Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ESB Spoilt Brats...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 MegaWatts

More than a 1 Trick Pony !!!!!!!!!!!!!

What about the Electric Cars that some"esteemed" members of staff have out on trial free of "charge" ( note the pun)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,090 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

MegaWatts wrote: »

What about the Electric Cars that some"esteemed" members of staff have out on trial free of "charge" ( note the pun)

Electric cars. You mean these sturdy beasts?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtGp8Sha_mA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

What about the 3% bonus PACT they got last week as part of a longstanding PACT Agreement, NOT to mention the extra gravy they will get as they own 5% of the company, going by their annual accounts it will be a BISTO Year.
    No wonder the Head honcho in IMPACT was not too pleased with Choo Chho's rant, sure wasnt he a shift worker in Shannonbridge Power Station until he was airlifted into the ATGWU as an Assistant Branch Secretary for ESB Staff, and MORE GRAVY for him when he got the severance package when Shannonbridge Peat Station closed down.

AAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    BISTO

To be honest thats really like 1 and a half tricks, and thats maybe pushing the half trick.

Anyway, I digress, we don't take too kindly to soapboxing and agenda pushing. With your username, and choice of thread I'm seeing one or the other happening. Lets not go down that road.

Cheers

DrG

Love the "Clip"
    Wonder if the "Board" Members got a car as well, suppose they were a chip off the ould block

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 clive13

There is no reason why ESB workers should be so exceptionally well paid other than the blackmail card.[/QUOTE]

With the majority of generation in this country in private ownership ---- please explain what you mean by blackmail. Absolutely crazy suggestion.
    Before you mention the ESB Networks staff holding the country to ransom - when was it that this happened - approx 30 years ago when the strike started in the generation area!

Can you please explain your figures for wages as a % of cost. These do not seem correct. I had them calculated at more than 10% which is in line with any normal business. 1% to 2% is impossible

Sorry I cannot give you details - suffice to say - your 10% is way off the mark. However - as you want to do some math. Split the difference - say salary = 5% of your bill. Split all staff members salaries in half. Now enjoy the 2.5% saving on your ESB bill.
    Oooops ... one of the Knights in Shining Armour (Airtricity) who claim to be green have just pushed their electricity costs up by12% (did wind just rise in price the same as imported gas and oil??) The joys of private companes "helping" keep prices down.

juuge wrote: »
    In all honesty how often does this happen? A couple of times a year? Some other poster mentioned lads getting up in the middle of the night, in all weathers to restore power.
    Hello - That's their fricken job!! and they are handsomely paid for it. They are not Knights in shining armour, they are an elite group who are so desperate to maintain the status quo they seek out and employ a nutter like Brendan Ogle to fight their corner who has now turned and dumped on them. Boo! Hoo!...

This misses the point - a 24/7/365 service costs money. Look around the developed world - do you want the country to keep up or say we have an 8hr or 12hr maintenance service for our electricity networks. That will really help attract investment to the country.
    Staff do not pick the union heads and certainly any staff members I know were horrified when B.O. came into ESB .............. brought in by one of the unions. His level of industrial militancy is not welcome in ESB - it is grossly unfair to blame staff members for this though. Listen to his speech - he is complaining that ESB wouldn't go out on strike for him .. hence his slight on ESB parents who dare send their children to college! He is out to stir up industrial anarchy. His agenda is much bigger than ESB (again - listen to his speech)

juuge wrote: »
    I'm curious as to how Brendan Ogle got a job in the ESB in the first place.
    With his track record surely any potential employer would avoid him like the plague. I wonder was it the unions that employed him?:(

Correct - brought in by one of the unions (now called Unite). Not a move that was welcomed by the vast vast majority of staff.

Yep the Unite Trade Union was formed by the Alalgamation of Amicus and the ITGWU, their HQ is 15 Merrion Square in Dublin, Right in the Heartland of the ESB - one wonders who owns No: 15, could it the the ESB ? - work that one out !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

clive13 wrote: »
    I do not agree with a lot of B.Ogle's ideas and his attempts to take ESB staff back to a by gone era. However the venting of anger against ESB staff and their earnings is completely misplaced.

A few facts:
    • Competition was introduced in the Irish Republic - a market about the size of Manchester. How were private companies to make profit in such a small market ..................... devise a way of keeping prices up. Courtesty of the Irish Government and the Energy Regulator.
    • Force ESB to sell its generation plants to private companies - and prevent ESB from building modern efficient plant. Yes - over 70% of the electricity produced in Ireland is from private generators.
    • Private Electricity Supply companies - upwards of 80% of large and medium industry are not customers of ESB supply ..... they are in fact customers of private companies - yet they complain about their ESB bill !!
    • Domestic customers changed on mass to other companies when the first opportunity arose .. yet still blame ESB for the price of electricity.... go figure ... private generation,, private supply companies - yet the price is ESB's fault
    Solution - cut ESB staff salaries ... that will make such a difference to your bills ............. nonsense. The total salary package in ESB equates to approx 1% to 2% of the cost of electricity. So unless all 7,500 ESB staff work for nothing forever (a figure that is just half of the no. of employees of 1995) - you will not see that €12/annum saving in your ESB bill (assuming you are still an ESB customer)

During the Celtic tiger ESB found it quite difficult to recruit people to a whole host of positions - the rewards were much richer in the private sector. Now that we are in a recession - elements of the private sector want to go for a quick buck and do a fire sale of very valuable state assets. Where do you think any money raised would go ............. not to relieve the pressure on stressed mortgage owners I can assure you. Be real, get the facts before tearing one of the states key companies to bits.

I know for a fact that the ESB regularly sends its staff out on tabs paid for by the company. These tabs hit over a grand a time. Not sure if it is the most responsible for a state company, the only one in profit, to be wasting its profits on free bars for the staff. But this is indicative of a culture of fat cats not wanting to tighten their belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,687 ✭✭✭Heroditas

clive13 wrote: »
    I do not agree with a lot of B.Ogle's ideas and his attempts to take ESB staff back to a by gone era. However the venting of anger against ESB staff and their earnings is completely misplaced.

A few facts:
    • Competition was introduced in the Irish Republic - a market about the size of Manchester. How were private companies to make profit in such a small market ..................... devise a way of keeping prices up. Courtesty of the Irish Government and the Energy Regulator.
    • Force ESB to sell its generation plants to private companies - and prevent ESB from building modern efficient plant. Yes - over 70% of the electricity produced in Ireland is from private generators.
    • Private Electricity Supply companies - upwards of 80% of large and medium industry are not customers of ESB supply ..... they are in fact customers of private companies - yet they complain about their ESB bill !!
    • Domestic customers changed on mass to other companies when the first opportunity arose .. yet still blame ESB for the price of electricity.... go figure ... private generation,, private supply companies - yet the price is ESB's fault
    Solution - cut ESB staff salaries ... that will make such a difference to your bills ............. nonsense. The total salary package in ESB equates to approx 1% to 2% of the cost of electricity. So unless all 7,500 ESB staff work for nothing forever (a figure that is just half of the no. of employees of 1995) - you will not see that €12/annum saving in your ESB bill (assuming you are still an ESB customer)

During the Celtic tiger ESB found it quite difficult to recruit people to a whole host of positions - the rewards were much richer in the private sector. Now that we are in a recession - elements of the private sector want to go for a quick buck and do a fire sale of very valuable state assets. Where do you think any money raised would go ............. not to relieve the pressure on stressed mortgage owners I can assure you. Be real, get the facts before tearing one of the states key companies to bits.

Excellent post.
    People just don't seem to understand how the market works and, more importantly, revel in wilful ignorance.
    The generation, transmission and distribution costs of getting gas converted into electricity and getting it in your plug at home accounts for about 12c of the final price.
    In that cost, there are capacity payments ... these amount to about €400m a year and are made to any generator that is able to generate at a given time.
    Both fossil fuelled plants and renewable generators benefit from these payments.
    The TUoS and DUoS charges are to cover the maintenance of the network. These are very high because of how our population is spread out over the country. Typically we use four times as much copper wire to supply electricity to a customer compared to our European counterparts. Staff are needed 24/7 to ensure if your local transformer breaks down, you'll have power restored within a few hours.
    Funny how ESB are still cheaper than their competitors for many of the DG codes when they are allegedly ripping people off.
    ESB Customer Supply/Electric Ireland are also taking a lot of staff off their books and they are being reassigned to contractor companies in call centres, billing companies etc, all in an effort to reduce the wage bill and overall costs.

Funny how the cost of electricity in NI is only a meagre fraction lower than it is down here and that's despite wages being half what they are here.
    Also, electricity is heavily subsidized on mainland Europe.
    We got away with the lowest prices in Europe for decades but the network was in a very bad state and needed investment. That work isn't cheap and is reflected in the TUoS and DUoS charges.
    The wholesale price of a MWh of electricity is broadly in line with the rest of Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭donkey balls

More sh:te from the sindo there are loads of companies who pay there staff on call allowance along with other benefits,When I worked for a company sometimes I needed to go into work on the odd Sunday to open up the place for a driver to off load you were looking at max 1 hrs work yet they paid me 4hrs.
    It seems since the downturn that people who have lost there jobs (through no-fault of there own) are taking a swipe at people who still have good jobs and perks,And before people start shouting me down I lost my job three years ago and have being in limbo since(doing agency work)not knowing if I have work for the next day never mind weeks ahead.
    As I've said in other threads about the ESB my mate works there and no way is he on the so called gravy train salary of 75k more than likely €40/45k including OT/shift allowance.
    I wonder what the fascination is with the sindo and the ESB never really any mention of other semi states and as for comparing here with the north as usual they dont in to account the cost of living etc,I found out recently that people from the north and England get free GP visits and free prescriptions no matter what they earn and a friend of mine from Belfast could not believe how much it cost to tax a normal run of the mill famy car here compared to the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭neiphin

Yep the Unite Trade Union was formed by the Alalgamation of Amicus and the ITGWU, their HQ is 15 Merrion Square in Dublin, Right in the Heartland of the ESB - one wonders who owns No: 15, could it the the ESB ? - work that one out !

http://www.unitetheunion.org/regions/ireland/contact_us.aspx
    District Offices in the Republic of Ireland
    Dublin (July 2011 - Office temporarily closed for refurbishment until further notice - with all union business, telephone and fax number transferred to Merrion Square)
    55-56 Middle Abbey Street
    Dublin 1
    Tel: 01 873 4577
    Fax: 01 873 4602

http://www.yourlocal.ie/d/trade-unions-dublin-2/amicus_01_6761213
    who owns it ?
    do you know?
    put up or f off

More sh:te from the sindo there are loads of companies who pay there staff on call allowance along with other benefits,When I worked for a company sometimes I needed to go into work on the odd Sunday to open up the place for a driver to off load you were looking at max 1 hrs work yet they paid me 4hrs.
    It seems since the downturn that people who have lost there jobs (through no-fault of there own) are taking a swipe at people who still have good jobs and perks,And before people start shouting me down I lost my job three years ago and have being in limbo since(doing agency work)not knowing if I have work for the next day never mind weeks ahead.
    As I've said in other threads about the ESB my mate works there and no way is he on the so called gravy train salary of 75k more than likely €40/45k including OT/shift allowance.
    I wonder what the fascination is with the sindo and the ESB never really any mention of other semi states and as for comparing here with the north as usual they dont in to account the cost of living etc,I found out recently that people from the north and England get free GP visits and free prescriptions no matter what they earn and a friend of mine from Belfast could not believe how much it cost to tax a normal run of the mill famy car here compared to the north.
    when SIR anto gets hes hands on it , and assets strips it , then you will know, but it will be too late then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Ah that being the same anto who did an asset strip of Telecom.;)

the guy that got broadband to you good and promptly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

ESB salaries and perks really should be benchmarked against the salaries and perks of workers in similar roles in other EU countries.

Today's Indo compares the salaries of our nearest neighbour, NI.
    A simple measure of payroll costs shows the average annual ESB salary, excluding pension contributions, stood at €85,000 last year, compared with €41,000 at the Viridian Group.

Rather than jumping on another round of whinge bagging and Indo bashing, how about posters do something constructive and post evidence of the average salaries of other workers in similar industries in the EU, and try to prove that the ESB staff are not overpaid.

n97 mini wrote: »
    Rather than jumping on another round of whinge bagging and Indo bashing, how about posters do something constructive and post evidence of the average salaries of other workers in similar industries in the EU, and try to prove that the ESB staff are not overpaid.
    but if the indo did its job properly, we would not be having this argument

to get to E85k the indo manuipulates the numbers
    LIES
    DAMN LIES
    AND STATISTICS

its all in the telling of the story
    and selling papers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

ESB salaries and perks really should be benchmarked against the salaries and perks of workers in similar roles in other EU countries.

Today's Indo compares the salaries of our nearest neighbour, NI.

Rather than jumping on another round of whinge bagging and Indo bashing, how about posters do something constructive and post evidence of the average salaries of other workers in similar industries in the EU, and try to prove that SOME ESB staff are overpaid, and some are not

Fixed your post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭n900guy

ESB is probably one of the best run companies in the country. It is an example on how to do business properly, but the cute hoor "private sector" doesn't work like that (well - the banks, developers, construction sectors don't do business well)

Having been forced by the government for the last 10 years to up prices as part of a privatisation agenda, what we get now is a relentless and factless media-run campaign under the supervision of the government to encourage wild speculation and pressure to break up the ESB, replacing it with poorly run privatised electricity companies pretending to compete with each other as they allow massive exploitation of a captive island market which will see energy costs spiral out of control.

Not sure who is backing the campaign because it really is not in our best interests to lose control of energy supply to households.

Three posts of more of the same.

Why doesn't someone provide some evidence to contradict the Indo and prove that ESB workers aren't the highest paid.

For those of us on the outside we're hearing nothing but whinging about the media etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭Good loser

kceire wrote: »

I'm Structural and a current member of EI and the IEI before that since 2003.

Kceire. Let me get this straight. You now say you are an engineer, you work for the ESB directly and you earn in the mid 20's per annum.

Many ESB posters have said the huge €85,000 pay average in the ESB is due to above-average-engineers balancing low-pay-operatives in other grades.

Are you telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth?

Good loser wrote: »
    Kceire. Let me get this straight. You now say you are an engineer, you work for the ESB directly and you earn in the mid 20's per annum.

Many ESB posters have said the huge €85,000 pay average in the ESB is due to above-average-engineers balancing low-pay-operatives in other grades.

Are you telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth?

I never once said i worked directly for ESB. Can you please provide proof of where i said that?

c_man said:
    EI membership is mainly made of civil engineers, certainly I know of no engineer outside that discipline that is a member.

which is why i stated that other engineering diciplines are members of the IEI / EI.

I have intimate knowledge of ESB staff earning mid 20's as my partner works for ESB in admin / Biling interaction section.

so good loser, are you reading my posts, my whole posts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

which is why i stated that other engineering diciplines are members of the IEI / EI.

In fairness I would lump structural in under the civil umbrella (and environmental too). Outside of these, really how many of their membership are electronic etc.?

It's not really a like-for-like comparison though when looking at Viridian.
    The ESB wages include the whole organization from generation to networks staff through to customer supply.
    Viridian outsource practically everything from PR to legal to billing etc.
    As a result, much of the organization is made up of sales and sales support.
    Also, they don't say which branch of the Viridian group is supplying those figures for the average wage there. Are they including all of Huntstown Power, Energia and Power NI too?
    I know that some of the customer service people in Viridian get paid about £11,000 a year.

Heroditas wrote: »
    I know that some of the customer service people in Viridian get paid about £11,000 a year.
    Would that be the lowest salary in the company? What would the lowest ESB salary be in comparison?

It's minimum wage for customer service call centre people answering the phone to customers and going through their account with them.
    I have no idea what ESB staff would be paid for that but I'd be interested to know if there were many call centre staff in this country getting paid that amount.
    Cost of living in Belfast is substantially lower than here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Would that be the lowest salary in the company? What would the lowest ESB salary be in comparison?

The lowest salary I know of in the ESB is 9989 euro a year for the 1st year apprentices, which btw is less than a first year apprentice would get in a private company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

An interesting point I can across was that contractor work in both ESB and Viridian costs more that that carried out internally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

bassey wrote: »
    The lowest salary I know of in the ESB is 9989 euro a year for the 1st year apprentices, which btw is less than a first year apprentice would get in a private company.
    An apprentice position is not comparable to someone working a full 39 hour week. The salary the said apprentice would be on once fully qualified is what should be used for comparison purposes.

bassey wrote: »

An apprentice is a student and as such salaries should be compared to other apprentice salaries.

I thought I read somewhere that the lowest starting salary in the ESB is €26k.

For the Indo-bashers the Irish Times reported earlier this year that the average ESB salary is €75,500.

An interesting point I can across was that contractor work in both ESB and Viridian costs more that that carried out internally.
    THIS IS TRUE, and this is where the waters get muddy
    during the boom,
    the esb was not in a position to carry out all the work internally
    some (a lot) of work was subcontracted out
    some work was given to esb employees on a fixed price

THE ESB, could not keep on top of the volumes of work comming in
    their own employees did the excess at a fixed price per job
    which was cheeper than external contracts (ahs)
    these works compleatly dried up 2 1/2---3yrs ago
    THESE ARE INCLUDED IN THE WAGES THAT THAT RAG THE INDO WOULD HAVE YOU BELIEVE ARE PART OF EVERY ESB EMPLOYEES BASIC

neiphin wrote: »
    THESE ARE INCLUDED IN THE WAGES THAT THAT RAG THE INDO WOULD HAVE YOU BELIEVE ARE PART OF EVERY ESB EMPLOYEES BASIC
    Rather than bashing the Indo ad nauseum, would you mind providing a link, to the CSO or another newspaper, that shows average salary in the ESB.

1) i dont believe that the CSO have so little for doing as finding the AVERAGE wage in every company
    2) this was and is a non story that the indo has been sitting on OGLE made that speach 3 months ago, to use for THEIR own ends

I have it on GOOD authority that the AVERAGE wage is in and about half the indo figure

You're probably on about the basic wage wage though and not including allowances or the benefits that come with the job like a 50k a year chef etc

of course you cannot include allowences, only those at the top get them
    and the 1st thing to is same
    the basic is all that you are guaranteed
    of those that do get allowences (which are few) you are talking about been on call, been available out of hours, on top of basic 39

the chef thing ?,
    i presume you mean in head office, where there would be a large admin staff large meeting and conference rooms , would you prefer if the esb took visitors or those on courses out for lunch or dinner, are there cheep eateries in that part of dublin ?

or the benefits that come with the job like a 50k a year chef etc
    http://www.irelandhoteljobs.com/contents/?PG=salary_surveys.html&id=5/46

i dont know is this any help

1) i dont believe that the CSO have so little for doing as finding the AVERAGE wage in every company
    The CSO record the salaries in the semi-states.

Honestly, you have provided no proof to anything you have said so far.
    nephin wrote:
    I have it on GOOD authority that the AVERAGE wage is in and about half the indo figure

WE don't. And you repeating it ad nauseum isn't proof.

The CSO record the salaries in the semi-states.

Honestly, you have provided no proof to anything you have said so far.

WE don't. And you repeating it ad nauseum isn't proof.

Semi-State Companies

1,050.11AVERAGE IN SEMI STATES IN 2008
    NOW WE ALL KNOW THAT WAGES HAVE FALLEN A LOT SINCE THEN
    http://www.cso.ie/quicktables/GetQuickTables.aspx?FileName=PSA01.asp&TableName=Public+Sector+Average+Weekly+Earnings&StatisticalProduct=DB_PS

BUT IF YOUR DIM ENOUGH TO BELIEVE THE INDO , NOTHING MAY SAVE YOu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Neiphin,

Do you work for the ESB ?

Also please stop typing in caps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭Good loser

I never once said i worked directly for ESB. Can you please provide proof of where i said that?

c_man said:

I have intimate knowledge of ESB staff earning mid 20's as my partner works for ESB in admin / Biling interaction section.

You write in riddles. You are a structural engineer and don't work for ESB?
    Is that correct?

Your partner works directly for ESB in admin for mid 20's salary? Is that correct?

Even so I don't understand why you spend so much energy defending the ESB pay and conditions on the basis of low pay?

The complaints are about average pay in the ESB of €85,000 (before pensions) and what is going to be done about it. The money for these wages (€650m or so per annum) comes from the customer's pockets many of whom are broke. I would have no complaints if the company was not owned by the State - it is up to it to take action. Ogle's absurd speech only confirms the scandalous situation. Especially irritating is that because inflation has fallen 4% since 2008 and ESB wages increased by 15% their real standard of living has increased by about 20%. And increments!
    Some years ago it was reported average pay in Ringsend power station was over €140,000 per annum.

Perhaps the Govt could lift some citizens out of their debt nightmare by giving them a job there for a week or fortnight. A year should clear the mortgage!!

In the budget, if not sooner, the Govt should raid the ESB for a few hundred million and insist all perks are exposed to public scrutiny.

You write in riddles. You are a structural engineer and don't work for ESB?
    Is that correct?

Your partner works directly for ESB in admin for mid 20's salary? Is that correct?

Even so I don't understand why you spend so much energy defending the ESB pay and conditions on the basis of low pay?

The complaints are about average pay in the ESB of €85,000 (before pensions) and what is going to be done about it. The money for these wages (€650m or so per annum) comes from the customer's pockets many of whom are broke. I would have no complaints if the company was not owned by the State - it is up to it to take action. Ogle's absurd speech only confirms the scandalous situation. Especially irritating is that because inflation has fallen 4% since 2008 and ESB wages increased by 15% their real standard of living has increased by about 20%. And increments!
    Some years ago it was reported average pay in Ringsend power station was over €140,000 per annum.

Perhaps the Govt could lift some citizens out of their debt nightmare by giving them a job there for a week or fortnight. A year should clear the mortgage!!

In the budget, if not sooner, the Govt should raid the ESB for a few hundred million and insist all perks are exposed to public scrutiny.

KCEIRE is a public sector electrician, the only people qualified to change light bulbs and put in alarm codes.

KCEIRE why don't you tell us how many staff work in this admin office and we can see what percentage of the overall ESB staff they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭sarumite

I honestly had the impression you worked in the ESB as well.To be fair you didn't explicity state it, though you implied that you were affected by the ESB pay freeze of 2009. I can see how others would have come to the same conclusion based on your posts on this thread.

You write in riddles.

If you dont understand the posts, then ask for clarification.
    I dont spend much time defending ESB pay, i defend the fact that not all staff earn this money and that there ARE people within ESB earning normal/average salaries, but again, real life facts get lost in this forum full of jumped up students, know it alls, and simple begrudgers and also people just out to wind others up.
    KCEIRE is a public sector electrician, the only people qualified to change light bulbs and put in alarm codes.

you need to wake up and cop on, i am nowhere near what you stated, infact i blew my fridge up last year because i pulled at some wires, a far cry from an electrian i am :rolleyes:
    KCEIRE why don't you tell us how many staff work in this admin office and we can see what percentage of the overall ESB staff they are.

I only know of one admin office that deals with a particular section of ESB work, and thats the one my GF works in. i cannot answer for all ESB admin numbers, you'll have to do your own research on that one im afraid, if you have the time.
    sarumite wrote: »
    I honestly had the impression you worked in the ESB as well.To be fair you didn't explicity state it, though you implied that you were affected by the ESB pay freeze of 2009. I can see how others would have come to the same conclusion based on your posts on this thread.

i dont have to state whre i do or do not work. if people are posting factless posts and i believe them to be wrong i will post against it, that is all.

I get the impression, mant many posters believe that things need to be done in the best interest of the country but then they defend their own interests, a simple case of cut hem, not me.

NOW WE ALL KNOW THAT WAGES HAVE FALLEN A LOT SINCE THEN
    Correct me if I'm wrong but did ESB staff not get a pay rise of 3.5% in 2009?

some did, some didnt.

My GF didnt. (admin)

I dont spend much time defending ESB pay
    Every one of your posts on this thread since it started ~2 weeks ago seem to be defending ESB pay.

some did, some didnt.

My GF didnt. (admin)

That's would have been illegal as it's part of a national pay agreement.

Either you're wrong, or she needs to get on to HR and get that pay rise back dated.

Every one of your posts on this thread since it started ~2 weeks ago seem to be defending ESB pay.

its an ESB thread, what do you want me to talk about? cheesecake?

also, im defending the average workers pay, people on 25-35k, with no bonus and 20 days annual leave per year, not the people earning 90k plus extras.