Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How is medical/other health science school going?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

This shouldn't make me feel happy, but I got a little bit stressed out with work today and I'm delighted. :D I've been a tad uninvolved of late and finally feel that I'm actually doing stuff again, if that makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭Biologic

I'm getting a bit frustrated with all the non-medicine cr*p in medical school. Most of my time outside of hospital is spent sorting out vaccination/accommodation/travel paperwork, electives, ethical or reflective assignments etc... It definitely feels like I've forgotten more clinically relevant stuff than I've learned since I sat the USMLE.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Starting what promises to be an easy placement tomorrow. Such a very welcome break. There will be lots of tea, and minimal learning.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Captain Albection

The end of this week and start of the next mark the exact halfway point of final med. Eeep! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Finished my final placement with getting a first and lovely feedback to go with it too. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭Laydee

Just finished 12 weeks of specialist placements so feel very out of practice. I've been out in community, maternity, PHN etc over my few weeks and it ended with ICU. I found myself apologising for being so out of practice because I've been on observational placements. I got through it anyway and it's back out to psych and ID now next week, more observational placements!! I can't wait to be on another ward to actually get into the swing of things again. Only 12 more placement weeks before my internship. Freaked out? me? Never :eek:

Was responding to a PM about what the first clinical attachment is like and instead of mentioning "administering drugs under guidance", I said "taking drugs under guidance". :o Thankfully I noticed it, that would have looked rather more than a little bit dodgy. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Cannot wait to finish this course. I am totally over being a student. I just want a job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 10 MedHead100

Larianne wrote: »
    Cannot wait to finish this course. I am totally over being a student. I just want a job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I cannot agree more....

• Registered Users Posts: 212 ✭✭medic087

Ah guys just finished first semester exams last week ;-p The thoughts of another 4 and a half years seem very long. Just hoping exams went well !!

medic087 wrote: »
    Ah guys just finished first semester exams last week ;-p The thoughts of another 4 and a half years seem very long. Just hoping exams went well !!

It goes surprisingly fast to be honest. :eek: :)

here's hoping so !! :-)

One of the big downsides to being educated is knowing just how dangerous stuff like this is. I think it's the most disgusting thing I've ever seen in my entire life. :mad:

133996023010.png

First in my first semester exams !! Now hard part is to maintain it haha !!

Congratulations..

I remember when I used to care that much...gradually over the years it has somewhat faded and now I just feel like I'm sitting in the waiting room wondering when someone is going to come put me out of my misery...:(

MedHead100 wrote: »
    Congratulations..

I remember when I used to care that much...gradually over the years it has somewhat faded and now I just feel like I'm sitting in the waiting room wondering when someone is going to come put me out of my misery...:(

ah that's not good but i can definitely see where you're coming from. I worked as a radiographer for a year before starting medicine so i'm sure i'll have that feeling all too much when the real stuff starts. Chin up !! I'm sure in a few years time it'll be worth all your work :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

The teaching on our Obs/Gyn rotation is really good. I was dreading it (thought I wouldn't find it interesting and everyone harps on about how difficult it is) but it's been awesome. It seems like such a cool job, a nice mix of medicine and surgery, but apparently the work/life balance is really tough, so probably not for me.

One more week of gynae, OSCEs in neonates and obs/gyn, and then onto my last rotation of 4th year, paediatrics. Time flies.

I'm finished ALL my hospital rotations.

Exams are soon.

Eek! :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Exams are soon.

Good luck with them ( is this the finals coming up???)

RobFowl wrote: »
    Good luck with them ( is this the finals coming up???)
    Thank you!

And yes, yes it is. :D

I'm amazed by how much I now know that I didn't know five years ago. And by how much my career plan has changed. I was so convinced that I wanted to do surgery. I still enjoy all things surgical, but I've realised that I love paediatrics, obs and gynae, GP and emergency medicine too.

I've plenty of exam prep to do, but also quite a bit done. And medical school has been fun so far.

*Spoilered for cliches and sentimentality*
    It's had its horrible moments, including some truly crushing low points, but I wouldn't have done anything else. I really hope I make a decent doctor. And I hope I'll enjoy that as best I can.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Thank you!

And yes, yes it is. :D

I'm amazed by how much I now know that I didn't know five years ago. And by how much my career plan has changed. I was so convinced that I wanted to do surgery. I still enjoy all things surgical, but I've realised that I love paediatrics, obs and gynae, GP and emergency medicine too.

I've plenty of exam prep to do, but also quite a bit done. And medical school has been fun so far.

*Spoilered for cliches and sentimentality*
    It's had its horrible moments, including some truly crushing low points, but I wouldn't have done anything else. I really hope I make a decent doctor. And I hope I'll enjoy that as best I can.

Good luck
    It's wee while since mine (1994) but the finals though hard and far from th ehardest exams of the course. Stress city alright but keep reading and practicing clinical skills and you'll be fine.
    It's tough out there but every job I've done I've enjoyed in some ways. Choose GP in the end an really happy and satisfied with the choice.
    You have obvious ehthusiasm for the career and suspect you'll have a great and satisfying career.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭Jessibelle

Exams are soon.

Lest I miss you in the interim, good luck! and tell himself good luck from me too, I'm so desperate online these days ye may both be consultants before I finish answering all my mail :/

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭wayhey

It's not going well at the moment. It's difficult to vent to med friends about it because I think they've got a much better handle on things right now than I do. Or any I do say it to really haven't listened, it just seems to flip around. ("Oh, you're grand, I've done nooooothing"). My non-med friends are fantastic actually - I'm feeling like a one-way street with them at the moment; feel crap for not making enough time for them and their problems lately.

Anyway, I feel like exams are way too close and I don't have enough time to cover everything. I failed one exam last semester and it really knocked me back, mostly because I studied very hard for it, thought it went okay and found out afterwards. Not by much, but it's demoralising.

And I know it's not going to be smooth sailing all the time, in this or anything, but I guess I'm just feeling pretty despondent at the moment. Just need to somehow get back into the saddle somehow :/ Just can't motivate myself as of late, it's really not like me.

wayhey wrote: »
    It's not going well at the moment. It's difficult to vent to med friends about it because I think they've got a much better handle on things right now than I do. Or any I do say it to really haven't listened, it just seems to flip around. ("Oh, you're grand, I've done nooooothing"). My non-med friends are fantastic actually - I'm feeling like a one-way street with them at the moment; feel crap for not making enough time for them and their problems lately.

Anyway, I feel like exams are way too close and I don't have enough time to cover everything. I failed one exam last semester and it really knocked me back, mostly because I studied very hard for it, thought it went okay and found out afterwards. Not by much, but it's demoralising.

And I know it's not going to be smooth sailing all the time, in this or anything, but I guess I'm just feeling pretty despondent at the moment. Just need to somehow get back into the saddle somehow :/ Just can't motivate myself as of late, it's really not like me.

Hey i can totally see where you're coming from and i'm still only in first year. First semester exams went very well but already burn out is starting to hit me with the thought of doing the same for exams in june.

So done with being a student nurse. Want to just work already, constant assessment is wearing me down. Getting really cranky, bet I'm an absolute pain to be around. Bleugh.

Hey i can totally see where you're coming from and i'm still only in first year. First semester exams went very well but already burn out is starting to hit me with the thought of doing the same for exams in june.
    Same, I got an unexpected first in first year but the thoughts of keeping that up for the exams in May exhaust me.

success breeds success though haha. I'm hoping I'll recharge the batteries this summer even if i do have to work for the majority of it.

You poor thing. :( Been there.

Be nice to yourself. PM open if you need to vent.

I completely, utterly understand.

This is bound to happen. I qualify in 2014, have finished all my medical/surgical rotations and did the exams for them too. You feel absolutely exhausted, like you're doing as much as you can, and yet when you go into the exam you're like "What the hell are they talking about?!"

But one thing to remember is that you're not alone. Yes talking to other medical students can annoy you cause they're always like "Yeah I don't do anything blah blah blah" but you know they are. I find I talk to people and one thing they do come back with is it doesn't matter how much work you put in the grades just aren't reflective of it.

What keeps me going is there's only 1 year left. Yes we're going out into a scary horrible world afterwards, but we have each other and we've got the doctors who have come before us (and they can sometimes be wonderful mentors). And also think of the patients you will get to help, even now I probably have never saved a life, but I know that just by talking and reassuring some people I've made a difference -jesus how soppy that sounds!