Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marian Finucane really on 500k + per year!?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I am comforted to know that Marian Finucane will have 100 Euro extracted from her 500k + per year salary to go towards the Household charge.

The exact same 100 Euro that will be extracted from an unemployed factory worker living in a 1 bedroom cottage in rural Mayo.

It's a fucked up country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

It is way to much money for her. Half it would still be over paid.

Pat Kenny's should be halved too.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

When is her salary renegotiation?

Hello RTE! I'll pay my licence fee if you drop her, plank and tubridy......deal or no deal?

Surely some RTE mole has their contract renegotiation dates and we could mount a petition......

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭JoeGil

Her moralising about the plight of the less well off and how government policy conspires against them while at the same she pockets € 500k+ per annum of taxpayers money is the height of hypocrisy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

How can someone who sounds like the Cookie Monster with a bad smokers cough be worth so much money :confused:

To put her 500k a year pay in context, RTE are semi-state / part government you can say. The same government which is being bailed out by the IMF / UK / EC. To put pay in context, the pay of David Cameron, the p.m. of the UK, a country 15 times our population, and who is on call 24/7 and living under a potential threat from terrorists for the rest of his life, is on £ 142,000 a year sterling.....which is a hell of a lot less than Finunicane. He will not be earning that for ever either + has to stand for re-election. He has far more responsibility + a far higher work load, and always has to watch what he does / says etc. He could not take an impulsive stroll down a street or walk on a beach by himself.
    Dunphy + Geldof were right, we are a banana republic. Have the RTE people no shame ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭someuser905

she spends a long time preparing for her shows. if we didn't pay her right, she could leave RTE. she is entitled to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

she spends a long time preparing for her shows. if we didn't pay her right, she could leave RTE. she is entitled to it.

She isnt entitled to it.Its far too much for anyone to be earning,hell i dont even know what she looks like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

How can that much possibly be justified, in all fairness? I agree people in the media should be paid slightly more than your average person but 500k€ is absolutely insane, the simple fact is that her shows are on for a couple of hours, two days a week. How much preparation could there possibly be?

Marian Finucane should be earning 50k€ absolute max for what she does, which is approximately 1000€ per week, not bad by any stretch. Just there this morning she was procrastinating about the NUI costing 3€ million a year, unfortunately thats what she's after costing the state in the last 6 or so years. I agree with the other poster, this is the kind of crap people are sick of in this country, this total inequality evident pretty much everywhere in the 'public service'. In this regard, it is a kip. Speaking of quangos, RTE is a quango too, not in the traditional sense but in essence,it is something that costs far too much money in a country of 4 million people

Ans 'she could leave RTE' you say? Thats the issue you see, where exactly would she go where she would get comparative pay? Thats called competition in the real world. Let them leave if their pay is threatened to be cut by 75%, I'm sure some of them would, but who cares, bring in new faces. But we all know Finucane would not leave, thats the whole point really, she's being payed that much money pretty much for the sake of it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

So what are her researchers doing?
    Picking their holes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

if we didn't pay her right, she could leave RTE.

Indeed. And she can go work wherever she likes.
    she is entitled to it.

Whaaaaaat? :eek: Nobody is 'entitled' to anything. But if your agent argues that you're worth it, and persuades a broadcaster that they need to pay it or risk losing you, then it's the broadcaster's fault for agreeing to pay these rates.

I wonder, if RTE had maintained the old system whereby they directly employed people, on a PAYE system, would they have been paying this kind of money? Would it have been cheaper to employ them on, for example, fixed term contracts? or as permanent employees?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

gigino wrote: »
    To put her 500k a year pay in context, RTE are semi-state / part government you can say. The same government which is being bailed out by the IMF / UK / EC. To put pay in context, the pay of David Cameron, the p.m. of the UK, a country 15 times our population, and who is on call 24/7 and living under a potential threat from terrorists for the rest of his life, is on £ 142,000 a year sterling.....which is a hell of a lot less than Finunicane. He will not be earning that for ever either + has to stand for re-election. He has far more responsibility + a far higher work load, and always has to watch what he does / says etc. He could not take an impulsive stroll down a street or walk on a beach by himself.
    Dunphy + Geldof were right, we are a banana republic. Have the RTE people no shame ?
    She's also pocketing roughly 200 grand a year more than Barack Obama!
    Shows you just how out of touch with reality RTE execs have become.

She spends a few hours a week coughing into a microphone and they pay her more than the leader of the free world :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

RTE are just part of a golden circle of Public Sector protectionism and cronyism.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

You are either-

a) Trolling

b) Mariane Finucane

c) Seriously deluded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Tell us who would pay her even half of that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

How much does an average sound engineer get in RTE? I bet it is twice as much a BBC employee in the same role or indeed an accountant in RTE.

I can guarantee they are getting crazy wages compared to another company.

Just give a stoll passed the car park some day and see the cars in there.

Freddie59 wrote: »
    RTE are just part of a golden circle of Public Sector protectionism and cronyism.

I agree, and thats been quite obvious for several years now. It cannot continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

please don't tell me my tax that I can ill afford is going towards this nonsence.

Chinasea wrote: »
    please don't tell me my tax than I can ill afford is going towards this nonsence.

ye can turn the hoarse oald cougher off the radio but ye still have to pay for her and tens of thousands of overpaid ***** like her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I agree, and thats been quite obvious for several years now. It cannot continue.

They're doing their ultimate though. This country is - literally - heading for a train crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

if we didn't pay her right, she could leave RTE. she is entitled to it.

I can just see the headline now: RTÉ reduces Marian Finucane's salary for her 4 hours per week for 38 weeks from €550,000 to €50,000. Finucane leaves RTÉ. RTÉ collapses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭donaghs

What can you do to reform RTE? A licence fee boycott wouldn't work as the threat of jail is too severe. I think an effective campaign would be to boycott any product that advertises on RTE - that's a lot of products but if the campaign was big enough there could be dedicated website advertising alternatives. I think that would get their attention fairly quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

I honestly cannot fathom how or why anyone, paid out of the public purse would need more than €100,000 per year. My wife and I are lucky if we clear €50,000 per year between us and though hardly loaded we are more or less comfortable, rear two kids, keep two cars on the road and pay a mortgage. One of us bringing in €100,000 per year would be absolutely unbelievable to us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Haha I love the typical Irish sentiment.

The entertainment industry is in a different bubble to the rest of us. If anyone could do it, we would all be doing it.
    This is nearly are jealous,pityful and spiteful as people having a go at footballers salaries.

No one is putting a gun to RTé's head when they sign of on these salaries. It is just par for the course, most countries top presenters etc. are paid big money.

Just have a read back on this thread and its the normal jealousy and "I hate to see people successful" racket.

If people really feel so strongly, go vote for socialism. There are plenty of political groups, movements and politicians who feel the same, and want everyone to be the same. O yeah, the catch is, that you can't all be wealthy, unfortunately we all need to move down to lower class levels but wahay, we will all be the same right?

Wrong.....

You'll have a moan about a woman getting 500k for 2 hours work on TV.
    I'll have a cry about a mechanic charging me €230 for changing a front light
    He'll have a cry about his next door neighbour getting a new BMW every year from his company.

But are you going to take a drop of your income?

Thought not,

We all have a moan about how "Hey, they dont work half as hard and get twice as much!"

Just remember there is someone behind you in the income ladder saying the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I honestly cannot fathom how or why anyone, paid out of the public purse would need more than €100,000 per year. My wife and I are lucky if we clear €50,000 per year between us and though hardly loaded we are more or less comfortable, rear two kids, keep two cars on the road and pay a mortgage. One of us bringing in €100,000 per year would be absolutely unbelievable to us!

Yup, and then after a few years, you will have adjusted your life to it, and then if you got a salary cut, youll feel the pinch. Not as much as those less off, but you will feel it

I'm not advocating support for the wealthy, I'm simply saying that we always want what we dont have, and sometimes cant fathom it.

I work relatively hard in my job, 40 hours a week and get a decent salary. If tomorrow my boss threw me another 20k on top, I'm not going to say " well, do I really work hard enough for it?"

Nobody holds anyone ransom in a contract negotiation, so I cant ever fathom why the individual is always singled out, very few people in this world, nevermind country, can make demands and get them when it comes to contracts. And contrare to popular belief, its not that common in the entertainment industry as much as the " E-media" would like you to believe.

Instead of going at the individual, why not ask why RTé are not looking into promoting more youthful, modern talent into more prominant time slots.

The RTE football panel is horribly dated, and has been for YEARs, completely out of touch with the game, yet costs millions a year in salaries

TheDoc wrote: »
    Haha I love the typical Irish sentiment.

The entertainment industry is in a different bubble to the rest of us. If anyone could do it, we would all be doing it.
    This is nearly are jealous,pityful and spiteful as people having a go at footballers salaries.

No one is putting a gun to RTé's head when they sign of on these salaries. It is just par for the course, most countries top presenters etc. are paid big money.

Just have a read back on this thread and its the normal jealousy and "I hate to see people successful" racket.

If people really feel so strongly, go vote for socialism. There are plenty of political groups, movements and politicians who feel the same, and want everyone to be the same. O yeah, the catch is, that you can't all be wealthy, unfortunately we all need to move down to lower class levels but wahay, we will all be the same right?

Wrong.....

You'll have a moan about a woman getting 500k for 2 hours work on TV.
    I'll have a cry about a mechanic charging me €230 for changing a front light
    He'll have a cry about his next door neighbour getting a new BMW every year from his company.

But are you going to take a drop of your income?

Thought not,

We all have a moan about how "Hey, they dont work half as hard and get twice as much!"

Just remember there is someone behind you in the income ladder saying the same.

See the two lines in bold?
    Which of the two professions are paid from the compulsory and ever rising TV/Broadcasting licence fee?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Would anyone here honestly refuse her salary if in her position?

I know I wouldn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭OnTheCounter

darkman2 wrote: »
    Read somewhere that MF, who presents 2 shows a week at the weekend on RTE radio 1 (yes, 2 shows per week) is on this sort of money. What the hell? Scandalous if true and it should piss people off big time. How many hours does this woman do for her (2 hour?) shows at the weekend? It may be just me but whenever I tune into RTE on the weekend there always seems to be someone standing in for her on yet another holiday for herself. It's blood boiling stuff, it really is. Time for someone to say stop to this - and with Tubridy and the rest of them. I really don't think given what us mortals are going through Irish people will tolerate much more of this carry on.

What do you think? Can someone please come on and tell us how the likes of Joe Duffy - on similar obscene wages - are deserving of high appreciation of their talents? Joe Duffy likes to have a laugh on Friday on his show. Not alot of people in this country find it too humorous at the present time. But i'd say he is having a good time alright. He won't be worrying about little things like a mortgage. Someone should tell that to some of the goons on his show who ring in and say "ah sure,your one of us Joe".....as if he is living among his flock in Ballyfermot. He is in his fcuk.
    she makes that much for the very same reason premier league footballers make what they do.

people in large numbers are willing to watch them do what they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Why did it take a full blown recession for all this type of nonsense to be exposed?

Unfortunately, most of the crew on that channel are bland as be damned - they need a bit of hard living first.

she makes that much for the very same reason premier league footballers make what they do.

Would anyone here honestly refuse her salary if in her position?

I know I wouldn't.

Firstly . I can decide if i want to pay to watch footballers and contribute toward their wages. I am obliged to contribute toward RTE wages even if i dont watch RTE. Simply owning a computer or lap top obliges me.

The issue isnt with Finucane in person but with her bosses who feel they can use my money to pay her 10 times my familys yearly income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭donaghs

Rubbish, football players prove their worth on the open market. Marian can't earn that in the Irish media private sector. Shes got a cosy semi-state niche, more than half of which is paid for by us and she sure as hell ain't leaving it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Think you have swallowed the entire jar of pills bud...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,319 ✭✭✭emo72

TV licence boycott. Easy peasy. They can't jail a couple hundred thousand people. They probably couldn't jail 10 of us.

Rte probably can't believe that we haven't called them out yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

if she does 2 X2 hour shows that should be about E40 a week = E2080 per year. She should be put on the min wage.

she should get about E10 per hour.