Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ltd company but no business or staff in Ireland

Options
  • 26-09-2011 9:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭

Hi all,

I am building an online business using contractors based outside of Ireland. My client base will also be outside of Ireland so the only attraction of setting up a company in Ireland is to avail of the corporate tax & limited liability. Now they are big reasons however I just some feedback to confirm that given my circumstance going Ltd is the right way to go.

Currently I am a sole trader registered for VAT simply so I can claim VAT back on my office rent . That’s it.

All my other expenses (developers cost, server rental etc, software) are purchased from companies outside of Ireland. My income comes from outside Ireland as I work as a contractor on Elance & Odesk so I could literally grab my laptop and leave Ireland in the morning and work from anywhere in the world with good broadband. (I have no house, car etc and pay month to month apt & office rent).

However I am going to stay in Ireland because it’s my home but I do not intend to employ anybody here (I won’t go into the reason why as that will derail the thread) and I will not sell into this country but will declare taxes here.

So should I become a Ltd company solely to get the corporate tax break and limited liability? (The extra accounting costs are not an issue). I think the answer is yes however I do not take the setting up of a Ltd company lightly so would like a second opinion.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭Red Sheds