Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are young Irish women so rude in bars/clubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I've a face like Marmite - it's a melted coal bucket for some girls, a place they instantly want to sit for others. I've had dry spells and I've had floods and I've had plenty of rejection, instant and more considered.
    Overall though, I'd never conclude that "wimminz is stick up" - some people are for you, some are not and not finding the right one for you is not half as bad as wasting time with the wrong one so I'm happy enough for a woman to tell me to fack off quickly, then I can look elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

yes

asians dont want stupid expensive drinks ever time they go out and they certainly dont need shoes every day of the week. :D

and the sex is...well better.

And they're happy to constantly cook for you. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Jaysus, these asian women sound the business!
    What's the story with the Asian men?
    Just curious like, ya know??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Story about what? They have small willies, apparently, and aren't all that interested in sex or being manly. The two may or may not be connected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Miss Olenska

asians dont want stupid expensive drinks ever time they go out and they certainly dont need shoes every day of the week. :D

Lollers. My Filipino ex-housemate LOVED shopping, more than anyone else in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Cossax wrote: »
    And they're happy to constantly cook for you. :D

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

>>>>> . <<<<<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

And I bet you all smelled of Lynx

Lynx ... the scent of victory.
    Sure no birds can resist it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i asked a woman for a lighter in the pub this evening
    she said "ok" and handed me a lighter

irish bitches be alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

there's a big difference between approaching someone with the hope of pulling and approaching someone for a chat and a bit of craic and taking anything else that comes as a happy bonus. A very big difference

This is precisely it and also why I'm home tonight as a result of what was happening to my friends and I in a Dublin bar this time last week.

We were in a Baggot St bar after being in Lansdowne for the England game when we were approached by a member of a group of Englishmen who were standing nearby. The man was in his late forties, a little drunk as was to be expected in a pub on a Saturday night and much to the younger guys embarrassment, he informed us how he was looking for some nice Irish girls for his sons, who were also there. Much banter ensued and we all got talking about the rugby, where we from, careers etc, at which stage they asked if there was a niteclub we could all go to, to continue the craic we were having.

We were meeting some other friends but they were such gentlemen and genuinely good fun that we joined them later. However, some random Irish guy who had very kindly informed me I was a 'babe' at the bar earlier decided to bust through the group of English guys to insist I dance with him instead.

Now I am not a rude person and rather than tell him where to go, I simply tried to move away from him when he was pressing his sleazy self against me. The subtlety was clearly lost on him and he continued to maul me to the point where the English guys had to intervene and politely inform him I wasn't interested. But he was undeterred and actually grabbed me again despite me clearly telling him to get lost. When he did it a third time, these English guys who I'd only just met went and quietly spoke to the bouncer to get this guy kept away from us.

Imagine our shock then when he spent the remainder of the night stood at the side of the dancefloor, staring at us. We were seriously uncomfortable so we all decided to leave to continue our party elsewhere. So we're all outside, getting into taxis when I notice psycho Irish guy has actually followed us out and climbed into the taxi beside me! I got straight out and of course so did he and promptly began to start a fight with the English guys, who at this stage had had enough of him.

It got so bad that the guards had to arrive to get this guy away, all because he was too drunk and too stupid to take no for an answer. I actually felt mortified that these polite, engaging English guys had their night ruined by an Irish drunken moron. And I'm sick of Irish women being accused of being the baddies when in actual fact there are plenty of Irish guys who need to take a long, hard look at themselves and their actions before flinging the blame elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

If you get rejected just say "I was only talking to you because your friend is hot."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

So I says to KeithAFC and Wolfetone...:confused: I,m in the wrong thread aren't I ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

I agree with you that of course some women can be stuck up but seriously as a female it can be absolutely fcukin annoying on a night out to be constantly annoyed by blokes......
    Im married myself with kids but would now and again get chatted to by a bloke on a night out. Within a few minutes I'd drop into the conversation that I'm married and the bloke then leggers:D
    I used to be all tactful and tippy toeing as I wouldn't want to hurt a persons feelings but over the years I've gotten a lot blunter about it..

Probably a naive stupid boy question, But doesnt the fact that You get hit on show Youve still got it and is a thing to enjoy rather than not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

astonaidan wrote: »
    Probably a naive stupid boy question, But doesnt the fact that You get hit on show Youve still got it and is a thing to enjoy rather than not?

Absolutely and I'd be a liar if I didn't usually be flattered by it tbh but it's horrible how they look at ya like you've led them on when you say your married....... The thing is I'm not a bitch at all and I find it difficult to give them the straight up put down cos I know its not always easy for some blokes to strike up conversations with women!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

The put downs are coming so thick and fast within the first 10 seconds simply because it takes 30+ for the Rohypnol to dissolve into the bloodstream, just have some patience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Jess16 wrote: »
    Much banter ensued and we all got talking about the rugby, where we from, careers etc, at which stage they asked if there was a niteclub we could all go to, to continue the craic we were having.

Craic... with the English.... ?

Troll :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 senorcoconut

That's what years of grab arsing by males in town will do to a woman, that and the amount of sleazy geebags going around trying to get theirs.

Take the hint and stop moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Jesus clubs are such **** - can't understand why people seem to love them so. They can't all be taking E to enjoy it can they?

Bad music, arsehole women and aggressively drunk blokes. Makes no sense :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Probably coz there is a better looking guy in the club and they want you to fcuk off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

I spoke to a woman once in the late 90s. She was very mean.

Never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

This is precisely it and also why I'm home tonight as a result of what was happening to my friends and I in a Dublin bar this time last week.

We were in a Baggot St bar after being in Lansdowne for the England game when we were approached by a member of a group of Englishmen who were standing nearby. The man was in his late forties, a little drunk as was to be expected in a pub on a Saturday night and much to the younger guys embarrassment, he informed us how he was looking for some nice Irish girls for his sons, who were also there. Much banter ensued and we all got talking about the rugby, where we from, careers etc, at which stage they asked if there was a niteclub we could all go to, to continue the craic we were having.

We were meeting some other friends but they were such gentlemen and genuinely good fun that we joined them later. However, some random Irish guy who had very kindly informed me I was a 'babe' at the bar earlier decided to bust through the group of English guys to insist I dance with him instead.

Now I am not a rude person and rather than tell him where to go, I simply tried to move away from him when he was pressing his sleazy self against me. The subtlety was clearly lost on him and he continued to maul me to the point where the English guys had to intervene and politely inform him I wasn't interested. But he was undeterred and actually grabbed me again despite me clearly telling him to get lost. When he did it a third time, these English guys who I'd only just met went and quietly spoke to the bouncer to get this guy kept away from us.

Imagine our shock then when he spent the remainder of the night stood at the side of the dancefloor, staring at us. We were seriously uncomfortable so we all decided to leave to continue our party elsewhere. So we're all outside, getting into taxis when I notice psycho Irish guy has actually followed us out and climbed into the taxi beside me! I got straight out and of course so did he and promptly began to start a fight with the English guys, who at this stage had had enough of him.

It got so bad that the guards had to arrive to get this guy away, all because he was too drunk and too stupid to take no for an answer. I actually felt mortified that these polite, engaging English guys had their night ruined by an Irish drunken moron. And I'm sick of Irish women being accused of being the baddies when in actual fact there are plenty of Irish guys who need to take a long, hard look at themselves and their actions before flinging the blame elsewhere
    So did the English lads get the ride?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Went out last night with several mates, we approached several Irish women for a chat, (none of us were drunk) and all we ended up getting was really harsh put-downs within the first 10secs. A woman has no rational reason to put a man down like that so fast. Where is the respect and manners amongst Irish girls these days?

Maybe they didnt want men they do not know coming over and getting in there personal space. Just because some men are on the pull does not mean women have to humour you. If some girls want to head to the pub and have a few drinks without dudes hitting on them they are entitled too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I spoke to a woman once in the late 90s. She was very mean.

Never again.

You should speak to younger women.

A woman in her late 90s is bound to be a bit cranky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

800 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Why are young Irish women so rude in bars/clubs?

Because young Irish men take it.

The real question, I think, is why do so many Irish guys in bars/clubs put up with some Irish girls being rude to them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

jive wrote: »

It actually happens darling. Deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Oh bla bla. Women in clubs usually assume that if you talk to them you're trying to have sex with them because there is no other good reason to go to a bloody club. Seriously, who enjoys shouting boring small talk over bad music and the smell of lynx and fake tan for its own sake??? I've heard it said that girls go there because they enjoy getting dressed up and dancing to said ****e music (whatever), so there may be lots of women there who don't want any sex at all, and there are lots more who don't want to have sex with a specific man. If they don't want to have sex with that man or don't want to talk to that man that doesn't make them a bitch. Yes some people go about it bitchily but **** them. And I know rejection sucks, I've had it happen to me and it's not nice, but as an Irish woman I'm sick of taking the blame for every bloody bruised male ego on here.

I've had guys stare me out from across from a bar, walk past other people to talk to me and then when I say I've got a boyfriend or simply say "I'm just out with my friends tonight" go "God I was only chatting to you, get over yourself!", oh right, you spotted my lovely personality from across the room did you? I've had one guy dance with me, follow to the bar and then when he heard me speak go "Oh, you're not Polish!" and walk off. I've been groped and kissed against my will in nightclubs, I've had that PUA bull**** tried on me...I am talking about over yeeeeears of clubbing and pubbing, it's not that I think I'm so damn sexy that I can't step out my door without getting hit on, I'm not particularly good looking and I don't get hit on every time I go out, but for most women and probably especially the good-looking ones, going out in Irish clubs would turn you into a temporary bitch pretty quickly, just as I can see that as an Irish man going out in Irish clubs would give you a set against Irish women.

My point is, yes there is something very rotten with the way us Paddies and Padettes interact in clubs, but the blame can't be all put on one side. It's not a case of all Irish women are bitches or all Irish men are sleazey drunkballs, and it's a vicious circle.

But SERIOUSLY? Seven of you were going up to girls and wondering why you got that reaction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

jive wrote: »

Actually English rugby supporters are a top bunch imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Jess16, you tellin me those English lads weren't after their iron............!???! Come out of the fog!!! That Irish guy you had to put up with sounds like a twat, and we're not all that bad!!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Oh bla bla. Women in clubs usually assume that if you talk to them you're trying to have sex with them because there is no other good reason to go to a bloody club. Seriously, who enjoys shouting boring small talk over bad music and the smell of lynx and fake tan for its own sake??? I've heard it said that girls go there because they enjoy getting dressed up and dancing to said ****e music (whatever), so there may be lots of women there who don't want any sex at all, and there are lots more who don't want to have sex with a specific man. If they don't want to have sex with that man or don't want to talk to that man that doesn't make them a bitch. Yes some people go about it bitchily but **** them. And I know rejection sucks, I've had it happen to me and it's not nice, but as an Irish woman I'm sick of taking the blame for every bloody bruised male ego on here.

I've had guys stare me out from across from a bar, walk past other people to talk to me and then when I say I've got a boyfriend or simply say "I'm just out with my friends tonight" go "God I was only chatting to you, get over yourself!", oh right, you spotted my lovely personality from across the room did you? I've had one guy dance with me, follow to the bar and then when he heard me speak go "Oh, you're not Polish!" and walk off. I've been groped and kissed against my will in nightclubs, I've had that PUA bull**** tried on me...I am talking about over yeeeeears of clubbing and pubbing, it's not that I think I'm so damn sexy that I can't step out my door without getting hit on, I'm not particularly good looking and I don't get hit on every time I go out, but for most women and probably especially the good-looking ones, going out in Irish clubs would turn you into a temporary bitch pretty quickly, just as I can see that as an Irish man going out in Irish clubs would give you a set against Irish women.

My point is, yes there is something very rotten with the way us Paddies and Padettes interact in clubs, but the blame can't be all put on one side. It's not a case of all Irish women are bitches or all Irish men are sleazey drunkballs, and it's a vicious circle.

But SERIOUSLY? Seven of you were going up to girls and wondering why you got that reaction?

lol, did that feel like the release out of a steam valve? Built up pressure?

I agree with 'most' of what you said btw. But that
    doesn't stop it being hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I've had one guy dance with me, follow to the bar and then when he heard me speak go "Oh, you're not Polish!" and walk off.
    Haha :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

seachto7 wrote: »
    Jess16, you tellin me those English lads weren't after their iron............!???! Come out of the fog!!! That Irish guy you had to put up with sounds like a twat, and we're not all that bad!!!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

They probably were looking for some sex but by the sounds of it they went about it the right way. They did not force themselves on the girls like the Irish guy did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

strobe wrote: »
    lol, did that feel like the release out of a steam valve? Built up pressure?

I agree with 'most' of what you said btw.

Oh no, I've vented on this thread in its other incarnations before, favourite bugbear of mine.
    Haha :D

Shut up it was terrible, he was sexy! I thought I was in!

That's it Deise Dave, they gave off the illusion they were "nice guys" when all they wanted was a dart of an Irish lass before they went back to blighty.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

Went out last night with several mates, we approached several Irish women for a chat, (none of us were drunk) and all we ended up getting was really harsh put-downs within the first 10secs. A woman has no rational reason to put a man down like that so fast. Where is the respect and manners amongst Irish girls these days?

There's your problem :D

But seriously avoid the friend herd approach, it's intimidating

Oh no, I've vented on this thread in its other incarnations before, favourite bugbear of mine.

Yea...I'm sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

seachto7 wrote: »
    That's it Deise Dave, they gave off the illusion they were "nice guys" when all they wanted was a dart of an Irish lass before they went back to blighty.........

Well it would be easy to dismiss it as that but they actually called us another cab, waited with us until it arrived and insisted we went home while they dealt with Mr Issues. I can hardly believe it myself really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Yes some Irish girls are bitches but not all are.

Some Irish men can't take a hint at all, they'll follow you around, try to buy you drinks, try to dance, get your number etc, it gets a bit much when you tell them you have a boyfriend but they still keep following you .....I tend to get stuck with these people following me for the night because I can't just say to some harmless guy "Just **** off"

I'm seen some of my most normal guy friends turn into these puppy dog stalker types following girls around the pubs/clubs even though they'd never normally do that when they're sober.

I think it's horrible when girls are just rude outright, some people do find it hard to approach people and it's not right for them to do that. It's nice to be nice!

But remember guys for every one of your friends who's just got told to **** off by some girl he wasn't even sure if he was interested in, there's another of your friends following a random girl around like a love sick puppy :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Do you know what's really annoying?
    You're there dancing in a club, and every guy in the place takes it as an open invitation to grope you.
    Then they get offended when you shove them away.

I don't think the problem is with girls.
    It's with how guys just leech all over you pathetically.
    As someone else said, if you're just chatting and having a laugh, you're less likely to get rejected than if you're just being a sleazebag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

Having lived and visited in various cities around the world (years in London, now living in Melbourne) I still have to say Irish girls think way too highly of themselves.

Now I know Irish men with drink on them are a complete embarrassment, but still, the bitchyness of Irish girls is something that still haunts me from my youth and I still find it hard to talk to Irish girls abroad, so mostly I don't.

I remember walking up the stairs from the toilets minding my own business in 4DameLane and there were two girls talking on the steps. I said 'excuse me' as they were in my way and one of them said 'no, no, you go on ahead' and pushed me on!! I was with a girl upstairs and just had to crack up laughing at the cheek of them thinking I was chatting them up.

I have to say, in other countries, men and women interact in pubs/clubs all the time.. there will be chitchat between them and then the guy might ask the girl does she want to dance etc. and she will either say yes or politely say no. Simple. That's the way it works outside of Ireland. Then you go out in Ireland and girls have these shields up and act like complete bitches.

I really do think it's just a coping mechanism for their own insecurities and lack of self confidence, added to a skewed opinion of self-worth brought on by the materialism of the media and leftovers of the 'feel good factor' of the celtic tiger days (because I'M worth it etc.)

OP, forget trying to talk to Irish girls in clubs and just go abroad where social interaction is normal between males and females. If you don't get laid, then at least you may make friends with some girls and that may lead to meeting your girl in the future...

Well it would be easy to dismiss it as that but they actually called us another cab, waited with us until it arrived and insisted we went home while they dealt with Mr Issues. I can hardly believe it myself really

indeed, ever the gentlemen...............you're not that gullible surely!!

I have done all of what those English guys did before on the pull, and a lot of the time it worked, as I didn't act the idiot and used common sense and politeness but in reality I just wanted to get my end away........

It could be worse, we could be Italian men trying to chat up women. Now there are guys who have no idea how to do it.............

lima wrote: »
    I remember walking up the stairs from the toilets minding my own business in 4DameLane and there were two girls talking on the steps. I said 'excuse me' as they were in my way and one of them said 'no, no, you go on ahead' and pushed me on!! I was with a girl upstairs and just had to crack up laughing at the cheek of them thinking I was chatting them up.

Um, what? You said "Excuse me", they said to go past, so I'm guessing they moved aside for you? What a scarring experience that must have been for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

Um, what? You said "Excuse me", they said to go past, so I'm guessing they moved aside for you? What a scarring experience that must have been for you!

No, they assumed I was saying 'Excuse me' to get their attention, so that I could 'chat them up'. Let's assume that 'no, no, you go on ahead' meant 'no, I know that you are about to attempt to chat me up, don't even think about it, keep on going up them stairs'. Also the tone of their voices made it clear that they assumed incorrectly that I was trying to stay there and talk to them.

Do you understand that now Miss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

They have it built up in their heads that they are actually good looking. Give me Germany any day where good looking dames don't have a problem with fine looking men like myself chatting them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

foreign girls ftw;) let the home grown mingers stew in their own juice :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Mr Keek

agreed with alot of the girls statments about guys not taking the hint, they deserve what they get to be honest. Especially when it comes to groping or body grinding, it that was at work it would be sexual harassment.

Often been on the position where I'd spark up a conversation with a girl, and I'd subtly let my intentions known and ask for a dance or whatever to which I'd receive a "F*uck Off"(for the record, Im not a big drinker and don't Get drunk) , what ever happened to No thank you? We've just been chatting for the last 10 mins and you all of a sudden turn from a girl I'd be intrested in to a complete bitch?

I've had far more positive experiences where I took the hint and just had a nice brief chat.

I've had plenty of girls approach me tht I wouldn't touch but I'd still be nice with them, have a buzz and wish them a good night as i left. That's just me I guess, I could be a dick, I choose not to be!

lima wrote: »
    No, they assumed I was saying 'Excuse me' to get their attention, so that I could 'chat them up'. Let's assume that 'no, no, you go on ahead' meant 'no, I know that you are about to attempt to chat me up, don't even think about it, keep on going up them stairs'. Also the tone of their voices made it clear that they assumed incorrectly that I was trying to stay there and talk to them.

Do you understand that now Miss?

You explained that very poorly the first time. Still think you're being over-sensitive, TBH.
    They have it built up in their heads that they are actually good looking. Give me Germany any day where good looking dames don't have a problem with fine looking men like myself chatting them up.

Hello irony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭average hero

This is an interesting thread as I work in a very busy city centre pub and see this all of the time. Irish women are different to foreign women no doubt. Personally I believe that they do seem like 'great friends' but 'bad flirters'. To explain, Irish women will chat away all day to you if you approach in a friendly manner. Approach in a flirty way and they will run a mile.

There are numerous reasons for this rudeness in my opinion. Firstly, make-up. An average looking girl can look AMAZING with proper make-up applied properly. This increases confidence, and the amount of attention she gets. This may lead to an ego problem if not kept in check. She has her pick of the litter so she may dismiss 95% of approaches straight off.

On the ladies side, they get approached every night by tens upon tens of men looking for one thing, and one thing only. Lets be honest. Bring attention to yourself in a good way before approaching. Be entertaining, dress really really well, so that she see's you (and cares) before you approach her whilst she is taking to her friends.

There are good and bad in both sexes, and people from every country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

I think they think you want to **** them funny that, a mate of mine a taxi driver recons that most nights (after the nightclub) he gets heaps of chicks crying into his face cos they can't get a guy.

hahahah there just op, don't give a ****