nothing I'm hearing condones the use of tear gas at a football match with an attendance of less than 1000 people.

Or pepper spray. What's wrong with the usual Garda tactic of indiscriminate beating.:confused:

On Thursday night I was thinking back to Longford away games..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

dfx- wrote: »

On Thursday night I was thinking back to Longford away games..

Would have been nice to have a nice peaceful cage to watch the game from last night by all accounts.

its only certain clubs get put in there, the likes of derry and sligo and that can go where they want whenever we play them, they never cause trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

flas wrote: »
    its only certain clubs get put in there, the likes of derry and sligo and that can go where they want whenever we play them, they never cause trouble

Maybe throw the trouble making guards in there next time.

are you well, they would fcukin wreck the place....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭colly_06

Just seen that Craig Walsh from Footballs Next Star fame scored against Bohs last night, I guess Rovers didn't think too much of him.

flas wrote: »

I think a lot of the stuff generated online (and then an extension in the media and public perception) about clubs like Bohs and Rovers both creates an ott panic policing situation and also gives some elements of the force an excuse to go Robo. Ironically enough the outraged panic is often drummed by supporters of clubs that always get labelled as saints.

The swat team type turnout at Belfield for Rovers not so long ago springs to mind.

Obviously it sounds like supporters were acting out of order in longford but the police response sounds very ott.