Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford Half Marathon 10/12/11

13»

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

4 stars (good)
    ecoli - Sub 75
    Tunguska - make the start line
    Pronator - Sub 80
    Brianderunner - sub 83
    BeepBeep67 - Sub 85
    opus - sub 88
    menoscemo- Sub 90
    NWM2 - 90
    aficionado- 90
    Wally Runs 100 or no target?
    bluestone - sub 105
    Corny - 105
    shels4ever - no target
    Tec Diver - No target
    funrunner95 - 105
    JJJJNR - no target really - around 2:30 would be good.
    Itsalltrue - sub 92 but i good run would do
    Podge83 - Sub 78
    Oryx - 110

I must run this as a training run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

ecoli - Sub 75
    Tunguska - make the start line
    Pronator - Sub 80
    Brianderunner - sub 83
    BeepBeep67 - Sub 85
    opus - sub 88
    menoscemo- Sub 90
    NWM2 - 90
    aficionado- 90
    Wally Runs 100 or no target?
    bluestone - sub 105
    Corny - 105
    shels4ever - no target
    Tec Diver - No target
    funrunner95 - 105
    JJJJNR - no target really - around 2:30 would be good.
    Itsalltrue - sub 92 but i good run would do
    Podge83 - Sub 78
    Oryx - 110
    jahaco - sub 91

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

Anyone get their race emails yet?

I haven't. However I have been entered from last year, so I am hoping that they didn't forget me. Are your numbers & hats collected the day before and if so, where? As I said, I haven't got the email yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Yep got my race email today. Numbers can be collected on the morning and goodie bag when you finish...

4 stars (good)
    Didn't get an email yet. Will double check with them tomorrow if theres no sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

Damn. Sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Just wondering at what mileage will the water stations be at for tomorrow?
    Is it cups or bottles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

3 stars (average)
    Water in cups (I think)

Stations shown on maphttp://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/25882062

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

3 stars (average)
    Water was in bottles last two years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭RubyK

Oryx wrote: »
    Didn't get an email yet.

Just checked, and I don't have an email either. I posted off a cheque on 29/11.

4 stars (good)
    RubyK wrote: »
    Just checked, and I don't have an email either. I posted off a cheque on 29/11.
    All I have is a run Ireland confirmation. Just sent them a mail to check all is ok. But not the end of the world, if I don't hear I'll get it sorted out at registration I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

3 stars (average)
    Despite declaring my intention to do this race for the last 11 months i forgot to enter online :o

Ah well its costing me over 100 euro to fly over, whats another 8 euro to enter on the day :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

3 stars (average)
    Despite declaring my intention to do this race for the last 11 months i forgot to enter online :o

Ah well its costing me over 100 euro to fly over, whats another 8 euro to enter on the day :rolleyes:

Nearly did the same myself only remembered Wed night late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sure Meno owes you pints anyway, so you're still not losing out on anything :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Best of luck all morrow ! Weather looks okay .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

Bit nippy down here this morning.....bring your hats and gloves people !
    but at least we have no snow like last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Another well run event in the county of Waterford.
    83:08 for me so well pleased, started strong and got stronger running the last 5k in about 19:20 despite my toes starting to cramp??? New one on me!

3 stars (average)
    Well run event for sure - its what you expect from Waterford Ac and West Waterford AC. They usually get it right.

Missed my target by 1 minute - something to work on.

One point - sort out the microphone and sound system afterwards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

Well done to Waterford AC and a big thanks from Mrs Dilbert to Dave the 1:40 pacer, who kept everyone going the whole way around and helped Mrs. D take a staggering 6 mins off her PB, on the occasion of her 10th half, breaking 100 mins for the first time.

4 stars (good)
    This was a great race, went like clockwork. Good work by the organisers. Even the weather played ball. Really enjoyed it.

3 stars (average)
    Was there a start gun/horn or did I just miss it being out the back? Stupidity reigned supreme in my most comical cock up race. Finished up in 78 nearly three min outside the target

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

No starting gun. No even an audible GO!
    I just bolted when the mass started to move.

3 stars (average)
    eliwallach wrote: »
    No starting gun. No even an audible GO!
    I just bolted when the mass started to move.

I thought we were jogging up to the start line it was only after 300m that I realised the race had started:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Dipity

4 stars (good)
    Thoroughly enjoyed this race today and well done to the organisers. Very well organised and a lovely, friendly atmosphere. Did this 2 years ago and definitely as impressed as I was then. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 dietdiva

where will i find the time results of this marathon please. was a great day for it - dry and fresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭NoGutsNoGlory

3 stars (average)
    great race.. but the start was a shambles.. the clown in the car just said GO and off we went.. lots of people at the back didnt know it had started. lovely weather for it and bottles of water always welcome..

check out www.waterfordac.com for results . probable this evening

3 stars (average)
    ecoli wrote: »
    Was there a start gun/horn or did I just miss it being out the back? Stupidity reigned supreme in my most comical cock up race. Finished up in 78 nearly three min outside the target

You must have passed me at about 9 miles i think. I wasn't too good that stage.

The start was a bit strange all right. There was no call to the line and yer man in the car just shouted go..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Podge83 wrote: »
    You must have passed me at about 9 miles i think. I wasn't too good that stage.

The start was a bit strange all right. There was no call to the line and yer man in the car just shouted go..........

I was up near the front and there was a bit of a count down - 3mins now lads, 2mins, etc. But even a the front the 'GO' was a little on the quite side, surely with 1300 entries they could have bought a whistle or klaxon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭CorkRunning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

Start wasn't too clear, but really made not a blind bit of difference to anyone did it?

Was happy with my first HM, beating my 90 min target by a couple of minutes. Oh McMillan where would we be without your self fulfilling prophesies? Fantastic fast course, with a serious negative split done. Last 2 k was really tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

The start was a shambles. Parking was less than impressive. Why would you stand at the gate AFTER the turn in to the track to tell the folks the car park was full!! Im not convinced over the love in for this event.

3 stars (average)
    dev123 wrote: »
    The start was a shambles. Parking was less than impressive. Why would you stand at the gate AFTER the turn in to the track to tell the folks the car park was full!! Im not convinced over the love in for this event.

Fair play the start wasnt the best. Regards the parking, there was ample and i cant think of any other race where the majority can park right beside the start, finish and showers (and registration, and a track to warm up) in a controlled car park without any hassle.

Agreed. Start was an issue just like the National half. In September I had 10 seconds added to my Garmin time because of it. This time I started near the front and wasn't penalised. Anyway, it was a great race and I found myself running the same course exactly 4 minutes faster than in September in under 88 minutes, a new PB. Negative splits. Helped a lot by having the 90m pacers around me for the first 4-5 miles and was able to draft a bit behind the really big guys up there. They did a great job. Also excellent ambience throughout. Would definitely recommend this race again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭NoGutsNoGlory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

4 stars (good)
    Great race, superb route and conditions were perfect. Well done to Waterford AC. Finishing on the track is an added bonus.

Would really target this next year as part of Berlin training, assuming its going to be the national half course again at the begining of September.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bluestone

3 stars (average)
    1.44 so delighted with that. excellently run race. finishing on the track is a nice touch, thank god it wasnt a full lap!

i did find parts of the route a bit monotonous though. i would prefer a full city route or a country road with the sweet smell of silage (ok i know its a city race!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

I have to say it was a very good run over all and for myself personally (got a PB by over 2 mins), so well done to all involved in organisation.

I don't really complain about events here as they are run by volunteers who put a lot of time/effort in, but have to say the start was a bit poor. I understand they didn't want to keep the main road closed for long, but it was going to be closed for 10 mins, so an extra minute to allow everyone to line up behind the correct pacers would of been quite easy. The other issue was with the chip timing was a bit pointless as there was no start mats (possibly due to the start being on the public road), everyone's time is the clock time. The only people who got an accurate time were those who started at the very front.

Over all was a good day out, would do it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jimbo21

super day for running new pb for me aswell 80.22:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Pronator wrote: »
    Great race, superb route and conditions were perfect. Well done to Waterford AC. Finishing on the track is an added bonus.

Would really target this next year as part of Berlin training, assuming its going to be the national half course again at the begining of September.;)

First run of significance since the marathon and you knock out a 75min half. Great run Ian.

As a postscript and generally, why can't all runners other than seniors have their categories pinned to their backs? i was pipped to first place in my age group by 20s (and there were no prizes for coming second), not knowing who I was running against. Even though I got a massive PB on the day I would have kicked even harder if I had known I was close to winning my age group. I have seen age group details pinned to backs before (and the runners appreciated it) in a x-country race in Phoenix park recently, so it's not a mad idea I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,054 ✭✭✭opus

4 stars (good)
    Enjoyed the run on Sat, finished around a min faster than last year so although I was happy to improve was a bit disappointed to see how much fitness I'd jettisoned since the Berlin marathon. Guess gaining 7kg didn't help me either :o

Great organisation by WAC and was delighted that they got a nice day for it after last years cancellation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

3 stars (average)
    ran a new pb of 1.29. great way to finish the year after the marathon. found the hill at mile 5 tough but dug deep to keep with the pacers. really happy with the race except the start was a bit unorganised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Burgman

jahaco wrote: »
    As a postscript and generally, why can't all runners other than seniors have their categories pinned to their backs? i was pipped to first place in my age group by 20s (and there were no prizes for coming second), not knowing who I was running against. Even though I got a massive PB on the day I would have kicked even harder if I had known I was close to winning my age group. I have seen age group details pinned to backs before (and the runners appreciated it) in a x-country race in Phoenix park recently, so it's not a mad idea I think.

First, let that be a lesson to you - why did you have more in the tank? Reminds me of something I heard a guy say to a runner at a race once: Don't take it home with you.

Regarding numbers on backs: The race in the Phoenix Park was the Gerry Farnan race which is also the trial for selection for the international masters cross-country teams so knowing who you have to beat matters. It doesn't seem to be done otherwise - too much trouble for organisers, and how do they enforce it?

Thanks. Good points! The other thought that occurred to me after I wrote the post was that if I had been the other guy I would have sat on my tail and hoped that the front runner would not realise I was there and come past at the end. So probably you just have to give it your all and try and get to know the opposition at the start! That, and race more frequently!