Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas security. Who vets these guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've never used the Luas, I'm a northsider through'n'through ( :D ) but from reading this thread and a few other's on the STT security guys in the Dublin City Forum I'm growing to believe they're doing an absolute top rate job.

Fair fucks to 'em, I've been offered work with STT and know they're not on top dollar - maybe that should be looked at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Mister Dread

I've never used the Luas, I'm a northsider through'n'through ( :D ) but from reading this thread and a few other's on the STT security guys in the Dublin City Forum I'm growing to believe they're doing an absolute top rate job.

Fair fucks to 'em, I've been offered work with STT and know they're not on top dollar - maybe that should be looked at.

You must work in security then. Wow. Maybe no need to tell us in every second post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You must work in security then. Wow. Maybe no need to tell us in every second post.

Ah you're still here.

Got any more hilarious 'opinions' for us to mock?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Ah you're still here.

Us? Are you part of some gang?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ah you're still here.

Jeeze why are people entertaining him?... I'm guessing he's pissed off with the Luas rattling over his bridge, pissed off troll is pissed off.

I don't think you know what a troll is.

Us? Are you part of some gang?

No. That's not funny.

Try harder.

No. That's not funny.

Try harder.

I'm not trying to be funny. You're one of those cowards that seeks safety in numbers. Have a go at me if you lie but do it as an individual.

And come back to me when you have your own legendary thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Luas is covered by by-laws BTW, so yes they can remove you, no they don't have to wait for the guards. Likewise store security can detain you if they think you've shoplifted, though they're careful doing that since they get in trouble if they get it wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

They should be given Pepper spray for more dangerous situation.

I'm not trying to be funny. You're one of those cowards that seeks safety in numbers. Have a go at me if you lie but do it as an individual.

And come back to me when you have your own legendary thread.

I know you're not trying to be funny. That's why you are. I've refuted your points and you ignore me. Your attempts to insult me are pretty funny too. I await more nonsense with eager anticipation.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

mod:
    Mister Dread banned.
    Trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I like the way this thread has gone, instead of the usual excuse for petty lawlessness and wankery that the OP was making excuses for, as in they were "nice lads" who were doing no harm.

Bollox I say they were retards who wanted to "drink" in a tram on a 15 minute journey when they knew they shouldn't.

So it took, I think, some foreign security worker who was better then the usual Irish bollocky to say "no" you are not allowed drink on the Luas so get off.

There should be more of this, our Guards should adopt the same policy.

So thumbs up to STT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

mod:
    Mister Dread banned.
    Trolling.

I thought he was a grand lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Luas ****!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I'll say. I think they do a difficult job very well, and manage to strike the fine balance between discretion and authority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Well off now and I will be riding the Luas with a new appreciation to these STT guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I would be particularly interested in hearing Makikomi's and other doorstaff/bouncers' opinions on this.

I was coming home on the Luas tonight and I got talking to a bunch of lads who were on their way in to CFJ's. They couldn't have been a nicer bunch of lads. Two from Tipperary, two from Kildare.

They were drinking a can but not bothering anyone. Next thing, these two black-clad thugs started treating them in the way that some knackers should be treated.

They grabbed their cans and threw them off the Luas. I said to them "There's no need for that". They looked at me, and I swear, if it wasn't for the fact that I'm a middle-aged man, they'd have thrown me off too.

The standard of security in this state, and the quality of security guards is slipping badly. Whatever happened to the bouncers who had nothing to prove, didn't have a chip on their shoulder about being turned downed by the guards/army, and used to be capable of cuddling lads out of a pub before trying to start a fight?

Choco

Last year my brother was mugged in broad day light on the luas by guys who got on, drinking cans.

IMO anyone who drinks a can of alcohol in public, especially on public transport IS A NACKER.

It's actually quite intimidating when someone gets onto a luas or bus drinking a can of beer and in the case of my brother that intimidation turned out to be a real assault.

I say well done to the security - it is actually against the law to drink alcohol in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

peanuthead wrote: »
    Last year my brother was mugged in broad day light on the luas by guys who got on, drinking cans.

IMO anyone who drinks a can of alcohol in public, especially on public transport IS A NACKER.

It's actually quite intimidating when someone gets onto a luas or bus drinking a can of beer and in the case of my brother that intimidation turned out to be a real assault.

I say well done to the security - it is actually against the law to drink alcohol in public

I'm with you that these lads were right to be kicked off...but the bolded part is a bit strong, no? Students would hardly be classified as knackers. Just overgrown kids. And we all did it when we were younger, knacker-dri...actually wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

I wonder could the same policy be taken on Dublinbus as the amount of ****wittery and people smoking/drinking down the back of the bus is a joke.

I say well done to the security guards who enforced the rules on these guys who dont have the common sense to not drink on the luas for what is a very short journey. They have nobody but themselves to blame for what happened and you can be sure of one thing..they will think again before blatantly disobeying the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I love the Luas security :eek: First of all they're all 6ft burley lads that are very easy on the eye! ;) And second of all, they're always nice and pleasant to people. I've seen them engage in conversation with passengers plenty of times.

The reason they're on the Luas is because of all the dodgy passengers that drink and shoot-up on the Luas, who end up causing trouble so there's a zero tolerance when it comes to it. Good enough I say, I don't want to be sitting on the Luas with some numpty drinking beside me....go to a pub! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

jees you'd swear I got paid every time I said the word Luas :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

pity they can't do the same with fare evasion on the red line, serious case of double standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Technically, buses from Cork to Dublin, trains and such are all public transport, if I'm sitting on a train for 3 hours I'm gonna have a few cans and clean up after myself. I wouldn't consider that knackerish at all.

I really don't see the point in drinking on the 15 minute journey into town when there are signs, at least get a hip flask and be discreet about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

I would be particularly interested in hearing Makikomi's and other doorstaff/bouncers' opinions on this.

I was coming home on the Luas tonight and I got talking to a bunch of lads who were on their way in to CFJ's. They couldn't have been a nicer bunch of lads. Two from Tipperary, two from Kildare.

They were drinking a can but not bothering anyone. Next thing, these two black-clad thugs started treating them in the way that some knackers should be treated.

They grabbed their cans and threw them off the Luas. I said to them "There's no need for that". They looked at me, and I swear, if it wasn't for the fact that I'm a middle-aged man, they'd have thrown me off too.

The standard of security in this state, and the quality of security guards is slipping badly. Whatever happened to the bouncers who had nothing to prove, didn't have a chip on their shoulder about being turned downed by the guards/army, and used to be capable of cuddling lads out of a pub before trying to start a fight?

Choco

Most people drinking on the LUAS aren't "bothering" anyone until they are bothering them. The job of security is to stop them before it gets to that.

Saying they were nice lads is some what irrelevant. The security just know they are drinking on the LUAS, which normally translates to trouble. Most people don't feel the need to drink on the way to some where, those that do are normally out to get drunk, which again translates to trouble.

Act like a knacker and you will be treated like a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Technically, buses from Cork to Dublin, trains and such are all public transport, if I'm sitting on a train for 3 hours I'm gonna have a few cans and clean up after myself. I wouldn't consider that knackerish at all.

I really don't see the point in drinking on the 15 minute journey into town when there are signs, at least get a hip flask and be discreet about it.

They even sell booze on trains...so it's hardly a knackering thing to buy yourself a can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I would like to apply for the job as luas security vetter- man handle me you Eatern European ride ya!

Nice- jobs yours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭SooooBored

Opinion seems to be split down the middle, you could prob argue for both sides.
    One point im sure is valid is that the security must act fast and by removing the persons involved off the luas was the right move. They straight away have any potential trouble moved from an very enclosed area to a more open platform. And all the 4 lads had to do was wait no more that 5 mins for the next luas, no big deal, They prob had no tickets in anyways.

Was having a sneaky can my self one night on the way in2 town and the security guards just told me to keep hidden, they were sound bout it, no probs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Well, the thing is, if you are on a 3 hour journey from Cork to Dublin and you absolutely need to have a few cans then fair enough. If I saw you doing that I'm sorry but I would think you are a bit rough and be intimidated by that. Judgmental it may be, but it is my honest opinion.

Maybe its because I live in a part of Dublin where that happens a lot and is usually accompanied by idiots blaring music out of their mobile phones and collecting in gangs on busses/luas whatever to have a party, get together, smoke a bit...

For me drinking alcohol is about 2 things: socialising and relaxing. If I want to socialise I go out to a pub and drink beer or whatever with my friends and if I want to have a few beforehand I have them at home, not on the bus on the way in.

If I want to relax I might have a glass of wine at home after a long day, in bed or in the bath or something like that. Not on the bus on the way home.

If I see someone drinking alcohol on the bus on the way home, regardless of how long the journey is, I'm just thinking that you have a dependency on it and that you may be a little rough, I'm not thinking that you're just relaxing because to me, a bus full of people is not the place to relax. And like it or not, it is against the law.

I'm willing to admit that this might be a little narrow minded, but I can't help the way that I feel about it.

The same to the poster above who says "Is it not a bit extreme - students do it all the time" - Well, no its not. I went to UCD and the absolute state of students pouring onto the busses full of alcohol out there some nights was terrible. I don't know, a lot of old people must live along the number 10 route cause the bus would always be full of them! They would always end up either getting off the bus early or not getting on at all when the busses were like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Well, the thing is, if you are on a 3 hour journey from Cork to Dublin and you absolutely need to have a few cans then fair enough. If I saw you doing that I'm sorry but I would think you are a bit rough and be intimidated by that. Judgmental it may be, but it is my honest opinion.

I was sitting on the train the other week and a very well dressed man with an ipad was drinking beers that the trolley sold him, would you judge that?

I doubt not, it's nothing to do with the beer it's the cheek of poor people to do it around you.