Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

My car was stolen last night

• 11-09-2011 3:31pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭

...and I'm still in shock about the whole thing. I just went out about an hour and a half ago to collect a mate from the airport and the driveway was empty of said vehicle.

It is a 12 year old Mazda 323 but it was in very good condition. I expect it to be stripped down and burnt out somewhere by now.:mad::(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Bad luck OP, it might be found, did you report it?

Same happened to me a few years ago. 6am, going to work, no car! Saw her a week later burnt out in a field. Sad times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Ha Ha!!

Poster banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Stripped of what exactly? It will be joyridden and burned out, nobody wants your smelly auld Mazda.

that sucks OP, have you been on to your insurers yet?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yep - I phoned the Gardai and in fairness thay came over pretty quickly to take the details down. It's also fully insured but I'm gutted that it's gone.

I doubt I'll get it back intact. Being realistic, it'll be stripped down for spare parts and burnt out somewhere.:mad::(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

phasers wrote: »
    nobody wants your smelly auld Mazda.

Evidently that is not the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

JupiterKid wrote: »
    ...and I'm still in shock about the whole thing. I just went out about an hour and a half ago to collect a mate from the airport and the driveway was empty of said vehicle.

It is a 12 year old Mazda 323 but it was in very good condition. I expect it to be stripped down and burnt out somewhere by now.:mad::(:(

Give us the colour, year and county, and last 2 digits. Let's see if boards can spot it :cool:

My car was stolen 14 years ago... Turned up 3 doors down from my grannys house :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Worth about 800 euro, could be worse could be a brand new car op.

Stolen from outside your own home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

phasers wrote: »
    nobody wants your smelly auld Mazda.

I do! Could use it for parts.

Yep, stolen from my driveway. I had a few good CDs in it as well. It was also broken into a couple of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

How's that supposed to help the poor fella now with no car.

Sorry to hear about the robbery op. Feels horrible finding out you have no vehicle cos some scumbag decided to have a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

discus wrote: »
    My car was stolen 14 years ago... Turned up 3 doors down from my grannys house :eek:

Any explanation as to why she did it?

Yep, stolen from my driveway. I haqd a few good CDs in it as well. It was also broken into a couple of years ago.

Feck, the warning signs were there so i suppose, do you mind me asking what part of the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Could be a hell of a lot worse OP, afaik theft won't affect your no claims bonus so it's not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,349 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

How old are you op?

Are you sure you didnt leave at the supermarket or somewhere?

seanybiker wrote: »
    How's that supposed to help the poor fella now with no car.

Sorry to hear about the robbery op. Feels horrible finding out you have no vehicle cos some scumbag decided to have a bit of fun.

Im just trying to cheer him up, least am not telling him what he already knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

OP: please post up pictures of it, the year, and the last two digits of the reg plate, as well as the make and model.

Someone here may see someone with a car they "just got". And with several thousand people on this forum, there's a chance someone may see it.

Feck, the warning signs were there so i suppose, do you mind me asking what part of the country?

Castleknock in Dublin 15. It could be worse, at least I and my housemates are OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

So, your mate's still waiting at the airport, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

the_syco wrote: »
    OP: please post up pictures of it, the year, and the last two digits of the reg plate, as well as the make and model.

Someone here may see someone with a car they "just got". And with several thousand people on this forum, there's a chance someone may see it.

Hard luck OP

Castleknock in Dublin 15. It could be worse, at least I and my housemates are OK.

Thats the main thing.

Fizman wrote: »
    Any explanation as to why she did it?

She's from coolock - she doesn't know any better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Also, the reg doesn't have "WX" in it, by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

when my motorbike was found it had been crashed so that cheered me up a bit thinking that some cream cracker hopefully hurt himself on me poor bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Yep, stolen from my driveway. I had a few good CDs in it as well. It was also broken into a couple of years ago.

What cd's were in it, probably worth more than the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Is there a chance it could have been just for a joyride? You might still get it back in not too bad a shape. Here's hoping so anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I had a few good CDs in it as well.

Clanned?
    That's wanton man. At least they had taste, the cunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

It happened to me about a month ago, my car was 11 years old, the guards told me the reprobates are going for the old cars because they can't start the modern cars that have immobiliser etc.

It was eventually recovered but burnt out. Although the car had a value to me, I would have got 500 for it on the market and I got my settlement and to be honest I did very well and it wont effect my no claims bonus.

They will give you a valuation on your car, reject it, and they will make a little bit of a better offer at least they did with me.

Bad luck,,but good luck with the business of settling with the insurance.

Edit; Also I found this out 2 weeks ago, if your car was destroyed you CAN claim back the motortax, just ring the motortax office and they will tell you how to do so..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭yuloni

I hate to tell you this but a month has passed and every now and again I am looking for something, then I go "Bollox" I realise THAT WAS IN MY CAR AS WELL.

The most recent was an overdue library book. Its only when your car gets robbed and burnt out you realise the amount of things we leave in our cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

Castleknock? geez.
    Seemingly a "good" area. But then again sh*t can happen anywhere. Good area or utter kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

same happened me last year.
    my mazda 323 was robbed, and about to be burnt out when the garda found it.

clutch was gone, and back window smashed.

bastards whoever does it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Hard luck OP. Had a couple of motorcycles stolen over the years, and it's not a nice thing to happen to anybody.
    I hope they catch the scum and beat the livin' **** out of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Console wrote: »
    Castleknock? geez.
    Seemingly a "good" area. But then again sh*t can happen anywhere. Good area or utter kip.

It can certainly happen anywhere, doesn't matter if the area is perceived as "good" or not. I've left my car unlocked (accidentally!) in areas that could be considered extremely dodgy and nothing ever happened to it, and had my car stolen right from under my nose in an area that could be considered quite affluent.

A mate of mine had his motorbike stolen in Castleknock recently OP, seems to be something of a problem in the area at the moment. Sorry to hear, it's an absolutely ****ty feeling I know, hopefully all your dealings with the insurance company go as smoothly as they possibly can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭polyfusion

4leto wrote: »
    ...Its only when your car gets robbed and burnt out you realise the amount of things we leave in our cars.

I used to leave my drivers license in mine, until some fcukers nearly took mine after peeling back the top of the door. I guess they were either disturbed or figured a Cordoba wasn't good enough for them.

OP, if you don't get it back, we can only hope and pray that they ended upside down in a ditch full of water.

polyfusion wrote: »
    I used to leave my drivers license in mine, until some fcukers nearly took mine after peeling back the top of the door. I guess they were either disturbed or figured a Cordoba wasn't good enough for them.

OP, if you don't get it back, we can only hope and pray that they ended upside down in a ditch full of water.

:D:D I agree the cnuts.

I was worse I left my licence my cards (all of them) so that was my first flap cancelling them then the pain in the arse of replacing them. Also a lot of my cycling and sports gear was in my boot and I am sure other things as well, never again will I use my car as extra storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

My Dad had a shíte ball of a car years ago that some scum tried to knick,

we came down the following morning to see the car sitting in the middle of the road with all the wires under the steering wheel pulled out.

The car had actually broken down in the process of its theft and the lads ditched, getting all of about 3 metres in it.

Shítty old car 1, scumbags 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Clanned?

Shit sounds man.

Just got a call from the Gardai. My car was found burnt out in Cherry Orchard this morning.:(

Fortunately I only had a few CDs in the car but it had a good radio. But at the end of the day it is only a car, and an old one at that. You have to put things into perspective sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

Just got a call from the Gardai. My car was found burnt out in Cherry Orchard this morning.:(

Fortunately I only had a few CDs in the car but it had a good radio. But at the end of the day it is only a car, and an old one at that. You have to put things into perspective sometimes.

Sorry to hear that man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Yeah man.. No point in getting distressed. It's not worth it. Some jackarse hit my car about 3 or 4 weeks ago and drove off. I didn't want my 5 years no claims to be hurt, so I had to pay it out of my own pocket.

I took consolation in the fact that he apparently blew his tire and drove away on a punctured alloy in a brand new Audi. I hope the bill for him was huge, or his entire no claims was destroyed :D

dlofnep wrote: »
    Yeah man.. No point in getting distressed. It's not worth it. Some jackarse hit my car about 3 or 4 weeks ago and drove off. I didn't want my 5 years no claims to be hurt, so I had to pay it out of my own pocket.

That happened me a while ago when I went for lunch in a restaurant in Swords, Dublin. Some sap reversed into my car as they were leaving a parking space, and hit my car hard enough that my passenger side door wouldn't open. No camera, so I couldn't point blame at anyone (it was definitely the red learner car parked perpendicular, only red car there!)

I didn't have to pay for the repair - I went to the Gardai in swords, who pointed me towards the wreckers yard on the swords road. After I told them who sent me, they sorted out my panelling on the spot, and the major bumps. Wouldn't take cash for the job, and offered the girlfriend and I tea. Every cloud has a silver lining :D Passed on a favour a while after that, and considered the karma account back at neutral!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,173 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sorry to hear this. Scum. as a matter of interest was it alarmed?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

The best anti theft device you can get for an older car is a clamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

discus wrote: »
    That happened me a while ago when I went for lunch in a restaurant in Swords, Dublin. Some sap reversed into my car as they were leaving a parking space, and hit my car hard enough that my passenger side door wouldn't open. No camera, so I couldn't point blame at anyone (it was definitely the red learner car parked perpendicular, only red car there!)

I didn't have to pay for the repair - I went to the Gardai in swords, who pointed me towards the wreckers yard on the swords road. After I told them who sent me, they sorted out my panelling on the spot, and the major bumps. Wouldn't take cash for the job, and offered the girlfriend and I tea. Every cloud has a silver lining :D Passed on a favour a while after that, and considered the karma account back at neutral!

Was that Bolands? Grand scrappies is that, yer man that own it is sound enough to chat to aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭-Kenny-

Sorry to hear it OP !

Remember when i was a young fella (10 years ago) I left all my WWF wrestlers in my fathers 96 escort which was robbed..

Car turned up safe and sound but the bástards robbed Stone Cold and left all the other wrestlers ! :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Sorry to hear that, also the turds would have pulled all the wires out of the steering wheel to start it. It would have cost big money to get fixed. So I know this sounds wrong, but you are lucky they burnt it out.

I hope your dealings with the insurance company goes as smooth as my dealings with them when the reprobates burnt my car out about a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭mk6705

cson wrote: »
    Clanned?

Shit sounds man.

YOU WERE PLAYIN' THEM! Look at this f*ckin hypocrite Ben ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Seriously dunno what knackers get from doing this to peoples cars. Get a life/job/whatever. Eugh.
    Was in work the other day and my workmates car was broken into from right outside-radio/cds/ipod/small bit of shoppping she had all nicked from the car and no camera proof. Least they actually robbed something and got something outta it that they can sell etc tho (no excuse, but beats burning a car out for the craic!).