Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kyle Walker

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Fantastic prospect, still has a bit to learn defensively but no doubt he's one for the long-term. Will have a bit of competition from a few of the Liverpool youngsters for the England RB slot, but he looks the best out of all them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Good timing for a walker thread....get in lad :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

played excellent today. would defo have him at right full ahead of corluka.

nice way to get your first goal for spurs eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

keane=cock wrote: »
    played excellent today. would defo have him at right full ahead of corluka.

nice way to get your first goal for spurs eh?

corluka wouldnt take a shot on if he was one on one with the keeper

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

From his interview yesterday and the way he spoke gave the impression of a confident young man.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Also gives us the option to do a Bale with him. wouldnt mind seeing him play on the Right wing ahead of Corluka for the bigger games. Hes a big powerful pacey lad, excellent going forward and would provide good cover For corluka aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Mullo76

oppiuy wrote: »
    Also gives us the option to do a Bale with him. wouldnt mind seeing him play on the Right wing ahead of Corluka for the bigger games. Hes a big powerful pacey lad, excellent going forward and would provide good cover For corluka aswell

Think we would be better off developing him as a right back and getting a settled and strong back 4 together. He looks the real deal and will only come on with more games. Him and Rose as long term full backs IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Wendell Gee

Love the confidence he shows. One quibble; what the hell was he at for the Arsenal goal. He was isolated, there's no doubt that Lennon works harder tracking back than any other rm, but he was too far from the endline, not running toward the crosser, and he stood with his hands behind his back! I really rate him, but are these lads being coached to improve. Similarly, Bale was strange yesterday. Everytime he was on the ball he ripped Arsenal up, but he spent long periods standing around, wasn't showing movement to offer BAE an outball, and didn't cover Sagna as well as he should. One time Parker did 2.5 360 degree turns waiting for someone to show for him, and Bale was nowhere to be seen. We have as almost much talent as Chelsea, but are younger players improving in their reading of the game, their ability to dominate? I'm not sure. This might sound stupid, but already looking at Parker, I see him as a coach. He sees the game very well, obviously a really intelligent player. He can bring Sandro, Lennon, Bale and even Thudd to the next level by being our midfield general. He looks like he was born to play for Spurs. Imagine if he had been around last year, or for that matter in 1982 or 1987.
    Totally agree about Rose. He is looking the real deal for lb, and will put pressure on BAE, a good thing.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

I agree that Walker was in a bad position for the Arsenal goal (should have been closer to the line) but he wasn't the only one. There were 3 free Arsenal players behind him. It was bad defending all round, so blaming someone on their own is a bit unfair.

Plus, he made up for it anyway :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

For me VDV was to blame for the goal! Lazy covering as usual. I think he may turn into an impact sub the way he is going....

Walker offers so much more than Charlie. Re keeping him right back - i wholeheartedly agree we need a settled and solid back four!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

For me VDV was to blame for the goal! Lazy covering as usual. I think he may turn into an impact sub the way he is going....

Walker offers so much more than Charlie. Re keeping him right back - i wholeheartedly agree we need a settled and solid back four!
    VDV wasn't lazy he just isn't fast I think I could probably out run him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

VDV wasn't lazy he just isn't fast I think I could probably out run him.

I would need to see it again but at the time i thought he showed him down the wing far too easy. Song made it to the position the cross was put into with absolutely no pressure from VDV at all. He is slow tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

agreed that vdv was no where to be seen - well he was seen spluttering and wheezing when tracking back.

playing him on the wing wont work i dont think - he is a great scorer of goals and behind the front man is where he is best.

lennon for me is our right winger and thats the end of it.

vdv and defoe to take turns at parterning ade

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭irishmover

mickman wrote: »
    lennon for me is our right winger and thats the end of it.

Not at the moment he isnt. He's been very very poor since he had the falling outs with Redknapp last season. And he's just recovering from injury having not felt good in the first half against rovers last week.

Not to mention his final ball is appalling and has never improved. I'm not sure if we'll see him back to his top form of a few seasons ago again at spurs, judging by how things developed the second half of last season.

:D:D:D Keep it going Kyle ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Certainly could be a great player, occasionally has the positional sense of a badger on a motorway but hopefully he will continue to learn. Hope King retires and takes up a coaching role, surely he can pass on some great knowledge, then again, i thought Les would have taught Defoe how to stay onside as well and that didnt happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭yidweiser

mushykeogh wrote: »
    Certainly could be a great player, occasionally has the positional sense of a badger on a motorway but hopefully he will continue to learn. Hope King retires and takes up a coaching role, surely he can pass on some great knowledge, then again, i thought Les would have taught Defoe how to stay onside as well and that didnt happen.
    Yep, Kyle gets caught out by some players but is still learning.
    By jaysus, he is endlessly better than Hutton though.
    How did we get $4m for him. Poor Villa!
    Are you Nethercott in disguise!

Les is too busy chasing the players' WAGS and hammering the entertainment bar tab at the Lane to teach anyone :)

Signs new contract runs until 2017. That's good from Levy :)

From the horses mouth. Why can't more of our players talk like this?

@kyle28walker: Happy to have just signed a contract extension. My future is at the club and I believe we have big things 2 come. thanks for the tweets#COYS

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Great news. Was kind of worried there'd be a big bid in for him this summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Just saw the story on SSN

Looks like we have the best RB in the country on our books for another 5 years. Great result.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Fantastic news!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭golfball37

yidweiser wrote: »
    Yep, Kyle gets caught out by some players but is still learning.
    By jaysus, he is endlessly better than Hutton though.
    How did we get $4m for him. Poor Villa!
    Are you Nethercott in disguise!

Les is too busy chasing the players' WAGS and hammering the entertainment bar tab at the Lane to teach anyone :)

Leave poor Stu outta this, he's still getting over the miss that cost us the FA cup in 95. :P

Tramezzani was even worse than him and thats saying something.

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    Fantastic news!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

great bit of business.

he is defo one for the future. can only get better

According to ben Pearce he's playing with a broken toe but he's getting an injection and will play at the weekend!

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭yidweiser

I doubt Modric would?
    Audere est Facere Croat Surrender Monkey!
    Probably a bit harsh...... but feck it!
    If the needle is good enough for Ledley, it's good enough for Kyle!
    Picking up the mantle of becoming a Spurs legend :)
    These are the type of people we want playing for us at the Lane.
    I have been to many grounds but every time is a special occassion at the Lane, even when we lose.
    The atmosphere gives you goose bumps.
    In my opinion, best ground in the PL with St. James's Park second.
    Haven't been to the Potters? Maybe, joint second!

Given a disgraceful amount of abuse by some over the last few weeks. Most are now saying he was a one season wonder, not for me. He's still an excellent full back in the makings,and I really hope he gets his head down, works hard and things turn around for him. COYS

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

I agree. He has fantastic potential but he let Mata's great game get to him too much and it cost him.

He has been very poor so far this season, i hope someone gives him a kick up the hole and he gets back to his flying ways of last season!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Cianan2 wrote: »
    i hope someone gives him a kick up the hole

This is all he needs i think, probably has switched off a little bit after having such a good year last year, goes from being on loan at villa, to first team at spurs and england regular and thinks "iv made it" and stops working that little bit.