Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is the best place to live in Perth?

• 26-08-2011 10:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

What would be a nice area to live in Perth, with good transport to CBD and near to the beach if possible.

Any tips would be appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

I lived in Subiaco for a few months. It's a really nice area and it's on the Fremantle line. A train to the CBD will take about 15 mins or so depending on the time of day. I stayed in a hostel there which wasn't too expensive, it was around $200 a week. Getting your own place there would be pretty pricey though.

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭corkgirl88

Thanks mobius42. What was the name of the Hostel?

Any idea of any other nice but cheaper areas to live in. I will be looking for a one bedroom apartment for my friend and I to rent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

Shannon House

You could try looking on Gumtree for accommodation near JCU. It wouldn't be that close to the CBD, but it'd be more affordable.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

We're going in a week! Nothing done!! :eek:

The company sponsering mr sudzs is arranging accomadation for the first while but someone mentioned Joondalup as a good place and handy for Balcatta where he'll be working. It's just the 2 of us, no kids and we like the quiet life, meal out, few drinks kinda thing! Our boozing days are over! :rolleyes:

Anyone any info or advice? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭starfish12

Leederville is pretty amazing, on free bus line to CBD and the 400 route to the beach

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭ncit9933

underground, northbridge...great buzz in the place

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

sudzs wrote: »
    We're going in a week! Nothing done!! :eek:

The company sponsering mr sudzs is arranging accomadation for the first while but someone mentioned Joondalup as a good place and handy for Balcatta where he'll be working. It's just the 2 of us, no kids and we like the quiet life, meal out, few drinks kinda thing! Our boozing days are over! :rolleyes:

Anyone any info or advice? :)

I live in Joondalup and it's fantastic. People say it's miles from the city (27kms) but it takes 20 minutes to drive there and not far off the same on the train so it really isn't.

Plus Joondalup is basically a mini city in itself with a shopping centre, cinema, pubs, nightclubs and anything else you need. I only go to the city to work basically and it's also a ten minute drive from the beach.

Been living there four years and have no interest in moving suburbs.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I live in Joondalup and it's fantastic. People say it's miles from the city (27kms) but it takes 20 minutes to drive there and not far off the same on the train so it really isn't.

Plus Joondalup is basically a mini city in itself with a shopping centre, cinema, pubs, nightclubs and anything else you need. I only go to the city to work basically and it's also a ten minute drive from the beach.

Been living there four years and have no interest in moving suburbs.

Great! Thanks for that! Sounds like a good spot allright.

Over the years I've lived in Dublin city, in the back of beyonds of Kerry, couple of country towns but now suburbia appeals! Must be middle-age creeping up on me!!! :rolleyes:

starfish12 wrote: »
    Leederville is pretty amazing, on free bus line to CBD and the 400 route to the beach

I have heard Leederville mentioned a few times as a nice place.
    How long does it take to get from Leederville into the cbd on the bus?
    Do you know if there is any train service.

Also what is the price of accomadation like in the area.

corkgirl88 wrote: »
    I have heard Leederville mentioned a few times as a nice place.
    How long does it take to get from Leederville into the cbd on the bus?
    Do you know if there is any train service.

Also what is the price of accomadation like in the area.

Leederville is 5 minutes from the city by train (it's the last stop on the Joondalup line before Perth). By bus it'd be mabe 15 minutes. You could walk it if you to it's that close.

Accomodation is pricey though and it's full of hipsters and the like.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭zweton

Would accomodation be alot cheaper in Joondalup? Where would be cheap and nice :)

It wouldn't be a lot cheaper, no. Anywhere that's close to ammenities will be roughly the same.

Cheap and nice is a bit of an oxymoron though, and what would you class as cheap anyway?

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Leederville is 5 minutes from the city by train (it's the last stop on the Joondalup line before Perth). By bus it'd be mabe 15 minutes. You could walk it if you to it's that close.

Accomodation is pricey though and it's full of hipsters and the like.

What do you mean by hipsters??

corkgirl88 wrote: »
    What do you mean by hipsters??

This lot

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭rightyabe

I'm livin between Belmont & Cloverdale and I cant complain, Just a 5 min bus ride and a 8 min train ride into Perth, not beside the sea but I like it and i'm usually fussy about things.

I would say Scarborough might fit the bill for you, not sure about a train line I think Stirling Station would be the closest to Scarborough.

rightyabe wrote: »
    I'm livin between Belmont & Cloverdale and I cant complain, Just a 5 min bus ride and a 8 min train ride into Perth, not beside the sea but I like it and i'm usually fussy about things.

I would say Scarborough might fit the bill for you, not sure about a train line I think Stirling Station would be the closest to Scarborough.

Do you mind me asking how much you pay a week in rent in that area??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭lazlo

is there like a Daft.ie for Perth?

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭ellaq

We started off in Victoria Park which is next to the river and walking distance to Perth. Plenty of buses on the route too. Lots of cafes, pubs and shops. The further back from the river the cheaper the rent. Anything in the transperth zone1 is a great starting point because you are close to everything. Perth is massive so I wouldn't head to far out. I would imagine some of the newer suburbs would be quite isolating.

rightyabe wrote: »

Glendalough is closest to Scarborough and has connecting bus services straight to it.

lazlo wrote: »
    is there like a Daft.ie for Perth?

Try here! http://www.realestate.com.au/rent

Hi, just looking for a bit of info on accommodation in Perth.

Myself and 3 mates are heading over next month and have no accommodation sorted yet, we would like to find a place to settle down for 2 weeks or so. Would our best bet be a hostel or to find an apartment since there are 4 of us?

Also what type of prices would we be looking at for both?

You won't get an apartment for two weeks. It's six months minimum and you need some sort of rental history here in most cases.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 marksparks08

Hi, just looking for a bit of info on accommodation in Perth.

Myself and 3 mates are heading over next month and have no accommodation sorted yet, we would like to find a place to settle down for 2 weeks or so. Would our best bet be a hostel or to find an apartment since there are 4 of us?

Also what type of prices would we be looking at for both?

it'd be about 180pp if ye got a dorm room in one of the hostels in saying that tho, one of the lads went into a hostel last week an jus about got a room, so id advise to book ahead before you arrive.

ANyone know what is a reasonble price to pay for rent in subiaco?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 tractortom74

We've been looking at Fremantle.
    Rent in part of that area are quite reasonable.
    I understand from looking at other sites that Subiaco is very expensive as are parts of Nedlands.
    Anywhere near CBD is expensive as far as I can see.
    Hopefully with a little luck we'll be over there in July.
    $500 is average even by local standards from what I can understand. Most houses near the beach are costly about $1200 onwards
    but thats for a real nice gaff.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭gudede

I landed in Perth on the 20th of January with the girlfriend and We moved into an apartment in Hay Street, East Perth during the week. The price is $460 a week (I know its a joke) but we have no bills to pay and a spare bedroom so if we get really stuck we can rent out the spare bedroom.

Getting an apartment is very hard over here, we got very lucky. Neither of us have a job yet and we didn't really look yet because we but all our effort into getting an apartment. You go to the open viewing and about 30-40 people show up and it's like a cattle mart. When we came to this viewing (Hay Street) we had the application all done up and had the option fee in cash. We gave him copy of our bank statements, copy of our passports and drivers licences and reference's from our employers in Cork.

Also people viewing the apartments will offer more a week to try and get the apartment, but if you go through an agent then the agent can not mention that to the owner of the apartment so no need to offer more for an apartment unless your talking to the owner directly.

The best bit of advice I'd give someone is book a month in somewhere because accommodation is expensive over here and at this time of year a lot of things are fully booked out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

Just to add to this - been there lots of times. My aunt lives in Padbury so Hillarys or Joondalup are the next big places. Leederville is great too. Wouldn't go out as far as Fremantle. What you will find out about Perth is that the CBD is tiny and socialising is around various pockets, Personally I would go with Joondalup.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭skipz

Scarborough for life!

Nah, but seriously me and me Girlfriend are living in Scarborough now about 8/9 months and we love it here.
    We pay 400 a week for a 1 bed modern fully furnished ground floor apartment with a private garden, and the beach the other side of the road, and it beats city living by a mile.
    All are mates live in the city and think Scarbs is a rough place and a no go area at night/evening, we find this quite funny!
    Its safer than anywhere iv been in Perth. Most crap comes from the scum that heads down from Ellenbrooke and the like when the weather is hot.
    Transport from here to the city is very good with buses running to Glendalough trainsation and onto the CBD.

I was living in Butler in the far northern parts and hated it but its cheap. I didnt mind Joondalup though.

gudede wrote: »
    I landed in Perth on the 20th of January with the girlfriend and We moved into an apartment in Hay Street, East Perth during the week. The price is $460 a week (I know its a joke) but we have no bills to pay and a spare bedroom so if we get really stuck we can rent out the spare bedroom.

Why is $460 a joke? You're living on the doorstep of the city, how much did you expect to pay?

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭ellaq

I think it is a good price for a 2 bedroom in the city especially if it includes bills.

Fremantle is not far out and would be a great place to live.