Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway sayings

• 23-09-2011 12:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭

Howya Luveens - Whos next?

• Registered Users Posts: 669 ✭✭✭GalwayGaillimh

Like you know Like!

Si Deus Nobiscum Qui Contra Nos

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Argh ah Jaysus like

"I do be" in stitches laughing at him

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Ya mong.

Ya gomey.

Some feen.

Subla.

You're sh*tehawkin' now!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

You're PURE wrong, hes a PURE mong etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Dya know now who she is...

Ah sure..

I do be..

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Placebo Effect

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Ya mong.

Ya gomey.

Some feen.

Subla

You're sh*tehawkin' now!

Born & reared in Galway City & never heard any of them??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

You serious??? :eek::confused:

From the hills of Glenina to the valley of Shantalla that stuff is used.

You serious??? :eek::confused:

From the hills of Glenina to the valley of Shantalla that stuff is used.

YEP..

Born & reared in Galway City & never heard any of them??

Go way from around meeeeeee, ya handicaped! You're some gomey never havin' heard of those words.

Are you one of those soft feens from Taylors Hill or whaaa?

Subla!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

fo shizzle my nizzle, bitches!

a galway classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

look at the cut of yer wan..

suss lads!!!

sham, its cowld

Oh, God blessus and saveus!

Would ya go away outta that.

Never heard of 'subla'!

Feens and bures...

Will ya shift yer man?

Will you shift my friend?

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭beeintheknow

subla sounds to me like a corruption/derivation of soubelline.

There was a thread like this on here a while back and that was utter rubbish too.

"The head on yooo" beeintheknow..

Here's the old thread from last year, FYI.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Go way from around meeeeeee, ya handicaped! You're some gomey never havin' heard of those words.

Are you one of those soft feens from Taylors Hill or whaaa?

Subla!

I think it may be an age thing...I'm late 30's and 'gomey' or 'subla' or 'feens' I've never heard..in the last few years I've heard 'feeks' , is that the same as 'feens'?

Seems to be younger generation slang...not old Galway,

I think it may be an age thing...I'm late 30's and 'gomey' or 'subla' or 'feens' I've never heard..in the last few years I've heard 'feeks' , is that the same as 'feens'?

Feek!! Forgot that one!
    Gomey head on ya was pretty common when I was a kid..
    Ya haaaandicap (terrible) reminds me of Lurgan Park ... that's where I first heard kids using it! Also 'mowldy'.. (as in mouldy)

feen and bure is traveller 'caint' or 'cant' talk, feen is man, beaur is woman

Jaysis yer wan is some feek!

Ah that's just cat-malodean, you're talking packets!

im 37, heard all these growing up in galway,very common, guess its where u went to school / lived etc

beag , thats another one.. to rob something

lorc.. a car..

Ha ha, forgot about feek and mouldy.

If you were beaging someting you would also be macin' it. You could also be macin' a feen;

Come'ere youngflaa...do I owe you a batin'? What size runners are ya? Gis a go of your mobile?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

"Are ya wide Sham?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He's a good ladeen

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Would ya go way from round me ya gowl bag

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

"Somebody maced my drink"

Some good ones on:
    http://slang.ie/

Here...are ya goin lushin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭BESman

These seem more like general slang you'd hear in most parts of the country, or at least the west, amongst younger folk. Surprised scan hasn't been mentioned. Or shape.

As in "Howya scan, you pullin a lushin shape tonight?"

I've also been told in other parts of the country that they don't understand "anymore". Other counties say "from now on" instead of "anymore". Weird...

Anyway, I think Galway is a bit unique in that the accent is kind of flat and not very distinctive and there isn't a huge amount of indigenous phrases or words. Try living in Dublin, Limerick or Cork. Extremely thick accents and a language of their own to go with it. Galway doesn't really have that.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭whineflu

barone wrote: »
    im 37, heard all these growing up in galway,very common, guess its where u went to school / lived etc

Yeah I went to Marys in the late 80s. Only the boarders from Tuam used to say sham, feen and feek but they gradually spread to everyone over the years. Possibly Travellers who got housed spread that too.
    Also words like "gomey" and "crush" are all new slang. The nacks came up with them and the Jez boys start using them to sound "street". My ould lad never even heard of a lot of them and he is old school.