Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running and Soccer in Athlone

• 21-09-2011 7:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭

Is there a running/harriers club in Athlone and if not, where is the nearest Club and when do they train?

Also, I heard companies like Ericsson have their own Soccer teams. Do they play in a week-night astro turf league or a Sunday 11 a side league.

I want to join a local team that plays during the week.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Pretty sure theres a Tri-Athlon & running club in Athlone, I think they train in AIT but not sure of details. Possible details on athlone.ie or if you are around town call into the TriZone shop on Pearse Street and they might have more info.

Ericsson have an 11-a-side team and play in the Combined Counties Football League (CCFL) Sunday Division 3 (ccfl.ie). All the football teams local to the town itself play in the CCFL so games would be on Sunday 11am or 2.30pm.

A little further out, Moore United play in the Roscommon & District League but I think their games are Friday evening & Sunday morning.

All would train midweek though.

Local and (local-ish) clubs
    CCFL: Ballinahown, Clonbonny FC, Clonown FC, Ericsson, Gentex, St Peters, Monksland Utd, Willow Park.
    RDFL: Moore Utd, Skyvally Rovers.

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭jimmurt

Thanks for the info.

Is there a floodlit/astro turf league during the week?

jimmurt wrote: »
    Thanks for the info.
    Is there a floodlit/astro turf league during the week?

Dont think there is any specific astro league running at the minute but if you call into the Sports Centre they might now of ones planned.

With fading daylight a lot of clubs will probably be moving midweek training to astro soon enough

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Donie75

Jimmurt,
    The Fit4Life running programme has just started in AIT. They are probably still taking applications. They have a few different levels.
    Check it out here http://www.ait.ie/fit4life/
    It's open to all, not just students.

Thanks for the info lads, I'll check it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 knoonan

Thanks for the info.

I don't think the TriA Club is for me as I'm only into running and not cycling/swimming.

I might give the fitforlife a go. Can you test it out and see if you like it before committing? I don't want to pay the €170 fee and only go for 3 or 4 weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

If it's a game of ball you're looking for we play every thursday night at the sports centre,Always could do with a few more

darokane wrote: »
    If it's a game of ball you're looking for we play every thursday night at the sports centre,Always could do with a few more

Sound, I might take you up on that. What time do you play at?

jimmurt wrote: »
    Sound, I might take you up on that. What time do you play at?

8 bells

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Grocery_bag

short 1-4 players for 5 a side soccer in athlone monday evenings at 8:30pm in the leisure centre

anybody interested give us a buzz

all ages and abilites welcome

is that offer still going for players ? there's 3 players here that are mad for a game thursday night. would ye have room for us ?

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭finky1

also need players for astro turf on tuesdays at 8

sorry peoples, i left the weekly game i was going to because of to many kids playing
    Would be interested in a weekly game if one is going

need at least 3 new players for tuesdays at 8 if interested:)

finky1 wrote: »

i'm interested, might have one more, i'll give him a bell tomorrow and let ya know

the more the merrier

i'm interested, might have one more, i'll give him a bell tomorrow and let ya know
    did u get anyone else for tuesday night

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Pretty sure theres a Tri-Athlon & running club in Athlone, I think they train in AIT but not sure of details. Possible details on athlone.ie or if you are around town call into the TriZone shop on Pearse Street and they might have more info.

Ericsson have an 11-a-side team and play in the Combined Counties Football League (CCFL) Sunday Division 3 (ccfl.ie). All the football teams local to the town itself play in the CCFL so games would be on Sunday 11am or 2.30pm.

A little further out, Moore United play in the Roscommon & District League but I think their games are Friday evening & Sunday morning.

All would train midweek though.

Local and (local-ish) clubs
    CCFL: Ballinahown, Clonbonny FC, Clonown FC, Ericsson, Gentex, St Peters, Monksland Utd, Willow Park.
    RDFL: Moore Utd, Skyvally Rovers.

Now now, don't forget the two Melville Clubs and Temple Villa

will be away next week so it will be the week after, i'll contact you before then

Now now, don't forget the two Melville Clubs and Temple Villa

Completely forgot about them! Pretty sure I played a match or in tournament or something for Temple Villa many years ago

let us know any tuesday your stuck, ill play + have more if needed

Grand, tuesdays at 8pm in the all weather pitch in the leisure centre bowling alley. Contact me via email before tuesday regarding players interest.

let us know any tuesday your stuck, ill play + have more if needed
    are u down tomorrow at 8:confused:

will be away next week so it will be the week after, i'll contact you before then

ill play do you need another? i have one more who wants to play

get him just let u know asto is 6 euros each i

please confirm are the 2 of playing tonight at 8