Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you support any British sports teams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

Don't understand the appeal of The Old Firm, two average teams in a crap league.

The Estuary English ''Loyalist'' jokers who tag onto Rangers and Linfield are only attracted to it by it's macho image. They'd probably get the Dart to Shankill expecting to find Johnny Adair. They've moved onto the EDL and Radical Islam now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭donalfo

I don't support any teams/not interested in sport
    I'm not from the UK so I don't support their sports teams, they do know how to market and advertise.If people want to pay to watch them, buy their merchandise and go on holidays to watch them play, that's grand. Its just not for me. It is awkward when I'm on a building site working 'cause sometimes the conversations can be short. I play sport and watch a bit of GAA and I like seeing Shamrock Rovers do well (local) but I'm not fanatical about any particular sport. British football is a harmless hobby for a lot of Irish people, but its poxy when there's racist Irish lads and lassies giving out about 'bleedin foreigners' and slagging the brits, while wearing a British clubs football jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

No
    Killinator wrote: »
    Your 'truth' doesn't hurt, well me personally anyway,
    I never heard any anti Irish stuff sung inside of Stamford Bridge, not even from the Matthew Harding stand which I was in,
    No, all I heard was football related chants and songs......which is why I support Chelsea, for football and family reasons,
    I have not and will never support Chelsea for any republican/anti-republican reason as it has NOTHING to do with football,
    Maybe you should care less about Celtic's republican history and care more about their football, or does that take the fun out of it

Truth hurts!....see I can say it too.:rolleyes:

Also I will openly say I care more about a Chelsea run of the mill league game than I do either the hurling of football championship finals, I accept that for some they are an integral part of Irish society but for me it means nothing more than a small colloquial sport which holds relatively little attention outside this country,
    I'm sorry if people find that offensive(not overly sorry mind) but that's my opinion , just like some people hate golf, or cricket, or F1, etc, etc.....
    Your entitled to your opinion.
    We support foreign sports and teams because of what they say about us.
    Man United - Glory Hunter
    Liverpool - Glory Hunter
    Chelsea - Racist that's the only reason that anyone from outside south London would support Chelsea. Their supporters are racist scum and if you were from some council estate in south London you might have no choice. You aren't you've made your choice because you are a racist scumbag or any rate you want people to think you are.

mod: poster banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

No
    Liverpool man, me. Love the premiership, love the fantasy... cant bait it..

I don't understand whats wrong with following foreign (feels a bit funny calling Britain foreign too, shoot me) sports, sure I went to see the all ireland final in the pub too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

No
    Yag reuoY wrote: »
    It is a completely different country.

It really isn't. Is the difference as big as say the difference between the French and the Spanish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

No
    The thing that made me laugh was when the queen visited. There were protesters with banners stating "Queenie Out" whilst wearing their Man Utd jerseys!!!!
    What point are you trying to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

No
    Liverpool - Glory Hunter
    Chelsea - Racist that's the only reason that anyone from outside south London would support Chelsea. Their supporters are racist scum and if you were from some council estate in south London you might have no choice. You aren't you've made your choice because you are a racist scumbag or any rate you want people to think you are.

The vast majority of Chelsea's fanbase does not come from South London.

Added to that, it may surprise you to know that Chelsea supporters come from all sections of society and to brand one of the largest groups of fans in the country as racist scum is quite childish. As with most London teams, matchgoing Chelsea fans will come from all political, economic, and social classes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

No
    Liverpool - Glory Hunter

What's the team for judgmental lunatics? I want to get in on that action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

bayern282 wrote: »
    Don't understand the appeal of The Old Firm, two average teams in a crap league.

The Estuary English ''Loyalist'' jokers who tag onto Rangers and Linfield are only attracted to it by it's macho image. They'd probably get the Dart to Shankill expecting to find Johnny Adair. They've moved onto the EDL and Radical Islam now.
    We Celtic fans generally dont like the term Old Firm..it links us as a club with the other club on the side of the city which has very diffrent core values as us & always had done,

Well in the last decade i have seen Celtic beat Barcelona,Man United,Liverpool,Porto,Lyon,AC Milan in competitive games.. amongst many others.. so how is that average? we were also the 1st team to win the European Cup from these islands. And all the while with our massive support proudly flying the Irish Tri-Colour all over the world & being praised for the good nature & freindliness of our support.. something which judging by these boards most Irish either arent aware of or dont give a fook about or worse seem to be embarssed about..

Netherless Celtic FC have been wonderful ambassdors for the Irish dispora abroad nevermind the sarky comments prevelant on message boards such as this.

So who do you support to be making these judgements & why do you support them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

In other words, now that plastics, corporates and Japanese tourists have priced real Chelsea out of Stamford Bridge its perfectly acceptable to Paddy the die-hard innit to take his annual jaunt over.

You couldnt find a more succinct example of everything that is wrong with modern football. History and tradition mean nothing to the new football fan, it doesnt even enter their tiny little minds.

The vast majority of Chelsea's fanbase does not come from South London.

Added to that, it may surprise you to know that Chelsea supporters come from all sections of society and to brand one of the largest groups of fans in the country as racist scum is quite childish. As with most London teams, matchgoing Chelsea fans will come from all political, economic, and social classes
    Judging by the ridicolous prices charged by EPL clubs id say that most EPL fans nowadays are middle class at the very least..

& it might be a sterotype but its always been known that Chelsea/Millwall drew there support from the NF Combat-18 crowd..Tottenham have a large Jewish fanbase,,Arsenal have the most ethnic diverse fans so on, although of course you cant generalise all fans the same.. ie not all Rangers fans are Irish-hating, Catholic-hating, anyone not white british & protestant hating bigots..but an unhealthy amount nay majority of there fans are & i can say that as someone who has plenty of friends who are Rangers fans... though i wouldnt say all Chelsea fans are racist but they definitley were one of the clubs that had a massive problem with racists & still do have an element of these morons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,982 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

No
    OPENROAD wrote: »
    Never knew that Mars :)

Yep, should be a Brentford fan by birth but I only discovered that recently! Nearest Premiership club would be QPR...

I am Irish though. All of my DNA is Irish, the only thing British is my birth cert. Even my education is Irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Well in the last decade i have seen Celtic beat Barcelona,Man United,Liverpool,Porto,Lyon,AC Milan in competitive games.. amongst many others.. so how is that average?

And I watched Michael Carruth win an Olympic gold medal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

A bit of a reality check here, we are geographically and culturally in the English football zone. It's understandable to follow Liverpool / Man Utd given the amount of Irish players they've had and Irish blood in those cities. Same with Celtic even though despite their Irish roots, they've haven't had quite the amount of Irish players you'd imagine.

Players like George Best, Roy Keane and Ronnie Whelan went over the channel because they were too good for Glentoran, Cobh Ramblers and Home Farm.

As a neutral football fan, you'd rather watch a Chelsea - Barca CL Semi than an Eircom league match full of kids, English cast off's and Irish players who couldn't cut it at places like Coventry or Millwall ping the ball about in front of 3,000 people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

No
    mars bar wrote: »
    Yep, should be a Brentford fan by birth but I only discovered that recently! Nearest Premiership club would be QPR...

I am Irish though. All of my DNA is Irish, the only thing British is my birth cert. Even my education is Irish!

Don't go all Cesc on me Mars :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,982 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

No
    OPENROAD wrote: »
    Don't go all Cesc on me Mars :p

Haha, I'm home already man. I've been home a long time now! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭NewDirection

No
    I support an English football team. I have supported them for as long as I can remember, and am not sure how it started. Most likely because my father was a fan of them. Quizzing him why he started to follow them, it was because of the most entertaining footballer this island has ever produced, George Best. He entertained and caught the imagination of a generation. I think he has influenced an awful lot of Irish support for Man Utd, not just while playing, but second generation, and third generation support as well.

Personally, I was too young to worry about my unpatriotic support for an English team. There was no LOI team in my county, and premiership football teams (probably cup matches and highlights) were on TV. I really enjoyed watching the likes of Schmeichel, Bruce, Irwin, Keane, Giggs. That team had Danish Russian Irish Welsh Scottish English and other nationalities, but it didn't matter, they were my team.

Years on, and that support has always been a part of me. I've moved to a city with a LOI team, and will occasionally go to the matches. I enjoy it, but its only really something to do, much like going to the cinema, or bowling. I have no strong attachment to this team, and if they were to start doing well, I wouldn't feel right attaching myself to them.

Most people made the decision to follow a team when they were children, and for the purest of reason for following any team or sport, entertainment. Its only as they grew older and were exposed to things which should never be part of sport, religion and politics!

People dismissed the argument regarding to music or film, but it does stand. If we are going to be patriotic about one form of entertainment, why not them all. If you go to a 'foreign' bands gig, you are giving them euros to take out of this country which could have gone to a good Irish band like U2.... or are they Dutch now. Anyway you get my point.

Btw, to a previous poster who was comparing Gaa and soccer. Seeing Utd destroy Arsenal last week, while in croke park 15 lads from Donegal stood behind the ball playing for what looked like a 0-0 0-0 draw, it really drove home which sport is more entertaining. I'm a fan of hurling, but football doesn't even compare to soccer or rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

No
    Ah every few months this crops up, I know I'll regret it but here goes.

I grew up in Ireland it was early 80’s I was seduced by the delights of English Football on MOTD & the Big Match. Spurs were my team, 2 reasons, Glenn Hoddle was a genius in my eyes and they had Galvin & Hughton as an Irish connection, also My sister went to White Hart Lane and I got the ticket as a souvenir. I’ve always supported them they are my team and nothing has or will ever change that, despite several broken promises to myself that I will give them up!
    Athlone Town were the nearest LOI side and we would get taken about once a year to see them, when I went to make my own way in the world I ended up in Athlone RTC, I used to go to St Mels occasionally (semi-regularly depending on state of grants & girlfriends!) to watch them I remember some great games and some awful ones but for the most part I remember the enjoyment of watching live sport.
    I love watching live sport whether it’s Sunday League Football or a Six Nations game in front of 80,000.When I graduated from Athlone I moved to London, finally I got the chance to watch Spurs regularly, I was a member for 3 years & a season ticket holder for 2, unfortunately my time in London co-incided with the Gross, Francis, Graham era’s but going to Wembley in 99 to watch Spurs win the League Cup was one of the highlights of sport watching life.
    After a couple of years on the move in sunnier climes I returned to the UK a few years back and used watch my local Conference side and despite the gulf in class I got a huge amount of enjoyment watching the games. There’s something great about leaving home at 2:45 for a 3pm kick off, handing over cash at the gate and watching football for pure pleasure, ducking into the social club behind the stand for a swift pint before getting home by 5:30 In many ways it’s a similar experience to watching Athlone all those years ago.

While living in England I watched Northampton Rugby & Cricket teams, I even supported Englands test side in a test match against New Zealand at the Oval.
    While in Australia I adopted Geelong as an AFL side, I went to see South Melbourne play (pre A League). When in Cape Town I've supported the Cape Cobras & the Stormers, I've been to see Ajax Cape Town blow their first league title. I look out for many teams in many sports. I follow or support Spurs because they were first, I support Offaly because it's where I'm from I support Leinster for the same reason, I support Ireland for the same reason, I would even say I support Athlone Town for almost the same reason althought it's a bit tricky to follow a first division league of Ireland side from the other side of the world but I keep an eye on their results.

My point is this, watch the Sport you can and enjoy it for what it is, support who you like and tell anyone who mocks your choices to go away and mind their own business.

No
    CiaranC wrote: »
    In other words, now that plastics, corporates and Japanese tourists have priced real Chelsea out of Stamford Bridge its perfectly acceptable to Paddy the die-hard innit to take his annual jaunt over.

You couldnt find a more succinct example of everything that is wrong with modern football. History and tradition mean nothing to the new football fan, it doesnt even enter their tiny little minds.

I hate this argument. You seem to be showing support for a form of social apartheid. Football is the working class game and the (educated, yet also tiny brained) middle classes should steer clear, is that right?

If you have problems with the less well off being priced out of going to football then that is fine, but I don't see why you must extend your angst to those who take their place. Should "professionals" stick to wimbledon and twickenham? :(

Anyway, this trend of supporting foreign sport over your own is not in any way uniquely Irish. Just look at how high the demand is for tickets when NFL teams go to play in London, compared to the average gate for the London Blitz. The same old arguments can be dusted off and presented there, as they could for so many other sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No
    Like Manchester.

Make offensive play.

Often make wow dribble and good air kick with the bicycle.

Beckham very sexy.

Like Barcelona too but Messi is dwarf and not so sexy.

Need buy Ronaldo from Sporting Madrid to make sexy team.

I am mongo, yes.

No
    stovelid wrote: »
    Like Manchester.

Make offensive play.

Often make wow dribble and good air kick with the bicycle.

Beckham very sexy.

Like Barcelona too but Messi is dwarf and not so sexy.

Need buy Ronaldo from Sporting Madrid to make sexy team.

like your words good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Btw, to a previous poster who was comparing Gaa and soccer. Seeing Utd destroy Arsenal last week, while in croke park 15 lads from Donegal stood behind the ball playing for what looked like a 0-0 0-0 draw, it really drove home which sport is more entertaining. I'm a fan of hurling, but football doesn't even compare to soccer or rugby.

Aye, great 0-0 win for Ireland too! I find Gaelic usually far more entertaining but like Soccer too.

I support Liverpool and Scousers aren't really English anyway!

Where I grew up was a Gaelic stronghold, nearest soccer club was in the next parish, Soccer was very much No.2. Finn Harps would have been the nearest senior club and I'd have been in Ballybofey regularly to see Donegal league and Championship and club games, never would have crossed my mind to see Harps. Think it was, I didn't play it at a structured club level it just wasn't a priority.

The LoI even now as a very Dublin East Coast centric outlook and then you've the usual strong areas like Cork, Galway, Sligo and Donegal. Efforts to bring it outside those area have usually failed, Longford maybe the exception but they haven't been that strong in GAA. Teams like Thurles and Kilkenny faced big competition. Then you have the joke of 3 clubs in Galway and not giving Castlebar a chance at it, it mightn't work but there's a big hinterland for them there compared to 3 in a small city.

Somebody was saying there's a LoI club nearly in every county, from my looking at it, more don't have a club than do because it tends to be concentrated in certain areas.

Even looking at the North Soccer seems to be a largely urban game with a few exceptions. The GAA is just too strong in rural areas. With GAA so easy to follow at a club/county level, it's easier to follow a soccer club on Sky!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

No
    i like to see the english national football team do well. i think world cups and euros are more exciting with england in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

ricero wrote: »
    i like to see the english national football team do well. i think world cups and euros are more exciting with england in them

The natives would be insufferable if they ever won anything, they don't do happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

No
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by ricero viewpost.gif

the diehard (barstool) man u /liverpool here would never forgive for that mate :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

No

Take a lie down will ya, they're an insufferable nation of goons. The highlight of every tournament for me is them getting horsed out.

No
    Take a lie down will ya, they're an insufferable nation of goons. The highlight of every tournament for me is them getting horsed out.

Well, I call that exciting.

No
    Snakeblood wrote: »
    Well, I call that exciting.

Tis indeed.

My mate here in Glasgow works in a call centre. He was working the day Germany horsed them out 4-1. He had some limey on the phone as Germany scored another and his office erupted as they have plasma's up on the walls in his job. The old English lad he had on the phone was getting all excited going "oh 'ave we scored?". "No Sir, this is the Glasgow office that's Germany humped another one in":D

No
    Tis indeed.

My mate here in Glasgow works in a call centre. He was working the day Germany horsed them out 4-1. He had some limey on the phone as Germany scored another and his office erupted as they have plasma's up on the walls in his job. The old English lad he had on the phone was getting all excited going "oh 'ave we scored?". "No Sir, this is the Glasgow office that's Germany humped another one in":D

haha, that's awesome

I generally support the underdog, no matter what, (England notwithstanding, I'll be on their side if it looks like they're trying but losing against Spain for example) but they got carved ****ing open by Germany, and it was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

I hate this argument.
    Oh boo-hoo. The British working class made football what it is, they built it from nothing only to have it robbed from them by Rupert Murdoch, quasi-criminal oligarchs and the new irony-free "fan" from Ireland and Malaysia. 951 quid for a season ticket to see Arsenal in their soulless, atmosphere free, corporate monikered bowl surrounded by daytrippers and assorted other gob****es!

Its nothing short of criminal whats gone on. Cultural apartheid my hole, its the British working class that have been discriminated against.

Incredible that you would hold NFL up as an example also, that "sport" became nothing more than a vehicle for profit decades ago, with its movable franchises, moral vaccuum and obscene wages. Is that what we are to aspire to?

Thank god for the rise of supporter associations, fan owned football clubs and the Bundesliga.

No Al Calcio Moderno.

No
    Tis indeed.

Ahh the old Scottish inferiority complex. Quite a shame that the best moment in any tournament can come from an obsession with a bigger and better football nation. The more it annoys the Scottish begrudgers, the more entertaining it is to mention 1966 and Gazza's finest moment at Wembley.

Anyway we have the lesser nations of the UK talk of England overhyping themselves, yet we see Wales lose 1-0 to a very mediocre and frankly cruising England and we hear them talk of Ramsey like he's the second coming of Christ and the man who will lead them to future glory. It is hypocrisy at its finest.

No
    Ahh the old Scottish inferiority complex. Quite a shame that the best moment in any tournament can come from an obsession with a bigger and better football nation. The more it annoys the Scottish begrudgers, the more entertaining it is to mention 1966 and Gazza's finest moment at Wembley.

I don't mind English people, but as a nation they're the most annoying on the planet, so folk don't let them at football, what's to like? Call it what you want but I could never cheer England on. Their fans with their stupid songs like "10 German bombers" about WWII. I mean ffs and all their boring droning songs like Rule Brittania about an Empire long gone. I ask again: what's to like?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

No
    It's a game. You'd swear people were committing high treason or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I don't mind English people, but as a nation they're the most annoying on the planet, so folk don't let them at football, what's to like? Call it what you want but I could never cheer England on. Their fans with their stupid songs like "10 German bombers" about WWII. I mean ffs and all their boring droning songs like Rule Brittania about an Empire long gone. I ask again: what's to like?

Iiiiirrrrreeeeellllllaaaaannnnnndddddd

Repeat ad nauseam.

Riveting.

Btw, did you buy the commemorative dvd of when Ireland beat England 20 years ago?

No
    I
    Btw, did you buy the commemorative dvd of when Ireland beat England 20 years ago?

Yeah, who needs porn eh?

No

true but you need england in a big tournament to make it interesting i feel.

heres a fact for you during world cups and euros when ireland are not in it (as per usual) england football jerseys are sold the most in ireland rather than other European nations

No

heres a fact for you during world cups and euros when ireland are not in it (as per usual) england football jerseys are sold the most in ireland rather than other European nations

Well it's not Irish people wearing them, but I'd imagine we have a lot of British people who live in Ireland. Maybe there's a clue who is buying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Yeah, who needs porn eh?

You do by the sounds of things, release a bit of that pent up frustration.

No
    You do by the sounds of things, release a bit of that pent up frustration.

I have a lovely girlfriend, I don't need porn;)

Pent up frustration? Do I know you? Not wanting England to do well at footy is having pent up frustation? Take a chill pill, jeez-oh:D

Anyway we have the lesser nations of the UK talk of England overhyping themselves, yet we see Wales lose 1-0 to a very mediocre and frankly cruising England and we hear them talk of Ramsey like he's the second coming of Christ and the man who will lead them to future glory. It is hypocrisy at its finest.
    Off topic here a bit but just thought id add this into the mix here

I think your comments in general show the diffrence between Scots born people of Irish Descent & English born people of Irish descent.

Our (Scots/Irish) fathers grandfathers etc in Scotland who came from Ireland werent welcomed to the country mainly because of our religion & the old links between the lowland scots & the Ulster plantations.. while the Irish in England have generally recieved a warmer welcome & settled & integrated more into there society (despite the fact the IRA bombed the hell out of the place for a few decades)

This is why we see people such as yourself who obviously identifys himself as English & acts the same as your average lording it Eng-er-land fan & myself who wouldnt open my curtains to watch the Scottish National team.. (literally i was raised in the shadow of Hampden)..not saying your wrong & im right im just pointing out how it is as i see it.

This is with me assuming your a second or third generation Londoner of Irish stock which could of course i could be wrong about, but do you get my point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

All of them when they play against Man Utd.

Where did you get this "fact" source please???

I call bull**** unless you are including the occupied 6 counties!

No
    Off topic here a bit but just thought id add this into the mix here

I think your comments in general show the diffrence between Scots born people of Irish Descent & English born people of Irish descent.

Our (Scots/Irish) fathers grandfathers etc in Scotland who came from Ireland werent welcomed to the country mainly because of our religion & the old links between the lowland scots & the Ulster plantations.. while the Irish in England have generally recieved a warmer welcome & settled & integrated more into there society (despite the fact the IRA bombed the hell out of the place for a few decades)

This is why we see people such as yourself who obviously identifys himself as English & acts the same as your average lording it Eng-er-land fan & myself who wouldnt open my curtains to watch the Scottish National team.. (literally i was raised in the shadow of Hampden)..not saying your wrong & im right im just pointing out how it is as i see it.

This is with me assuming your a second or third generation Londoner of Irish stock which could of course i could be wrong about, but do you get my point?

Not to correct you, but do you know what Johnny Lydon's autobiography was called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

No
    Fratton FredQuote:
    Originally Posted by Tiocfaidh Armani viewpost.gif

Iiiiirrrrreeeeellllllaaaaannnnnndddddd

Repeat ad nauseam.

Riveting.

but predicting when england will out a tournament is like a hobby for us irish fans , personally i get a kick out of it , not all of it is pure hatred for all things english if you know what i mean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭chasm

No
    Yag reuoY wrote: »
    I struggle to understand why so many Irish are interested in various British sporting teams.

The justification seems to be a close proximity, but this is hardly a valid reason. Look at mainland Europe: do they follow teams from neighbouring countries to such an extent?

Then there are those who point to the Irish players in the British leagues. Sure, this may be true, but this only happens because of the lack of interest in League of Ireland -- how can they compete when all their players are swallowed up?

I wouldn't really care if the same people who adore these teams addressed their bilateral hatred for British culture and core values.

As things currently stand it's more than a little hypocritical.

I struggle to understand why people have an issue with Irish people supporting British teams, yes people with anti-british attitudes wearing premier league shirts is a joke tbh but most fans(that i know) arent like that thankfully.
    I support a British team, have done for over 30 years, but i have no hatred for the British culture or core values so i have nothing to address thanks very much:)
    Also i have no problems supporting England in their matches, unless they are playing Ireland :D

Not to correct you, but do you know what Johnny Lydon's autobiography was called?
    Yeah i do (no blacks no dogs no Irish) but while the English were anti-asian anti-blacks anti-Irish the main immigration into Glasgow was Irish.

Do you get masive Orange parades weekly on the streets of London?? Do you have any of the top English football teams who refused to sign a Catholic till 1989 & still havent signed an Irish (Eire) International??

Yes there was off course hatred for the Irish in England but i wouldnt say it was as deep rooted or as long lasting as it has been in Scotland to this day!

we cant have a St Patricks Day parade in Glasgow.. a city with a massive Irish population - because of the bigotry & general open hatred towards us!!

No
    Well it's not Irish people wearing them, but I'd imagine we have a lot of British people who live in Ireland. Maybe there's a clue who is buying them.

my mate whos irish he wore the jersey out before because it looked nice no one said anything

No
    Yeah i do (no blacks no dogs no Irish) but while the English were anti-asian anti-blacks anti-Irish the main immigration into Glasgow was Irish.

Do you get masive Orange parades weekly on the streets of London?? Do you have any of the top English football teams who refused to sign a Catholic till 1989 & still havent signed an Irish (Eire) International??

Yes there was off course hatred for the Irish in England but i wouldnt say it was as deep rooted or as long lasting as it has been in Scotland to this day!

we cant have a St Patricks Day parade in Glasgow.. a city with a massive Irish population because of the bigotry & general open hatred towards us!!

I thought you were saying that back in the day there wasn't any anti Irish sentiment in England, when clearly there was. There don't have to be parades for there to be bigotry. Look at this thread, no parades, loads of bigotry.

my mate was irish he wore the jersey out before because it looked nice no one said anything

Is that your source :rolleyes:??

I saw someone with an England top on in the gym last night but i still dont believe your "fact" .

Scotland is full of wannabe hooligans wearing England tops these days to wind up the Scots/Irish who wear Ireland tops cos thats the country we identify with more..though when i was younger (ie pre 98) you NEVER ever saw anyone in Scotland with an England top on..now its commonplace!

I thought you were saying that back in the day there wasn't any anti Irish sentiment in England, when clearly there was. There don't have to be parades for there to be bigotry. Look at this thread, no parades, loads of bigotry.

Of course there was Anti-Irish racism in England.. still is.. but imo it wasnt and isnt as deep rooted and as part of the 'establishment' as it is in Scotland..in fact i know that having lived in both places.

Thats why in my mind you get 2nd 3rd generation Irish in England who are basically English now & have integrated near enough fully..(except for perhaps Paddys day)

Whereas in Glasgow i grew up with people whos ancestors moved over as far back as the famine who to this day will still call themselves Irish despite in many cases not having even been in this country!