Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Five arrests in 'slavery' raid at UK [travellers] site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

It's their culture, you horrible racist.

I've said it once and i'll say it again, there's no such thing as a decent Traveller. They are just a massive organised crime gang.

If they all disappeared this moment the world would be a better place.

What an ignorant statement, there are many decent travellers, knew a right few through boxing. An awful amount of right fcukers as well though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

No statement from Pavee Point?

They're being very quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

Massa Big Jim Connors :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

mikemac wrote: »

They're being very quiet
    what has it got to do with them. if they werent irish travellers it would be reported as local community helps winos and junkies back into mainstream by offering them work and accomodation, thats the last time them travellers will try and do anybody a good turn

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

what has it got to do with them. if they werent irish travellers it would be reported as local community helps winos and junkies back into mainstream by offering them work and accomodation, thats the last time them travellers will try and do anybody a good turn

Ah, I remember you, you are that poster who says crazy things to get rises out of other posters. Didn't we ignore you in the politcs forum because you kept posting such rubbish? It worked, you eventually went away.

yes and some people or like a bad smell wont go away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

They're being very quiet

They only exist to protest discrimination against the gentle race of Travellers.

Are you comparing yourself to a bad smell? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

what about the rack on that traveller mot on the news jaysus :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

jonnny68 wrote: »
    what about the rack on that traveller mot on the news jaysus :eek::D

Rack good, but the mouth was awful....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Four men have been charged with slavery offences relating to four people found at the Greenacres travellers' site in Bedfordshire.
    The men, all from the same family of travellers, were charged with conspiracy to holding a person in servitude and requiring them to perform forced labour.
    The charges follow an investigation by the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Major Crime Unit and relate to alleged offences against four male victims at the Greenacres travellers' site in Bedfordshire.
    The CPS named the men charged as Tommy Connors, 30, Patrick Connors, 19, James (Big Jim) Connors, 34, and James (Jimmy) Connors, 23, all of Greenacres caravan site, in Great Billington, Leighton Buzzard.
    Adrian Roberts, head of the CPS Thames and Chiltern Complex Casework Unit, said: "These charges relate to four victims who allege they have been held against their will and forced to live and work like slaves.
    "Police investigations into other offences relating to other potential victims at Greenacres are ongoing, further to the police raid on Sunday, September 11."
    The four men will appear at Luton Magistrates' Court tomorrow.
    More than 200 officers were involved in raids on the Greenacre site yesterday, during which weapons, drugs and money were also uncovered.
    17 of the men held were British, three were from Poland and the other four were from Russia and Romania.
    Police believe some of the men appeared to have been 'recruited' from soup kitchens and benefits offices and may have had problems such as alcoholism.
    Detective Chief Inspector Sean O'Neil, from the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire major crime unit, said: "The men we found at the site were in a poor state of physical health and the conditions they were living in were shockingly filthy and cramped.
    "We believe that some of them had been living and working there in a state of virtual slavery, some for just a few weeks and others for up to 15 years.
    "Because of the number of victims and suspects and the size of the site, we needed the assistance of many officers from specialist units today. We are aware the operation has caused a lot of disruption to the other residents of the site and we thank them for their cooperation and understanding."

Pics and vids:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0912/slavery.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I've said it once and i'll say it again, there's no such thing as a decent Traveller.
    No matter how much you drone it, it doesn't make you any less wrong.
    galwayrush wrote: »
    Waiting for some concerned citizens to express outrage at travellers not being allowed to keep slaves..:rolleyes:
    As if anyone would. Come on now, there is PC and there is an imagined type of PC that only exists in the heads of people on AH.

Dudess wrote: »
    As if anyone would. Come on now, there is PC and there is an imagined type of PC that only exists in the heads of people on AH.

I was being sarcastic....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

They're being very quiet
    its hard to text when you're driving.and illegal i might add

you never where the sharpest knive in the drawer where you?

Read again friend :D

It's a Bertie type denial.:pac::pac:

so the irish are going to england, taking land that isnt theirs, making the locals work for nothing while letting them starve and beating them if they dont cooperate and to think i thought karma was a load of auld shoite

i wil try and make it easier for you this time. dont you think its time you went away. you might think your a waltzing consumer everybody else knows its simply walking round the shop trying to shake whats in your pants down your leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

i wil try and make it easier for you this time. dont you think its time you went away. you might think your a waltzing consumer everybody else knows its simply walking round the shop trying to shake whats in your pants down your leg.

Now now. Getting upset are we ?

Are you accusing me of a having a very big penis? :confused:

big penis sounds about right. maybe your not as slow as i thought

Now now. Getting upset are we ?
    i dont know are you

big penis sounds about right

:o thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Stick to the facts at hand. Generalisations of groups of people will be actioned.

This thread either improves in tone or it'll be closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

there is nothing new to this story. they have been doing this for years with irish and english guys. they take guys in trouble with the law, homeless, drug-using or shiftless and they go to work for them. They buy and sell them too, in a way, more their experience and training. I know a couple of lads who have even been 'freed'
    the ones i have met have been resigned to it as it kept them away from whatever grief they were in at home - law/drugs/money and if they were working they were happy.
    Couple of irish lads have even more or less worked their way out and are 'assimilated'
    It is just another example of the disregard for non-travelling people that the travelling community have IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Mapck

The more frightening thought is that there could be more of these things going on. Perhaps one is closer than you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

in any traveller site where they come and go to europe in a regular basis there is at least 1 or 2 men indentured, as far as i know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

lynski wrote: »
    in any traveller site where they come and go to europe in a regular basis there is at least 1 or 2 men indentured, as far as i know.
    what does indentured mean, and of course they mention the irish, of course they had to mention that, i suppose there are no english travellers who would do something like this,
    i do feel sorry for the people who were kept in slavery, and the girl there on the news seems not to be sorry, and pretending to know nothing, even though her hubby has been arrested

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

tits are lovely on her

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

them boobs will be famous

• Registered Users Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Beautiful tits. First traveller to ever give me a rise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Imagine the outcry ithere would be if English travellers came over here, built illegal villages / communes on land, lived off our social welfare system, had very large families and enslaved 25 Irish people to do their scivvy work ?

I think the local 10 surrounding GAA hurling teams would arrive with their hurleys.

The English people are too tolerant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

goat2 wrote: »
    what does indentured mean, and of course they mention the irish, of course they had to mention that, i suppose there are no english travellers who would do something like this,
    i do feel sorry for the people who were kept in slavery, and the girl there on the news seems not to be sorry, and pretending to know nothing, even though her hubby has been arrested

The way she was dismissing the allegation so nonchalantly was amazing.

"Ooooh noo we dont have slaves here, we dont have slaves. People come and go. We dont have slaves here."

Surely any person with even half an understanding of the claims being made would be absolutely apalled that people though such an abhorrent act was taking place in their tiny community, especially if it wasn't taking place. Lack of intelligence, lack of class, lack of morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

"Ooooh noo we dont have slaves here, we dont have slaves. People come and go. We dont have slaves here."

Surely any person with even half an understanding of the claims being made would be absolutely apalled that people though such an abhorrent act was taking place in their tiny community, especially if it wasn't taking place. Lack of intelligence, lack of class, lack of morals.

Tits.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

twincamman wrote: »
    tits are lovely on her

Every traveller woman has massive knockers. Ye wouldn't touch them though.

My dad has worked in many travellers' houses. He said he NEVER saw any toilet roll or soap. Rarely ever a towel. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Born liars.

Traveller at the door, puts on mild accent:"Hello Sir. We're just in the area, cleaning a couple of drives around the corner (isn't), and we were wondering if you'd like yours cleaned, special price, (yeah right) lovely job."

Me:"Eh, no thanks." but in my head it's more like "Yeah I'm gonna let a gang of you bas****s scope out my gaf so yiz can come back later with a crowbar and clean out my gaf, sounds like a deal to me".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Every traveller woman has massive knockers. Ye wouldn't touch them though.

Travellers are descended from the ancient irish, big boobs are in their genes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0913/breaking9.html
    Four men will appear in court today in Britain charged with slavery offences relating to four people found at a travellers’ site.
    The four: Tommy Connors (30), Patrick Connors (19), James Connors (34), and James Connors (23), all with addresses at the Greenacres caravan site at Little Billington, were yesterday charged with conspiracy to hold a person in servitude and requiring them to perform forced labour. The four will appear in court in Luton today.
    The charges follow an investigation by the Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire Major Crime Unit and relate to alleged offences against four men at the Greenacres travellers’ site in Bedfordshire.
    The four defendants all live at the site, in Great Billington, Leighton Buzzard, the Crown Prosecution Service said.
    A fifth person who was arrested alongside the men on Sunday morning - a heavily pregnant woman - was released on bail and will be questioned further after the birth of her child, Bedfordshire Police said.
    Last night’s charges, made by the police on the direction of the Crown Prosecution Service, cover just four of the 24 British, Polish, Latvian and Lithuanian men who were taken away by the police after Sunday’s raid. “Police investigations into other offences relating to other potential victims at Greenacres are ongoing,” said Adrian Roberts of the prosecution service.
    Nine of the 24 men taken away on Sunday have refused to co-operate with the investigation, while one of them returned to live at the site last night, saying that the police action was “ridiculous”.
    Yesterday, Travellers living at the park angrily denied that the men had been slaves, insisting they had paid them £30 a day to work laying tarmac and clearing rubble, and had given them accommodation.
    However, the accommodation was appalling, with some of the men living four-to-a-room in crowded, dilapidated caravans, while others had been seen sleeping in horseboxes and kennels by police during weeks of covert surveillance.
    The dawn raid took place on Sunday as it was the only day the men were not taken off-site to work. Police say they were forced, instead, to clean the heavily secured caravan park.
    It is understood that most of the alleged slaves are suffering from alcoholism or drug addiction. One of them came to Greenacres after he was approached by Travellers while he sat on a bridge readying to commit suicide. Police say the men were promised £80 a day for work.
    Before 2010 police struggled to prosecute allegations of slavery because they were required to use anti-trafficking laws, assault or charges of false imprisonment – none of them would cover the allegations made against Greenacres.
    Under Section 71 of the Coroners and Justice Act 2009, a person found guilty of holding someone in domestic servitude could face up to 14 years in jail, while a conviction for forced labour brings a seven-year penalty.
    The head of Anti-Slavery International, Aidan McQuade said he believed that up to 3,000 people are enslaved in the United Kingdom at any one time: “I was shocked [by the Greenacres allegations], but I was not surprised,” he said.
    Fifteen of the released men continued yesterday to get medical treatment from the Red Cross, though it remains to be seen if they will make formal statements. Police say, however, that they are receiving co-operation.
    A successful prosecution will depend on the police being able to prove the men were ill-treated, that their movements were restricted, that they suffered poor accommodation and food and were forcibly isolated from others.

This is pretty atrocious if its true, there's no way anyone should be treated like this in 2011. I'd be curious as to why all the 'victims' aren't cooperating though, and in particular why one of them said the charges were ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Inb4 knackers pikeys etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Where does it say they're Irish? Or are all travellers Irish? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

Funnily enough travellers dont consider themselves Irish hence the fight for ethnic status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

It says it in the heading on the "related links" part of the page I linked to, not sure why it doesn't say the same in the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Netwing

A bit of backround to this and Irish traveller sites are mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Funnily enough travellers dont consider themselves Irish hence the fight for ethnic status.

Well they want all the rights and entitlements of being Irish without contributing, plus extra rights too.*

*generalisation

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Lordofweld

On RTE Brian o Connell said it was an Irish Travelling family and teletext name them as 4 conners. Crazy stuff, Anybody see the blonde with the pumped up juggs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Lordofweld wrote: »
    On RTE Brian o Connell said it was an Irish Travelling family and teletext name them as 4 conners. Crazy stuff, Anybody see the blonde with the pumped up juggs

Seen her ;) would you like to be her slave :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

realies wrote: »
    Seen her ;) would you like to be her slave :p

Your disgusting talking like that about a 13 year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Typical scumbag Irish, the lot of them. What is it about the Irish and having to break the law, having to treat others like crap, and just basically being awful people?

The whole wretched island should be bombed to nothing, and any survivors shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Lordofweld

Ha, a man could get caught out there if ya didnt hear her talkin