Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlos Tevez refused to come off the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

delighted....great that all those who slammed united and fergie for not doing everything to keep him, now see the true colors of the man.

what a horrible example of a professional football player, 300k a week and to act like this for the past year.

Meh, gloat all you want but the fact is that Tevez has been a very, very successful signing for City for the last two seasons and the club wouldn't be where it is without him.

I for one wouldn't change anything that's happened up to last night (except him keeping the captaincy at Christmas).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If City sack him does that mean he is then a free agent??

If I were City I would have him train with the kids (talking 14-15 year olds in the Academy) every day, it won't be long before he blows his top and stays away. Then City can fine him and continue to fine him as long as he is absent so they are not paying him. And even if he does turn up City can afford to make an example of him anyway. Hold him there for the rest of his contract, training every day with the youth teams for the next 3-4 years. Don't let him buy out his contract and refuse any bids from other clubs tho I'm not sure who exactly wants him now anyway seen as clubs weren't falling over themselves to sign him during the summer.

The guy has been trouble all his career!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Sounds like greedy agents advising him not to play in the Champions league because he want's to leave in January? being cup tied an all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Anyone got a link to a vid of Dzekos strop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

Sounds like greedy agents advising him not to play in the Champions league because he want's to leave in January? being cup tied an all?

No he came on at the end of the Napoli game, so it's not that. Just him being a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

he will take in a minimum salary of a million pounds a month if he is left to rot in the reserves, so i hope they sack him, but hold his registration until the end of his contract...not sure if that is possible though from a legal point of view.

either way, this is all quality from a united perspective...city thought they were getting one over, where as all he has done is succeeded in makign the club look like a laughing stock, again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

so i hope they sack him, but hold his registration until the end of his contract...not sure if that is possible though from a legal point of view..
    Its not. They can fine him two weeks wages (IIRC) and that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

adox wrote: »
    Tevez's agent has told ssn this morning he didn't refuse to play and it was a misunderstanding.
    Fixed your post. My love for the greed is good league wanes even further. Not only have I not renewed my Sky subscription I find it difficult to watch Match of the Day these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Funky G

Degag wrote: »
    I've gained alot of respect for Mancini too but i have to think what SAF would have done in a similar situation. Don't think we'd have heard anything in a post match press conference even if a MU player did what Tevez did.

Disgraceful behaviour, I have no doubt that if Milan, Madrid, Barca etc came looking for him all this talk about moving back to Brazil would be forgotten about.A parasite, i hope he rots in the reserves, not likely though.

I think fergie would have done a beckham and thrown a football boot / hairdryer or something of considerable size and weight to a player who refused to come on to the pitch.

imagine if tevez done this stroppy act in south america? there would be riots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Its not. They can fine him two weeks wages (IIRC) and that's about it.

im sure, if he broke the terms of his contract, they can sack him anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Funky G

adox wrote: »
    Tevez has told ssn this morning he didn't refuse to play and it was a misunderstanding.

How can tevez's agent say such crap?

is tevez like a vicky pollard character - yeah but no but yeah but no....

mancini - tevez, you coming on.
    tevez - yeah but no but yeah but no....
    mancini - YOU ARE GETTING ON THAT PITCH YOU SPOLIT LITTLE €200K A WEEK BRAT
    tevez - but cooooooach (a-la eric cartman) its raining and my hair will get ruined and the bench is much closer to my family than the pitch.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

he will take in a minimum salary of a million pounds a month if he is left to rot in the reserves, so i hope they sack him, but hold his registration until the end of his contract...not sure if that is possible though from a legal point of view.

either way, this is all quality from a united perspective...city thought they were getting one over, where as all he has done is succeeded in makign the club look like a laughing stock, again.

Incorrect, that's not 'all he has done', but you'll continue to post nonsense to the contrary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Tevez has been unreal for City, and for the last two seasons has scored 52 goals in 84 games, he has been a great signing for City. Obviously now it's time to get rid but without him they probably wouldn't be in the Champions League.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Is it possible he was thinking of getting a move away in January and didn't want to get himself cup-tied for the CL as it would make him a less attractive prospect for cointinental clubs? Real sneaky if so.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Meh, gloat all you want but the fact is that Tevez has been a very, very successful signing for City for the last two seasons and the club wouldn't be where it is without him.

I for one wouldn't change anything that's happened up to last night (except him keeping the captaincy at Christmas).

That just makes his behaviour all the more appalling. He was an iconic figure to ye and he couldn't give a sh*t about ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,468 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

flahavaj wrote: »
    He was an iconic figure to ye and he couldn't give a sh*t about ye.

any City fan worth a damn will have known he didn't give a shít about them.

he was a commodity, that is it.

the club got what they needed, and he wants what he wants now.

his actions are deplorable, and City fans, i think, do wish he didn't do it, but the fact of the matter is he was a major reason they are where they are.

this, my friend, is modern football. like it or not.

SlickRic wrote: »
    any City fan worth a damn will have known he didn't give a shít about them.

he was a commodity, that is it.

the club got what they needed, and he wants what he wants now.

his actions are deplorable, and City fans, i think, do wish he didn't do it, but the fact of the matter is he was a major reason they are where they are.

this, my friend, is modern football. like it or not.

I don't think they could quite have predicted he'd have f*cked them over as thoroughly and rigourously as he did though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I don't agree about city being a laughing stock, this is all about tevez, I think city could come out looking quite well if they make a stand against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

That just makes his behaviour all the more appalling. He was an iconic figure to ye and he couldn't give a sh*t about ye.

Sadly you could say the same for a lot of footballers these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Is it possible he was thinking of getting a move away in January and didn't want to get himself cup-tied for the CL as it would make him a less attractive prospect for cointinental clubs? Real sneaky if so.
    As has been said earlier in the thread, he played in the Napoli game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Reminds me a bit of Van Hooijdonk going on strike at Forest back in the late 90s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

is it because he didn't want to be cuptied?

Des wrote: »
    is it because he didn't want to be cuptied?

he came on against Napoli in the 81st minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I wonder could City sue him?

His contract is to play football with city for x number of years. Last night he breached his contract. City can surely fire him, but can they sue him for what he's been paid(or part-of) for the contract to date?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

SlickRic wrote: »
    he came on against Napoli in the 81st minute.

lolz, you fell for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I don't think they could quite have predicted he'd have f*cked them over as thoroughly and rigourously as he did though.

How has he ****'d them over so badly? He refused to come on as a sub in one game. Despite him constant moaning in the press up until now on the pitch he has always been excellent for them.

You answered your own question with your very next statement.

If you don't think he has f*cked City I suggest you take a look again at Mancini after the game. Mancini's reaction would suggest that he has indeed blagguarded City pretty badly with his actions last night, the man was stunned and outraged in equal measure. I actually felt sorry for Mancini, he always comes across as a decent aul skin. He looked like he had aged ten years in 90 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

lolz, you fell for it.
    I was about to jump on it, but then guessed that you were taking the piss.:D

lolz, you fell for it.

i'm missing something.

i'll run along :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

mark hughes has gone waaaayyy down in my estimation after that interview..souness ,thumbs up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

niallo27 wrote: »
    Sadly you could say the same for a lot of footballers these days

Couldnt say that about our Luka Modric , he's got up and got on with it , a diamond!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

barone wrote: »
    mark hughes has gone waaaayyy down in my estimation after that interview..souness ,thumbs up

For me, it was his stupidity in walking out of the Fulham job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

It was the RTE Graeme Souness last night I thought, spoke the truth and fair play to him. The influence of Bill and the boys!

You answered your own question with your very next statement.

If you don't think he has f*cked City I suggest you take a look again at Mancini after the game. Mancini's reaction would suggest that he has indeed blagguarded City pretty badly with his actions last night, the man was stunned and outraged in equal measure. I actually felt sorry for Mancini, he always comes across as a decent aul skin. He looked like he had aged ten years in 90 minutes.

Well considering what he has done for the club I don't think you can say by refusing to play one match he has rigiously ****'d over the club since he was signed. All City fans and even the owners are still happy they signed him.

Clearly he hasn't f*cked them over since day one. But he has done his best to render null and void and goodwill he bult up with his impressive displays over the two years he has been there with one single act. Just like every other club he has left in his career, (with the possible exception of West Ham), he will leave under a cloud. Thats Carlos for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

im sure, if he broke the terms of his contract, they can sack him anyway....
    They can but they can't then keep his registration and sell him for a fee as the other poster stated. He'd be a free agent if they sacked him and its likely that they wouldn't be able to prove he breached his contract anyway, hence the "I didn't refuse to play" denial today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

He has constantly undermined the club, manager and players.
    Helped unsettle the dressing room
    He publicy slagged off Manchester on TV
    and now refuses to play
    When he has actually been on the pitch, yes he has done well, but the scales have been tipped and City dont really need him as much anymore

Cant think of a worst example to set

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

This notion that he's making City look a laughing stock is crazy.
    In fairness to Tevez, he has been successful at every PL team he's been at-he almost single-handedly kept WHU up,we know his exploits in Manchester.
    City will come out of this smelling of roses because they can afford to punish him whatever way they see fit.
    Hopefully the full works and send out a clear message to his team-mates and other potential signings that City are not just a name on the bottom of the pay-cheque.

He has constantly undermined the club, manager and players.
    Helped unsettle the dressing room
    He publicy slagged off Manchester on TV
    and now refuses to play
    When he has actually been on the pitch, yes he has done well, but the scales have been tipped and City dont really need him as much anymore

Cant think of a worst example to set

Ask any City and I think they'd still tell you they are still happy they signed him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

Johner wrote: »
    Tevez has been unreal for City, and for the last two seasons has scored 52 goals in 84 games, he has been a great signing for City. Obviously now it's time to get rid but without him they probably wouldn't be in the Champions League.

i think it was richard nixon who once said "that was then, this is now"
    he was good in the past but now things are different, get rid and time to move on. live in the present and look to the future. the future is still very bright despite what the sad people/kids have to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

kfallon wrote: »
    If City sack him does that mean he is then a free agent??

If I were City I would have him train with the kids (talking 14-15 year olds in the Academy) every day, it won't be long before he blows his top and stays away. Then City can fine him and continue to fine him as long as he is absent so they are not paying him. And even if he does turn up City can afford to make an example of him anyway. Hold him there for the rest of his contract, training every day with the youth teams for the next 3-4 years. Don't let him buy out his contract and refuse any bids from other clubs tho I'm not sure who exactly wants him now anyway seen as clubs weren't falling over themselves to sign him during the summer.

The guy has been trouble all his career!

While I agree that this would be fair punishment for Tevez, I wouldn't wish him on the academy players. His negative influence could ruin them.

On the other hand..... it could warn them what not to do if they end up staying at City....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Ask any City and I think they'd still tell you they are still happy they signed him though.

Of course, it could be argued that his goals single handedly got them into the CL.

Unfortunatelyy his actions now mean they could soon be out of it

Of course, it could be argued that his goals single handedly got them into the CL.

We already have a ready made replacement, and we still have a good chance of qualification, in actuality we are in about the same situation as United as things stand.

Even if we don't succeed this year in the CL, then it's looking that we will probably be there next year, and the year after, if City fans are anything, we are patient, we've had to be.

karma_ wrote: »
    We already have a ready made replacement, and we still have a good chance of qualification, in actuality we are in about the same situation as United as things stand.

United's group is far easier on paper and they are a point closer to the ten thats generaly needed to go through. Their prospects couldn't be further removed tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I still fancy City to qualify, even though Bayern and Napoli are favorites. Just think City will accumulate more points than Napoli throughout group. Bayern will probably top the group, but it wouldn't surprise me if City beat them at Eastlands and get in with a shout.

How? Can't really argue it had an effect on last nights result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

United's group is far easier on paper and they are a point closer to the ten thats generaly needed to go through. Their prospects couldn't be further removed tbh.

Yeah, City are 11/10 to qualify, United are as short as 1/33 with some bookmakers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Kia Joorabchian's team disclose statement in full. :pac:
    from LiterallyJamieRedknapp on twitter

x2_8807b1f

And on paper United should have beaten Basel at home. Bayern were always going to be difficult away for us.

Now, I'm not saying we will qualify, but we certainly have the ability to do so.

karma_ wrote: »
    And on paper United should have beaten Basel at home. Bayern were always going to be difficult away for us.

Now, I'm not saying we will qualify, but we certainly have the ability to do so.

Oh I agree ye still have a decent chance of going through, but to say United's and City's prospects are similar is a bit of a silly statement in the context of their remaining opposition and current points total.