Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying alcohol for minors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

A taximan friend of mine was telling me he picked up a fare in Fairview and he had a look at her and thought wow pornstar a total cracker and pissed.

Then half way into the journey she said **** I left the paasport with the bouncer we will have to go back for it, "can you not leave it till tomorrow" no its my sisters she doesn't know I have it I am only 14.

He was saying his jaw just dropped.

I would have never have been that cute and use my older brother passport as we did look alike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

My sister lived with me for a summer at 17 I did buy her drinks but never for her friends!! I never bought her excessive amounts either generally only beer/cider cans never spirits etc I also brought her out socially with me but buying for her friends nope never

I think 15 is a tad bit young! and I definitively wouldn't consider buying drink for her friends to be honest I wouldn't want any unwanted attention if things went wrong or worst case scenario something terrible happens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

biko wrote: »
    It's wrong/illegal

Two completely different concepts.
    ShooterSF wrote: »
    I'd say there are very very few people who have never broken the law.
    Id say there are none above the age of criminal responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I bought alcohol for miners once. Spent a day getting ****-faced 100m underground with a bunch of Bolivians. Crazy day.

Potosi? Me too! Alcohol and dynamite. What an explosive combo! (geddit?)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Why on earth would anyone want to encourage youngsters to lie and break the law?

What a responisble thing for an older sibling to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I asked my uncle to buy me and three of my friends drink when I was 16, Instead, he brought the four of us into the local pub which had live music, sat us down and had a pint with the lot of us. Even tho he was late for work, he still made time to look after us.

Now, I rarely get drunk... Visit pubs regularly, don't drink outside of pubs really and when me or my friends go to the pub, we generally have good craic.

One of the best things that ever happened to me being brought into the pub that night. Taught me to respect drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

I wouldn't buy it for minors.

I'd be scared they'd get messed up & end up harming themselves, would feel mad guilty so i would

• Registered Users Posts: 3,719 ✭✭✭jluv

bluewolf wrote: »
    it's legal for parents to buy it for them

It is illegal for minors to buy alcohol, to attempt to buy it for minors, or for minors to consume alcohol in a public space in Ireland. Those under 18 may consume alcohol in a private residence when permission is given from a parent or guardian. It is illegal to purchase alcohol for anybody under the age of consent without permission from their guardians. One cannot purchase alcohol in a shop/off licence after 10 pm.[53]

but you aren't their parent or guardian nor do you have permission, so...
    I would question this? It is illegal to sell drink to under 18 and if ANYONE including parent tried to buy it for them I would refuse the sale if I know it is definatly for the minor. Have had it happen.Johnny comes in and is refused. Mad parent comes in with them and insists that they are going to pay for it..No you're not!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭TylerIE

You've never broken the law? Downloaded a song? Drove over the speed limit? Drank underage? Been drunk in public? Drove alone learning to drive? Worked cash in hand? I'd say there are very very few people who have never broken the law.

While the law is the law some laws have consequences and are there for a reason. Drinking underage is something most of us have done, yet at the time we were acting our age.

Kerry (look at the forum she mods) has probably seen teenage girls half naked on the street, unable to stand up yet being "intimate" with guys who they dont know, seen teenage boys being arrested for their own safety, seen other teenagers be carted off to hospital by a stretched ambulance service as they couldnt handle their 4 smirnoff ices, seen 15 year old unconscious girls abandoned by their friends as they dont want to be caught with them by the guards and get in trouble with their parents (Even if it means the friend is left barely clothed on their back in a cold dark alleyway).

If she hasnt, shes probably seen worse - I seen all of the above last Wednesday alone and I wasnt wearing a Garda hat! That doesnt allow for the risk of them choking on their own vomit, and their friends being afraid to seek help in case they get caught.

Our local Public Health Nurse will talk about meeting people who became alcoholics at 14... A responsible adult buying drink for a teenager who they are supervising in a private house is one thing (and legal) but giving it to randomers on the street is another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

context! ...
    Its a brilliant word. So much I made it bold and big :pac:
    But thats what we are talking about here and thats what people need to take on board.

Its all context people. Now I'm mid 20s with no kids. But should the day arise with my teenage son or daughter its up to me, and me alone, to judge weather or not its suitable for me to buy them drink. I'm of sensible mind too. Not some some skanger parent who'd gladly let their 13yo drink vodka.

Instead of creating a big long post, and letting this get into another "im right, you're wrong" debate :rolleyes: How about just posting some do's and dont's? I'll start...

• Its up to a parent to decide when a teenager is suitable to drink. Also where and when. After all, 99.9% of the time they will score drink other ways. This way you can supply what you deem acceptable and a teenager is more likely to listen to you about your advice on drink.
    • never EVER supply your child with spirits. We all know why.
    • As I currently stand, I have no kids. I have been asked by teenagers to buy drink (who hasnt) usually I say piss off but I did once or twice. Its all about context tho! Say 3 16/17year olds ask me to buy a 6 pack of garlsberg. Depending if I am in the humor or not, why not. What 2 cans each? ... but 3 teenagers ask for 3 bottles of vodka? piss off.
    • But at the same time we live in a crazy world :rolleyes: what if i was going to the off license tomorrow. bunch of lads (16/17 looking) asked me for booze. I buy it. One of them fu*ks himself up. It could and most likely would come back on me. Knowing this country and its law i'd get more for than than speeding down the wrong side of a road :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Depends on the kids and the amount of alcohol. I worked in a place years ago during college where I had a good deal that I would buy beer and smokes for some of the local kids if they beat up junkies that used to come in and hassle me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

jluv wrote: »
    I would question this? It is illegal to sell drink to under 18 and if ANYONE including parent tried to buy it for them I would refuse the sale if I know it is definatly for the minor. Have had it happen.Johnny comes in and is refused. Mad parent comes in with them and insists that they are going to pay for it..No you're not!

The person of age is entitled to buy drink, once they're purchased it it's not the shops responsibility what they do with it. Of course social responsibility would suggest you should refuse service to someone you think will supply minors with alcohol but that's not law.

That'd be my interpretation anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

I remember hanging around the local off-licence as a teenager on a Friday night - we would always find someone willing to go in and buy us some booze - it was so easy! Normally we would nab someone on their way out of the off-licence - they'd just go straight back in for us (must have been so obvious to the staff!).

But now that I'm older and wiser (ahem) - if anyone approached me to buy them booze I would say no. I just wouldn't be comfortable doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 opendoor2

This is illegal indeed,never do this

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

TylerIE wrote: »
    While the law is the law some laws have consequences and are there for a reason. Drinking underage is something most of us have done, yet at the time we were acting our age.

Which is why I quoted her in the first place as I took issue with,
    kerry4sam wrote: »
    :mad: cop yourself on will you and act the grown-up you say you are! This absolutely riles me when I see people choosing which law they want to adhere to and which they think meh!
    Kerry (look at the forum she mods) has probably seen teenage girls half naked on the street, unable to stand up yet being "intimate" with guys who they dont know, seen teenage boys being arrested for their own safety, seen other teenagers be carted off to hospital by a stretched ambulance service as they couldnt handle their 4 smirnoff ices, seen 15 year old unconscious girls abandoned by their friends as they dont want to be caught with them by the guards and get in trouble with their parents (Even if it means the friend is left barely clothed on their back in a cold dark alleyway).

If she hasnt, shes probably seen worse - I seen all of the above last Wednesday alone and I wasnt wearing a Garda hat! That doesnt allow for the risk of them choking on their own vomit, and their friends being afraid to seek help in case they get caught.

And I'm sure you have seen many 30 year olds in the same state. It's a way of life for many not just the consequences of teens drinking. I'm sure there are plenty of 15 year olds who are like my 15 year old self (years ago) who have a few cans and play video games.
    Our local Public Health Nurse will talk about meeting people who became alcoholics at 14... A responsible adult buying drink for a teenager who they are supervising in a private house is one thing (and legal) but giving it to randomers on the street is another.

Look I agree, I don't like the idea of strangers buying alcohol for kids and I wouldn't myself. I also don't think prohibiting your child from drinking until they're 18 makes any sense though. As you said you see the results of teens drinking every week and 3 years more "experience" and drinking alcohol for your first time at 18 in a club will leave you in as bad a state as the 15 yer olds with as poor decision making as them. I think that's why the OP gets some sympathy, he's probably doing what his parents should be doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

CoolHat wrote: »
    [*]never EVER supply your child with spirits. We all know why.

?

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

My daughter turns 18 next week, from about 16 on I would allow her to have a couple of drinks on accasion as long as she never drank in a field or a park etc..She could either be in my presence or with a friend whos parents I knew and trusted.

All of her friends were going bush drinking and getting ****faced etc so I said i'll give some concessions as long as she never crosses the line to where she endangers herself. She wasn't allowed spirits or wine, just beer. It worked out fine, she goes out and comes back at the time she says she'll be back, she doesn't sneak around and drinks very sensibley, she often goes out with a fiver in her pocket and drinks a soft drink and has a great night, that's something I couldn't have done at her age.

I made this choice for my child but I wouldn't dream of making it for someone else's unless I knew the parents and we had agreed they could have a few drinks. I felt she was mature enough to drink responsibly. My next daughter is 14 now and is nowhere near mature enough, she is flighty so I will have to chop and change the rules to suit her personality. Until she is mature enough to handle herself sober she won't be going near alcohol even if I have to raise the age limit to 20 for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

When i was about 14/15 i wanted to get myself a few cans of bulmers. Obviosuly i had no chance so needed someone to get them for me. Being the naive teenager that i was i asked the first person who walked past. So who walks past none other than the local junkie. So yeah, i stayed thirsty and less 10 pounds that night. A young fella giving a junkie money to buy some drink is like asking a dog to mind your steak.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,462 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I think teenagers will always try it...its the lure of the forbidden combined with wanting to be grown up.

I wouldn't buy drink for any one under 17, but I do know my oldest daughter had a fake id at that aged and that my youngest and her pals use to get homeless alco's to buy them drink, she told me this recently apparently there is a protocol to it for every 6 cans they buy they gave them one, she is over 18 now and laughs about it at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Shiner11

I'm 20 and a couple of minors asked me to buy drink for them 4m d off-licence. I told them not a hope in hell. I said, "We've an U21 hurling county final sunday morning lads and we'll most of ye minors to fill d team". They don't have any commitment these days...

Which is why I quoted her in the first place as I took issue with,

I highlighted it as many laws have consequences and while I dont think we should pick or choose either, those that do really should consider the potential consequences.
    And I'm sure you have seen many 30 year olds in the same state. It's a way of life for many not just the consequences of teens drinking. I'm sure there are plenty of 15 year olds who are like my 15 year old self (years ago) who have a few cans and play video games.
    No comparison between a 15 year old and a 30 year old drunk. A 30 year old is responsible for themselves. A 15 year old is a minor and needs responsible adults to take appropriate measures when they are sober, no matter about when they are drunk.
    Look I agree, I don't like the idea of strangers buying alcohol for kids and I wouldn't myself. I also don't think prohibiting your child from drinking until they're 18 makes any sense though. As you said you see the results of teens drinking every week and 3 years more "experience" and drinking alcohol for your first time at 18 in a club will leave you in as bad a state as the 15 yer olds with as poor decision making as them. I think that's why the OP gets some sympathy, he's probably doing what his parents should be doing.

Theres levels. Drinking a few cans at home when parents are in the house & have agreed is not illegal, and relatively safe. Facilitating kids drinking before going out, without clear and agreed boundaries, can border on wreckless. Some people I know whose parents took the liberal approach still went and skulled 350ml bottles of vodka afterwards... Obviously some kids who weren't allowed drink did the same. I see parents outside teenage discos who let the kids drink at home before going out, they get a lift to town, the parents wait, and the kids get safely home. Thats taking responsibility.

The OP didnt instill me with confidence over what they did to ensure their siblings safety afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭xxchloexx

My mam use to buy me drink when i was about 16 , if she knew where i was going to be and she would make sure i had either money to get a taxi home to else she would collect me. She wouldn't buy me vodka but a few bottles of smirnoff ice or wkd, it worked out better because some of my friends were lying to their parents and staying out all night in other peoples houses , putting their money together and getting vodka and getting out of there heads. I wouldn't buy drink for underage people i didn't no , but if my cousin or something wanted drink i would get it for her shes 16 now and i would only get her bottles of alcopops, my brother is 13 and went out on paddys day last year and my older cousin had found him wandering the streets with vomit on him after drinking a nagan of vodka straight with his mates. My cousin rang my mam because he was worried about him he was falling asleep and really making no sense what so ever , said he done it because my parents wouldn't let him get drink and he wanted to feel what it was like. Says he would never touch vodka again , think his head the next day put him off drinking for life! I'd love to know what idiot went in to an off licence for a few 13 year olds , he even looks young for his age .. i think theres a major diffrence between a 16 year getting a few drinks and a 13 year old drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

?

Pretty obvious bluewolf.
    and this goes beyond underage drinking. Can even apply to an inexperienced but legal 18yo drinking..... and thats spirits are strong. I have had an entire bottle of vodka once or twice and I was out of the game and I even mixed and paced myself.

Imagine letting a inexperienced sibling (weather 16/17 or a legal 18/19) drink vodka. You really willing to trust that they will mix that? or have it straight up... real quick and feel like its not doing much. then boom. Alcohol hits.

And I am speaking from experience here too :) when I was 17 me and my bro shared a bottle of vodka. We had too many shots, unmixed and too quick. We were out of the game. Puking and all. Difference was we did this in the house. Imagine outdoors in some field (or whatever) .. So yeah this is why you be careful of what young inexperienced people drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Depends. I wouldn't buy for 15/16 year olds or any younger, but a 17 year old who is about to turn 18, I would and have. I turned 18 before most of my friends and I bought drink for my still 17 year old friends when we were going to house parties and such.

I highlighted it as many laws have consequences and while I dont think we should pick or choose either, those that do really should consider the potential consequences.

No comparison between a 15 year old and a 30 year old drunk. A 30 year old is responsible for themselves. A 15 year old is a minor and needs responsible adults to take appropriate measures when they are sober, no matter about when they are drunk.

Legally. What I was getting at is that getting in a state is not a consequence of age + drinking but rather the person's attitude towards getting shitfaced and in many cases those that we try to stop doing it at 15 do so at 30 anyways. It suggests to me that the people that will become responsible drinkers when they're older may well be reasonably responsible younger and better off drinking supervised.
    Theres levels. Drinking a few cans at home when parents are in the house & have agreed is not illegal, and relatively safe. Facilitating kids drinking before going out, without clear and agreed boundaries, can border on wreckless. Some people I know whose parents took the liberal approach still went and skulled 350ml bottles of vodka afterwards... Obviously some kids who weren't allowed drink did the same. I see parents outside teenage discos who let the kids drink at home before going out, they get a lift to town, the parents wait, and the kids get safely home. Thats taking responsibility.

The OP didnt instill me with confidence over what they did to ensure their siblings safety afterwards.

Good points. What I would question is whether the number of kids skulling vodka would be better or worse if all parents were liberal or prohibitionists.

Legally. What I was getting at is that getting in a state is not a consequence of age + drinking but rather the person's attitude towards getting shitfaced and in many cases those that we try to stop doing it at 15 do so at 30 anyways. It suggests to me that the people that will become responsible drinkers when they're older may well be reasonably responsible younger and better off drinking supervised.
    Not just legally?
    Getting in a state is surely more likely among young inexperienced youths? And the consequences of getting in a state while 15, with other 15/16 year olds are likely to be worse than getting in a similar state when 30, and you have friends or people around you who wont run off for fear of mammy finding out? Plus 15 year olds can be severely adversely affected by small amounts of alcohol. I know some will say that you need to develop a tolerance, but at least when older the tolerance can be built up in a safer environment.
    Good points. What I would question is whether the number of kids skulling vodka would be better or worse if all parents were liberal or prohibitionists.

I dont know for sure, my gut says strict prohibition wouldnt work in Ireland, and that something resembling liberal parenthood, with agreed limits, is the best outcome. It pains me to admit that but...

Not just legally?
    Getting in a state is surely more likely among young inexperienced youths? And the consequences of getting in a state while 15, with other 15/16 year olds are likely to be worse than getting in a similar state when 30, and you have friends or people around you who wont run off for fear of mammy finding out? Plus 15 year olds can be severely adversely affected by small amounts of alcohol. I know some will say that you need to develop a tolerance, but at least when older the tolerance can be built up in a safer environment.

I don't know how much more tolerance a first time drinking 18 year old legally allowed in clubs has than a 15/16 year old. Part of the problem as you have mentioned is the fear of reprimand from strict parents which again I think supports the idea of liberal supervision. TBH I think we're pretty close to the same page (I might be slightly more liberal)

I dont know for sure, my gut says strict prohibition wouldnt work in Ireland, and that something resembling liberal parenthood, with agreed limits, is the best outcome. It pains me to admit that but...

Teaching kids responsibility for their actions and working towards their ability to deal with their own independence well should be considered important parenting along with things like critical thinking etc. IMO, of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

CoolHat wrote: »
    Pretty obvious bluewolf.
    and this goes beyond underage drinking. Can even apply to an inexperienced but legal 18yo drinking..... and thats spirits are strong. I have had an entire bottle of vodka once or twice and I was out of the game and I even mixed and paced myself.

Imagine letting a inexperienced sibling (weather 16/17 or a legal 18/19) drink vodka. You really willing to trust that they will mix that? or have it straight up... real quick and feel like its not doing much. then boom. Alcohol hits.

And I am speaking from experience here too :) when I was 17 me and my bro shared a bottle of vodka. We had too many shots, unmixed and too quick. We were out of the game. Puking and all. Difference was we did this in the house. Imagine outdoors in some field (or whatever) .. So yeah this is why you be careful of what young inexperienced people drink.

Seriously? I am also coming from experience, and damn right we mixed. Do people actually try to drink it straight? good lord. It's vile. 2 best friends and I split one of those litre bottles to celebrate my LC results when I was 15. Got fairly drunk... in the house. Mixed with cola. Moved on to rum and orange after that another time!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Seriously? I am also coming from experience, and damn right we mixed. Do people actually try to drink it straight? good lord. It's vile. 2 best friends and I split one of those litre bottles to celebrate my LC results when I was 15. Got fairly drunk... in the house. Mixed with cola. Moved on to rum and orange after that another time!

When we started drinking in our teens we drank voldka straight, common practice among 14-17 year olds to knock back a naggon or shoulder in one these days, maybe two for a shoulder.

You did the LC at 15?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

15 YO outside off licence: Will you buy us drink?

Me: Sure! No probs. Always glad to help my fellow man.

15YO: Sweet! Six cans of {**** cheap beer}

Me: OK and how will you be paying for this?

15YO: [takes out money}

Me: Great, now could I just see your ID please?

15YO: WTF?

Me: Under the Intoxicating Liquor Act 2008 I can buy drink for you, but not if you're under 18, so I'll need to see identification to confirm your date of birth and ensure I am in compliance with said legislation.

etc