Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you get on well with your family?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I get on better with my mother and father since I moved out!!!. My younger sister is my best friend. My older sister bugs the bejesus out of me - with her "life is so easy for everyone else" - we've been hearing that tune for the last 20 years so it's a bit jaded now.

OP would you consider in-laws family?

I'm a lucky sod. My family are the best people you could ever hope to meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭LaLucy

bnt wrote: »
    Is that a question. Ever heard of question marks. They are used to close off questions? Don't you find this painful to read. :p

To answer the question: there's a difference between biological relatives and "family". I have some of the former, but they aren't my friends and ceased to be "family" many years ago. Sharing genes with you does not give someone a right to be a dick or dickette to you. :rolleyes:

dickette is the best word ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

yes, but they can be dicks at times, I love them, but not warts n all if you know what I mean, you dont get to pick your family afaik so you notice the good things and deal with the bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I love my family but not really emotionally close with my dad (although I respect him to bits for dispensing his duties as a dad and all that ) but I'm very close to my mum and two sisters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Zip_zap

Not close with any of them really! I moved to a new country two months ago and haven't heard a peep from any of my siblings (my twin included) since, despite sending a mail to all of them to let them know I got here ok, weather etc. :( I thought we were closer, but I s'pose this has been a learning curve. I've a tricky relationship with my mother but it's better than before now and probably as good as it'll get! I'm probably closest to my dad but not close at the same time if you get me. Love them all to bits and would do ought I could for them at the same time though, even if I can't rely on 'em for t'pence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I get on great with them... they just dont like me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I tolerate them by keeping my distance, I don't think I could even say I loved my parents, when I think what (good) have they ever done for me, I can't think of anything..
    Tbh they have done nothing but put me down my entire life, never supported anything I wanted to do, are always there to criticise, I don't think they would have this view at all but I rather keep the peace and keep my distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

You should try to patch that up. However it took me til 30.. Insist on no bickering and nothing personal. or too close to home. usually a good start .. Unless other complications. just lay down the law, sieze the initiative

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Fieldies Dreams

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I've just come to the realisation that I dont enjoy the company of most of my family. We're just not compatable as people. I'd do anything for them but **** me they're like aliens. So are the rest of you close with your family.

I killed all my family with a rusty axe but id like a new one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

wolf moon wrote: »
    Just as an addition to my previous post: if someone hurted my family in any way I wouldn't give up until I blew their head off. Honestly I couldn't care about the Guards, jail, etc. - you ruin my house and family - you are a dead man, dead fukin man in the middle of O'Connell Street if it has to be that way. Nothing would stop me.

Arnold, Sly? Is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

3rdDegree wrote: »
    Arnold, Sly? Is that you?

nah, its just a generic hard man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Haha holy shît

I trust he's bolstered by a tight family unit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

i get on grand most of the time, any rows are using with my mother. for example it was birthday last week (friday) went on a mad boozing session on the saturday, come home late etc. at 4am sh . she was fairly pi***d of with me the next day. all i said was well it was my birthday so i bound to be late etc, didnt say much more than that . my dad on the other hand , well we got on but don't really know each other that well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

wolf moon wrote: »
    Just as an addition to my previous post: if someone hurted my family in any way I wouldn't give up until I blew their head off. Honestly I couldn't care about the Guards, jail, etc. - you ruin my house and family - you are a dead man, dead fukin man in the middle of O'Connell Street if it has to be that way. Nothing would stop me.

Moon on Fire.

Christopher Walken has already been signed up. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yep, I'm lucky.

I get on brilliantly with my mum (she's a ledge-bag) and my older brother - always have done. I did not get on with my dad when I was younger, but I do much better now, as he's majorly mellowed with age. I didn't get on with my oldest brother when younger either, but we're good buddies now.

I love my family I don't think they are perfect but family is great there are about 20 of us now if you took all the out-laws and children in to account! They all cant wait for my wedding because it will be a great family day out children babies and all ( I think a wedding without children is weird )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

bnt wrote: »
    Is that a question. Ever heard of question marks. They are used to close off questions? Don't you find this painful to read. :p

yes..yes i did
    To answer the question: there's a difference between biological relatives and "family". I have some of the former, but they aren't my friends and ceased to be "family" many years ago. Sharing genes with you does not give someone a right to be a dick or dickette to you. :rolleyes:

If ye go round grammar nazi-ing them to death then im not surprised they have a tendency to be 'dick or dickettes' to you
    and yes, ive deliberately left out apostrophies, commas and everything else that should be in, just to wreck your head TGIF :p consider yourself lucky i opted to correct the spelling :D
    pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Really? You need question marks to identify a question? What happens when someone is conversing with you? Do they use sign language to signify that they're asking you a question?

hahaha pmsl :D

back on topic: families, the most difficult and complex relationships I've ever had in my life. Love them to distraction some days, have plotted thier deaths and where to bury them on others....
    My own family (as in my kids & OH) yeah, couldnt live without them tbh, just what would the point be in getting out of bed :confused:

saaaaad I know but sure :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I'm lucky to have a close enough family. We've been through major **** but the fact were all still together kinda shows something i suppose.

Mam is the best in the world, Dad was a right **** but mellowed with age as another poster said. Sisters brothers love them all.

Plus my own family, My son is my world and so is my fiancee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

My family are fairly conservative. They had children as, y'know like its what you do like, rather than thinking about what it might entail. They are young parents, my mother was 19 having me and so seem somewhat immature in their parenting. Their conservatism comes from not being well educated or well read on most topics and this causes friction if I or my brother start a conversation or hold a particular belief. They will go along with any popularly held opinion and are slow to take a stand on anything.

I visit them once a week with my girlfriend who ends up chatting to my mother and my father once finished eating leaves the room to watch tv and fall asleep in front of it. I end up chatting to my brother and try to politely participate in my mother and girlfriends chat.

I don't really expect any more or less from them at this stage, although it'd be nice if they called to our house some of the time. When we do meet in the city for lunch or an evening meal they are nicer people to be around. It always pains me to see how the courtesy and manners offered to anonymous waiters is never afforded to me. I suppose I get on with my family the way you get on with weeding a garden. It seems to have to be done but if they weren't family, our paths would probably never cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I love my family, but I'm absolutely the black sheep of the bunch and I rarely talk to any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

i do get on well with all my family and im extremely thankful for that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭SlimCi

Well boo hoo I'm an orphan now! Both my parents are dead, my dad when I was 12 (whom I idolised) and my mother in 2007. I never really realised how much I loved her until she was gone:mad: Never really bothered too much with my Mum until my Dad died, then it was just the two of us until I was in my mid twenties,. She remarried. I moved out and we got along famously from then! We're very alike in temperament really and that did cause some friction. No siblings. Hate my Dads family, a crowd of money grabbing snobs who I don't communicate with or see, and love my mothers family, the nicest people you could ever meet. Have two stepbrothers but my stepfather died recently and I hated him anyway so don't have anything to do with them. Now have my own family, husband and son and don't know what my reason for living would be without them!:D