Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Media bias towards Dublin's win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

MajorMax wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, I'm the only culchie fully paid up member of club 31 on our unit in my office. The rest are West Brits Dubs. Needless to say I was supporting Kerry.

I took last week off and returned to work this morning. My boss has changed my password to dublingaa4ever and taken the day off, which means I can't change the password until tomorrow.

To be fair I did change his password before I left to manunited10 (He is a dedicated Liverpool supporter):)

I will have my revenge

Why would you want to support Kerry over Dublin? Is it because simply your a culchie?. What province are you from? If Munster I could relate to that. If not why not the underdog. I for one as with a lot of GAA fans will always side with the underdog come AI final day if my county are not there, which had been a while until this year. I laugh at the thread dealing with media bias on here, there is merit for one dealing with all other counties hatred of all things Dublin, but lets not go there.

TheGEN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

I'm a Leinster man born & raised and I would have supported the sand people of Tattoine over Dublin, I'm a member of ABD (anyone but Dublin). I still remember the great battles of the seventies between Dublin & Kerry

One third of the population of Ireland and it took you 16 years? Shameful, that's not a battle of skill that's attrition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

Slightly off topic, I'm the only culchie on our unit in my office. The rest are West Brits Dubs. Needless to say I was supporting Kerry.

I took last week off and returned to work this morning. My boss has changed my password to dublingaa4ever and taken the day off, which means I can't change the password until tomorrow.

To be fair I did change his password before I left to manunited10 (He is a dedicated Liverpool supporter):)

I will have my revenge

How did your boss know your original password, did he guess it? Was it duh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

One third of the population of Ireland and it took you 16 years? Shameful.

This is as logical an argument as saying that China or India should have won the Rugby World Cup by now with 37% of the Worlds population between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'm a Leinster man born & raised and I would have supported the sand people of Tattoine over Dublin, I'm a member of ABD (anyone but Dublin). I still remember the great battles of the seventies between Dublin & Kerry

One third of the population of Ireland and it took you 16 years? Shameful, that's not a battle of skill that's attrition

ROFL at your logic.

I get the ABD reference.... its a shameful disease all the same, Do you have a AWBD attitude to working also? or is your job based there :rolleyes:

Galtee wrote: »
    How did your boss know your original password, did he guess it? Was it duh?

How did you know?:eek:

It was really easy, I just painted a mental picture of you based on the content of your posts. ;)

This is as logical an argument as saying that China or India should have won the Rugby World Cup by now with 37% of the Worlds population between them.

2008 Bejing Olympics
    Rank Nation Gold Silver Bronze
    1 China 51 21 28
    2 USA 36 38 36
    3 RUS 23 21 28
    4 GBR 19 13 15
    5 GER 16 10 15

Thanks for making my point for me. China doesn't play Rugby God help us if they start. What they DO play they tend to win based soley on numbers

Galtee wrote: »
    It was really easy, I just painted a mental picture of you based on the content of your posts. ;)

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

2008 Bejing Olympics
    1 China 51 21 28
    2 USA 36 38 36
    3 RUS 23 21 28
    4 GBR 19 13 15
    5 GER 16 10 15

Thanks for making my point for me. China doesn't play Rugby God help us if they start. What they DO play they tend to win based soley on numbers

China has a football team, Where do they rank? - 73rd

You logic fails on so many levels. Sooo many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

2008 Bejing Olympics
    1 China 51 21 28
    2 USA 36 38 36
    3 RUS 23 21 28
    4 GBR 19 13 15
    5 GER 16 10 15

That disgraceful from the Chinese, little Germany&GreatBritain have only 1/20 of Chinas population yet win ~1/3 of Chinas total medals.

You see how completely and utterly flawed your Dublin population argument is yet?

............................................________
    ....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
    .............................,.-”...................................“-.,
    .........................,/...............................................”:,
    .....................,?......................................................\,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:”........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
    ...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
    ...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
    ............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
    .............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
    ...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
    ................................`:,,...........................`\..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
    ...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

OMG, you're worse than originally thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

what a load of crap in this thread.....the reason why they were asked on the late late show is RATINGS nothing else, now grow up the lot of ya.

What does ratings equal? ratings = advertising = money....as if anyone in rte really loves dublin football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

what a load of crap in this thread.....the reason why they were asked on the late late show is RATINGS nothing else, now grow up the lot of ya.

What does ratings equal? ratings = advertising = money....as if anyone in rte really loves dublin football.
    Most people on this forum can grasp this idea but for some people on here coming to terms with fact that dublin have won the all-ireland is just a step to far for them :cool:

That disgraceful from the Chinese, little Germany&GreatBritain have only 1/20 of Chinas population yet win ~1/3 of Chinas total medals.

You see how completely and utterly flawed your Dublin population argument is yet?

"Oh, people can come up with statistics to prove anything. 14% of people know that."
    - Homer Simpson

"Oh, people can come up with statistics to prove anything. 14% of people know that."
    - Homer Simpson

Nicely done, here's another one

Marge, don't discourage the boy! Weaseling out of things is important to learn. It's what separates us from the animals! Except the weasel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

For feck sake would ye all stop whingeing.
    I bet half of ye on crying about it don't even watch the late late.

Early on this thread a poster said "In fairness, everyone knew if Dublin won the match we'd never hear the end of it, and that is just playing out now".

Jesus Christ, they appeared on the show 5 DAYS after the match. The first episode of the show since the game.
    Its hardly "never hear the end of it" stuff.

Unbelievable bitterness on display here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I'd let those begrudgers away with it,it gives them something to do in their spare time from doing nothing.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Really couldn't have put it better.
    RTE may be the national broadcaster but it still has to make money. Putting the Dubs on the Late Late less than a week after their triumph makes perfect sense revenue wise. I'd be interested to see the viewing figures for Friday's show compared to previous weeks. RTE knew they would be higher and so could charge higher rates to advertisers during the show.

And to the few complaining that they "pay their TV licence too", that doesn't give you sole right to determine what is and isn't on RTE TV and Radio. I have a TV licence but do you think I ever want to watch the likes of Nationwide, Fair City or the Late Late? Not a chance.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Yes they do. They're ranked below powerhouses of rugby such as Guyana, Andorra and Cook Islands.
    Population does not automatically lead to sporting success. Simple as.

2008 Bejing Olympics
    1 China 51 21 28
    2 USA 36 38 36
    3 RUS 23 21 28
    4 GBR 19 13 15
    5 GER 16 10 15

Ironically, Ireland are a prime example that you don't need a big population to compete with the best of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

bruschi wrote: »
    true. I was talking to an All Ireland medal winner there over the weekend, and he was thinking about throwing his medal into the sea as it was worthless seeing as his team didnt get to go on the Late Late Show. All those years of training and work to get on the Late Late, and RTE wouldnt do it. Sickening.

Was it for Irish Dancing he won it

Perhaps that is the reason, but imo, our national broadcaster should be completely non-partisan. Their fawning all over the Dublin team was a kick in the face to other counties who have won it previously.

Try this then.

A lot of Polish people live in Ireland and pay TV licence money. Do RTE show all their international soccer games. The answer is NO.

Now if you have the sense to work out why not then we are home and dry and you can spend your time trying to find some a "genuine" reason to feel aggrieved about the Dubs winning the All Ireland

I notice in the farming and forestry threads that you have a post about seeing unusual looking cattle in Meath. Do you think their could be any connection between the logic of both posts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Perhaps that is the reason, but imo, our national broadcaster should be completely non-partisan. Their fawning all over the Dublin team was a kick in the face to other counties who have won it previously.

Every county who wins the All Ireland are given tons of coverage on TV.

In addition to the others I would question how closely you follow GAA (I just know I am going to get an infraction for saying that!).

Every team who competes or wins the AI gets lots of coverage on all media, the Committee Room, although that's fairly new, on radio, TV, also Up for the Match program before the game, Sunday Game from the winners hotel, sometimes there is a Christmas Documentary about the AI winners. Players from the winners team often end up as panelists on the Sunday Game.

Pat Spillane and Daragh O'Shea from Kerry are both regular panelists, as is Joe Brolly and others.

How closely do you follow GAA coverage anyways? And why just focus on the Dubs on the Late Late and ignore the tons of coverage that other winners got, or the almost week in week out coverage and documentaries about people like Paul Galvin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

1. Sour grapes begrudger threads like this bring a smile to this Dub's face.
    2. given the widespread nature of the sour grapes/begrudgery from right across the country, it makes me wonder about the independence of all those referees Dublin have had a raw deal from this last 16 years
    3. No. 2 doesn't wipe the smile off my face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

Twink does Dublin

that would be a great movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

plasmaguy wrote: »
    Every county who wins the All Ireland are given tons of coverage on TV.

In addition to the others I would question how closely you follow GAA (I just know I am going to get an infraction for saying that!).

Every team who competes or wins the AI gets lots of coverage on all media, the Committee Room, although that's fairly new, on radio, TV, also Up for the Match program before the game, Sunday Game from the winners hotel, sometimes there is a Christmas Documentary about the AI winners. Players from the winners team often end up as panelists on the Sunday Game.

Pat Spillane and Daragh O'Shea from Kerry are both regular panelists, as is Joe Brolly and others.

How closely do you follow GAA coverage anyways? And why just focus on the Dubs on the Late Late and ignore the tons of coverage that other winners got, or the almost week in week out coverage and documentaries about people like Paul Galvin?

Good man, ask the woman how much she follows GAA :rolleyes:

Of course there's coverage for other teams on those shows mentioned above - they're dedicated GAA/sports shows!!!

I'm focusing on the Late Late because no other team have appeared in such a fashion for just winning the one AI.

And for those who agree that they do indeed feature more on TV shows etc. to boost ratings, you are proving my point that their is in fact a media bias towards Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭FastFuse

Sigh. It has been answered already.
    Why the special attention for Dublin?
    Ratings = Money. The big television company wants to capitalise and get some money. Not a bias towards the Dublin Senior Football team. Money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

half the population lives in dublin, who gives a crap about leitrum etc...

FastFuse wrote: »
    Sigh. It has been answered already.Ratings = Money. The big television company wants to capitalise and get some money. Not a bias towards the Dublin Senior Football team. Money.

Look up the word bias on a thesaurus, you will see the words: favourtism, one-sidedness, penchant, preference among others.

Many posters agreed that RTE do indeed favour the Dublin team as they make more money from advertising revenue.

/Case & thread closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

thegen wrote: »
    So what, If it upsets you turn off the TV.
    Why should I? I pay my license fee same as anyone else I shouldn't have to switch it off just because Dublin winning the All Ireland is treated like they found the cure to cancer.

lucozader wrote: »
    Twink does Dublin

that would be a great movie

Zip up yer mickey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

On a scale of 1 to 10 of being outrageous, with 10 being incredibly outrageous, this ranks as a 1.

Dublin have been knocking on the door for years, then finally win one, after being written off by everyone, and they get a few minutes on the Late Late, so what?

Most people by the way would love to see a return of the Dublin-Kerry rivalry, not only in finals but also in semi finals, because of the historical rivalry that has gone back probably a century now. It's good for the GAA.

Hope I didn't seem too biased there, not that I am in anyway biased towards either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

have you forgotten how the Dublin team reacted a few years back when Mayo had the cheek to warm up in front of Hill 16? .

Ah i enjoyed that one!

As for the debate as to why do Dublin get treated differently we have to ask ourselves what is it that separates Dublin as a county from the rest to warrant such treatment and the answer is very simple: population.
    Dublin has a quarter (roughly?) of the country's population. That is why as the victory covered a large section of the population.
    Anyways, i dont mind seeing them enjoy their victory. The media will be biased but that cant be helped due to simple population statistics. No need to get too worked up about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭FastFuse

Look up the word bias on a thesaurus, you will see the words: favourtism, one-sidedness, penchant, preference among others.
    On a thesaurus? You're a credit to your gender. :)
    /Case & thread closed.
    Yes please.

Care to explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

As far as media bias, absolutely. The Dublin fans can say it's sour grapes/jealously by everyone else but there hasn't been any objective reporting on Dublins win. No media outlet seems to want to mention that the Dubs always have home advantage in the AI championship. This article states that The Dubs have played in Croker 30 out of 31 times in the past 6 six championhips up to 2011. This years games included, it would bring that figure up to 35 of 36.

http://eircomsports.eircom.net/News/news/gaa/Dublins-home-stand-is-an-unfair-advantage.aspx

...and before Dublin fans respond with "Parnell Park is Dublins home ground" nonsense, I reiterate, 35 of 36 games people! Also Dublin fans seem to believe they have a god given right to Hill 16 so don't bother with any of that Croker is the national stadium guff or that it makes financial sense for he GAA. When one team is given an advantage over the rest on financial grounds, it stops being sport and becomes a money making racket.

Any reporter worth his/her salt would see that this is fairly significant but where's the reporting? Where was the reporting of the disgraceful behaviour of the Dublin "fans" who booed and whistled the Kerry players everytime the took a free kick? Or the fact that Dublin got so many soft frees in the final (or the pathetic decision to "give" Dublin a free kick in the last minute of the Kildare game).

The media wil be w*nking all over themselves for the next decade about Dublins win but none of them want to tell it like it is. That the GAA have done everything in their power to make Dublins win possible.

Will this anti-dublin sh!te ever grow old, you clearly have a big issue with Croke Park staging Dublins games so what shall we petition for you? Shall we move the stadium to every county over the next 31 years and keep the cycle going? or how about we just move it out to the irish sea so nobody can claim 'home advantage'? Stupid arguement to be honest.

Care to explain?

The only thing that could be "on" a thesaurus is the cover. You'd have more success looking in a thesaurus. He was being rather pedantic.

However, to address your previous point, a bias is where one party is preferred over another on a subjective basis. There is no subjective bias here, only an objective bias. The Late Late Show is in the business of putting on a show that as many people as possible will watch. They would have given air time to anyone (within reason) that would assist that goal. Not only is that a reasonable position, it is one that "licence payers" should embrace as the more RTE makes from advertising the less the licence fee needs to be.

If RTE put on the Dublin team just because they like Dublin that would be a bias. Putting them on because they will boost ratings isn't biased, it's good marketing for their product. I'm not biased against men if I aim my product at women, I am just doing the best for my product. Do you see the difference between what you are claiming as bias and simple objective decision making? It's got nothing to do with RTE preferring Dublin, it has everything to do with RTE preferring ratings. If they eschewed ratings for the Dublin team then that would certainly be a bias.

MyKeyG wrote: »
    Why should I? I pay my license fee same as anyone else I shouldn't have to switch it off just because Dublin winning the All Ireland is treated like they found the cure to cancer.

So why watch a 5 minute segment of the late late that quite clearly is upsetting you? Do you really believe this is the ultimate reward to an All-Ireland win? Do you think the likes of Colm Cooper, Brian Dooher & Graham Canty have since discarded their previous All-Ireland medals because of no late late appearance? Seriously find something else to p!ss and moan about as this is just a pathetic version of sour grapes.

Seriously, you make that comment because of a typo? Pathetic.

The only thing that could be "on" a thesaurus is the cover. You'd have more success looking in a thesaurus. He was being rather pedantic.

However, to address your previous point, a bias is where one party is preferred over another on a subjective basis. There is no subjective bias here, only an objective bias. The Late Late Show is in the business of putting on a show that as many people as possible will watch. They would have given air time to anyone (within reason) that would assist that goal. Not only is that a reasonable position, it is one that "licence payers" should embrace as the more RTE makes from advertising the less the licence fee needs to be.

If RTE put on the Dublin team just because they like Dublin that would be a bias. Putting them on because they will boost ratings isn't biased, it's good marketing for their product. I'm not biased against men if I aim my product at women, I am just doing the best for my product. Do you see the difference between what you are claiming as bias and simple objective decision making? It's got nothing to do with RTE preferring Dublin, it has everything to do with RTE preferring ratings. If they eschewed ratings for the Dublin team then that would certainly be a bias.

Exactly, could this be copy and pasted or made a sticky or whatever has to be done to educate the vineyard of sour grapes we have on this thread.

Good post. I'm just a bit disappointed they would sell out like that.

There's no winning with you is there? I prove there is no bias and now you move the goalposts to selling out. Honestly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Clare never got to meet uncle gayboy in 92 after we won the Munster Football Final. Beating the great Kerry in the Final that year.Now THAT was a miracle.:D

Donegal got to meet the great Bibi Basken though. So much for Tubridy.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Flukey wrote: »
    Yes, in the history of the Late Late Show, this is the first time that anyone associated with the GAA has ever appeared on it. On the news bulletins last Sunday evening, for the very first time in the history of RTE, they mentioned what team won the All-Ireland. On Monday night, for the first time in the history of RTE, they mentioned the homecoming of an All-Ireland winning team on the news. During the week the Dublin meeja, [which of course consists of natives of counties from all over the country], wrote stories about an All-Ireland final.

The irony of all of this giving out is that the only time people from the other 31 counties pay detailed attention to the media, is when Dublin are mentioned, leading them to actually believe the sentences of the above paragraph. If they paid a bit more attention, [if you are not from Dublin, please make sure you are sitting down before reading on and have medical attention close at hand], they would notice that all counties get large amounts of media attention.

I really hope the hospitals around the country can deal with the amount of people now heading to them after the shock revelation of the last sentence of my previous paragraph.:rolleyes:
    First of all your sarcasm totally misses the point which makes it all the more ridiculous. Nobody is talking about the fact that there is media coverage. That's completely natural but rather the extremes to which Dublin are getting the coverage. You should get your head round what people are actually saying before flapping on.

Second it's not hard for the rest of us to pay attention to the media coverage when it's being forced down our necks. Last year Tipp stopped Kilkennys 5 in a row we saw the team arrive home on the train on Mondays Six One news and then that's it! It's all over till next year but you know the Dubs deserve something special. Nearly a week on and they're on the biggest talk show in the country.

And thirdly the only teams I can remember getting appearances on The LL Show are teams and clubs that have had success on an international level. Irish cricket/rugby team, Munster, Leinster etc! Not All Ireland winning Counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

Ha ha some of the stuff written here is a bit mad. Seriously what difference does it make to everyone here if the media do favour them. Don't watch it. Don't read it. Don't click on it.

Lads and lassies, Dublin are AI Champions whether we like it or not. They have every right to enjoy their moment in the sun. God knows if my county were lucky enough to win one in the near future I'd go demented. I don't have any issues with it - frankly if my own county doesn't win it I'm not too bothered who does.

All the moaning and whinging from people over the most trivial of things ain't gonna change the result. Get over it - move on.Its kind of ironic too that the op starts the thread about bias and exposure in the media. Do you realise what you've done?

Profiler wrote: »
    Honestly? you are having a go at Dublin over Croke Park?

Given how many people are prepared to part with hard earned and much needed cash to see Dublin play, what other venue in Dublin do you suggest the Dublin Hurlers and Footballers play at?

Despite not being Sam Maguire winners for 16 years, Dublin are the biggest box office draw in the GAA.
    I think he was making a point concerning convenience rather than judging the fact that Dublin play in Croker. Of course they should play there but it's easy to support your team in the thousands when the venue is on your front doorstep. I wonder how well they'd be supported if Croke Park had been built in Limerick or Cork. Try €58 for the train, the price of your match ticket, meals etc.

Seriously find something else to p!ss and moan about as this is just a pathetic version of sour grapes.
    Well you should know about piss1n and moaning. Dublin have been doing it for 16 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

So the Dublin team will be appearing on the Late Late Show tonight and apparently Twink will be presenting them with a cake.

WTF??

I'm not a avid viewer of the Late Late but I'm quite sure the winning football team don't appear every year and have a cake presented to them.

Why the special attention for Dublin?

Begrudgery is alive and well!

Dublin has approx one quarter of the population of the island. With 7 minutes to go Kerry were cruising, up by 4 points and destroying Dublin in midfield. Then the game really kicked into life with a great goal from McMenamin, two superb points from B.Brogan and Nolan and one of the greatest points I've ever seen from Donaghy... until Dublin's goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton kicks the winning point as the clock ticks into added time in injury time and then disappears into the ether!

Forget that from a business point of view from RTE that one quarter of the licence fee players are in Dublin.

Forget the romanticism in games between Kerry v Dublin.

Forget the fact that they're the two most successful Gaelic Football teams in Ireland.

Forget the massive hype for the final with tickets next to impossible to get.

Forget the fact that 1.4 million watched the game on TV (nearly more than double the Ireland v Australia match).

Forget the fact that the swashbuckling Kerry men were beaten by an up-and-coming Dublin team.

Forget the fact a keeper kicked the winning point (and the decency of Tomás O'Sé in handing Cluxton the ball after the game).

Forget the fact that brothers have a real chance of winning 'Footballer of the Year' in consecutive years.

Forget the fact that it would have cost RTE only a few € in bus hire and drinks to fill half an hour of their show.

Forget all the above... and just remember the last 7 minutes of a classic final, and a classic game of Football. That on its own makes the team deserving of a slot on the Late Late show.