Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Tom Ryan , please come back.

• 07-09-2011 2:30am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭

If ever there was a time for Tom to take charge again this is it.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 podgec20

Timber Tom is a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Well he'll be in charge of Limerick's intermediates for 2014 as well as being a selector in the U-21s management team.

I cannot wait to have him back in the fold, never a dull moment and for all his faults is a great character. He's a fair man to keep going as he is nearly 70.If he doesnt piss the county board off too much, he could be be potentially groomed for a return to the senior team when the second coming of dog/tj inevitably fails lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Yes please come back so we can watch you lead your team bu 5 points with minutes to go and blow another AI.

Tom Ryan had his chance. He blew 2 AI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Yes please come back so we can watch you lead your team bu 5 points with minutes to go and blow another AI.

Still though no Limerick manager since has had the success that Tom had and he was sacked after winning the league title in 1997.The shine was barely off the trophy when they sacked him.It wasn't Toms fault that Limerick lost the all ireland in 1994.The players out on the field had enough chances to get the win and they switched off with 5 minutes to go thinking they had the match won!Tom wasn't a perfect manager but he was treated disgracefully and the county board were always giving him trouble.They sacked Tom Ryan just to bring in Eamonn Cregan.And Cregan dismantled that team too early.Limerick would have won the all ireland eventually if they kept on Tom Ryan.Probably in 2001 because Tom wouldn't have got rid of the older players who still had plenty of hurling in them.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

There's a few Tom Ryan stories here.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83865689

Fair enough point about blowing 2 All-Irelands but when he took over Limerick, they seemed to be going nowhere and did a great job getting them to 2 all-irelands. In terms of honours won, he's the most successful senior manager we have had since 1973 so I wouldnt mind seeing him have another go before he's too old. I also liked the way players from clubs who previously would not have had a hope of playing for Limerick cos their club/geographical location got a crack and went a long way to breaking the monopoly of the big clubs. Thanks for posting the stories Straight Talker, Unlimited Heartbreak was a great read and the best bits I felt were Tom's stories, real laugh out loud stuff. Here are 2 latest articles which show he stil hasnt lost it

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2013/1022/ireland/ryan-pick-new-boss-from-inside-limerick-247092.html

http://www.irishexaminer.com/archives/2013/1122/ireland/ryan-and-carey-back-in-frame-for-limerick-250448.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

grenache wrote: »
    Well he'll be in charge of Limerick's intermediates for 2014

Not any more... we're a laughing stock again :o

It is a testament as to how bad the county board are that this isn't a surprise!!!! gutted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Wow that is some PR cluster fcuk, fair play to him for staying with the 21's though, talk is cheap but he quite clearly does have the best interests of Limerick hurling at heart behind it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I suppose it was stupid to announce it before he had been ratified but still..... what is the point of a selection committee if they pick someone, who wants the job, and then they don't appoint them?

I think Ryan might be past his prime anyway, but working with the intermediates and with a decent backroom team could have been good.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I suppose it was stupid to announce it before he had been ratified but still..... what is the point of a selection committee if they pick someone, who wants the job, and then they don't appoint them?

I think Ryan might be past his prime anyway, but working with the intermediates and with a decent backroom team could have been good.

Yeah you would have to wonder how it was leaked to the media in the first place it was probably Tom himself to be fair but the selection committee should never have told him untill getting the green light from the CB.

I have very little doubt that Tom has seen better days but on the other hand he clearly has the enthusiasm for it, is only a few years older than Cregan who did great work with the minors last year, and added to that the Intermediate post is a little different in that it 'should' be merely used as a conveyor belt and a method for spoting, developing and introducing talent to the Senior set up, something I think a man of Ryan's experience would be ideal for.

You'd also feel sorry for the backroom team he had lined up. I'd imagine they are not going to work with the new man who is appointed out of respect for Tom. Anyone remember what kind of a player Don Flynn was in his day for Limerick (he was meant to be part of backroom staff)?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Just a cause a manager gets a county their best ever record in years with two munster titles,it shouldnt be seen as a great sporting achievment ,in a county of limericks sporting history ,so inverse with Munster rubgy,where pro 12s and moral victories mean nothing,bar heinken cups ,the overall picture of Failing to win the all ireland should be seen as the bottom line.

Some people with the greatest respect,not all but some,have this great abiltiy to accept mediocracy,and glorify small wins in to bigger than what they are.If limerick ,like with last year team,still accept the munster titles wins as a monumental achievment to be prould as punch over,then they will never win all irelands,as their accepting second best.

Wexford,clare three times, offaly ,counties with less rescources and population have won all irelands,and punched above their weight in what they achieved against the odds,limerick flattered to decieve.

To say ryans term was a success is rubbish.It was a limited success at best.They never won the all ireland.
    If limerick accept munster as their holy grail,then yeah party away.

The majority of limerick fans that deservedly want an all ireland ,see hes term as better than others,but a failure.

So when limerick appoint a manager why go back in time for a guy that you hope to get to a final,but now in the modern game,in all honesty has none of the credentials to win an allireland.
    People often remember history as achievements written down on paper.Look more closely at 94 and 96.

No knockout with a back door you had less games,and winning four games(three main ones)you won the all ireland.

Remember in the two years he won 94 and 96,,win munster and you were automically in a all ireland final,as they played the ulster champions(no team since 89 and antrim made the final tells its own story).In the all ireland serious in the two real games he played,he was found out.Playing the ulster champions. Antrim with the greatest respect to them ,was not a great test in fairness.

So all tom done realistaclly was win munster,in the all ireland final twice he lost.While 94 was down to the players,ryan must take some of the blame.Offaly said many times,they never stopped beliving under cregan,limerick players didnt look as if they had real,real,belief,to win the title.If cregan was with limerck ye would have won.

96 was a joke.Hes decisions,not utilising the extra man ,and leaving mike galligan a superb hurler on the bench,baffling .

Of all the ,adorning ,and bowing down to tom ryan as a great manager unlucky in 94 that people have said,nobody mentions the bizarre ,96 final,with hes poor decisions.

This isnt the only final he lost either due to poor reading of a game.Newtown lost the county final against blackrock ,again awful decisons tactially he made.
    Newtown bombed ball after ball on donal mulchay,jp king, ben o connor etc,had not a hope of beating,john browne,fergal ryan or wayne sherlock under the high ball.

The "great tom"couldnt see that.He did not want to either.He is old school,wont embrace change,hes views only,lives in a world like babs keating the way the game was played in the 90's ,is the way they think you can win an all ireland now.
    Which is total rubbish.In fairness to babs he won two allirelands beating galway and kilkenny.
    If ryan had met galway they wouldnt have got to the final even.

At newtown ,ryan had ger cunnigham of ul,now with laois.Newtown had enough of ryan after one year,told him where to go.The following year with exactly the same panel,newtown won the cork,munster,and all ireland ,such a milestone,that no other cork club has won an all ireland Or even got to a final since.

Ger cunnigham changed the tactics,and played players in the right positions,listened to the players needs unlike the "great tom ryan.
    Ryan is just overhyped,thinks he knows a great deal about hurling more than others,when hes record is poor in comparison when you look at it objectably.

Didnt exactly do much with westmeath,compared to brian hanley now who is doing great work with the u21 and senior team,and not making half as much noise about it.

If limerick want managers that are good characthers and outspoken,thats all well and good,but ,i would rather a manager that actually wins all irelands and does the talking on the ptich rather than off it.
    Give tom ryan a job in the local paper,where those that want to read him can,and those that don't and just skip the page.The problem is being involved with an intercounty team,doesnt give fans that privelge.

They got to grin and bear him.i have no bother any manager having views or ex players,cork and others have had their fair share of outspoken ex players and managers in the past.But guys like o grady,morgan,cusack,the rock,paul galvin,kerry,john mullane you name them,in fairness when they talk I would tend to listen as their all proven top performers as players or managers in the game.
    When cody speaks out,you would tend to listen,you dont have to agree with them,but what they have achieved ,you would listen to their views.

Tom ryan cleary talks hot air.He criticised the hurling game in America,to promote hurling,the brain child of o grady and cusack.

He said jbm should be gone as cork manager in april,as he was gone too long out of the game and not up to it.Laughable,the man talking,out of the game since 98 now has a key role himself in limerick hurling future as he is now u21 and intermediate manager.
    Jbm unlike tom had winning pedigree at minor and senior.

Their will be uproar and the usal justice calls from ryan not being intermediate manager,and while the reasons alone are certainly questions to why he was appointed then stripped of it,when the emotion is taken out of it,the end result is better overall for limerick hurling.Limerick needs young blood,fresh ideas ,not old school like ryan.

If it was the board that intervened last minute its wrong.
    If it was the clubs though,they are well within their rights,and the clubs should have a majior input in the selection.And its a good sign they can overturn wrong decisions,that clearly should never have been namHe is with the u21 team,thats enough,he seems to think he should have direct role in two teams,thats half of the limerick intercounty hurling.

He was against an outside as senior manager ,and people with hes views ,lost limerick the best manager they could have had in ger cunnigham.He ,have no doubt wants the senior job again.By todays developments he will never get it.Thats only but good for limerick hurling.

IF Only cork clubs had the same power,our u21 manager and minor football wouldnt be in place.
    He is named as selector with carey,but make no mistake he will dicate things,he knows no other way.It is always he's way.Limerck are like cork,in that they have an u21 management set up that are miles of whats required in the modern game.
    Both believe in the mindset,play with aggression ,and physicailty,forget about speed and tactics and speed and space though.

What really takes the biscuit is hes off the wall insulting remarks to rubgy and munster as an artifical team.
    The only team that limerick can assiocate with as winning ,and delieving on their expectation he has no mass in the game,and thinks it should not be played.
    Limericks ollie moran played rubgy for ireland.

To call munster artifical is a bit much when even cork men accept,limerick is the heart of munster rubgy,and even with foreign players the heart and spine of the team has always had a strong limerick element.Even in 1973, before the foreign players,and heinken cup,munster was a world recogonised team in beating the all blacks ,and had its share of limerick input in to that.

Ryan insults a team and sport that is very much close to the heart of limerick people,and unlike the hurlers,put limerick on the map all over the world with the scences of. O connell street in the 2006 heinken cup win,is a bit much in fairness.

Tom ryan done a good job to a degree ,but certainly not the messiah people think he is.

The limerick u21s with him ,he has to chance to prove hineself against clare.Wait for the excuses when they loose,but he is great to tell others how to do it.The one difference between a pundit and a manager,is tom cant rely on hindsight and be full of insights post match ,but must actually live in the moment of a games flow,and read a game in progress and not wait til it ends.
    That is where he struggled in the past.

Tom is only a few years older than Cregan

Don't think so in fairness, Cregan is 68.

Just a cause a manager gets a county their best ever record in years with two munster titles,it shouldnt be seen as a great sporting achievment ,in a county of limericks sporting history ,so inverse with Munster rubgy,where pro 12s and moral victories mean nothing,bar heinken cups ,the overall picture of Failing to win the all ireland should be seen as the bottom line.

Some people with the greatest respect,not all but some,have this great abiltiy to accept mediocracy,and glorify small wins in to bigger than what they are.If limerick ,like with last year team,still accept the munster titles wins as a monumental achievment to be prould as punch over,then they will never win all irelands,as their accepting second best.

Wexford,clare three times, offaly ,counties with less rescources and population have won all irelands,and punched above their weight in what they achieved against the odds,limerick flattered to decieve.

To say ryans term was a success is rubbish.It was a limited success at best.They never won the all ireland.

The majority of limerick fans that deservedly want an all ireland ,see hes term as better than others,but a failure.

So when limerick appoint a manager why go back in time for a guy that you hope to get to a final,but now in the modern game,in all honesty has none of the credentials to win an allireland.
    People often remember history as achievements written down on paper.Look more closely at 94 and 96.

No knockout with a back door you had less games,and winning four games(three main ones)you won the all ireland.

Remember in the two years he won 94 and 96,,win munster and you were automically in a all ireland final,as they played the ulster champions(no team since 89 and antrim made the final tells its own story).In the all ireland serious in the two real games he played,he was found out.Playing the ulster champions. Antrim with the greatest respect to them ,was not a great test in fairness.

So all tom done realistaclly was win munster,in the all ireland final twice he lost.While 94 was down to the players,ryan must take some of the blame.Offaly said many times,they never stopped beliving under cregan,limerick players didnt look as if they had real,real,belief,to win the title.If cregan was with limerck ye would have won.

96 was a joke.Hes decisions,not utilising the extra man ,and leaving mike galligan a superb hurler on the bench,baffling .

Of all the ,adorning ,and bowing down to tom ryan as a great manager unlucky in 94 that people have said,nobody mentions the bizarre ,96 final,with hes poor decisions.

This isnt the only final he lost either due to poor reading of a game.Newtown lost the county final against blackrock ,again awful decisons tactially he made.
    Newtown bombed ball after ball on donal mulchay,jp king, ben o connor etc,had not a hope of beating,john browne,fergal ryan or wayne sherlock under the high ball.

The "great tom"couldnt see that.He did not want to either.He is old school,wont embrace change,hes views only,lives in a world like babs keating the way the game was played in the 90's ,is the way they think you can win an all ireland now.
    Which is total rubbish.In fairness to babs he won two allirelands beating galway and kilkenny.

At newtown ,ryan had ger cunnigham of ul,now with laois.Newtown had enough of ryan after one year,told him where to go.The following year with exactly the same panel,newtown won the cork,munster,and all ireland ,such a milestone,that no other cork club has won an all ireland Or even got to a final since.

Ger cunnigham changed the tactics,and played players in the right positions,listened to the players needs unlike the "great tom ryan.
    Ryan is just overhyped,thinks he knows a great deal about hurling more than others,when hes record is poor in comparison when you look at it objectably.

Didnt exactly do much with westmeath,compared to brian hanley now who is doing great work with the u21 and senior team,and not making half as much noise about it.

If limerick want managers that are good characthers and outspoken,thats all well and good,but ,i would rather a manager that actually wins all irelands and does the talking on the ptich rather than off it.
    Give tom ryan a job in the local paper,where those that want to read him can,and those that don't and just skip the page.The problem is being involved with an intercounty team,doesnt give fans that privelge.

They got to grin and bear him.i have no bother any manager having views or ex players,cork and others have had their fair share of outspoken ex players and managers in the past.But guys like o grady,morgan,cusack,the rock,paul galvin,kerry,john mullane you name them,in fairness when they talk I would tend to listen as their all proven top performers as players or managers in the game.
    When cody speaks out,you would tend to listen,you dont have to agree with them,but what they have achieved ,you would listen to their views.

Tom ryan cleary talks hot air.He criticised the hurling game in America,to promote hurling,the brain child of o grady and cusack.

He said jbm should be gone as cork manager in april,as he was gone too long out of the game and not up to it.Laughable,the man talking,out of the game since 98 now has a key role himself in limerick hurling future as he is now u21 and intermediate manager.

Their will be uproar and the usal justice calls from ryan not being intermediate manager,and while the reasons alone are certainly questions to why he was appointed then stripped of it,when the emotion is taken out of it,the end result is better overall for limerick hurling.Limerick needs young blood,fresh ideas ,not old school like ryan.

If it was the clubs though,they are well within their rights,and the clubs should have a majior input in the selection.And its a good sign they can overturn wrong decisions,that clearly should never have been namHe is with the u21 team,thats enough,he seems to think he should have direct role in two teams,thats half of the limerick intercounty hurling.

He was against an outside as senior manager ,and people with hes views ,lost limerick the best manager they could have had in ger cunnigham.He ,have no doubt wants the senior job again.By todays developments he will never get it.Thats only but good for limerick hurling.

IF Only cork clubs had the same power,our u21 manager and minor football wouldnt be in place.
    He is named as selector with carey,but make no mistake he will dicate things,he knows no other way.It is always he's way.Limerck are like cork,in that they have an u21 management set up that are miles of whats required in the modern game.
    Both believe in the mindset,play with aggression ,and physicailty,forget about speed and tactics and speed and space though.

What really takes the biscuit is hes off the wall insulting remarks to rubgy and munster as an artifical team.
    The only team that limerick can assiocate with as winning ,and delieving on their expectation he has no mass in the game,and thinks it should not be played.

To call munster artifical is a bit much when even cork men accept,limerick is the heart of munster rubgy,and even with foreign players the heart and spine of the team has always had a strong limerick element.Even in 1973, before the foreign players,and heinken cup,munster was a world recogonised team in beating the all blacks ,and had its share of limerick input in to that.

Ryan insults a team and sport that is very much close to the heart of limerick people,and unlike the hurlers,put limerick on the map all over the world with the scences of. O connell street in the 2006 heinken cup win,is a bit much in fairness.

Tom ryan done a good job to a degree ,but certainly not the messiah people think he is.

The limerick u21s with him ,he has to chance to prove hineself against clare.Wait for the excuses when they loose,but he is great to tell others how to do it.The one difference between a pundit and a manager,is tom cant rely on hindsight and be full of insights post match ,but must actually live in the moment of a games flow,and read a game in progress and not wait til it ends.

Limerick would not have won under Cregan in 1994.Tom wasn't perfect but i'd take Tom Ryans CV as Limerick manager over Eamonn Cregans (a man who dismantled a good Limerick team and won nothing with them) CV as Limerick manager anyday.Cregan won that all ireland for Offaly through no fault of his own.Oh and Tom Ryan wanted to bring Mike Galligan in off the bench in 1996 but a county board officer wouldn't sign the form because he wasn't listed as a member of the official subs list.I'd say there was people in Limerick that were delighted that Tom didn't win an all ireland as manager.Oh and the Clare game in 1996 and the two Tipp games that same year.They were high intensity knockout championship games that Limerick won and they came back from 10 points down in the drawn munster final against Tipp in 1996.They would have beaten Galway if they played them in all ireland semi finals and i think playing Antrim was no real preparation for an all ireland final.Tom wasn't perfect but he was a good man who was constantly putting up with crap from the Limerick County Board.Tom also won a all ireland medal as a player for Limerick.However yes his times in charge of Newtown and Westmeath were a disaster but he is Limericks greatest and most successful manager over the last 40 years and those are the facts.Oh and i fully agree with what Tom said about Munster rugby and so do a lot of Limerick people.

Cregan has a far more impressive record,fact not immaterial,is cregan won offaly the all ireland.

He also had a huge part in the minor set up, last year.If you forget how good cregan is,go down tnd ul any monday night,and watch the limerick minors train.Total professional.An old man cregan is,but full of new ideas.The man hasnt aged a bit in looks or school of thought.He was spot on to clear out limerick when he took over ,they had been scarred by two all ireland final defeats,change had to come.
    What were limerick mean to do give him seven years like larry tompkins and hope it came good.

Limerick were spot on to get rid of him.This isnt an injustice like in cork mate,where morgan won two all irelands in a row but was shafted by the board not once but twice in 93 and 2007.

I believe your a youghal man,from your posts.Congrats on last week,i was at it,a superb win.
    However youghal finest son ,Eddie sullivan,a gaa man himself ,done them proud in rubgy.Tomas o leary,sweetnham,all lost to subgy,and at risk loosing aidan moyinhan also.
    Bill cooper played rubgy.

Cork have suffered more than most in terms of loosing players to rubgy,and michael deasy kilbrittain coach,lost to western saoma.

I dont hear many from their clubs or town ,insuiting munster or rubgy.Yes I love to see our lads stay in the gaa,but unlike aussie rules,rubgy has always been one of our national sports.It is their,it has always been,get over it.
    Its up to the gaa,and cork to look after our own so they choose gaa as their priorhhty.

Insulting rubgy when a lot of rubgy folk espiceally in limerick are gaa is a bit much,and long thanks to be god are the days of old when gaa players were banned for playing rubgy and soccer.

Times have changed.Ryan had two chances and blew them up.The statics,don't lie.

The statistics say that Limerick won 2 munster titles,a league title and they reached two all ireland finals under Tom Ryan yet that is seen as failure.Eamonn Cregan got rid of players who still had plenty left to offer Limerick hurling.Eamonn Cregan won nothing as Limerick manager.Limerick main achievement under Eamonn Cregan was a losing munster appearnce in 2001 and is that supposed to be a success?Tom Ryan was a relative success as Limerick manager.Eamonn Cregan on the other hand was an utter and total failure as Limerick manager.Cregan was right to clear out those players you say.Yeah Limerick really reaped the benefits of that!Look you have your opinion on Tom Ryan and i have my opinion.He wasn't perfect but he was a relatively successful manager for Limerick who was harshly treated by the county board in my opinion.

The statistics say that Limerick won 2 munster titles,a league title and they reached two all ireland finals under Tom Ryan yet that is seen as failure.Eamonn Cregan got rid of players who still had plenty left to offer Limerick hurling.Eamonn Cregan won nothing as Limerick manager.Limerick main achievement under Eamonn Cregan was a losing munster appearnce in 2001 and is that supposed to be a success?Tom Ryan was a relative success as Limerick manager.Eamonn Cregan was an utter and total failure of a Limerick manager.

Finally we make progress,a relative success now ryan is ,not the messiah the thread claimed he to be.

As I said earlier,i agree,a relative success,certainly nothing more .I never said cregan was a success with limerick,fact is won the all ireland with offaly,and beat limerick ,under ryan.It says it all.
    Limerick under cregan were a team distsraught after ryans two finals, and no where near the team ryan had in its peak in fairness.

Cregan has and is doing a fine job with limerick minors.i dont hear many counties wanting ryan ,do you?if hes so good.

Finally we make progress,a relative success now ryan is ,not the messiah the thread claimed he to be.

As I said earlier,i agree,a relative success,certainly nothing more .I never said cregan was a success with limerick,fact is won the all ireland with offaly,and beat limerick ,under ryan.It says it all.
    Limerick under cregan were a team distsraught after ryans two finals, and no where near the team ryan had in its peak in fairness.

Cregan has and is doing a fine job with limerick minors.i dont hear many counties wanting ryan ,do you?if hes so good.

Still he would have been good enough for the Limerick intermediates and when he was senior manager he bought in people like Dave Mahedy to train the team which was very revolutionary at the time and a lot of the players that worked with Tom speak fondly of him.I don't know what the Limerick lads are making of all this watching two Cork supporters at each others throats over the merits of Tom Ryan as a manager!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Cregan has a far more impressive record,fact not immaterial,is cregan won offaly the all ireland.

He also had a huge part in the minor set up, last year.If you forget how good cregan is,go down tnd ul any monday night,and watch the limerick minors train.Total professional.An old man cregan is,but full of new ideas.The man hasnt aged a bit in looks or school of thought.He was spot on to clear out limerick when he took over ,they had been scarred by two all ireland final defeats,change had to come.
    What were limerick mean to do give him seven years like larry tompkins and hope it came good.

Limerick were spot on to get rid of him.This isnt an injustice like in cork mate,where morgan won two all irelands in a row but was shafted by the board not once but twice in 93 and 2007.

I believe your a youghal man,from your posts.Congrats on last week,i was at it,a superb win.
    However youghal finest son ,Eddie sullivan,a gaa man himself ,done them proud in rubgy.Tomas o leary,sweetnham,all lost to subgy,and at risk loosing aidan moyinhan also.
    Bill cooper played rubgy.

Cork have suffered more than most in terms of loosing players to rubgy,and michael deasy kilbrittain coach,lost to western saoma.

I dont hear many from their clubs or town ,insuiting munster or rubgy.Yes I love to see our lads stay in the gaa,but unlike aussie rules,rubgy has always been one of our national sports.It is their,it has always been,get over it.
    Its up to the gaa,and cork to look after our own so they choose gaa as their priorhhty.

Insulting rubgy when a lot of rubgy folk espiceally in limerick are gaa is a bit much,and long thanks to be god are the days of old when gaa players were banned for playing rubgy and soccer.

Times have changed.Ryan had two chances and blew them up.The statics,don't lie.

Watch the 94 All Ireland and you will see Eamon Cregan pointing to Dooley to put the ball over the bar... he ignored Cregan and stuck it in the net. Turning point in the game. Cregan was a magnificent hurler but would certainly take Tom Ryan before him as a manager.

Still he would have been good enough for the Limerick intermediates and when he was senior manager he bought in people like Dave Mahedy to train the team which was very revolutionary at the time and a lot of the players that worked with Tom speak fondly of him.I don't know what the Limerick lads are making of all this watching two Cork supporters at each others throats over the merits of Tom Ryan as a manager!

No this is reasonable debate,we are the rebels after all,none of us giving an inch:-o

It would have been a statement of going backwards than forwards ,if he was coach.The man that made enough noise about limerick men need to manage the senior team,then surely go jesus,he would be happy with one team,and let another new manager ,prove hes credientals for the future.

Better served putting in a guy,that will be involved with limerick teams down the line,senior or underage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

There's a lot of truth in this. LK had 1 good team in the 90's with several top hurlers. Much better than today. Carey/Kirby/Houlihan/McDonagh/Clarke.

Cregan was an outright disaster, got rid of players in their prime :rolleyes:

shawnee wrote: »
    Watch the 94 All Ireland and you will see Eamon Cregan pointing to Dooley to put the ball over the bar... he ignored Cregan and stuck it in the net. Turning point in the game. Cregan was a magnificent hurler but would certainly take Tom Ryan before him as a manager.

No he was telling him aim high,just below the bar.It made no sense in going for a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

No he was telling him aim high,just below the bar.It made no sense in going for a point.

Ask him and you'll get the true answer ? Or indeed watch the video if you can bear to watch it again. He was ignored and they won , maybe our good players that he ruined should have done the same when he was manager. Magnificent player though has to be said !

Lads ye might aswell be talking to the wall, talkstoomuch knows everything and is always right end of :rolleyes:

Both Dooley and Cregan have contradicted what he is saying here re the free and also this rubbish about trying to discredit Tom Ryan's achievements with Limerick despite the fact that he brought a Limerick team from nowhere to win 3 national titles and when he was criminally sacked they soon returned to nowhere, interestingly enough he also steered Limerick to a victory over a JBM manged Cork team the one and only time their paths crossed at intercounty level, yet the vanquished is seen as some sort of god and the victor as a failure :confused:

You also seem to be forgetting here talkstoomuch that we are talking here about the Limerick Intermediate job, can you tell me exactly how many Senior AI winning managers have applied for the job, seing that you seem to feel that is the only qualifying criteria that counts for any job, unless of course you happen to be John Allen :rolleyes:

And Tom will be 70 in May, which actually further enhances my point that if Cregan is considered suitable for the minor set-up, surely Tom Ryan's age should'nt preclude him from the Limerick Intermediate post.

Absoultey,your spot on.
    Age doesnt matter ,if your young at mind level,and not old school,and willing to embrace change,and new ideas.
    Cregan,like eammon ryan,billy morgan,Brian Cody,Jbm,Ned English ,are all over 60,, but like Sir alex fergusson ,age doesnt hinder them,as their open minded,always up to date with new ideas and never stuck in old ways.

And they use their vast expierence on top of that to make them truly superb managers,where as some while they have expierence,are just too set in their ways and are very much old school of thought in terms of the game.
    Thats the essential difference.

Absoultey,your spot on.
    Age doesnt matter ,if your young at mind level,and not old school,and willing to embrace change,and new ideas.
    Cregan,like eammon ryan,billy morgan,Brian Cody,Jbm,Ned English ,are all over 60,, but like Sir alex fergusson ,age doesnt hinder them,as their open minded,always up to date with new ideas and never stuck in old ways.

And they use their vast expierence on top of that to make them truly superb managers,where as some while they have expierence,are just too set in their ways and are very much old school of thought in terms of the game.
    Thats the essential difference.

Would you not agree that Tom was a good manager for his time?He also did well when he was managing Ballybrown.He didn't win the all ireland but his CV as Limerick manager is still the best out of all of Limericks managers from the past 30 to 40 years.

I have said he was a relative success,good yes,but my good is different to what you view it ,as great.

And just cause limerick have failed to win in the last 40 years is more so an indictive of the problems their and not ryan is anything special.
    Being their best manager of what could be seen as a bad lot in previous mangers if you want to take that view,doesnt mean hes a top top manager as you make him out to be.

So yes he is a good manager to a limit,get the team so far,will he will you an all ireland ,no.You even agreed he failed withe newtown.As I said,same panel,wins club all ireland ,when he left within a year.
    What was the main difference?the manager.

Would I want him down in cork?mangaging cork,no.

Take for example ,if cork footballers dont win an all ireland for another twenty years,does that make counihan great?
    Now ,many cork fans were grateful he won the all ireland,and he deserved credit.But the majority wanted him to leave the job this year.

But in years down the line just cause we didnt if that happens,win the all ireland,it shouldnt be viewed as counihan,been better than he was.The realistic view,is he had the golden generation of cork footballers,but didnt play good football and stumbled to the all ireland,when we should have strolled it.

With tom ryan,the facts are he won no all irelands.Tippeary wouldnt take babs back,and rightfully so,the game has evolved,but babs has two all irelands beating galway and kilkenny to do that.And he still has he's critics.

Yet Ryan,has achieved far less,and people view him as a messiah.
    A lot of limerick people dont want managing limerick,and hes views on munster rubgy insulted a lot of rubgy fans.
    As I said do you see many counties queing up for him.

A passionate hurling man,and great service to the game,yes.But ,on hes records,not a great manager.

Micko dywer is a great manager.He won with kerry.However ,even though ,he did not win with wicklow,kildare ,all irelands etc,in this case he was a great success,as those teams had tremendous success in their own right,he inspired laois,wicklow and kildare to be better than they were.

A Great manager,got every last inch from hes teams,and in sport ,sometimes your beaten by better teams,and you cant do much.

However in ryans case,the players were their to win an all ireland.I wouldnt say hes great,as I would then have to put him in the company of jbm,cody,fr bertie troy,micko,sean boylan,mickey harte,morgan,eammon ryan,hefferanean etc,and he is in my view not in their leauge.

But relatively tom ryan is a good manager but their is a lot better than him.

And yes I agree,he done well with ballybrown to a degree.He,after loosing two countys,won 3 or four and a munster.
    Credit due.

However,they lost the all ireland final I believe.And also ,in the 94, and 96 with Limerick,defeats which I dont particulary agree with,he blamed the players in 94,, and the referee in 96.
    Every one else gets the blame ,but he is the manager.
    He is certain he would have won if he was left to stay.I dont see what he could have added to the team,after already having two goes at it.

Managers must,accept some responsibity for a teams failure ,if it keeps happening.
    A cork manager ,in recent times blamed players after a defeat,and said if a player plays two bad games in a row hes a bad player,and that was on young players.

A totally illoligcal thing to say,considering same manager had lengthy spells in charge of intercounty team,and failed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Quixoticelixer

Have you by any chance read "Unlimited Heartbreak" thinkstoomuch1? You have very strong views on the man! A good manager, (note; good, not "great") and a colourful character, things were never dull when Tom Ryan was involved!

I'll always be fond of him myself. He didn't land the All-Ireland, but Limerick were always competitive under him. Was that team good enough to win an All-Ireland? Unfortunately, I think not- teams in general end up getting what they deserve.

People often criticise Cregan for dismantling that team, but the team Cregan fielded in his first year (1998) was almost identical to the team Ryan had been fielding. Pa Carey was the only notable change in for Mike Nash, and Damien Quigley returned after a year away. Cregan gave the existing panel a fair chance, and they were turned over fairly comfortably by Cork at the Gaelic Grounds, if I recall correctly the scoreline was Cor 1-20, Lim 3-11, the scoreline flattered Limerick, Cork were very comfortable throughout that game.

Cregan gave the existing panel a chance, it didn't work out, so he spent the next three years building a new team and they were going strong again in 2001.

I wouldn't criticise anyone for the 1994 All-Ireland final, I don't believe that was anyone's fault, it was a freak ending, we'll never again see a final that concludes quite like that.

Have you by any chance read "Unlimited Heartbreak" thinkstoomuch1? You have very strong views on the man! A good manager, (note; good, not "great") and a colourful character, things were never dull when Tom Ryan was involved!

I'll always be fond of him myself. He didn't land the All-Ireland, but Limerick were always competitive under him. Was that team good enough to win an All-Ireland? Unfortunately, I think not- teams in general end up getting what they deserve.

People often criticise Cregan for dismantling that team, but the team Cregan fielded in his first year (1998) was almost identical to the team Ryan had been fielding. Pa Carey was the only notable change in for Mike Nash, and Damien Quigley returned after a year away. Cregan gave the existing panel a fair chance, and they were turned over fairly comfortably by Cork at the Gaelic Grounds, if I recall correctly the scoreline was Cor 1-20, Lim 3-11, the scoreline flattered Limerick, Cork were very comfortable throughout that game.

Cregan gave the existing panel a chance, it didn't work out, so he spent the next three years building a new team and they were going strong again in 2001.

I wouldn't criticise anyone for the 1994 All-Ireland final, I don't believe that was anyone's fault, it was a freak ending, we'll never again see a final that concludes quite like that.

A good post,some valid points.

I never read it ,fully to be honest,i thinks books like that serve no great purpose ,and it is a hard read on geuine limerick fans who give their all for limerick gaa,and they dont need a book to rub salt in the wounds and give outsiders ,fire power to insult them when they want.I have been at matches where fans have taunted them with vibes about loosing and say add another chapter to the book which isnt nice.

A lot of limerick people know their history and dont need a book highlighting their failures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Quixoticelixer

I never read it ,fully to be honest,i thinks books like that serve no great purpose ,and it is a hard read on geuine limerick fans who give their all for limerick gaa,and they dont need a book to rub salt in the wounds and give outsiders ,fire power to insult them when they want.I have been at matches where fans have taunted them with vibes about loosing and say add another chapter to the book which isnt nice.

A lot of limerick people know their history and dont need a book highlighting their failures.
    I know what you mean, I don't feel the book sets out to highlight the failures as such, the problem is that it doesn't have much else to focus on! You should get a loan of it sometime, if only to read the 1994-97 chapters, you'd probably come away from it feeling extra vindicated in your views on Tom Ryan while at the same time having gained some extra insight into the type of man/personality he is. The Tom Ryan era in that book makes for good reading whether you like or loathe the man, loads of input from the man himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Apparently he wasn't ratified by the county board!!!

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/ryan-shock-as-limerick-appointment-not-ratified-251015.html

maybe he should have held his ire until formally appointed!

One thing I think that can definitely be taken from both this thread and a number of other threads throughout the last 12 months on here, a number of people place far far too much emphasis on the role of a manager, as the saying goes you can lead a horse to water but......

County board meeting 'abandoned' last night...

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=205515

Hard to believe Ryan is still the centre of controversy 20 years on, we're stuck in a time warp :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Horse84

One thing I think that can definitely be taken from both this thread and a number of other threads throughout the last 12 months on here, a number of people place far far too much emphasis on the role of a manager, as the saying goes you can lead a horse to water but......

Was just thinking that myself while on here the other day.

County board meeting 'abandoned' last night...

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=205515

Hard to believe Ryan is still the centre of controversy 20 years on, we're stuck in a time warp :o:o

Hope they overturn their decision, its bad form on County Board's part

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭LMK

Phil Bennis brought the majority of that 90's Limerick Team on from Minor / U-21. I believe he'd have won an AI with them but because they lost to Clare in 93 in ennis the co board got rid - that was a very costly mistake.

Gerry Bennis the man who couldn't be there until the end of August was the first man in the door!:pac: That Limerick team were good to win at least 1 all ireland and they should have won an all ireland.

I don't think that was the point of Unlimited Heartbreak.I think the purpose of the book was to highlight all the politics and hidden agendas that have been blighting Limerick hurling for years.It is a fantastic piece of work and it would be no harm if someone released a book exposing how incompetent and corrupt the Cork county board are.

I know what you mean, I don't feel the book sets out to highlight the failures as such, the problem is that it doesn't have much else to focus on! You should get a loan of it sometime, if only to read the 1994-97 chapters, you'd probably come away from it feeling extra vindicated in your views on Tom Ryan while at the same time having gained some extra insight into the type of man/personality he is. The Tom Ryan era in that book makes for good reading whether you like or loathe the man, loads of input from the man himself.

I fcuked him from a pinnacle and i fcuking called him everything!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Jeez, that 2001 final was a pisser, cummins through himself down on the ball, nowadays it would have been a free in for sure, Begley and eoin o neill missed 2 point blank chances in the last 10 minutes to send us on our way quelle surprise tipp went on to win the match and all Ireland.

Not to mention Seanie O'Connors last goal chance at the death when there was 2 points in it !!!

podgec20 wrote: »
    Not to mention Seanie O'Connors last goal chance at the death when there was 2 points in it !!!

And Wexford needed a last second penalty to beat Limerick in the all ireland quarter final that year.To give credit where it's due i felt that Eamonn Cregan was steering Limerick in the right direction again.Of course the county board turned on him when he made his opposition to dual players clear and he was right too.You can just about cope with 1 or two of your panel playing football but not fcuking 5 or 6 of them!His selectors who seemed to be county board lackeys also turned on him.I feel that Eamonn did participate in the gang up against Tom but Limerick were starting to make progress again under him but the county board then felt the need to stir the **** yet again!Eamonn was treated just as bad as Tom in the end but Eamonn just doesn't make as big a deal out his treatment as Tom does!However i do think Eamonns dropping of Iron Mike and his dropping of Mike Nash to bring back Pa Carey (The public went mad for Pa.He was the most popular man in the county said Tom Ryan!) were very silly decisions!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

And Wexford needed a last second penalty to beat Limerick in the all ireland quarter final that year.To give credit where it's due i felt that Eamonn Cregan was steering Limerick in the right direction again.Of course the county board turned on him when he made his opposition to dual players clear and he was right too.You can just about cope with 1 or two of your panel playing football but not fcuking 5 or 6 of them!His selectors who seemed to be county board lackeys also turned on him.I feel that Eamonn did participate in the gang up against Tom but Limerick were starting to make progress again under him but the county board then felt the need to stir the **** yet again!Eamonn was treated just as bad as Tom in the end but Eamonn just doesn't make as big a deal out his treatment as Tom does!However i do think Eamonns dropping of Iron Mike and his dropping of Mike Nash to bring back Pa Carey (The public went mad for Pa.He was the most popular man in the county said Tom Ryan!) were very silly decisions!

Yeah, clem smith in the QF, FFS. Nash had serious flaws in his game and carey was in form at club, only with hindsight can you say it was the wrong decision.

And Wexford needed a last second penalty to beat Limerick in the all ireland quarter final that year.

That was a killer blow if ever there was one there was an All-Ireland there for the taking that if we had got through that game. The two Wexford defeats in 1996 and 2001 were two of the hardest defeats to take I felt.

Not sure what English had Tipp on that year but they could have lost pretty much every game that championship and somehow went unbeaten from challenges, Waterfrod Crystal, league and Championship with a pretty limited team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Apparently the club delegates got very heated in the abandoned county board meeting over the Tom Ryan issue. I think this is good, as our county board certainly is a far cry from a shining beacon of excellence..... and if you appoint a committee to select a manager, and then refuse to ratify his appointment without even giving a reason, then you're just asking for trouble.

I just wonder why people are getting so heated about this, yet not even a single question was asked about the Ryan-O'Grady appointment, or why it took so long, or whether Ger Cunningham/Donal Óg were considered..... there was nothing mentioned then. Although apparently Ger Cunningham's name was mentioned at the most recent one... I think a couple of people from my own club were involved, didn't hear anything this weekend though.

I do think that the club delegates should question more of the county board's decisions in matters relating to the entire county. I mean most of what they do is fine, but the clubs are what make up Limerick GAA and they should have some say.