Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shamrock Rovers vs Rubin Kazan - Europa League - 17:30 on TV3

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Thought we would get a chasing and we did. Players were tired but thought we competed for a lot of the game but they were in second gear and as well as their quality were very clinical. Think they will easily win the group as spurs don't seen to care about the competition.

As for the empty seats: the game was near to sold out but looks like about 1500 didn't show. The tickets were sold in a block of three so makes no financial difference. The most probable reason is that a load of committed football lovers who wanted Spurs tickets didn't fancy watching a very good European side in the flesh because they don't play in The Best League In The World. If extra single tickets go on general sale for spurs they should be costed at 70 quid or more. Most of the people buying them deserve little better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

The people who wanted to be there were there. That's the important point. Rovers have a good core support. The Kazan and PAOK games weren't ever going to be big crowd pullers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

There were about 400 unsold tickets tonight, just had alot of no-shows because of the early kick-off I'd imagine. Doesn't matter anyway as the club sold the tickets whether the seats were occupied or not.

As for the game, it was what I expected, they were a class above and all the battling and team spirit in the world isn't going to compensate when a team that good decides they want to win.

Fecking knew that O'Donnell would miss that penalty too, aside from the fact that that box is built on an ancicent Indian burial ground and no-one ever scores there, O'Donnell hit the exact same soft penalty he did against Partizan. If the 'keeper guessed the right way he was saving it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

There were about 400 unsold tickets tonight, just had alot of no-shows because of the early kick-off I'd imagine. Doesn't matter anyway as the club sold the tickets whether the seats were occupied or not.

As for the game, it was what I expected, they were a class above and all the battling and team spirit in the world isn't going to compensate when a team that good decides they want to win.

Fecking knew that O'Donnell would miss that penalty too, aside from the fact that that box is built on an ancicent Indian burial ground and no-one ever scores there, O'Donnell hit the exact same soft penalty he did against Partizan. If the 'keeper guessed the right way he was saving it.
    I'd imagine the early kick off is the main reason most people would only just be getting off work at 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I'd imagine the early kick off is the main reason most people would only just be getting off work at 6

The gaurdian thinks otherwise
    Shamrock Rovers: they play in green and white hoops, enjoy huge support from Dublin's unemployed, tattooed, cider-drinking underclass and have fought tooth and nail to make it this far in the competition. We wish them well.

The Queen's Celtic: they play in green and white hoops, enjoy huge support from Dublin's unemployed, tattooed, cider-drinking underclass and have fought tooth and nail to make it this far in the competition. We wish them well.

Wont lie i laughed :pac:

Hard luck Rovers tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Only home from the game . Great atmosphere there was .

Does anybody know what the UEFA reason for the early kick offs is? Without being overly smart, let's see if an early kick off shaves 1.5k off the Spurs game.

That end is jinxed for penos but their goalie was awesome I thought.

stovelid wrote: »
    Does anybody know what the UEFA reason for the early kick offs is?

Without being overly smart, let's see if it shaves 1.5k off the Spurs game.

So 2 games a night can be shown, it gets you more money :P

Altho why Tv3 only showing 1 is beyond me, every other station showing 2.

Was proud of the crowd. Made some noise even when down. I enjoyed the night despite the result. We hoped for nights like that (and Tallinn and Belgrade) for a long long time and there was no shame in getting a lesson from a good side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

mossyc123 wrote: »
    In fairness, the info about tickets being available wasn't widely known and thats why there were so many empty seats tonight.

I saw a good few ads in the national papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Score lined flattered them in the end a little, going on possession. They were miles ahead of any team we have played this year and better than Juve imo. Second and third goal were unstoppable.

Unlucky not to score with the peno, turners 6 yard miss and whatever else. Players can hold their head high at the end of the night. Didnt look like it was their third game in 6 days.

Id be optimistic about grabbing a point against that spurs team or PAOK. Fanatistic atmosphere. As for the empty seats, we still made the money from all tickets bar 400 tickets. Empty seats were no shows, east stand over full, the fifa/uefa/sdcc etc didnt fill their section in the west stand (middle of the pitch), etc

Edit: Also in the second half their player kicked the ball to a rovers player from a cross, looked like the ref gave offside. Some rovers players gave out, but the ref explained the reason for it, any reason given why?

Predalien wrote: »

All the tickets were sold bar a few hundred.

Predalien wrote: »

Mentioned on Nova a few times during the day, 98fm too.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Also thought the scoreline flattered them. Two terrific strikes and the usual early sloppy scrappy tap-in. To be fair, Martins reacted the quickest. Any reason why he was taken off at half time?

Their wingers and the number 8 in the middle terrorised Rovers going forward. At the back they were only tested when Kilduff came on and like Belgrade looked a lot less secure. I thought Ricketts was quite a bit off the pace. Dennehy, Sheppard, Kilduff, McCabe on the bench might've produced more. Similarly Finn just isn't suited to the right wing, he was lost. SOD or Rice has to come out, put Finn in the middle and have a winger.

Don't know quite how Rovers didn't score, except obviously the Car Park penalty spot. SOD can miss all the penalties he likes in the group, he scored the important one.:)

Are yous talking about the empty seats above the dugouts? They wouldn't let anyone sit in them when I was going in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Handy one up next for Rovers;) , Spurs 2nd string at white hart lane , will be a great experience for the rovers team.

i'd happily finish second to kazan with the fringe players on show for 6 games.

dfx- wrote: »
    Also thought the scoreline flattered them. Two terrific strikes and the usual early sloppy scrappy tap-in. To be fair, Martins reacted the quickest. Any reason why he was taken off at half time?

Their wingers and the number 8 in the middle terrorised Rovers going forward. At the back they were only tested when Kilduff came on and like Belgrade looked a lot less secure. I thought Ricketts was quite a bit off the pace. Dennehy, Sheppard, Kilduff, McCabe on the bench might've produced more. Similarly Finn just isn't suited to the right wing, he was lost. SOD or Rice has to come out, put Finn in the middle and have a winger.

Don't know quite how Rovers didn't score, except obviously the Car Park penalty spot. SOD can miss all the penalties he likes in the group, he scored the important one.:)

Thought we had a good claim for another penalty too but as it was at the same end, we would have missed.

I think they are the best we'll face in the group by far.

Are yous talking about the empty seats above the dugouts? They wouldn't let anyone sit in them when I was going in

They were the ones for FIFA/UEFA/SDCC/Sponsors etc that had to be reserved. Always a pity that the camera faces the west stand rather than the east.

Come again :) Some decent games coming up: Derry and Bohs should be good games..
    Ebbs wrote: »
    They were the ones for FIFA/UEFA/SDCC/Sponsors etc that had to be reserved. Always a pity that the camera faces the west stand rather than the east.

Plus the small numbers in the away end. Would still say there was about 6800-7k there (if the capacity is now 8.5) tonight though.

Watching Fulham and Brum, if 1500 empty seats are noticeable in a 9k stadium well English clubs have it far worse and they selling tickets at discount.

Come again :) Some decent games coming up: Derry and Bohs should be good games..

Plus the small numbers in the away end. Would still say there was about 6800-7k there (if the capacity is now 8.5) tonight though.

I was at the sligo game last week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

well done Rovers, a great team. ye lost 3-0 to a talented side thats cost far more than ye, i fancy ye to get 2 results out of the next 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Dodgykeeper

Some pics from tonights game here

You have an eye for talent...and Im not talking about the team picture ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

just as well ye didnt play in the aviva after last years penalty efforts

Sligored wrote: »

Just as well you didn't get a crack at the group stages after you got turned over in your first qualifying game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

what was the official attendance?

Just to the people who complained about ticket publicity: I sent an email to the club saying: the radio and media ads, ticketmaster, club website, Facebook, Twitter, club shop and phonelines are not enough. SKY WRITER NEEDED.

Apologies again.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I was at the sligo game last week :)

It's even better when Rovers do finally win:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Sligored wrote: »

1413_2.jpg

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

No disgrace by Rovers last night. Rubin are quality side.

Would love to se Rovers win one game at least.. Fingers crossed for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well a lot of people have been going on about Spurs being the glamour tie of this group. Personally for my the big tie was Rubin. They will win the group and could do very well in the competition as a whole. No shame in last night at all, they were streets ahead of us class wise. I think the stat was 4 shots on target (exc pen) and 3 goals! Clinical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Just to the people who complained about ticket publicity: I sent an email to the club saying: the radio and media ads, ticketmaster, club website, Facebook, Twitter, club shop and phonelines are not enough. SKY WRITER NEEDED.

Apologies again.

Not trying to have a go but I think I can understand what others say when they thought it would be a sell out.

From reading here it sounded like the season ticket holders would get sorted and anything else would be snapped up straight away. There was a complaint in an earlier post about the ticket queue being crazy and people skipping, etc. That sounds like panic buying to me. There was also a small piece in the Star on Tuesday saying that the last 500 tickets were going on sale on Tuesday morning and were expected to be gone within an hour.

If the empty seats were Spurs fans who decided to stay away from watching one of the biggest Russian teams, well thats just barstooling at an extreme level. If not, does that mean the Spurs game has not sold out yet? I'd charge 50 euro a ticket at this stage for it.;)

I suppose a clearer message regarding ticketing would help for the other game against Salonika.

bohsboy wrote: »
    Not trying to have a go but I think I can understand what others say when they thought it would be a sell out.

From reading here it sounded like the season ticket holders would get sorted and anything else would be snapped up straight away. There was a complaint in an earlier post about the ticket queue being crazy and people skipping, etc. That sounds like panic buying to me. There was also a small piece in the Star on Tuesday saying that the last 500 tickets were going on sale on Tuesday morning and were expected to be gone within an hour.

Can see your point but the poster on our site and elsewhere (that I posted here in our thread too) clearly stated that tickets would be on general sale the same day as for members and season tickets, just with us getting ours a few hours earlier. I can't help feeling that if somebody really wanted to go they would check the site or ring the club shop to be honest. If it was a United or Liverpool game, would they wait for a courier-delivered notice to drop into their lap about tickets?

There were no single tickets on sale for Spurs. Only a few single Kazan ones and 3 game block tickets.
    iregk wrote: »
    Well a lot of people have been going on about Spurs being the glamour tie of this group. Personally for my the big tie was Rubin. They will win the group and could do very well in the competition as a whole. No shame in last night at all, they were streets ahead of us class wise. I think the stat was 4 shots on target (exc pen) and 3 goals! Clinical.

I think they will walk the group. Would have enjoyed watching them as a neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Kazan to win 3-0 and Obafemi Martins to become the oldest man to score in the Europa League aged 56.

:cool:

what was the official attendance?

Think 7k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

i think the whole group stages thing is a an elaborate learning lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

bohsboy wrote: »

If the empty seats were Spurs fans who decided to stay away from watching one of the biggest Russian teams, well thats just barstooling at an extreme level. If not, does that mean the Spurs game has not sold out yet? I'd charge 50 euro a ticket at this stage for it.;)

I suppose a clearer message regarding ticketing would help for the other game against Salonika.

The Spurs game with PAOK was on at the same time in fairness, they'd hardly want to miss their own team's game.