Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shopping for clothes

• 16-09-2011 10:39pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

it's not that bloody difficult but jesus the amount of utterly bewildered looking gombeens being led around like 5 year olds by their overbearing girlfriends in the mens department of clothes shops is unreal

do you really need your other half's approval for what clothes you wear?

If i like something and my girlfriend doesn't like it then i'll still go ahead and buy it, this fashion oppression must stop - anyway usually she'll say after i've been wearing it a while "you know what, it looks good after all"

point is, trust your instinct, don't be babysat around the shop, if you like the bleedin clothes, then try them on and if they fit and you still like them, then buy them, it's a fairly simple procedure although yes i'll concede it's a pain in the arse trying clothes on but there you, 5-10 minutes of effort and you'll have your new item of clothing

but why do we make it so difficult for ourselves? is it simply because we are not that bothered by fashion - just buy any old thing that doesn't stand out too much or look completely ****e and that'll do me kind of attitude

but seriously lads, lose the ladies for god's sake or at the very worst get her opinion, but i see loads of guys basically stand around scratching their arses as their girlfriend swoops for a range of clothes for them to try on, she is not your mother, you can choose your own clothes now - we are generally not great at fashion in Ireland (both sexes) and that's commendable in some ways as we are not vain creatures and have other more important stuff to concern ourselves with but I think men should at the very least have the wherewithall to choose their own clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I'l be honest with ya, I HATE SHOPPING FOR CLOTHES. If i had the money to hire someone to go away with my vital statistics & buy me clothes & keep all the walking around & humming & hawing bullsh!t away from me then i'd be a happy man.

I hate the hassle of parking up in town.
    I hate the loud music in these places.
    I hate the overly interested sales assistants nosing around with the false smiles.
    I hate the trying on of numerous items, all with varying & incorrect sizes where Large is actually medium & medium is actually small etc etc...

Shopping for cars, tv's, hi fi's, dvd's, books, cd's yep i don't mind in fact i like shopping for some of those things. Shopping for clothes....feckin hate it. Just feels like a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I am the same. I really hate shopping for clothes. I just want in and out.

Sometimes, I have asked the advice of girl friends but on occasion it was a huge mistake. If I went on my own I would be done in 30mins, with her maybe 4 to 5 hours if you include coffee half way! lol

OP, you are right....its hilarious watching lads following their better halves around a shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

I don't mind shopping for clothes at all. Usually like to do it alone though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭blackalicious

i love shopping, and usually do it alone, but then again im a stylish mutherfocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i actually enjoy shopping as lone as im alone just me an my ipod picking the stuff out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

I understand it's not enjoyable lads but it's necessary every now and then, usually i only do it 3 or 4 times a year and each time i do it i'll buy a pile of clothes so i don't have to go back again for another while but if I am going to bother my arse in clothes shops then at least I make sure to choose clothes that I actually want rather than just take any auld thing or take what the good lady gives to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I'm actually a disaster when I buy clothes: I buy lovely, stylish, expensive clothes.... and never wear them!!! I have some wardrobe, full of suits, blazers, sports coats, bespoke shirts, slacks, chinos, polo shirts, stylish shoes to go with all of the above, etc. And I spend most of my time in jeans, hoodies/rugby jerseys and runners!!! I do not know why this is, but I think it's due to some part of my brain saying "oh, don't wear that out for any old occasion; save it for something special!" But I seriously have enough fine tailored clothes to last a lifetime at this stage, so why I feel the need to save them for special occasions is beyond me!!!

I go clothes shopping a good bit, if I'm passing by a shop I like, and I usually buy something I like.

For stuff like boxer shorts, socks, t-shirts, etc... Marks and Spencer is the best for me. Their stuff is excellent quality, relatively cheap and it is comfortable! Plus, it doesnt have to be designer either, really... Cos it usually doesnt get seen in public a lot! (I do have a supply of Tommy Hilfiger and Calvin Klein underwear for when I'm on a promise and it WILL be seen!;))

But I can never understand why lads seem to dislike clothes shopping. I hate it when lads are led around by their other halves or worse (shudder) by mammy to get their stuff. Last time I went shopping for clothes with another woman was for my confirmation clothes!:P

It does need to be done, doesnt have to be enjoyable, but it needs to be done, at times!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

So what if I want to wear a tophat, a monacle and a smoking jacket?

I look good, damnit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,741 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I hate it, partially because I can never find stuff that fits. I have quiet big shoulders and arms, so shirts never fit around my back or arms, if I get ones that to, well then there too loose every where else. pants are the same, I have large thighs. So everything is to tight on me, or I have to get baggy ones. Which the misses doesn't like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,741 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Oh i am a engineer, so for work its just jeans and a polo shirt. Once a month I need only wear a shirt and slacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Inbox

I love New clothes but hate shopping. I hate the security guards always making me feel I'm being watched. I notice that if I'm with my girl they have no interest but on my own they have me paranoid and I leave! Shopping online is the best for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭darklighter

Inbox wrote: »
    I love New clothes but hate shopping. I hate the security guards always making me feel I'm being watched. I notice that if I'm with my girl they have no interest but on my own they have me paranoid and I leave! Shopping online is the best for me.

Wrecking security guards heads is the best part of it for me :D Acting all suspiciuos and then up to the counter with the credit card while Anto and Deco stroll out the door with their pickings. God love most security guards but they dont have a clue.

The second best part of shopping is watching some poor fools being dressed by their better halfs. Its like the episode from Inbetweeners where Simon is dressed by his new gf :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Love having new clothes... HATE the aquisition process. I wish I could just go online and buy but you really need to try em on for the fit etc.

And no, I don't need the OH's approval but I value the input.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I hate shopping for clothes too. For me it's a case of get into the shop early so it's quiet and not later when it's full of people who insist on only going when it's packed. I hate the trying stuff on rubbish as well. I almost never try something on to see how it looks, it's usually just a case of trying it on to make sure it fits as lets be honest. What's worse than shopping for clothes? Having to take them back for some reason!

DVD's, and other things I don't mind buying. I could browse HMV for quite a while where in a clothes shop I aim to be in and out in less than 10 minutes, and that includes the time it takes to find what I want, try it on if absolutely necessary, deal with any queues at the payment counter and getting back out of the shop. The feeling is a bit like that scene in the Christmas episode of Father Ted where they're trying desperately to get out of the women's section of the store they are in. By the end of it you're exhausted, covered in sweat and eternally grateful to be out of there :)

Inbox wrote: »
    I love New clothes but hate shopping..

Yeah, this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

bluewolf wrote: »
    Yeah, this

Ditto.

I avoid clothes shopping at all costs. If theres something I've to dress up for (christenings, weddings, whateverthehellelse) - well its my worst nightmare.

Buying anything that isn't clothes I'm fine with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,257 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

I'm really feckin lazy when it comes to shopping for new clothes :D

I tend to go in, pick out a pair of jeans and maybe a new t-shirt or two and get out as quickly as I can :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I really hate the whole security guard thing. It actually really offends me to think that to them I look like a scumbag.

I was in the Blanch centre one day and I was aware of security guard hovering around me. He walked right past me twice and it was obvious he was trying to peer into my bag to see if I had stolen anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Sarn

I also dislike shopping for clothes. Trying to get something that fits properly is problematic at the best of times so it really is a chore. At this stage I know the shops that stock stuff in my size so that simplifies things a little. Like G-money, I'd head in early when the shops are empty (solo, wouldn't inflict it on anyone else), quickly look around and leave. If I see something promising, I'll try it on, inevitably I'll buy it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

donfers wrote: »

do you really need your other half's approval for what clothes you wear?

I'm single I dress very well, I like wearing shirts these days

Old goat try not choke as you :pac: but serously the only reason why those blokes are being dragged around mens departments is because they cant dress them selves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Yeah I notice that too. I was out shopping yesterday and was waiting to get into the fitting room and a girlfriend and the shop assistant were discussing the clothes while the boyfriend stood like a sap listening.

I find shopping for clothes is an ordeal. I always go shopping on my own and early on the morning to get it over with asap.

I hate when i try on something and as i'm leaving it back if it doesn't fit the shop assistant comments 'no good' or 'try this one instead' etc. They are always looking even if they are doing something else at the time.

I have a rule now too. If i have any doubts about how something fits or looks in the shop then don't buy it because i will definitely not like it at home. Often i'll like something in the shop and when i get home and try it on i think na thats not for me.

When i am in the mood i'll buy alot of clothes and then forget about shopping for 6 months or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Not being able to find big enough and cheap clothes in shops has had the positive secondary effect of allowing me to do the majority of my clothes shopping online. :)

Doubt it would ever happen but I would love to see someone try to get me to dress how they wanted. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

Don't mind shopping for clothes except jeans.

No pair of jeans seems to fit me ever, always too tight here or too loose there.

The process usually goes try a pair -> don't quite fit -> repeat for every style in that store -> rinse and repeat at three other stores. Lose the head and buy the very first pair I tried on.
    Next day I'm annoyed that my brand new jeans don't fit right :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

My mam and sister force me to go clothes shopping with them, if they didnt i would probably never buy new clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

I hate clothes shopping, just hate it. I don't really care what I wear so long as its somewhat respectable. My girlfriend loves shopping and has an eye for nice things. So if I need new clothes I get her to come with me. She loves shopping and loves to help, I hate shopping and love the help. In fact I somewhat enjoy it when she's there because we can have fun over it.

Don't see what's so wrong about not caring what clothes you get, and getting someone else who enjoys it to do it for you/help. It not that I can't shop, if I have to do it on my own I will, I just don't want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

DazMarz wrote: »
    I'm actually a disaster when I buy clothes: I buy lovely, stylish, expensive clothes.... and never wear them!!!

What size are you? I might take em off your hands :D

I like shopping for clothes but the problem is all the nice stuff is so freakin expensive. I buy a good bit online or during sales but I'm hard to please when it comes to clothes so it's usually difficult.

And why are most clothes varying shades or blue, grey and black?

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭pajunior

What size are you? I might take em off your hands :D

I like shopping for clothes but the problem is all the nice stuff is so freakin expensive. I buy a good bit online or during sales but I'm hard to please when it comes to clothes so it's usually difficult.

And why are most clothes varying shades or blue, grey and black?

It's what is most popular, I would mostly wear blue, probably 50% of what I own is blue, rest is a mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

I love buying clothes, unfortunately as a student im resigned to pennies for another 2 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Even if I was dealing with a personal tailor at Gieves and Hawkes in Saville Row, I'd still list clothes shopping as something I despise. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 449 ✭✭stephen_k

I'l be honest with ya, I HATE SHOPPING FOR CLOTHES. If i had the money to hire someone to go away with my vital statistics & buy me clothes & keep all the walking around & humming & hawing bullsh!t away from me then i'd be a happy man.

I hate the hassle of parking up in town.
    I hate the loud music in these places.
    I hate the overly interested sales assistants nosing around with the false smiles.
    I hate the trying on of numerous items, all with varying & incorrect sizes where Large is actually medium & medium is actually small etc etc...

Shopping for cars, tv's, hi fi's, dvd's, books, cd's yep i don't mind in fact i like shopping for some of those things. Shopping for clothes....feckin hate it. Just feels like a waste of time.

Exactly the same as this, couldn't have put it better.... Absolutely hate shopping for clothes....

My better half works for a high street store, haven't had to go clothes shopping in over 8 years... WIN!!!!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I dont mind clothes shopping but I definitely have to be in the mindset to do it. If I'm tried and not in the mood, wild horses couldn't drag me to the shops..

However, if I am in the mood.. oh boy, thats another story and I have been known to drop a serious amount of money on clothes.. 2 bags weighting nearly 70 kgs coming back from my last visit to New York (when only one weighing 20kgs when over) is testament to that.. :D

I prefer shopping alone, because I tend to go from one shop to another checking prices and trying to figure out where I can get it for cheaper, so I don't like dragging people with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Exile 1798

I go clothes shopping once every 2-3 years, and buy a large amount. And yes, I have either my partner or my sister escort me. I don't know clothes shops, reasonable prices, nor can I effectively navigate once inside the shop.

They help me, they enjoy it, I get to stock up, we have lunch after, the system works.

Pathetic? No, it's just having people I love help me out with something I don't love, enjoy, or am any good at.

I don't understand the shameless consumerist mentality espoused by some men. Okay, you're proud of your brands - you know what I'm proud of? My books. Maybe try hitting a few bookshops sometime, I could come with you to help you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭Tefral

I hate clothes shopping. I feel like I'm allergic to shopping centers. It's like the air in these shops makes me feel weak. Ha ha probably too much estrogen.

When I'm forced to do a shop I buy Alot at once. I usually go around and make a list of what I need and I know exactly what shops to go to.

I have long arms and big shoulders so I hate shirt shopping. M&S do a line of shirts with an extra long sleeve so I don't have to buy huge ones that don't fit everywhere else.

I bring my other half because she has a good eye for things and stops me from reverting back to the same stuff I have already. I always make my own mind up though but im happy to have someone there for a second opinion. Plus she loves shopping so she comes home happy which makes me happy ha ha

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

It depends on the shops. I don't like small little suit places where the salesman is all over you, and I don't like department stores that are way too hot.

I love suit shopping though. I bought my first three-piece in the Suit & Tux warehouse on Friday and it's gone for alterations. Picked up two ties in M&S and bought a rake of shirts online from TM Lewin. Can't wait to put it all together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

If I need black jeans, I go into Tescos or Dunnes, and I get a €10 black jeans. They look pretty much the same as the dearer ones. I'm quite liking the F&F Tesco brand, actually.

There was once when I need Wrangler (or the other better brand which I forget the name of) jeans, but I no longer climb tree's, run through bushes, slide along the ground, so the jeans don't have to be so strong anymore.

Looking for cheap short sleeved shirts. Must be of the type that you can't see the skin though it (I find them to rip easily), but no luck so far.

I've gotten the same style of boots, in the same size, in the same place for the last 4 years. They produce the boots for the military, so I should be okay.

Trying to increase the amount of black metal t-shirts I have, though. Mainly buying them at concerts, festivals, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I was in TK Maxx today and they have a huge selection of nice short sleeve shirts.I picked up a DKNY one for €21.They also have a really nice selection of boots,picked up a (what I think are) a really nice pair for €39.

TK Maxx FTW!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I was in TK Maxx today and they have a huge selection of nice short sleeve shirts.I picked up a DKNY one for €21.They also have a really nice selection of boots,picked up a (what I think are) a really nice pair for €39.

TK Maxx FTW!

Hate that shop more than any other. it is a complete mess. You'd be in there hours before you find anything and I am not that patient. Also I despise designer clothes. I'm gonna pay over the odds to advertise their company on my chest? ehhh don't think so.

I am ashamed to say I haven't bought a new pair of jeans in 3 years. I got 2 pairs in Blanch then and liked them so why change. There's really only one shop I goto and if they don't have anything I like i go home upset :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I love shopping for new clothes. I'm very fussy when it comes to buying jeans. They have to be bootcut. I bought pair of diesel jeans and went back to the shop and picked up the same pair again.

I'm going out saturday to buy a few tops and runners.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Hate that shop more than any other. it is a complete mess. You'd be in there hours before you find anything and I am not that patient. Also I despise designer clothes. I'm gonna pay over the odds to advertise their company on my chest? ehhh don't think so.

I am ashamed to say I haven't bought a new pair of jeans in 3 years. I got 2 pairs in Blanch then and liked them so why change. There's really only one shop I goto and if they don't have anything I like i go home upset :D

I dont mind it tbh.Yes you have to do some digging but I picked up a jacket today for €50 that Ive seen in other stores for 3 times that amount.

Plus I was there for less than half an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Buy a lot of my clothes online these days, got a pair of jeans a few days and they're ridiculously small, guess I have to return them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

thehut.co.uk are having a sale at the mo. It's been on a while so most of the popular sizes are gone but ya never know.

Is there a thread here for men's clothes websites having sales?

I liked TK Maxx when I was a student, but now it wrecks my head. Sorry Otis ;)

It's so damned warm. That's a no-no for me in an well organised shop, never mind the chaos of TK Maxx's racks.

Anyway, my shirts from TM Lewin finally arrived. Woot.

TK Maxx FTW!
    IS there a TK Maxx in Dublin? And if so, where in Dublin?

That I know of, Stephen's Green shopping centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

I dont mind shopping for clothes coz usually id go in, have a quick look around nd if i see something i like i might get and then im out in 10mins.

the_syco wrote: »
    IS there a TK Maxx in Dublin? And if so, where in Dublin?

Pepe is correct,the one I went to is the one in the SG center.

I believe there is one in Blanch too if thats nearer.

Pepe is correct,the one I went to is the one in the SG center.

I believe there is one in Blanch too if thats nearer.
    If driving, Blanch is a bit quicker, aye. Also, free parking is a plus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

There is also a TK Maxx in Carrackmines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

donfers wrote: »
    amount of utterly bewildered looking gombeens being led around like 5 year olds by their overbearing girlfriends in the mens department of clothes shops

I hate clothes shopping. I tend to wear the same things untill they are hanging off me.

The reason I can be found with my better half dragging me around clothes shops is because she knows full well I'd never bother otherwise.

"This is Bulls**t, eighty euro... for that... I wouldn't hang that on the immersion"