Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upcoming bye-election discussion - Mod instruction post #6. Please read carefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭tenandtracer

Just drove past a poster for Kidd JFK :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭tenandtracer

Does John Kidd really think that having 'JFK' in big bold letters on his election posters will fool people into voting for him?

Better chance of votes if it said KFC ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Grudaire

David is a teacher in maths, music and history. Maths is on a junior cert level as you need full time qualifications for leaving cert maths. David is a sub teacher still seeking a full time teaching post. (Imagine that, a FF'r unable to get a job).

There is one way for young people out of this mess and one way only and that is through education and that's why my point on education and his education is so important.

The leaving cert on it's own is not good enough and his position on education should be extremely important to anyone.

Roderic O Gorman is a third level lecturer...

Surely a better candidate using your same barometers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

kenon wrote: »
    Intriguing. Was DMG's degree not in Music Education and History? Surely that doesn't qualify him to teach maths at ANY level? That must make him part of the 30% of teachers unqualified to teach maths.

For this reason, I'd personally find it difficult to take his position on education seriously as he is part of the maths problem in this country.

You are right. You are not supposed to teach at any level without maths as a final year subject in your degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Cliste wrote: »
    Roderic O Gorman is a third level lecturer...

Surely a better candidate using your same barometers!

With a PhD according to his Litir Um Thoghacháin received in today's post...the only one I've actually read so far!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭chucknorris

Ah here, your FF lot have been in goverment the vast majority of time since Ireland has been Independent so it is so absolutely infuriating to hear any FF'er moan about a government, not even in power for a year, who have the biggest mess the country has ever had because of FF policies and then have the audacity to complain about things like health and education! :mad:

Seriously, do you have any shame? FF had all the time a modern dictator would ever want, and you blew it! I read about those residents who have to leave their homes today because developers did not even need to cut corners to build property and proper fire safety standards, they had their Galway races FF f**king buddies letting them get away with anything and there are going to be so many more of these cases where sub standard apartment blocks built in the celtic tiger years get condemned and people lose everything, because f**king FF and their developer buddies.

Any shame? Any shame there? :mad:

But hey, lets point fingers at a government not even in power for a year, people are stupid, at least that's what you hope.

I'll give you a very simple answer to this. In fact i mentioned it here 101 times but here goes 102. I am not a Fianna Fail member.

Godge wrote: »
    You are right. You are not supposed to teach at any level without maths as a final year subject in your degree.

Education has been a problem on that level even before the boom. Sub teachers are not new and when I was in primary and secondary school I seen my fair share of them.

My own personal opinion is to scrap the likes of religion classes and replace them with more Mathematics for example. I would even suggest bringing new skills to the curriculum such as advanced driving test's so all students can fully drive before they finish their secondary school, A new computer/IT curriculum should be introduced.

That's my own view, others have their opinions on Irish etc but a shakeup is needed. The curriculum is dated, in fact it's probably dated a generation at this stage.

athtrasna wrote: »
    Waterville is not in Corduff! Ask the Council (different LEA), the Gardai (different region/zone...whatever they call it), we're not even in the same parish (different church and primary school areas). I think you'll find the Snugborough Road is the border of Corduff.

If I happen to meet any candidates this week I will be civil as always, and I also won't waste their time. I am 90% sure of my first preference and 60% sure of my number 2, not sure I'll go beyond number 2 in either of the elections on the day.

I got that impression :)

Has anyone else canvassed your area this time round since we last had it out?

I took a look at the electoral register for waterville last night and I found that the by election voter register for your area is about 50/50 between people who can vote and who cannot vote this time out. Voter turnout is not great.

If the large majority of this 50% come out and vote it would still come close to the % turnout as the likes of Corduff, Ladyswell, Fortlawn etc.

I may come along on the canvass and tell people no matter what they vote; just vote. It's very important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I do not disagree with most of what you say there. Am I going to defend the previous government? Not a chance.

But hey, they were kicked out of government and rightly so.

Education is a very important point. Many people in the last decade got jobs straight after their leaving certificate, there is little chance of that now.

Fine gael and Labour stated they would protect education and health amongst the cuts that we all knew were coming but they have not protected health and education.

The new and the young and the bright is where it is at. Lets get positive and lets stop knocking and look forward. What other choice do we have...
    ..."Those who cannot remember the past, are condemned to repeat it"...
    ...education is the process by which society deliberately transmits its accumulated knowledge, skills, and values from one generation to another. ...

Education is looking back at the past and learning from it. So the idea we should forget and move forward is really a bad mantra to take up.

I have no idea what point you are trying to make about education, and I suspect you don't either. Having looked at your candidates website, I don't get any clear message there either. Theres a lot of regurgitated facts. Same with many of the other candidates in fairness. I'm not really seeing anything that grab my attention anywhere tbh.

BostonB wrote: »
    Education is looking back at the past and learning from it. So the idea we should forget and move forward is really a bad mantra to take up.

I have no idea what point you are trying to make about education, and I suspect you don't either. Having looked at your candidates website, I don't get any clear message there either. Theres a lot of regurgitated facts. Same with many of the other candidates in fairness. I'm not really seeing anything that grab my attention anywhere tbh.

My point about education is my opinion and no one Else's.

I agree you should look forward, and yes learn from the past but never let it hold you back.

Back to the election, was anyone listening to the week on politics on rte radio 1 on Sunday afternoon? If not, I would suggest you listen to the question asked of Eithne Loftus. SWEET JESUS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Akapulco

So just thought I'd add my opinion on why I'll be voting for McGuinness or more to the point why I won't be voting for the rest.

Nulty: Patrick has to be the biggest flip flopper in this election. Back in Feb he was against going into a coalition with FG now he is begging to be a part of it. He is all for saying he's against cuts at connolly hospital etc but yet stated he will always vote for the Labour party even if that means cutting social welfare or more beds at blanch hospital. He constantly contradicts himself on those terms and more. Maybe if he grew some cahones and admitted he is too much of a lefty to be in Labour but want's to get elected by riding on their success lately, i'd maybe give him more of a consideration

Coppinger: If I have to listen to Ruth give one more running commentary on the facts to date i'll go of the head. She's all talk about what shouldn't be done but never suggests ways to improve things, typical say no to everything socialist but what really reduced her in my eyes as a competent candidate was her remark about uping the corporation tax because all the multinationals are going anyway and sure it's only 100,00 jobs. Well as someone who is one of those 100,000 employees in Blanchardstown I think shes lost the plot!

Loftus: Ah Eithne; The Blanch hospital cuts is just scaremongering, oh no wait they are cutting services but hey sure its the hospital managements fault anyway they didn't keep to the budget! She was only short of saying "let them eat cake".

Donnelly: My god I think just alone seeing him implode on Vinny B made me cringe so bad I couldn't possibly consider voting for him. When asked why SF job strategy will work, he was so lost in Vincents rath of fury he was like a little lost boy that replied "because it has to work, we need jobs". Well if it has to work, it will work!!! How can he expect to be taken seriously as a representative for us when he makes statements like that.

Now, why I will vote for McGuinness. I was being canvassed by one of his what would ya call them "supporters"? Anyway Mr McGuinness comes running into the garden with a big smile on his face and his hand outstretched and I thought to myself well if he's that enthusiastic about meeting me, i'll give him a few mins of my time. I think he is a genuine nice fella from the area, who seems like he works non-stop. I was impressed by what he had to say on the few times I heard him on radio, vinny B and at my door. Even if he does name drop lenny a bit too much. I think that Lenihan as a Local TD did alot for our area and i'm willing to give FF a chance to continue that because I honestly think they are changing their ways with running a fella like David.

Akapulco wrote: »
    So just thought I'd add my opinion on why I'll be voting for McGuinness or more to the point why I won't be voting for the rest.

Nulty: Patrick has to be the biggest flip flopper in this election. Back in Feb he was against going into a coalition with FG now he is begging to be a part of it. He is all for saying he's against cuts at connolly hospital etc but yet stated he will always vote for the Labour party even if that means cutting social welfare or more beds at blanch hospital. He constantly contradicts himself on those terms and more. Maybe if he grew some cahones and admitted he is too much of a lefty to be in Labour but want's to get elected by riding on their success lately, i'd maybe give him more of a consideration

Coppinger: If I have to listen to Ruth give one more running commentary on the facts to date i'll go of the head. She's all talk about what shouldn't be done but never suggests ways to improve things, typical say no to everything socialist but what really reduced her in my eyes as a competent candidate was her remark about uping the corporation tax because all the multinationals are going anyway and sure it's only 100,00 jobs. Well as someone who is one of those 100,000 employees in Blanchardstown I think shes lost the plot!

Loftus: Ah Eithne; The Blanch hospital cuts is just scaremongering, oh no wait they are cutting services but hey sure its the hospital managements fault anyway they didn't keep to the budget! She was only short of saying "let them eat cake".

Donnelly: My god I think just alone seeing him implode on Vinny B made me cringe so bad I couldn't possibly consider voting for him. When asked why SF job strategy will work, he was so lost in Vincents rath of fury he was like a little lost boy that replied "because it has to work, we need jobs". Well if it has to work, it will work!!! How can he expect to be taken seriously as a representative for us when he makes statements like that.

Now, why I will vote for McGuinness. I was being canvassed by one of his what would ya call them "supporters"? Anyway Mr McGuinness comes running into the garden with a big smile on his face and his hand outstretched and I thought to myself well if he's that enthusiastic about meeting me, i'll give him a few mins of my time. I think he is a genuine nice fella from the area, who seems like he works non-stop. I was impressed by what he had to say on the few times I heard him on radio, vinny B and at my door. Even if he does name drop lenny a bit too much. I think that Lenihan as a Local TD did alot for our area and i'm willing to give FF a chance to continue that because I honestly think they are changing their ways with running a fella like David.

They are going to lay in to you on this. They don't like newby's at election time and will be more concerned as to who you are as opposed to what you say :) you have been warned.

If I were you I would state as best as possible otherwise your comment will be deleted by the mods.

I think that means he'll vote for the smiliest one.

:):):):):):):):) ?

Its about credibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

WOW !! Great first post...;)

I think that means he'll vote for the smiliest one.

:):):):):):):):) ?

Its about credibility.

Based on the vinny browne show and rte radio on numerous occasions only two, maybe three have any credibility.

godscop wrote: »
    WOW !! Great first post...;)

Godscop, you know my IP and location, I tihnk it should be mentioned now before I get the usual bluster, whomever that is; it is not me.

Remember, my name is Chuck Norris :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Nulty:

Coppinger:

Loftus:

Donnelly:

What of O'Gorman...he's a local, who is determined to represent the people, and a credible candidate. I think he will pull a lot of the protest vote this time.

Athrasna how dare you reply to someone else :)

I asked you a question on the previous page. ;)

When I said from the area I meant from my end of the area. I'm sure O'Gorman is credible, I think he performed grand on Vinny B and the radio but he hasn't come knocking on my door, and that to me is important. When ya meet a person face to face ya may think differently of them as I said that is one of the reasons I decided i'll be voting for McGuinness.

Chuck, I can see that's whats gonna happen and already is. I think I have made a very credible case in why i'm voting the way I am.I can't do more than give my opinion!

The McGuinness propaganda machine is in full flow. Its sad really if this is the way to try and get votes. Good luck in the election he's going to need it :D

....I was impressed by what he had to say ...

And What did he have to say? I've missed him on radio.

The McGuinness propaganda machine is in full flow. Its sad really if this is the way to try and get votes. Good luck in the election he's going to need it :D

I cant agree with that.

There is roughly six posters here regularly and they are all die hard. Whom ever this new poster is i cannot say but you have the tools to know enough.

I've never spouted propaganda here; in fact i have spent more time correcting dodgy presumptions or reverse propaganda to be honest.

On the election this is my read. If Patrick Nulty wins the seat he will be the first by election candidate to do so in 30 years for a party currently in power. That is a factor.

Eithne Loftus has done serious damage to the FG organisation.

David has a tough election on his hands but I know he is doing well on the doors so he is a clear choice for right leaning voters.

Paul and Ruth will compete for the left leaning vote and if the voter turnout is high, they could and should do reasonably well.

Rodric has handled himself really well and has given a solid push, I expect him to do reasonably well.

I cannot see anyone flying ahead of the poll but transfers will decide this by election no doubt.

And What did he have to say? I've missed him on radio.

Boston it's available by podcast go and listen to all the candidates as your the one that hasn't really got a notion who your voting for. make a bloody effort to listen.

The vincent browne show is online too, monday the 3rd i think.

They were all on the week in politics at 2pm sunday on rte radio 1.

They were all on drivetime, i cant remember the date.

LISTEN TO THEM ALL, GET OUT AND VOTE REGARDLESS OF HOW YOU VOTE.

I cant agree with that.

There is roughly six posters here regularly and they are all die hard. Whom ever this new poster is i cannot say but you have the tools to know enough.

I've never spouted propaganda here; in fact i have spent more time correcting dodgy presumptions or reverse propaganda to be honest.

On the election this is my read. If Patrick Nulty wins the seat he will be the first by election candidate to do so in 30 years. That is a factor.

Eithne Loftus has done serious damage to the FG organisation.

David has a tough election on his hands but I know he is doing well on the doors so he is a clear choice for right leaning voters.

Paul and Ruth will compete for the left leaning vote and if the voter turnout is high, they could and should do reasonably well.

Rodric has handled himself really well and has given a solid push, I expect him to do reasonably well.

I cannot see anyone flying ahead of the poll but transfers will decide this by election no doubt.

Not you Chuck but im sure you have an idea whats going on here. First post and so pro McGuinness. Its not going to matter because it wont effect the election. Its sad thats all.

Based on the vinny browne show and rte radio on numerous occasions only two, maybe three have any credibility.

No I meant posters with low post counts (or first posts) who post on singular issues, be it, endorsing goods or services, or in this case a only posting about one candidate are dubious. Because in the past 99/100 there's some connection with that they are promoting, which they don't declare. I'm not saying that's true here. But just be aware, that its fits that profile. If the poster explains their opinion thats fair enough, or declares and interest that given much greater regard.

Of course if someone is obviously gushing, with no real analysis of value. That tells its own story.

As an aside, shocking as it maybe. I'm more likely to read something on the web, than hear it on the TV or radio. As I'm not often near either.

Boston it's available by podcast go and listen to all the candidates as your the one that hasn't really got a notion who your voting for. make a bloody effort to listen....

No access to that either. blocked at work, no radio reception, and at home I'm lucky to get time to sleep. So if its online in some other format, I'll read it, or in the local papers, or on their website. But if its the usual meh dogma I'll just speed read it and ignore it. Likewise if there comments saying yer mans great, with nothing else, thats pretty pointless too.

Not you Chuck but im sure you have an idea whats going on here. First post and so pro McGuinness. Its not going to matter because it wont effect the election. Its sad thats all.

Well I'm keeping clear of any of that and I have been on the D15 forum a long time.

I will say one thing godscop, allot of the posters on this thread are clearly not listening to the national media. It's available for play back.

Again that won't change the outcome of this by election but it would certainly kick off a good honest debate about the candidates and how they are performing in respect of the questions they are being asked. Isn't that how the public's reaction is being handled for the presidency?

From my corner let me give you an example.

David McGuinness was asked on sunday afternoon on RTE radio 1 as to how he could make a case to receive a vote in constructive opposition when the two candidates that were already in power party wise were going to campaign in government for the same.

His answer was a very simple point. He explained constructive opposition (and not against everything) but then asked, If Leo Varadkar and Joan Burton are at the cabinet table and they cannot make any specific effort regarding cuts to education and health how on earth are either of the labour and FG candidates going to do it in the back benches...

To put that in to context, these same two candidates are constantly harping on that they want to be a vocal voice on cuts and jobs and all that goods stuff but even cabinet ministers are driving ahead with cuts that affect connolly as well as m50 tolls and so forth. It is simply not a credible election promise but they may just get away with it and last five years.

To Leo's credit at least he gives it to you straight. He tells you as it is......guts and all.

NOW THE OTHERS HERE WILL SAY FF THIS AND HISTORY THAT AND I KNOW AND AGREE WITH THAT, BUT ON THE ACTUAL POINT I'M MAKING, HOW ON EARTH ARE THEY GOING TO DO WHAT THEY SAY THEY WANT TO DO IF ELECTED? They cant but that doesn't matter, they want the seat and will say whatever and change their position to get it. If you all want examples i'll give them to you.

No access to that either. blocked at work, no radio reception, and at home I'm lucky to get time to sleep. So if its online in some other format, I'll read it, or in the local papers, or on their website. But if its the usual meh dogma I'll just speed read it and ignore it. Likewise if there comments saying yer mans great, with nothing else, thats pretty pointless too.

Trust me Boston B - go home and go online and listen to them. It'll give you a fair idea and it'll give you a consistent idea.

You won't hear Obama in there but you'll get to know who is sprouting mad stuff and on cross examination it is almost embarrassing.

No I meant posters with low post counts (or first posts) who post on singular issues, be it, endorsing goods or services, or in this case a only posting about one candidate are dubious. Because in the past 99/100 there's some connection with that they are promoting, which they don't declare. I'm not saying that's true here. But just be aware, that its fits that profile. If the poster explains their opinion thats fair enough, or declares and interest that given much greater regard.

Of course if someone is obviously gushing, with no real analysis of value. That tells its own story.

As an aside, shocking as it maybe. I'm more likely to read something on the web, than hear it on the TV or radio. As I'm not often near either.

Firstly, I thought I did explain my opinion! I said exactly why I wasn't voting for the rest. To me all I know them on is what I have heard on the radio, television or at the door and that is exactly what I have posted about here. Yes this is my first time posting and this election is the reason I joined boards. I did not get on here and start "gushing" about one person I gave a credible reason for not voting for the rest.

Indeed which is why I clarified my point,
    ...I'm not saying that's true here. But just be aware, that its fits that profile. If the poster explains their opinion thats fair enough, or declares and interest that given much greater regard....

..and asked you what specifically impressed you about your choice.