Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Inbetweeners movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The dance scene was ****ing hilarious alright, the entire cinema was in tears laughing at it. now anytime I hear that Ba Americano song or whatever its called I'll chuckle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Neil has to be my favorite inbetweeners of the 4 by far. comical genius.

someone mentioned the 18's directors cut will have 10 - 15 mins extra material on dvd?

Convenient!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Neil has to be my favorite inbetweeners of the 4 by far. comical genius.

someone mentioned the 18's directors cut will have 10 - 15 mins extra material on dvd?

Convenient!

yea think it will be more gilbert i hope :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭unkymo

unkymo wrote: »
    No sign of it on the Tralee Omniplex website. I just sent them an e-mail to find out whats going on. It better be good news!

They didn't get back to me at all so I'm going to have a look online!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Pink11

Going to see this at the weekend. Can't wait!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

krudler wrote: »
    Did anyone else want to batter Simon into a state of near death for the entirety of the film? just me? no? the "I cant/wont shut up about my ex" thing was just way overplayed. and Carley, ah Carley, one of the greatest villians ever.

Yes he was annoying but Neil was ace love him ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 lightningga

Great film! lots of lol moments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Figured it would be a bit more tame seeing at though it had a 16's rating and to me anyway, it did seem to be. What was with Richard!?...they obviously cut something out of the movie regarding him because it was just confusing...same with the guy who was staying in their apartment block...they barely showed him and introduced him early on, would have thought he was going to play some part in the movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

krudler wrote: »
    Did anyone else want to batter Simon into a state of near death for the entirety of the film? just me? no? the "I cant/wont shut up about my ex" thing was just way overplayed. and Carley, ah Carley, one of the greatest villians ever.

That's kind of the point though. He's stupidly hung up on her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I used to enjoy the show alot but by the third series I just found most of the circumstances just to be cringeworthy rather than funny.
    I mean, I was embarrassed watching some of it.

There was definitely no way the show could have gone on so a movie was the only real option and I think they handled it well. It wasn't the funniest film of the summer but it was funny and I found the films main shortfall was just as the third series was, 'jumping the shark' etc and over playing the extremities of the situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

went to see this today.

i thought it was great ! :)

im not a mad fan of the TV show having only caught the last season and a half when E4 were doing a marathon of back to back shows a few months ago.

i was kinda afraid going in it woud indulge in too much "gross" humour but theres really not that much of it at all and i thought it rolled along very well.

there was more than enough laugh out loud moments for me which is something i havent been able to say about comedies recently and the lads are played and written so sympathetically by the actors and writers ya cant help root for the lads.

i thought simon being obsessed with his ex to the exclusion to the hotties all around him was very funny, especially how that panned out in the end for him :):)

I heard an interview with one of the writers on the radio a while back and its looking like this is the end for the lads ,if so im happy they got a happy ending and it takes the edge off it being cliched. the "cameraphone " videos at the end with the credits was great craic and all the more funny that its silent.
    lol'ed at wills dad (played by anthony head ! ) and his proud "thats my boy" face he pulled upon getting the pic of him and his hot blonde !

i wont say its the best film of the year but its much better than i thought it was going to be and it was a great way to pass a monday today.

worth seeing IMO.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Pink11 wrote: »

Hmm. I can't help but wonder whether the success of the first film means that the two planned specials are being dumped in favour of a second film. (There's been no word about the specials since they were announced almost a year ago).

That being said, given that the film was pretty good a sequel might be alright if they move forward in terms of the lads' lives. Sort of like a good version of American Pie 3, if you get me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,729 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Pink11 wrote: »

Iain Morris (@iainkevanmorris) on Twitter:
    first i've heard of it. Maybe the mirror are writing it?
    honestly, we haven't even talked about it. It's our first day in today. i've been drunk for a month.

In response to Neil
    @blakeharrison23 you're not in it. we've filmed it. an 'insider' from 'the studio' told me

They may still do it, but nothing planned yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

thanks for linking to an article that actually told me what it made the first weekend.

for some reason i cant get it on box offic mojo.

bloody hell, 3 million to make and 27 the first week ?

ya can see why the studios want more.

i hope if the lads do it , its not just a shameless cash in and theyve actually got a good story.

didnt know there was meant to be two specials. makes perfect sense to combine them for the film if they do it.

nice to see a small film do well.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

thanks for linking to an article that actually told me what it made the first weekend.

for some reason i cant get it on box offic mojo.

bloody hell, 3 million to make and 27 the first week ?

ya can see why the studios want more.

i hope if the lads do it , its not just a shameless cash in and theyve actually got a good story.

didnt know there was meant to be two specials. makes perfect sense to combine them for the film if they do it.

nice to see a small film do well.

Could see them having some good fun with a college storyline, although it seemed like the movie set them up to all go their seperate ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

With future DVD sales, massive box office and I guess people will buy the series based on the watching the film I guess they have made a packet from it.

I'd be simply stunned if they didn't try for a sequel. Most peoples issue with the film was the lack of the support characters, couple of ways you could write them back into a storyline.

I hope they do, it wasn't without it's faults but it was easily the best comedy I have seen this year.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Given the RoI the film has generated, the production company will obviously be examining potential for a sequel. It wouldn't surprise me if someone from the company deliberately seeded the idea to the press with the express intention of getting it widely reported (job done!) and then cautiously downplayed by the cast (job done!) to see what the wider public reaction to the idea is.

Given the reception the film has gotten, I wouldn't mind a sequel - though in saying that, I enjoyed the Hangover and was happy to hear that a sequel had been approved prior to the first film's release, but the Hangover 2 was a bit of a let down. So hopefully if they do go for a sequel, they'll set it several years into the lads' lives so that there are new storytelling possibilities.

I really hope they go ahead with the sequel. Fingers are crossed!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

man that was ****e clichéd crap. long time since I've been that disappointed. series was so much better than that one laugh an hour film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

i wanna dance like neil :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

That was atrocious, the only good bit was Mr Gilbert's speech at the start.

They ruined Jay as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

phasers wrote: »

They ruined Jay as well.
    no they didnt so in the words of A'rry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

phasers wrote: »

They ruined Jay as well.

Ah now, Jay was ruined well before that film was made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Ernest

Saw it this week. It was never going to be as good as the tv series and it wasn't. After three series on television, the four main characters were beginning to pall somewhat anyway but whenever a "special" or derived movie takes the characters out of their normal setting (in this case to go on a holiday in Greece) its invariably a sign that the writers have run out of ideas.
    And what juvenile mind among the writers (both the television series and this film) thinks that VOMITING ON PEOPLE is in any way FUNNY????? Its not funny - its just DISGUSTING!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

Ernest wrote: »
    thinks that VOMITING ON PEOPLE is in any way FUNNY????? Its not funny - its just DISGUSTING!!!

If you find vomit so crude, What part of the first three seasons on The Inbetweeners made you think it would be your kind of humour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Have to agree. It was a continuation of the TV series so what were you expecting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

What were you expecting?

You watched the TV series and now find the film disgusting?
    (in this case to go on a holiday in Greece)

Crete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Saw it this week. It was never going to be as good as the tv series and it wasn't. After three series on television, the four main characters were beginning to pall somewhat anyway but whenever a "special" or derived movie takes the characters out of their normal setting (in this case to go on a holiday in Greece) its invariably a sign that the writers have run out of ideas.
    And what juvenile mind among the writers (both the television series and this film) thinks that VOMITING ON PEOPLE is in any way FUNNY????? Its not funny - its just DISGUSTING!!!
    in fairness when he vomited on carlys brother, it was one of the funniest things ever!! in fact a family member had just come back from the childrens hospital a after a days chemo for her daughter and she laughed for half an hour after that!! So what are you talking about? Vomiting is funny....team america...end of story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Did you even enjoy the series? If not what were you even expecting from the movie? I laugh at the series, I laugh at the movie...expectations met for me.

Juvenile mind amongst the writers? What!? Maybe you don't get the concept of the show?

And to the person who commented that they ruined Jay. I actually felt they changed Jay in the last series. He became ridiculous to the point it wasn't believable and just not as funny as he was in the first 2 series. They really made him good again in the film though. I thought they did a great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Ernest

Of course I enjoyed the series on television. It was clever and funny and had some brilliant insights into adolescent angst and lust and in so many respects captured in a way I had not seen before, the way young men of that age think and feel. Thats why I though it broke new ground on television. But I did not like the scenes on the television series of people vomiting generally or vomiting on other people. That is just plain disgusting!.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Of course I enjoyed the series on television. It was clever and funny and had some brilliant insights into adolescent angst and lust and in so many respects captured in a way I had not seen before, the way young men of that age think and feel. Thats why I though it broke new ground on television. But I did not like the scenes on the television series of people vomiting generally or vomiting on other people. That is just plain disgusting!.

Disgusting and funny as hell! I think it was in season 2, where Simon was snogging the girl at the gig, she turns away, pukes and then they just start snogging as if nothing happened, was hilarious.

After skipping this in the cinema I picked up the Blu-Ray and with much trepidation put it on tonight expecting something generic and not very funny but was quite surprised by just how good it was.

It lacks the shows pile on the misery which affects every aspect of the boys love lives and while the happy ending is a little out of whack with the show it is a nice wrap up though I imagine that in a year of so there's going to be a further adventure.

The film has plenty of laughs, some great gross put moments and the second funniest vomiting incident in the series to date. Definitely going to be something I'll watch again, am curious to see the differences between the cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

A

The film has plenty of laughs, some great gross put moments and the second funniest vomiting incident in the series to date. Definitely going to be something I'll watch again, am curious to see the differences between the cuts.
    Will on the boat puking over the snogging couples
    ????? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Watched this film the other night and really enjoyed it. Plenty of laugh out loud moments. Neil is the best in this by far:) Love the dancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Johnny Bitte

Horrible, absolutely horrible. GF and I just couldn't wait for it to be over.

Fans of the tv show but the film moved so slow and was so predicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Love the tv show,this was more of the same but parts of the movie could have been just left out.Overall not too bad with some genuine laugh out loud moments.
    I've been to Malia and it's actually even crazier than the movie portrayed.Neill pretty much stole the show with his antics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Just watched it on blu ray for the first time and it's without a doubt my favourite film of the year so far, and that includes plenty of all-time classics that I've ran through and loved this year as well, be it fantastically delicious satires like Sweet Smell of Success or films that have live up to their legendary billing like The Third Man. I really did enjoy it that much, it captures a culture and a generation as perfectly as anything ever committed to film.

It's not that it was an original concept, that the storyline progression wasn't predictable - this is a comedy movie where the jokes by any good measure should be served by the plot, not the other way around - but that the execution, the characters and the emotions shone through. I was rooting for all four of them no matter what they did and that's a testament to the fact the show and the movie has always perfectly towed the line between idiotically obnoxious behaviour and idiotically lovable antics.

It was a pitch perfect comedy in the very best tradition of Monty Python and the Marx Brothers. I only hope that this film's success ensures a second film and/or those tv specials they announced last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Syferus wrote: »

It was a pitch perfect comedy in the very best tradition of Monty Python and the Marx Brothers. I only hope that this film's success ensures a second film and/or those tv specials they announced last year.

What!!! I'm sorry but no, just no. While I loved the show, I found the film formulaic and predictable, sure it was funny in parts, but doesn't come close to the sheer genius of python or the Marx bros.

Note the prefix of pitch perfect. I didn't say it was as original as either Python or the Marx Brothers, Chaplin, Laurel and Hardy, Mel Brooks, whoever. Indeed I called the storyline progression predictable above what you quoted.

What it does share with all of those great films is a keen sense of delivery and technical execution. The four characters are, in all honesty, far more developed and memorable than many of those made by the greats I mentioned, indeed especially in the cases of Marx Brothers, Laurel and Hardy, Monty Python and Monty Python because they so strongly about satire that the characters become extensions of the idea rather than, well, characters. That's not a comment on their overall quality in any sense, just that however foreign it may sound, The Inbetweeners Movie really does excel in areas most of those greats don't.

This movie is an idea that if done poorly would be American Pie: Crete, but it made so well that it surpasses those shackles very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,196 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Thought the movie was far better than expected..

.. but I had low enough expectations going in.

Various love stories was a tad clichéd and VERY predictable.. but it was good fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Syferus wrote: »
    Note the prefix of pitch perfect. I didn't say it was as original as either Python or the Marx Brothers, Chaplin, Laurel and Hardy, Mel Brooks, whoever. Indeed I called the storyline progression predictable above what you quoted.

What it does share with all of those great films is a keen sense of delivery and technical execution. The four characters are, in all honesty, far more developed and memorable than many of those made by the greats I mentioned, indeed especially in the cases of Marx Brothers, Laurel and Hardy, Monty Python and Monty Python because they so strongly about satire that the characters become extensions of the idea rather than, well, characters. That's not a comment on their overall quality in any sense, just that however foreign it may sound, The Inbetweeners Movie really does excel in areas most of those greats don't.

This movie is an idea that if done poorly would be American Pie: Crete, but it made so well that it surpasses those shackles very easily.

Sorry mate! I was tired when I saw that :rolleyes:

Yeah I agree with you, the delivery was good, I still found it a bit formulaic and by the numbers, still better than a lot of the "comedies" that are churned out these days, though still not as good as the greats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Big fan of the show - was always impressed with the charm it had despite similar material having been done a million times before on film and TV.

However, wasn't that happy with the movie; it felt like a long drawn out epiosode of the show. I think the writers finally crossed the line of witty nostalgia & crossed over into flogging a dead horse territory. It really sagged in the middle and everyone seemed to be just going through the motions.

Simon's character was just annoying; Jay seemed bored and, more worringly perhaps, seemed to have finally run out of euphemisms for female genitalia.

Having said that, there were several laugh out loud moments (mainly involving Neil) but I think all involved should call it a day rather than returning to flog the long dead horse for a sequel.

6/10 from me - almost exclusively for Neil's dancing and penchant for the older ladies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

First half hour was ok and then it got worse and worse the more it went on. I was really bored near the end and couldn't wait for it to finish. Jaysus The Tree of Life was funnier than this cash in of a movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

Saw this last night and thought it was pretty mediocre.

Paled in comparison to the TV series.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

In an inevitable announcement that will surprise no-one at all, Inbetweeners 2 has just been confirmed through the medium of facebook.

And in order to fulfill the grand 'every sequel needs a wedding' rule, Neil is getting married for some reason. I don't think I'm going out on a limb her by predicting an awkward stag party.

Heck, even American Pie held out until sequel number 2 until resort to a wedding!

In an inevitable announcement that will surprise no-one at all, Inbetweeners 2 has just been confirmed through the medium of facebook.

And in order to fulfill the grand 'every sequel needs a wedding' rule, Neil is getting married for some reason. I don't think I'm going out on a limb her by predicting an awkward stag party.

Heck, even American Pie held out until sequel number 2 until resort to a wedding!

The strength of The Inbetweeners has never been setting, so it hardly matters what generic event they label a sackful of perfectly-timed situations and jokes to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

The movie was very very poor imo.Obvious gags and a retarded happy ending.There was also a serious lack of funny moments in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭deem79

It was exactly what i expected.

No more, no less