Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to ban cigarettes?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I would suggest the opposite - VIP wings to all our hospitals for smokers only. Rose petals to be strewn, red carpets outlaid and golden bells rang in our honour as we pass finally through the healthcare system that we paid for.
    You healthy gits can watch in awe. I permit you.

Yours sincerely

A Smoker.

(60 a day and over gets a wee brass plaque, the 100+ merchants get to name the bed after themselves.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Smoking in public should be banned
    I ****ing hate cigarettes with a passion.

Any one that smokes is a ****ing idiot.

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭phily2002

realistically there should be some long term ban brought in. It would be unfair for people who smoke to go cold turkey so they should raise the smoking age every year by 1(faze it out). all the tax talk aswell, if people aren't smoking they'll spend the money elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

Stinicker wrote: »
    Nah, I'll let them for you and get a classy woman who has a real scent besides stale cigarettes.

coming from a man whose username is an anagram of "i c stinker". :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

As an xsmoker I totally agree with you, what a stupid stupid habit, I actually shudder at the amout I have spent over 20 years of smoking it would easily be over 60 grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Well if you ever have an accident and need a blood transfusion or if you ever have kids and they need a platelet donation make sure you ask the hospital staff if the donor is a smoker. I'm sure you wouldn't want any of my platelets or the blood donations of these "idiot" smokers, such as myself, to be given to you or yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

4leto wrote: »
    As an xsmoker I totally agree with you, what a stupid stupid habit, I actually shudder at the amout I have spent over 20 years of smoking it would easily be over 60 grand.

If you were not smoking you probably would have just spent it on beer or pointless consumer products.

No point in pretending you'd have invested it wisely.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Hows the view from that high horse pal.

also anyone is one word... not that i would be calling anyone an idiot you see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CoolHat

Oranage2 wrote: »
    - Some good points but smoking causes heart disease and cancer

- a quick google search says It costs the State €1 billion per year to provide health services for smokers (Department of Health and Children).

Do you think we make a billion off ciggette tax to pay for this?

Ah yes cause Google knows all right.
    Sure take this for example. Google tells me that as of last year 22.2% of people smoked in Ireland. But lets round it off to 20%.

- As of the recent census. There is 4 million live in Ireland.
    - So that's roughly 800,000 people that smoke.
    - Some people smoke 20 smokes a day. Some people smoke 40 smokes a day. Average in my experience of being a smoker and seeing other people is average 20 smokes per day.
    - We roughly pay €3.50 on tax on each pack.
    - 800,000 packs x €3.50 tax = €2,800,000 (daily smokes)
    - €2,800,000 x 7 days = €19,600,000
    - X52 weeks = €1,029,600,000

So what is it?
    you're right?
    Im wrong?
    or is google a load of crap?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Wow..blah blah snort..We're all at risk of all kinds of cancers nowadays, why make it even easier?

You seem angry. You also seem like you might be stressed. Stress causes all sorts of illnesses such as Heart Disease, Boggle-Eye with Red Face Syndrome (AKA BERF Syndrome), Strokes and Irritable Bowel Syndrome. These are huge killers and by allowing yourself to get so stressed about a poster's cavalier attitude to his/her own health, you're ironically playing fast and loose with your own life.

Even if you don't go on to acquire piles or berf syndrome, the quality of life for a person suffering from stress is terrible. Imagine waiting in the queue for the changing rooms in Pennies on a hot and busy day with a single mother in front of you and her 8 feral children running around getting chocolate on everything as the mother swears at them while on the phone to her latest scummy boyfriend. Think about how you might feel. Now, imagine feeling like that all the time. That's what stress is and it's very unpleasant.

There are many ways to decrease stress levels but the most effective is by having a cigarette for yourself. This has been proven time and time again in the movies and at airports. One article on the relationship between smoking and stress relief claims that:
    So on the Calming and Relaxing side - cigarettes take the stress out of life (relaxation) and help relive tension and stress. The benefits of smoking are to help smokers calm down and reduce anxiety and stress. When you visualise or think of relaxing what comes to your mind? It's usually a slumping of the shoulders effect, that aaaaaahhhhhhhhh... slip into your arm chair and letting go feeling - you are relaxing.

On the Strength and Boost side - smoking is uplifting, helps with concentration, keeps smokers on their toes and gives them mental strength. The other benefit of smoking is that it lifts smokers up a level - their senses are awakened. When you visualise or think of yourself concentrating and being uplifted what comes to mind? Generally it's a head up, on our feet, eyes open, chest out, shoulders back and an alert state of mind and effect - it gives you that I'm ready, let's do it and let's go feeling.

Daniel Fargher
    Quit Smoking Specialist
    Stop Smoking For Good
    Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/687385

The author of this is not a doctor but he does have a webpage which makes this source just as authoritative as a scientific paper from Arxiv. He is also a Quit Smoking Specialist so he should know what he's on about.

I'd recommend on of the popular brands as there is a strong correlation between brand recognition and quality. If you are poor, get a friend to prepare some rollies for you. Either way, sit in a comfy chair, spark one up for yourself and relax as the stress washes away like the blood on O Connell St after a shower. Remember, life's too short for stress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Oranage2 wrote: »
    - Some good points but smoking causes heart disease and cancer

- a quick google search says It costs the State €1 billion per year to provide health services for smokers (Department of Health and Children).

Do you think we make a billion off ciggette tax to pay for this?

I'm not sure if the exact figures are available for what the state takes in in taxes from tobacco but if the numbers quoted by the Independent here are right then the revenue commissioner says that they lost about 387,000,000 in 2008 due to the sale of illegal(smuggled/untaxed) tobacco and say that they estimate that in 2008 illegal tobacco made up about 20% of all tobacco used.

So... 387,000,000 x 4 = 1,548,000,000

So... 1,584,000,000 - 1,000,000,000 = 584,000,000 (Profit after health care bill).

{Hope I have the maths right there}.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Chill dude. Stress harms you and those around you.

Here, have a cigarette. You'll feel a lot better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Anyone who's never enjoyed the pleasure of a post coital cigarette hasn't lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

CoolHat wrote: »
    Ah yes cause Google knows all right.
    Sure take this for example. Google tells me that as of last year 22.2% of people smoked in Ireland. But lets round it off to 20%.

- Some people smoke 20 smokes a day. Some people smoke 40 smokes a day. Average in my experience of being a smoker and seeing other people is average 20 smokes per day.

So what is it?
    you're right?
    Im wrong?
    or is google a load of crap?

Add in:
    Life expentancy in ireland is 80. Smoking knocks 7 years off your life. That's 7 years of retirement gone. 7 years bus passes, medical cards, fuel allowance, pensions and whatever else pensioners get.

And you were way off on the governments take on a pack of fags.
    http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/call-for-tax-rise-and-below-cost-sales-ban-after-cigarette-ruling-113696.html
    It's almost double at €6.70!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

If you were not smoking you probably would have just spent it on beer or pointless consumer products.

No point in pretending you'd have invested it wisely.

Yeah true,

Its still an insane amount of money that went up in smoke.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭noxqs

In my humble opinion - nothing should get banned. If people want to hang around smoking black tar heroin or have a marlboro - why should I or anyone else care?

Tax it if you please, but stay out of other peoples business. As for healthcare issues, just leave it to insurance companies and let people pay the premiums associated with their habits based on actuary tables.

Why do some people have this incessant need to nag and tell other people what to do and ban this and that and everything ?

If every drug imaginable was legal it would completely remove a large chunk of crime and make drugs clean, affordable and not from scumbag criminal scum. That alone removes a risk.

Then spend some taxes on educating people that drugs may be bad, mmmkay and leave it to adults to decide for themselves.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Add in:
    Life expentancy in ireland is 80. Smoking knocks 7 years off your life. That's 7 years of retirement gone. 7 years bus passes, medical cards, fuel allowance, pensions and whatever else pensioners get.

And you were way off on the governments take on a pack of fags.
    http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/call-for-tax-rise-and-below-cost-sales-ban-after-cigarette-ruling-113696.html
    It's almost double at €6.70!

Ladies and gentlemen the ultimate quote from paparazzo that finally settles the whole "how much the govenment spend on health care for smokers" debate.

Smoking brings in more money than healthcare spent. A HELL of a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Ladies and gentlemen the ultimate quote from paparazzo that finally settles the whole "how much the govenment spend on health care for smokers" debate.

Smoking brings in more money than healthcare spent. A HELL of a lot more.
    Toby Granwal, general manager, said 25% of cigarettes smoked here are bought on the black market for as little as €3.50 a pack, costing the Exchequer more than €500 million in revenue.

If one quarter is €500m the total tax take is €1.5bn. HSE would lose that down the back of the couch. It'd hardly keep four senior execs on a large pension scheme and perks.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

HSE budget was over €12bn in 2010.

• You seem angry. You also seem like you might be stressed. Stress causes all sorts of illnesses such as Heart Disease, Boggle-Eye with Red Face Syndrome (AKA BERF Syndrome), Strokes and Irritable Bowel Syndrome. These are huge killers and by allowing yourself to get so stressed about a poster's cavalier attitude to his/her own health, you're ironically playing fast and loose with your own life.

Hah. I'm not angry. I love how people trot that out when you disagree with what they think. 'You must be stressed'. Not at all. I'm perfectly calm. I just can't quite believe the extent people go to in order to convince themselves (yes, themselves) that what they're doing really isn't that dangerous. I couldn't care less if you die from smoking. I just know plenty of people who really, really regretted that cavalier attitude once they were actually on their death bed and realising that they'd never see their grandchildren (or children, in some cases) grow up.
    Even if you don't go on to acquire piles or berf syndrome, the quality of life for a person suffering from stress is terrible. Imagine waiting in the queue for the changing rooms in Pennies on a hot and busy day with a single mother in front of you and her 8 feral children running around getting chocolate on everything as the mother swears at them while on the phone to her latest scummy boyfriend. Think about how you might feel. Now, imagine feeling like that all the time. That's what stress is and it's very unpleasant.

There are many ways to decrease stress levels but the most effective is by having a cigarette for yourself. This has been proven time and time again in the movies and at airports. One article on the relationship between smoking and stress relief claims that:

The author of this is not a doctor but he does have a webpage which makes this source just as authoritative as a scientific paper from Arxiv. He is also a Quit Smoking Specialist so he should know what he's on about.

I'd recommend on of the popular brands as there is a strong correlation between brand recognition and quality. If you are poor, get a friend to prepare some rollies for you. Either way, sit in a comfy chair, spark one up for yourself and relax as the stress washes away like the blood on O Connell St after a shower. Remember, life's too short for stress.

Just as well that I'm not stressed, because I do yoga and pilates, drink herbal tea, go to the gym three times a week and meet up with friends most days. But yeah, I might break my neck and die doing yoga, so I should just have a fag instead. :rolleyes: I wonder if smoking impairs the ability to interpret statistics and weigh up risk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

thing is though Izzy, i completely respect where you're coming from, BUT, i already KNOW how dangerous it is, i HAVE weighed up the risks, and like i said, its my one vice among many, my attitude is not so much cavalier, as it is sick of being over exposed to "healthy lifestyle" nonsense.

put it this way- real butter is tasty, now compare that to that "benecol spread", they dare not even call it margarine, it's disgusting! but apparently it MAY help reduce cholesterol, or is that the other dirt- flora?

now, you also mentioned earlier that having a car was a necessity for getting around from place to place. have you considered for a minute that just like smoking, owning a car is also a luxury, and as much carbon monoxide as i might put out into the environment with my smoking, i can guarantee you that your car puts out a hell of a lot more! not to mention that someone else coul trot in here and berate you for not walking to work, school, wherever, or even use public transport! car a necessity my árse!

without getting too emotive or personal about it, i dont think there is a poster in here whose life hasnt been touched in some way by cancer or some other smoking related illness, my own father smoked 20 majors for nigh on 30 years before he gave them up on my brothers tenth birthday, took on a healthy lifestyle, even managing to stomach ryvita ffs! he died almost fifteen years later at the age of 62 from a heart attack while out walking his dog!

my wife's grandfather died there about two years ago from lung cancer at the age of 92, he smoked about 20 woodbines a day and even as he lay in the hospital bed he STILL managed a woodbine and a can of guinness that her grandmother sneaked into the ward, the night before he died!

and then there was a good friend of mine whose wife was only in her late 30's when she found out she had lung cancer, went from a stunning looking woman to being a mere shell of herself on her death bed a year and a half later, still smoked even when she was on chemo.

so you see Izzy i am only too well aware of the risks, and the damage that passive smoking inflicts on others, which is why i'll usually smoke outside and will not subject my wife and child to an activity which I choose to partake in, and then sometimes when i have the place to myself, i enjoy nothing more than getting naked, have a couple of brandy's, throw some classical music on, sit back and enjoy a fine cohiba! :)

• xsiborg wrote: »

now, you also mentioned earlier that having a car was a necessity for getting around from place to place. have you considered for a minute that just like smoking, owning a car is also a luxury, and as much carbon monoxide as i might put out into the environment with my smoking, i can guarantee you that your car puts out a hell of a lot more! not to mention that someone else coul trot in here and berate you for not walking to work, school, wherever, or even use public transport! car a necessity my árse!

I don't have a car, or a driving licence. I always use public transport or walk. I can do that because I live in London. Plenty of people live in places where public transport is non-existent and they need a car to get to work. It isn't a luxury if you need it.
    so you see Izzy i am only too well aware of the risks, and the damage that passive smoking inflicts on others, which is why i'll usually smoke outside and will not subject my wife and child to an activity which I choose to partake in, and then sometimes when i have the place to myself, i enjoy nothing more than getting naked, have a couple of brandy's, throw some classical music on, sit back and enjoy a fine cohiba! :)

You're entitled to do whatever you want with your life. I just can't get my head around it at all. I suffer from a few illnesses that aren't self-inflicted (which is why I try so hard to be as healthy as I can), so when I see a healthy person damaging their body with a smelly, anti-social habit, I just think 'why??' I find it even harder to understand than illegal drug addiction. BTW, stale smoke is unpleasant and unhealthy for others, it sticks around for days after if you smoke indoors. My dad didn't usually smoke in the same room as me when I was a child, but I remember walking into rooms with that lingering, headache inducing dirty smell. Blech.

I just can't get my head around it at all. I suffer from a few illnesses that aren't self-inflicted (which is why I try so hard to be as healthy as I can), so when I see a healthy person damaging their body with a smelly, anti-social habit, I just think 'why??'...

BTW, stale smoke is unpleasant and unhealthy for others, it sticks around for days after if you smoke indoors. My dad didn't usually smoke in the same room as me when I was a child, but I remember walking into rooms with that lingering, headache inducing dirty smell. Blech.

oh ok, i'll admit it then, im a selfish príck who only cares about his own pleasure in life and i couldn't care less about what others think of my "smelly anti-social habit", because if i listen to them, then im going to have to listen to people berate me for enjoying the sun, enjoying a few drinks, enjoying working, enjoying real butter, enjoying fat on my bacon, using my mobile phone, you see where this is going? exactly.

there's a hell of a lot i dont understand why other people do either, like climbing mountains like everest and risking almost certain death, if not from frostbite, then from a fall, i dont understand people that jump out of airplanes, but i would never take it upon myself either to preach to them about the dangerous risks of an activity they choose to partake in. im sure they too are well aware of them already.

Good post xsiborg :)

I dont understand why non-smokers go on about smokers so much. Its my choice to smoke. Its my body.
    I have the decency to not blow smoke in someones face so why cant people show the same respect and leave me and my fellow smokers alone :)

oh ok, i'll admit it then, im a selfish príck who only cares about his own pleasure in life and i couldn't care less about what others think of my "smelly anti-social habit", because if i listen to them, then im going to have to listen to people berate me for enjoying the sun, enjoying a few drinks, enjoying working, enjoying real butter, enjoying fat on my bacon, using my mobile phone, you see where this is going? exactly.

there's a hell of a lot i dont understand why other people do either, like climbing mountains like everest and risking almost certain death, if not from frostbite, then from a fall, i dont understand people that jump out of airplanes, but i would never take it upon myself either to preach to them about the dangerous risks of an activity they choose to partake in. im sure they too are well aware of them already.

Well, I was initially posting in response to the 'ah sure, everything can kill you' attitude displayed by one poster, which just smacked of delusion to me. I think this is what bothers me about a lot of smokers, the downplaying of a very serious health risk, comparing it to crossing the road or saying that there are worse things to be doing.

And personally, I really don't care what you or other people do as long as it doesn't directly affect me. When I'm being forced to suffer (I have sinus issues and asthma) because of other people's tobacco addiction when I'm trying to enjoy the park or an outside table at a restaurant or walk down a crowded street or even sit in my own apartment (smoke often comes in under the door), then yeah, it's my business. I think it's selfish and I think my right to breathe clean air overrides your right to feed your habit. If your smoke isn't near me, making me feel ill, I don't care if you do it or not. I just find it crazy that so many people are so glib and in denial. If you accept all the risks and admit it's likely to endanger your life at some stage, fair play to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

And you seriously believe that every smoker in the state buys all their smokes within the state from legitimate taxpaying sources ???

Well, I was initially posting in response to the 'ah sure, everything can kill you' attitude displayed by one poster, which just smacked of delusion to me. I think this is what bothers me about a lot of smokers, the downplaying of a very serious health risk, comparing it to crossing the road or saying that there are worse things to be doing.

that was me, still stand by every word too tbh.
    And personally, I really don't care what you or other people do as long as it doesn't directly affect me. When I'm being forced to suffer (I have sinus issues and asthma) because of other people's tobacco addiction when I'm trying to enjoy the park or an outside table at a restaurant or walk down a crowded street or even sit in my own apartment (smoke often comes in under the door), then yeah, it's my business. I think it's selfish and I think my right to breathe clean air overrides your right to feed your habit. If your smoke isn't near me, making me feel ill, I don't care if you do it or not. I just find it crazy that so many people are so glib and in denial. If you accept all the risks and admit it's likely to endanger your life at some stage, fair play to you.

you may want to speak to your building management company about that issue, you could simply get a set of draught excluders either.

i just find it crazy that you exaggerate an issue to ridiculous levels, and then expect others not just to understand, but also to accomodate your unreasonable demands.

you live in London, one of the most air polluted, smog covered cities in the world, i would think cigarette smoke would be the least irritant to your various medical conditions.

my brother is a nurse in a busy london hospital, he has an OCD condition where he insists on cleanliness, and thought nothing of when he came over to stay with me for a few days, walking out of tesco with two bottles of bleach and armfuls of kitchen roll. i asked him where did he think he was going with those, his reply was simply- "well i want to be sure your house is clean!", i quickly let him know in no uncertain terms that i would not be entertaining his notions, and told him he was more than welcome to book into a hotel if he was that worried about it.

turned out he was able to get over his OCD when he was pushed and his notions werent accomodated!

same thing with yourself when you choose to venture out into the outside world, you will come across people that smoke, and it is up to you whether you choose to avoid them or not, it is not up to you to expect them to accomodate you for that few seconds you are in their vicinity. in the same way as if im walking down the street and i see a crowd of suspicious looking youths on a street corner, i dont expect them to disband to accomodate me, its easier if i cross the road and walk around them and carry on my way, avoiding making an issue of it and saving myself that inconvenience.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭colly10

I suppose the country is fooked. I don't imagine anyone wants to pay for more patients to sit around in hospital corridors.

Seems to me there's less kids hanging around the school gates with a fag in hand. Is it tipping point do you think? Would there be bigger numbers supporting a ban on sale of cigettes than against?

Id guess the price of a box of cigs minus tax is 2.50 at most. The average smoker probably smokes around 20 a day, that's around 6 euro per day in tax per smoker, that works out far dearer than any health insurance policy.
    That's the cost of hospital bills many times over.
    I don't smoke, but I used to smoke for 10 years and was smoking 40 a day for most of it.
    During that time I did not spend a minute in a hospital, so take people like me into account when working out what there costing you.

Just say what you really think, this has nothing to do with smokers costing the state, if it does you havn't thought it out too well

i just find it crazy that you exaggerate an issue to ridiculous levels, and then expect others not just to understand, but also to accomodate your unreasonable demands.

What am I exaggerating? Smoking seriously bothers me. I never demand anything. If the smokers are part of my group, I'll move away from the group if I don't feel like dealing with bloodshot eyes and a runny nose. If that hurts someone's feelings, well, they had no consideration for mine, but most people can see that I have allergy issues and try to be as considerate as possible.
    you live in London, one of the most air polluted, smog covered cities in the world, i would think cigarette smoke would be the least irritant to your various medical conditions.

Funny, that's what all smokers say. I don't really enjoy pollution, but no, it doesn't irritate every millimetre of my nasal passages like tobacco smoke does. Pot smoke is fine.
    my brother is a nurse in a busy london hospital, he has an OCD condition where he insists on cleanliness, and thought nothing of when he came over to stay with me for a few days, walking out of tesco with two bottles of bleach and arfuls of kitchen roll. i asked him where did he think he was going with those, his reply was simply- "well i want to be sure your house is clean!", i quickly let him know in no uncertain terms that i would not be entertaining his notions, and told him he was more than welcome to book into a hotel if he was that worried about it.

turned out he was able to get over his OCD when he was pushed and his notions werent accomodated!

What's that got to do with anything?
    same thing with yourself when you choose to venture out into the outside world, you will come across people that smoke, and it is up to you whether you choose to avoid them or not, it is not up to you to expect them to accomodate you for that few seconds you are in their vicinity. in the same way as if im walking down the street and i see a crowd of suspicious looking youths on a street corner, i dont expect them to disband to accomodate me, its easier if i cross the road and walk around them and carry on my way, avoiding making an issue of it and saving myself that inconvenience.

That's the selfish attitude I'm talking about. I need to walk down crowded streets. I need to get to work. I should be able to do that without having clouds of smoke blown in my face and dodging a lit cigarette held right at hand level every 10 seconds. Your example of a gang of youths has nothing to do with this situation. I can't avoid walking down the street unless I sprout wings, but smokers can choose to smoke somewhere that isn't crowded, like one of the many back streets. They just don't because it's inconvenient.

It's funny that you imply that I should stay in if I don't like coming into contact with smokers. Why don't you stay in if you want to smoke? I guarantee that you're irritating far more people than I am. A LOT of people are bothered by smoke. They're just far too polite to say it. The majority of people would be delighted if smoking were banned in all public places. And it's already starting to happen. I've been to several beer gardens with non-smoking outside tables recently. Of course, all the smokers were moaning about that, but why shouldn't non-smokers get to enjoy sitting outside as well? They're quick to forget that all of us had to put up with smoky pubs and bars until just 4 years ago. The minority forced their habit on the majority. Now that the tables are turning, it's all so unfair?

I hardly ever say anything to smokers unless they're being REALLY obnoxious (smoking in a doorway with a lit cigarette ready to hit anyone who walks through it in the face), but I can't wait for it to be made illegal in more places, like in America. I want to enjoy lying in the park or eating outside without the stink of smoke. Why is that more selfish than what you're doing? Why am I the one who has to avoid you? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

I reckon there's a fair amount of paranoia in this section of your post.

Anyone walking in a park, or living in a city will encounter many pollutants on a daily basis.
    Not just the city, either. Agriculture is responsible for around 14% of greenhouse gases every year. A cow emits as much methane as a car every day - should we ban cows too?

As for smoke coming through your apartment door - where exactly are you living?? Who smokes directly outside your door to the extent their smoke invades your home?