Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota Carina II 25th anniversary edition

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

V480 wrote: »
    How on earth could anybody think a Pug 405 was more desirable than a high spec Carina. 405's were awful yokes as are most Peugeots of that era save a few.
    The 405 was a far better drive. And the 205 was a bit special too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Its a intresting one that simmilar eurpean cars of that era dont have the same following as thier japanese counterparts. Reason i always loved them (and still do) is i fondly remember them from growing up and my best mates dad had one from new a Carina E, and taxied it and going on family holidays down to Wexford, happy childhood memories.

And the fact they could withstand such maintence that was practiced in the stone age, must of appealed to farmers and taxi drivers alike.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Being a '92 import shouldn't it be on europlates?

'92 Euro plates. The really faded Europlates from that time are rare enough. Lots of scrappage victims from that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

Mark 1 and 11 Escorts were always popular because of their rallying heritage.
    Carina 11's have no real heritage.
    Rear wheel drive Starlets became popular for drifting and the likes.
    When they got too expensive because of "scene tax" the attention was focused on the next in line the "boxy Starlet"(invent a name it adds value:rolleyes:) even if it was front wheel drive and no different to a fiesta.
    It looks like all toyotas are now fair game.
    There are people out there who will buy into anything if they think its popular and there are also those who will try to profit by promoting it;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

hi5 wrote: »
    There are people out there who will buy into anything if they think its popular and there are also those who will try to profit by promoting it;).

And there are real enthusiasts who keep cars on the road and the memories alive...

I saw a Fiat Ritmo recently... Jaysus they were terrible. A Peugeot 405 petrol ... Really bad... A Renault 18.... A good yoke now... All these cars deserve preservation despite their bad reputations ....

The Carina was part of growing up for me .. That brings me back to a time when the Carina was the preferred method of transport..... We had a well shook Carina II which was an ex-Garda car. It was the first car I saw to pass 250k miles.... That was in the late 80's where this was unheard of.. !

Well Wear OP .. A damn nice find there.. Well done... ! Carina II's were the first cars with no quirks, no rattles and total reliablity. Why would they not be a classic then....?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

..... We had a well shook Carina II which was an ex-Garda car. It was the first car I saw to pass 250k miles.... That was in the late 80's where this was unheard of.. !

And that is why so many people got to love them, they just kept going and didn't let you down. And a well minded one still won't. They weren't bough as sharp handling sports cars, they were bought in the hope that they'd provide reliable dependable transport as a family car, and they did that very well.

I see far more of them around than ANY other car in their class of the same age, and i'm sure most people would get the same result if they went looking.
    I see at least 2-3 of them every day around here. I might see a 405 in road going order every 3 months and i reckon (and always diesel), the last time a saw a renault 21 on the road was about 4 years ago in dingle. Most of the old passats got driven into the ground and were more expensive anyway so less sold, You'd still see a few sierras about and a maybe the odd very early primera but you hardly ever see a bluebird (the more age appropriate nissan comparison to the toyota) out my way. I'd almost never see a standard vectra/ascona on the road anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

We had a well shook Carina II which was an ex-Garda car. It was the first car I saw to pass 250k miles.... That was in the late 80's where this was unheard of.. !

The oul fella who was a sales rep had a Datsun 120Y that he sold with 230,000 miles on the clock around 1982, I last saw it around 1990/1. It was sold to a district nurse so I reckon it easily hit 300,000 miles. The car had at least 6 minor frontal accidents, every time one wing was mangled and had to be replaced, so I guess that helped to keep it partly rust free:).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

:Di362365.jpg

Twiggy had one in the Royle Family!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭twincam77

YBTurbo wrote: »
    I'v seen that car before....

By any chance did you get it not very far from Kilmallock?

no sir this car has been a newcastlwest car all its life

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Any pics of the car after a bit of a clean up?

will put up a few pics the weekend .
    havent had a chance to do anything with it yet.

havent been on here in the last few days, kinda suprised the reaction the carina has gotten.

the comparison to a 405 is crazy i think, lord god you wouldnt have seen a 405 on the roads in 1991 when they were only 3years old let alone now in 2011:rolleyes:

i love carinas always have, ive had every model from 1982 rwd carinas to 1995 carina e 2.0gti and numerous other 1.6,1.8.2.0d models and iv never had any problems. truley great cars.

anniversary carina II 500 made in 1990

how may left now?

when was the last time you seen one?

a classic, rare, toyota

enough said:D

I Was VB wrote: »
    Any pics of the Corolla you were restoring?

which corolla ?

have had a good few

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

twincam77 wrote: »
    the comparison to a 405 is crazy i think, lord god you wouldnt have seen a 405 on the roads in 1991 when they were only 3years old let alone now in 2011:rolleyes:

We had a 405 Diesel and it was troublesome ... The gear selector used to drop off the box and leave you with a "box ull of neutrals" ..

We used to have to jump out in traffic and get under the bonnet to pop it back on again... This was a regular occurance.

Fast Forward to 2011 and a friend was giving me a lift in his 407.. Guess what happened.. Yes the gear selector dropped off the box.. He looked at me and I knew exactly what to do to sort it...

Do you trhink that Peugeot would have it sorted in 20 years...? No

The 405 is cheap tacky and badly assembled. We had a petrol one catch fire in our garage years ago when it was only a 2 year old car. We just let the handbrake off and rolled it outside and called the fire brigage... Owner was not too upset in fairness saying the car was a pile of dung...

Theres no way a Carina would do that in fairness .. There is no comparison between a 405 and a Carina....

Is it possible to like Carinas without disliking 405s?:)

Anan1 wrote: »
    Is it possible to like Carinas without disliking 405s?:)

Yes, it's just that trying to use them as an example of some amazingly better fantastic car is pretty stupid, as they may have "looked nicer" or "handled" better in some people's opinions but at the end of the day they were unreliable heaps of crap in comparison with the "boring" "white good of a car" carina, and there are feck of of them left as a result.

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    Yes, it's just that trying to use them as an example of some amazingly better fantastic car is pretty stupid, as they may have "looked nicer" or "handled" better in some people's opinions but at the end of the day they were unreliable heaps of crap in comparison with the "boring" "white good of a car" carina, and there are feck of of them left as a result.
    They were a lot less durable, but they were a much better drive too. I don't see why we can't appreciate the merits of both?

You can, and I said "yes" to your question but the 405 was brought up in this thread as some kind of shining example of an epic car, which it never was, simply to try to rubbish the affection many people have for the carina.

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    You can, and I said "yes" to your question but the 405 was brought up in this thread as some kind of shining example of an epic car, which it never was, simply to try to rubbish the affection many people have for the carina.
    And the Carina people have responded in kind. Which is kind of a pity, if you ask me.

Only to a certain extent, but it's to be expected really that people would respond negatively to several people with no real interest in a thread that was very clearly about a car they don't like for whatever reason, be it snobbery as in one or two cases or brand preference, perception of greater performance or whatever they chose, who opened it up anyway just to whine, complain and knock the model.

It would be similar regardless of the car. If there was to be a thread about minis, just for example, where people who enjoyed/admired them for whatever reason were discussing a rare version (in the same was as the limited edition carina of this thread), only for people with some form of grievance against minis to come in and start knocking them or spouting vitriol about how unworthy they were of consideration by some kind of high brow elite.
    The fans of the car would respond to that kind of needless attack on their chosen subject, and would of course attempt to counter arguments made against it.

If asked, I would say that I do not particularly like minis (again just giving a different car as an example), but I have nothing against them, and would definitely not approach (online or otherwise) a group of people who liked them and start putting them down or making silly complaints or unsound comparisons between other cars merely for the sake of having an argument.

thanks to the weather i got the carina cleaned up today.

here are a few quick pictures:D

anniversarycarina015.jpg

anniversarycarina014.jpg

anniversarycarina012.jpg

anniversarycarina019.jpg

anniversarycarina018.jpg

anniversarycarina017.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭TigerTim

Man, that looks fabulous.

T.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I'm envious.

As a matter of interest would I be on my own in thinking that the Carina II was more comfortable than the E?

I'm envious.

As a matter of interest would I be on my own in thinking that the Carina II was more comfortable than the E?

id agree with you there, tho the E are a very good car the carina II would be better. nicer interiors,less niggly little faults ie wiper linkage failure and lambda sensor niggles . all silly little things but you wouldnt have that with the carina II.

Tis looking very tidy now. As good as it gets for an original unrestored car that's seen some use. It's makin me miss having one even more now. Particularly the 2 litre one that was a fine car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2559171

Just on the 405, they are as rare as rocking horse gick.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Hendonmobster

do you still have this car? i have the GL....getinng it complete overhaul soon...

twincam77 wrote: »
    got this last night after 10yrs of asking!!

needs a good clean and polish

will post up pictures when i get that done

one owner from new both in uk and ireland

full toyota service history

these cars were built by toyota to celebrate 25yrs of toyota in the uk. 1965-1990. the carina was the car chosen by toyota to celebrate this. there was only 500 ever made. all were liftback and all were grey green metallic. all cars have a plaque inside showing bulid number. mines 376 of 500. there is the anniversary crest stitched into the interior and there is a factory painted pin strip down both sides with the crest on both front wings.

4 el windows

el mirrors

el sunroof

central locking

front chin spoiler and boot spoiler

5 stud 14'' alloys( no other 1.6 carina II came in 5 stud)

im delighted to have finally got this car:D.

just wondering if anyone else has one or could point me in the direction of information about them. there cant be many of these left now!

all comments welcome

better pics to follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

No they were not.

Absolutely horrible cars since the get go.

Huh? Carina II diesel was probably the best taxi ever built,

I'm envious.

Twice the car, Toyota's went downhill from the E, a lot of people swapped out the rear springs for Golf front springs, made them a lot tidier

I Was VB wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2559171

Just on the 405, they are as rare as rocking horse gick.

NcT killed the 405, Citroen BX and the Renault 21, getting them through tests would cost multiples of the value of the car

• Registered Users Posts: 629 ✭✭✭steinbock123

9 year old thread revival ???