Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DIT Clubs and Socs - 2011/12

• 02-09-2011 6:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭

***Not Just for Karting Club, go further down the thread and there is more***

If you are involved in a Society, feel free to throw it up here for a bit of exposure.

For a full list of DIT Clubs and Socs, click here

Hello all
    I decided to start a new thread to keep all the DIT karting club news and events in one place. Last year we were one of the largest clubs with over 600 members. We ran events on a weekly or fortnightly basis.
    What is an event?
    It is combines people's love for motorsport and their enthusiasm for competition by running grand prix races at the best locations across the country. An event consists of a a full grand prix with practice, 4 heats and race final for the fastest and most competitive racers!

Intervarsity Championships
    DIT won the inaugural Irish championship in 2009 when the DIT "A" team completed a white wash of the team and individual championships. In 2010 we fought hard and finished 2nd to DCU, we are going to be very competetive this year and are always on the lookout for new drivers! Do you fancy yourself as a dark horse for this years championship?

After all events we get a bus back to the city centre usually to Bolton Street and head to Bodkins to have the craic and argue over the happenings on track that evening. We really need lots of support this year to push on as a coma ding force I Ireland and even in the UK.

Teeside 24 hour kart race 2011
    We have just returned from this amazing event, a team of 5 drivers travelled over last weekend 26th-29th august 2011. We finished 18th in class this year and hope to improve significantly with the experience we have gained. Sound like fun?
    We always need a support team at all events so if you don't fancy racing you can always come along for be fun.
    Check out DIT Karting on Facebook or PM me for details
    See you trackside!
    James

• Registered Users Posts: 7 GregGoryHouse

Awesome can't wait to join

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

How much does an event typically cost? I seems like it could be an expensive hobby.

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭djayforza

How much does an event typically cost? I seems like it could be an expensive hobby.
    We get support from DIT so an event will cost about €20
    this includes; private bus there and back, full GP and afters which is finger food.
    So it great value aswell as good craic

• Registered Users Posts: 40 haxer

Now that sounds like a good mo fo deal can't wait to join up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭wolfric

Come signups, netsoc will be alive! Myself a few other guys have revamped it with some much needed upgrades and services etc.

It's not all currently setup atm and won't be accessible until signup week.

Here are some of the highlights

Events - talks
    • Introduction to netsoc, it’s services and basic linux
    • How to setup your own web server, register a domain name and setup a blog/wiki
    • Introduction to system administration
    • Introduction to cryptology
    • Introduction to [programming-language] (such as python,php,perl etc)

Events - workshops
    • Workshops
    • Web development with frameworks
    • How to code securely
    • Setting up a server - a system administrators daily tasks
    • Virtual machines, - how to setup a virtualised Linux environment.

Competitions
    Given a series of challenges, who can write a solution in any language that is the
    • fastest
    • Shortest length
    • Time based challenge - A server gives out a random selection of generated data and requires the competitors to write a script to do something with this data. Competitors will be challenged to write a working script and submit the result back before other competitors
    • Fix the problem: Given an environment, service or website, find the problem, (be it a typo, mis-configuration or any range of issues and fix the service/server).

We'll be videoing some of the talks etc and putting them up on youtube.

We're aiming services at a number of groups. First, the techies who are either really into their tech or just starting off and giving them an intro into the whole world of linux, servers, networking, security etc.
    Second, non techie students with talks with things such as
    • how to keep your laptop secure
    • how to encrypt your hard drive
    • how to use the new email system/google docs (if google docs gets implemented)

We will be offering:
    • Central ldap authentication.
    • remote desktop (similar to galway server) on linux.
    • ssh (obviously)
    • mail - imap and pop3 with a webmail frontend
    • game server
    • - At the moment, it's running cube 2 and minecraft. we hope to host more.
    • File storage
    • Versioning (svn git cvs) - and highly encouraged with workshops etc
    • IRC server - our own server linked with intersocs. Working on getting ports opened to connect to other irc servers.
    • Virtual machines - This one is really just a consideration for now. We want to have a set of user vms we can fire up when we do workshops. Depending on the requirement and load, we may consider running some for extended periods of time. If we were to do this though, we'd be pretty restrictive on firewalling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Hmmm, was this supposed to be in the UCD forum?
    If not you should probably mention that it's the UCD netsoc (I'm assuming) :P

oh ****... i should have posted this in DIT forum... ****... can someone move it? sorry i must have just had security open in another tab and mixed up which one i switched to.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Moved ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

wolfric wrote: »
    oh ****... i should have posted this in DIT forum... ****... can someone move it? sorry i must have just had security open in another tab and mixed up which one i switched to.

Oh, DIT, I assumed UCD because they're trying to get stuff sorted as well, #intersocs should be busy this year...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Dreddybajs

I'll definitely be joining up.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Technicolour

Looks like the perfect group for me. I'll probably join, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Mo14

I never really knew what a netsoc entailed until now, this looks brilliant, I'll be joining too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Are the old Netsoc accounts still there?

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭ConmanTheKiller

I'm in

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

In. Spot for sale.

EDIT:

Spot sold to Jenson Button

Jenson-Button--001.jpg

Are the old Netsoc accounts still there?

They are however we will be enabling them only upon request. We have backups of peoples files as well. Send me a personal message if you want your account enabled. We'll be posting more details closer to launch date (socs signups)

i'm in!! cant wait to get goin :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Would definitely be up for this!

• Registered Users Posts: 300 ✭✭Tomas_S

is this for full timers only :D ?

• Registered Users Posts: 40 haxer

Which campus is the netsoc society based?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

Anyone one if there is a Russian society?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭liambob1

I know that there was one set up a few years back but the founder didn't have time to do it and I know that last year there was an attempt to revive it but I dont think that succeeded.

Does anyone know if it does? and If not would anyone be interested in helping me set one up?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

liambob1 wrote: »
    I know that there was one set up a few years back but the founder didn't have time to do it and I know that last year there was an attempt to revive it but I dont think that succeeded.

Does anyone know if it does? and If not would anyone be interested in helping me set one up?

All you need to do is get 15 sigs (I think) and you have yourself a society.

While I am an atheist, I'm really not passionate enough about it to be involved in a society about it tbh,

Best of luck tho!

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Mo14

All you need to do is get 15 sigs (I think) and you have yourself a society.

While I am an atheist, I'm really not passionate enough about it to be involved in a society about it tbh,

Best of luck tho!

Agree with this myself. What would an Athiest society entail? I'm assuming it's not just trolling the Christian Union and telling them how wrong they are?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭liambob1

Mo14 wrote: »
    Agree with this myself. What would an Athiest society entail? I'm assuming it's not just trolling the Christian Union and telling them how wrong they are?

It would be about promoting positive atheism and critical thinking and a seperation of church and state, as well as general skepticisim perhaps getting speakers in and running or participating in charity events without a religious agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭ShamrockGirl

Ok, just bumping this thread up.:)

As many of you probably know Clubs and Societies Sign Up week is taking place next week 26-29th September. The schedule is as follows:

Monday- Aungier St

Tuesday- Kevin St (Gleeson Hall, your sure to be directed if you don't know where to go

Wednesday- Cathal Brugha St (In the Church opposite the college entrance)
    Mountjoy Square/Portland Row (Canteen of Mountjoy Square)

Thursday- Bolton St (Common Area)

**For the smaller colleges you are as well to go to the larger colleges to get a better variety on offer**

DIT Sign Language Society offers free classes in Irish Sign Language (ISL) to all DIT students and staff, facilitated by a Professionally trained Teacher.

Just pay a sign up fee of €2 when we come to visit your campus next week or email us on sign@socs.dit.ie or You can drop by a class just for a taster to start with too, you won't regret it!!! :D

Monday's 6pm Mountjoy Square
    or
    Wednesday 6pm Aungier Street

(Rooms to be confirmed)

Some extended activities we carry out during the year:

-Hold regular meetings with members for brainstorming

-Volunteer work with agencies and charities that work with Deaf people.

- Raise awareness hearing Deaf people in college and the general public by hosting focus groups and Demonstrations for example:
    -Silent lunches
    - Teaching people their name in sign language
    - Awareness leaflets

- Specialised Week of Events 'Think Inclusion, Think Integration'.

- Designing posters, producing merchandise (cards, booklets, calendars....something else interesting in mind??)

See you at 'Sign' Up, we'll let you away with writing this time, but Sign Language next year, ok??!!!! :p:)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,027 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Ok, just bumping this thread up.:)

As many of you probably know Clubs and Societies Sign Up week is taking place next week 26-29th September. The schedule is as follows:

Monday- Aungier St

Tuesday- Kevin St (Gleeson Hall, your sure to be directed if you don't know where to go

Wednesday- Cathal Brugha St (In the Church opposite the college entrance)
    Mountjoy Square/Portland Row (Canteen of Mountjoy Square)

Thursday- Bolton St (Common Area)

**For the smaller colleges you are as well to go to the larger colleges to get a better variety on offer**

DIT Sign Language Society offers free classes in Irish Sign Language (ISL) to all DIT students and staff, facilitated by a Professionally trained Teacher.

Just pay a sign up fee of €2 when we come to visit your campus next week or email us on sign@socs.dit.ie or You can drop by a class just for a taster to start with too, you won't regret it!!! :D

Monday's 6pm Mountjoy Square
    or
    Wednesday 6pm Aungier Street

(Rooms to be confirmed)

Some extended activities we carry out during the year:

-Hold regular meetings with members for brainstorming

-Volunteer work with agencies and charities that work with Deaf people.

- Raise awareness hearing Deaf people in college and the general public by hosting focus groups and Demonstrations for example:
    -Silent lunches
    - Teaching people their name in sign language
    - Awareness leaflets

- Specialised Week of Events 'Think Inclusion, Think Integration'.

- Designing posters, producing merchandise (cards, booklets, calendars....something else interesting in mind??)

See you at 'Sign' Up, we'll let you away with writing this time, but Sign Language next year, ok??!!!! :p:)

I'd actually love to learn sign language, but I don't know if I'd be able to go to either of those times with work and lectures :(

I'll join anyway, then if it works out, it works out. If not, ye have €2 extra!

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭ShamrockGirl

cool!!! :D we do online tutorial video's on youtube too if you can't make the classes, each with various members featuring and we also link up with other societies!! :D want to get a glimpse, join our fb page https://www.facebook.com/DITSignLanguageSociety
    or some of our tutorials at http://www.youtube.com/DITSignLanguageSoc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I'll mention DIT Shotokan Karate Club

We train in DIT Kevin Street's hall above the pool
    Mondays at 6:30pm
    Thursdays at 5pm.

We also have an arrangement with RCSI Karate that means we can train in RCSI's basketball court
    Wednesdays at 7pm
    Saturdays at 11am.

Our senior instructor is a 4th Dan at Karate and we have a number of other senior students with black belts that occasionally takes a class and generally help out in class.

Three club members took gradings for a blackbelt in June after 4-5 years training and all passed.

We have a good competitive record having placed second in last years intervarsities and winning the year before. We also have a competitive event with Trinity College the O'Connor Cup down in Galway every October/November which we have won twice in a row.

Thats means we usually have two good trips away which is always good fun.

We are also (I think) the only club that keeps training during the summer break.

There is a €2 joining fee, classes cost €1 each till you get your first grading and then cost €2 each.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Ambp

DIT LGBT Society

blog - www.ditlgbt.com
    facebook - facebook.com/DITLGBT
    twitter - @DITLGBT
    email - lgbt@socs.dit.ie

DIT's Society for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender students and their friends and allies.

We hold weekly events (sometimes twice weekly), as well as special events and trips away.

If you'd like to join, find us in all the main sites this week, membership costs just €2 and we've a ton of freebies and our own discount card! If you'd rather not visit a stand, or can't make it - email us at lgbt@socs.dit or come alone to our first meeting next Monday at 8pm in Solas, Wexford Street and you can join on the night!

Upcoming Events
    Monday 3rd October, 8pm - DIT LGBT Society Opening Night
    Thursday 6th October, 8pm - Bring a Straight Mate Games Night
    Monday 10th October, 7.30pm - Movie Night & Social in the Irish Film Institute

I joined LGBT last year without knowing anyone, and made loads of great friends and got elected onto the committee this year. It's a great Society for anyone to get involved in, and this year we're going to be linking up with other societies a lot more so there'll be lots of varied activities!