Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many Olde Worlde Sweete shops does Kilkenny need?

• 05-09-2011 6:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭

I believe we're up to 3 now within a 5 minute walk of each other. Are these shops really cheap to set up or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

they must be, the one beside extra vision seems to be doing good business, the one on the butterslip seems to never have any one in it now. But do we really need 3 sweet shops on top of all the ice cream parlours opening up :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

3 is definitely overkill but If it gives people a job then the more the merrier. The one on the Butterslip used to deliver, don't know if it still does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Did you not here that the sweet shops are the new dunnes stores in kilkenny we can never have to many !!

No there is 5 of them in kilkenny the 3 that are right next to each other and one in each shopping center

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Mastroph

sweat shops

• Registered Users Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭jprboy

Did you not here that the sweat shops are the new dunnes stores in kilkenny we can never have to many !!

No there is 5 of them in kilkenny the 3 that are right next to each other and one in each shopping center

And are they supplying Dunnes?? No shipping charges from the Far East so..... :D

Ah, beaten to it, feck ya Mastroph !!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Did you not here that the sweat shops are the new dunnes stores in kilkenny we can never have to many !!

Where are these sweat shops that you speak of?? :p

EDIT: Fúck I was very slow on this one. Thats what happens when you dont refresh a page and think no new posts were made.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

In fairness to the butterslip sweet shop its in Kilkenny the longest out of the three and I've previously even seen them posting on boards.ie so thats pretty progressive.

They also have a website and take online orders http://www.slipsweetshop.com/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Cabaal wrote: »
    In fairness to the butterslip sweet shop its in Kilkenny the longest out of the three and I've previously even seen them posting on boards.ie so thats pretty progressive.

They also have a website and take online orders http://www.slipsweetshop.com/

I think they were on the telly also, Nationwide possibly.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 CongressTart

These new olde sweet shops are everywhere, even as stalls in shopping centres. Looks very contrived with the old jars in the middle of a modern building.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Wait until "Ye auld Opium Den" opens up, there be one on every street corner.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

They're the head shops for the new decade!

"It's a disgrace Joe, all them kids eatin all them sweets and the teeth only fallin outa their heads!"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

I believe we're up to 3 now within a 5 minute walk of each other. Are these shops really cheap to set up or something?

I'm not from Kilkenny myself but this thread was on the front page and caught my eye.

Putting aside the leasing and staffing costs, yes they would be quite cheap as shops go. A till, a weighing scales, a counter and some shelves. Can be more if you take out one of the Olde Worlde sweetshop franchises where more moeny is spent up front on decor. The big draw though is that the margins are massive. Every Tom Dick and Harry shop owner is trying to get in on the action now. However, its like the adage about stocks and shares or property etc, "When the dog in the street is telling you something is a great investment or money spinner, the canny investor knows its time to get out while the goin's still good."

Family were thinking about it for a while there here in my own town on the East Coast and I made the above arguement against the idea as well as a few others. They went so far as to make enquires about leases on 'For Let' units on the local mainstreet. Persuaded them against the idea and whaddya know. Bullet dodged big time. Have just discovered one has just opened, he himself will have just discovered that another is on the way because signs went up ' ** ***** Sweetshop Opening Soon' further up the street. Neither of them know that a third is opening aswell :D (I have a family connection in the Confectionery business supplying a lot of product to these shops)

Whatever about any given town being able to support 1 specialist sweetshop, I foresee most of the people getting involved in these as simply ending up with another financial noose around their neck rather than the moneyspinners they hoped would change their financial fortunes for the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I think the one opposite Xtra Vision stays open till 11pm every night. As far as having three I say go for it and the best of luck to all of them. Grab the bull by the the horns.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

Plug wrote: »
    I think the one opposite Xtra Vision stays open till 11pm every night. As far as having three I say go for it and the best of luck to all of them. Grab the bull by the the horns.

That in itself is a bad sign already. A specialist sweetshop that opens till 11pm!! We started opening our shop an hour earlier in the mornings and an hour later at night till 10pm last year to make up for lost turnover since the recession hit. But our shop is a convenience store so even with extended hours no one would raise an eyebrow. Desperation must be setting in for a specialist sweetshop to open even later unless he feels he is tapping the goldmine late night munchies market. Is he selling Rizla's alongside the sweets? :D

I had another LOL moment here this morning. My information about the proliferation of specialist sweetshops in my town that I posted last night is already out of date!! Theres another two on top of the three I mentioned last night making 5 in total.....and there all on the mainstreet. Theres only going to be 3 doors between one pair and then 5 doors to the next 1. :D The other two are a little further away though but still on the mainstreet. I know this because they've all taken up the leases in the commercial lets the family were looking at when we were thinking about opening one. :D

They are all going to struggle until each folds with large debts in turn with only the last man standing. Grabbing the bulls by the horns. You know that doesn't always work out well don't you! :D Even in terms of employment, I think the headaches for the staff with the Welfare department after coming off the dole and then going back on after 2 or 3 months are not to be sniffed at. For many of these staff they'd probably have been better off staying on the dole for those few months. ie. Come off the dole work for 2 or 3 months till the shops fold, re-apply for the dole and be without any income for another 2 months till the backdated dole check comes.

Goodluck to them alright but there is a difference between filling a gap in the market and overfilling a gap in the market by a factor of 5 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

A complete lack of imagination and confidence other than the first one to open.
    You wait in the long grass for someone else to take the inititive and risk.
    Then when they seem to be doing well you jump in and dilute the market.
    Then you all go bust.

I'll bet the dentists are loving it though:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Calibos wrote: »
    That in itself is a bad sign already. A specialist sweetshop that opens till 11pm!! We started opening our shop an hour earlier in the mornings and an hour later at night till 10pm last year to make up for lost turnover since the recession hit. But our shop is a convenience store so even with extended hours no one would raise an eyebrow. Desperation must be setting in for a specialist sweetshop to open even later unless he feels he is tapping the goldmine late night munchies market. Is he selling Rizla's alongside the sweets? :D

I'm not going to pretend I know anything about business but I thought them staying open to 11pm was a clever idea.

Xtravision is open to 11 isn't it? What do people like to have while they're renting a film? Sweets. Oh look, the sweet shop across the road is still open...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

Who still rents films?

Get with the naughties, man.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

It's clearly brie time, baby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

fabbydabby wrote: »
    Who still rents films?

Get with the naughties, man.

The Naughties? Thats so last year man.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

34pcq9y.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭kkhornet

ergonomics wrote: »
    I'm not going to pretend I know anything about business but I thought them staying open to 11pm was a clever idea.

Xtravision is open to 11 isn't it? What do people like to have while they're renting a film? Sweets. Oh look, the sweet shop across the road is still open...

No xtravision is only open until 10pm

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

Plug wrote: »

Grab the bulls eye by the horns.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Paigne

KK4SAM wrote: »
    Grab the bulls eye by the horns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

I like the look of the one opposite Xtravision on Rose Inn Street. Crikey they are open all the hours. Pleased to see the unit filled than empty. Best of luck to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

kkhornet wrote: »
    No xtravision is only open until 10pm
    it's open till 11 on friday and saturday

• Registered Users Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Do anybody remember the genuine Olde Worlde Sweete shops on High St. Two of them were right beside each other and if memory serves me right, one was blue and the other was red, place in the buildings between Supermacs and Ulster Bank. I say they're gone since the early 90s and I think there's a camera shop in one of them now.

I remember the one on the right was a superior sweet shop. I also remember having a bet with my cousins to see who could stay the longest in there with just 2p and the shopkeeper staring at ya. I think 21 mins was the winning time.

I spend a lot of 50p s in those two when I got to come into town!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭holyhead

I do. One was called Whites and the other was Mooneys. Used to be dead handy for going to the cinema when it was on William St ie the Regent. Happy memories.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I used to always go into Mooneys for a quarter of apple drops. Mary thaw used to be always in whites. I bet ye olde sweete shops are loving this thread.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Rantan

old mr mooney used to scare the sh1te out of me!! What a cranky auld lad he was - I'd love to see his style of customer service back again:)

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

we must be well into the tennies now by this stage? the 20's are only a few years down the line