Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm accidents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

a pb LM cow slipped while getting up after a difficult calving i was pulling the calf out the way the and she trapped my left leg , very bad fracture of tibia and fibula ,and also had ligament damage which wasn't apparent at first , still have the hardware in place

fractured a couple of ribs while trying to stomach tube a sick cow,

closest escapes I had,

about 35 years ago was hitting out the fields on the tractor . came to a gate way, lashing rain, decided to give it a couple of minutes to clear , fell asleep in the cab, (most likely hard night before) awoke of a sudden with tractor rolling back wards gathering speed about 40 feet from a 30 feet straight drop, stood on the brakes and full lock on the steering back wheel lifted about a foot off the ground but it stopped

was pinned to the ground by a friesian bull luckily close to the hedge managed to get up and wrap his chain around an ash tree , got help and went back out in the tractor and he had the bark stripped and the embankment levelled and was going berserk, got a friend who had a high power rifle and shot him there and then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i suppose the worst bit is the unexpectedness of these accidents but if we can teach or kids what to do in a situation, that might stop it getting worse it would help alot.... i remember my brother going missing when he was around 3 , my mother thought he had fallen in the slurry pit and was in an awful way, my dad was going mental trying to find him too, it was awful , will never forget it, we all thought he was gone... he was found asleep in the hayshed:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

pakalasa wrote: »
    I work in a factory that's American owned. We've had a serious push on Safety the last couple of years. To be honest, a lot of this is down to insurance. If the number of 'reportable incidents' are below a certain amount, insurance becomes very cheap. It's interesting to see the approach they take.

They look at each operation and they identify what is dangerous and a potential risk to the operators. The ideal remedy then is to engineer out the risk. Say for example, the side door on a machine can be wired so that the machine cuts out if opened, when the machine is running. If changes can't be made, then the workers are told of the risk and trained to 'work safely'. It sounds like a lot of bulsh1t, but it really works. All these things are shown to reduce accidents over time.

Bringing that approach to a farm. You could sit down and make a list of all the dangerous things, like PTO shafts, open slurry pits, bad brakes on the tractor etc.....and then actually do something about them.
    For things that can't be changed like dangerous cattle etc, then younger children could be taught why they are dangerous.
    Sorry for the rant, but Irish Farms are the most dangerous place to work in Ireland. All very well, until it lands at your own doorstop.

Not being smart, but what you talk about are the basics of putting together a Safety Statement. Every farm and business should have one. It's the law. You eliminate the risk as you said, or if that's not possible within certain practical or economic parameters, you need to manage the risk. Risks are rated high, medium, low. You try to get everything into the low category.

Safety is all about habit. It's as easy to develop a good habit as a bad one. There are many health and safety related initiatives like the introduction of seatbelts, or the smoking ban etc, where people grumbled at first. Now they are the accepted norm. It's the same with farming. Instead of carrying out tasks a certain way because 'we've always done it that way', we need to assess what we do and identify the safest possible way to carry out that task. It needn't cost more money or take more time. Safe work practices should be the norm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

I agree, we're working round our place to identify as many issues as possible and get them fixed, the slurry pit is open.

It's getting the fence repaired a new 2m tall mesh gate and I'm going to devise a sprung gate for the scraping in points. just not worth it. I've seen the dog get into bother and my daughter shouting down to him, what would happen if she took a notion of trying to go in after him?????

As for dangersous stock my attitude is kill or be killed, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭hughjohn

This is my list!

Overturned 35x by driving too fast downhill , no cab or rollbar, got thrown clear and escaped.

Operated pick up hitch while standing on drawbar and crushed foot as the hitch closed ( didnt look where foot was before raising lift). Was able to unlatch it and drive mile an a half home (no mobiles back in the 80's) before passing out.
    Foot took over 2 years to heal properly.

Bit of steel in eye when angle grinding without goggles.

Mashed thumb an forefinger when pto started to turn as I attached shaft.

Overturned 7610 when silage pit i was rolling split.

Had rear tractor wheel fall on my leg when changing over to rowcrops

And finally a tractor came off the jacks and rolled foward while i was working underneath it. Luckily all wheels were still on it.

All this makes me look a careless idiot but it is over 40 years and is the total truth.

I now ask myself about all the possible risks before tackling any job , i am older,wiser , safer and still alive.

I am not alone, I've seen people adjust machines with pto running, leaning in under tipped trailers and worst of all kicking lumps of grass into running balers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

hughjohn wrote: »
    This is my list!

Overturned 35x by driving too fast downhill , no cab or rollbar, got thrown clear and escaped.

Operated pick up hitch while standing on drawbar and crushed foot as the hitch closed ( didnt look where foot was before raising lift). Was able to unlatch it and drive mile an a half home (no mobiles back in the 80's) before passing out.

And finally a tractor came off the jacks and rolled foward while i was working underneath it. Luckily all wheels were still on it.

All this makes me look a careless idiot but it is over 40 years and is the total truth.

I now ask myself about all the possible risks before tackling any job , i am older,wiser , safer and still alive.

I am not alone, I've seen people adjust machines with pto running, leaning in under tipped trailers and worst of all kicking lumps of grass into running balers.

Bloody hell that's some list of adventures!! But at least you're still here and older and wiser!

The angle grinder + goggles one seems obvious these days but only last week near my work I saw a guy up on a scissors lift complete with his safety harness, high vis jacket, helmet, barrier around his work area, etc. He was cutting a slot into a slab of granite with a 4 " grinder and it must have been an intricate cut because his face was right up against it, his nose was almost touching the grinder and you could hardly see his head through the dust. Helmet on, but no mask, no ear protectors and of course no goggles.

That's not a farm story but another fright I had way back was when I was standing on the main road waiting to turn a few cattle that my dad was hunting out of the field. Managed not to notice that one heifer was ahead of the rest and she galloped out onto the road before I could signal an oncoming car. He stood on the brakes and just managed to miss her, though partly because she leapt over his bonnet for the last couple of feet. Got some bollicking from the driver + well deserved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Years ago, the clutch went on the tractor about a mile from the house. I could get it in the very lowest gear, so decided to drive it home. Met someone along a narrow road so pulled in at a bridge, to let them pass. Hit the clutch, nothing happened. Gear so low that the brakes were useless. Turn off the tractor just in time as the front wheels were half over the side of the bridge. A close one.
    Did manage to get it in reverse and get it home eventually. Never told anyone what happened.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

I once missed a gear going down a hill with a full load of silage and reached an astonishing speed , if anything was coming against me it was good night irene. Mercifully the hill bottomed out and the road rose again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

20silkcut wrote: »
    I once missed a gear going down a hill with a full load of silage and reached an astonishing speed , if anything was coming against me it was good night irene. Mercifully the hill bottomed out and the road rose again.

That happened me once when I tried to brake seals gave way wet brake system
    there was no end to hill tell a town
    I recon I got over 60mph and traveled 3 miles down hill tell luckily I found a nice soft place to crash.
    Tipping a load of silage one summer the trailer poped out of worn hitch and the
    draw bar came through the back window of the tractor and hit the roof on the inside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I have far too many for the age I am.......

Youngest I remember is playing on an old horse drawn topper, Brother was sitting in the seat as he was older and bigger then me so he was the better driver....I was jumping all over the ting. Slipped and got the entire finger of the mower embedded in the crease of my knee. Amazing no tears, I remember walking back to the house and my mum giving out to me. Then off for a tetanus injection!

Same as earlier post, sitting on a load of square bales about 8 stacks high and all tipped off coming round a turn. Luckily I landed on my uncle who was sitting next to me :o

Found myself cornered at work by a bullock just after coming out of the chute (which, in all fairness to the lads working the gate, was tame enough in the chute itself) and it was head down snorting at me backed into the corner of the pen> Never knew I could clear a gate so fast in a dress.....:rolleyes:

Last august, cow had twins out on the land, she only took to the one that got up first, was trying to get the other to stand up and get moving towards her, which she was licking the other twin, and she charged, ended up in the gripe with the second calf, with her standing over me pucking and booing like a bull. Only for I had a good lock of keys with the car keys and belted her over the snout with them a few times, I swear she'd have been in the gripe after me. Had to leave the second calf for three hours and then return to pick it up in the back of the car (the one I hand reared)

Loading a half warmblood horse, he decided to turn in the trailer just as the ramp was going up, horseboxes don't tend to have the gates, and take a flying leap out the half closed ramp, with a lovely back kick as a oodbye present to me. I was fairly bruised that night.....

As recently posted, a green horse bolted with me on a main road, went round a blind corner at full gallop on an unshoed horse and no control whatsoever over him. Slipped on loose stones and I landed skew-ways with my leg under him.Luckily, it was nothing more then an impressive bruise but my arm still had a fairly large dent where i hit it with my hand.

There's probably more but these just spring to mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

another PTO_related one from a mate of mine in the UK happened this week...
    What a ****ing day here. Heard what I thought was a cow making a fuss down the road, then realised that "Moo" doesn't sound too much like "Help me!". Pegged it down the road to a mates farm, to find his dad had leant over the tractors PTO shaft and got his overalls snagged.

Top tip folks. Dont ****ing do that. Once the PTO has been shut off and your lad has cut the tangled wreck of your overalls off, you're left shivering in your pants and torn t-shirt, two badly broken arms dangling beside you, waiting for the ambulance. Could have been so much worse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭strandsman

FOLKS
    It's the start of another year, Very soon all the machines will be starting out on another year of working the land. Can you all be carefull and respect the power and danger of the machines you operate. SAFETY FIRST!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 masseys scrap and zetors no better

hughjohn wrote: »
    This is my list!

i had the very same accident as you had with the hitch on a 7610 back in 2008,crushed the left hand side of my foot and took of 2 toes while standing on the drawbar.i lifted the lift and released the hitch right away as i was in shock.i got released and felt no pain,started 2 walk across the yard and i collapsed,was out cold,my father found me and got me into hospital.they sowed back on the 2 tows and fixed some bones in my foot,sadly the toes didnt take and i ended up getting them removed 3 weeks later,its now nearly 4 years since the accident and im still attending the hospital on a regular basis because of it.its gave me alot of problems all because of that 1 mistake.had alot of slurry to spread that day and was rushing.was in no rush then as i was in hospital for 10 days after,over the 6 months after the accident i spent 3 weeks in hospital.had to learn how to walk again etc etc.i was 1 that made sure every pto had a gaurd and was and still am very safety conscious,but i let my gaurd down that day for a split second and i was caught out.lads you cant carefull enough with machinery.please dont wait to find this out by yourselfs.listen to these storys and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Was putting the concrete mixer on the 3000, one of the little ones with top link tipper thingy, was stood with one leg inside and one outside lift arm reaching in for the lift lever, anyway lift shot up and jammed me against the toolbox(at back of mudguard) couldnt reach the lever anymore and lift stayed up, pain was immense and when i started to taste blood in my throat i thought its all over, shouted best i could and the neighbour woman came over and pulled the stopper (lift was ****e and it began to drop immediately) but luckily had no serious internal damage but dam i was scared.....buried the mixer with hymac when i was fit to get out and about again!!!

Jammed my foot in a puh before

Jammed my foot between top of lift arm and cab while sitting on back of an 854

Tighening gutter bolt on mudguard of a 135, sharp edge on newly cut plate (to go between footstep and wing) spanner slipped tore a gouge out of my hand still plainly visible

Steel in eye from grinder on more than 1 occasion

And im only 28 yet, certainly have got more carefull in recent years, bought 4 new pto guards last summer ! Go me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

after remembering one there, my father is always giving out to me for putting my hands into my pockets, well one morning when i was loading sheep with him i had to hold open the side door of a trailer as he put them in after a while i resorted to old habits and put the hands in the pockets instead of on the door wasnt it just my luck the ram welted off the door and sent it full force my way With my nose taking the force :( blood everywhere and a broken nose, his words exactly "you had your hands in your ****ing pockets didnt you" :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Ford4000 wrote: »
    Was putting the concrete mixer on the 3000, one of the little ones with top link tipper thingy, was stood with one leg inside and one outside lift arm reaching in for the lift lever, anyway lift shot up and jammed me against the toolbox(at back of mudguard) couldnt reach the lever anymore and lift stayed up, pain was immense and when i started to taste blood in my throat i thought its all over, shouted best i could and the neighbour woman came over and pulled the stopper (lift was ****e and it began to drop immediately) but luckily had no serious internal damage but dam i was scared.....buried the mixer with hymac when i was fit to get out and about again!!!

my dad did similar a few years back, his 135 has questionable hydraulics and he managed to lift a transport box up trapping his knee between it and the back wheel.

accidents like this make me think quick hitch A frames are such a good idea.

quick_hitch_a_frames.jpg

anyone on here using them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭txpjl

In the 70's, I remember hearing a story my father told about a local man pulling a root of a tree or something with a chain connected to the top link part of the tractor. Back then cabs and roll bars weren't enforced. The wheels stuck in and the whole front of the tractor rotated back over/on the axle killing the man instantly. I always remember this story and always connect any chain/rope below the rear axle (usually the hitch).

Lots of other stuff similar to other stories on here.

T

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Was loading bales for sale a few years ago. Hose on loader gave way and the gush of oil just missed the lads face, I reckon it would have blinded him if he'd been hit, as it was he got oil in his eye.
    As a kid I was sitting backwards watching my dad crushing grain in a roller. His shop coat got caught in te shaft, between him being well built, the coat open and well worn it just tore up the back and pulled down over his arm! Was a serious close escape as we were on an isolated farm and no mobiles or landline even within miles.
    Roller was sold and my driving skills were upgraded so I could manage the car in an emergency, I was only 8 or 9.

Another simple one happened near us years ago.
    Fella up un a pit of silage. Was tramping the pit waiting for more loads. The loop in his boot lace caught round the clutch pedal, couldn't clutch, was in a low gear with diff engaged, paniced and went off the end of a 10-12 foot pit. He was badly broken up and the tractor was wrecked, could have squashed anyone in front of pit too but the guy facing the pit was away for a few minutes.

txpjl wrote: »
    In the 70's, I remember hearing a story my father told about a local man pulling a root of a tree or something with a chain connected to the top link part of the tractor. Back then cabs and roll bars weren't enforced. The wheels stuck in and the whole front of the tractor rotated back over/on the axle killing the man instantly. I always remember this story and always connect any chain/rope below the rear axle (usually the hitch).

Lots of other stuff similar to other stories on here.

T

Lost a friend in similar circumstances way back. he was driving a tractor on a silage heap and it reared up. He was thrown from the seat and was crushed by the roll bar.

bbam wrote: »
    Another simple one happened near us years ago.
    Fella up un a pit of silage. Was tramping the pit waiting for more loads. The loop in his boot lace caught round the clutch pedal, couldn't clutch, was in a low gear with diff engaged, paniced and went off the end of a 10-12 foot pit. He was badly broken up and the tractor was wrecked, could have squashed anyone in front of pit too but the guy facing the pit was away for a few minutes.

Reminds me of another one where a spare pto shaft was on the floor of the tractor and rolled under the brake pedal. My dad was taking a turn off the main road into a gateway with a full trailer load of hay and discovered he couldnt brake, so ended up taking the sharp corner basically without slowing down. Luckily he he didn't tend to drive the tractor too hard.

drBill wrote: »
    Reminds me of another one where a spare pto shaft was on the floor of the tractor and rolled under the brake pedal. My dad was taking a turn off the main road into a gateway with a full trailer load of hay and discovered he couldnt brake, so ended up taking the sharp corner basically without slowing down. Luckily he he didn't tend to drive the tractor too hard.

Yep thats a popular one alright, I've had everything from hammers to top links sliding in behind the peddles.

LADS and LASSIES, The busy season is already underway with tillage and soon silage season will be starting, Stay safe out there and keep this thread on Farm SAFETY going, we can all learn from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Was cleaning clay off the blades of the Rotavator one day with a spade. Clay was wet so was well stuck to the blades.

Rotavator was on the back of the tractor with the the lift up fully and it was taking a good while to do and I was coming at it from different angles often meaning i was often a bit under the Rotovator too.

Next thing - Bang: the top link snapped. missed my leg by a breath.

learnt a good lesson that day.

I hate changing the points on the plough, I need to get in under it to take them off, Scary place to be!!!! lately I backup to a ditch and rest the plough on the ditch, At least if something happened it wont drop fully to the ground! OH and keep my mobile on me at all times when changing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

JohnBoy wrote: »
    my dad did similar a few years back, his 135 has questionable hydraulics and he managed to lift a transport box up trapping his knee between it and the back wheel.

I nearly did similiar, they aul lad manged to bend the release latch on the transport box so you have to lever it a bit more to release it. I was on my own cleanig out a bit of muck and had reversed the tractor up to the dung heap. Lifted the box but couldnt pull the latch enough with a chain to tip it. Hopped down and levered it with a shovel, was leaning in when it tipped in a snap. Had I put my leg in another couple of inches the fullbox of muck wouldve pinned my leg against the wheel.

You know, a simple thing like always bringing a mobile phone with you everywhere you go, might just save your life some day. No harm to be nagging older relatives to bring theirs too. You know how much they hate them.........:rolleyes:

I carry my mobile in a pouch clipped to my belt, Got fed up of it falling out of my top pocket every time i bent over to pickup something!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

I know you shouldn't have children anywhere near a tractor, but haven't we all at some stage?
    Had then 6yo daughter in tractor one lovely summer evening, topping a paddock with the mower, which hangs to the right and behind of tractor.
    She was sitting on "seat" (read shelf) on the left, by the door, which was well closed and warned not to touch handle.
    After an hour or so, we were all relaxed, topping away, having the chat and then her mother comes out to the field, bringing us a drink and snack.
    Daughter saw her...and the treats...and in the blink of an eye, opened the door and fell out head-first, before I stopped the tractor. If it had been the other door, she was straight under the mower.
    Luckily, she was ok, other than a sore head, but nothing that a few sweets couldn't cure.
    OH and me took a while to recover though.
    Learned a serious lesson that day.
    Hope this may warn someone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Enderol

Last May was emptying a septic tank with our JD 2850 and slurry tank. Had to park up on a slight slope to get the angle right to fill. Started it filling, put on the handbrake and stepped out to see how far the septic tank was down. Tractor started moving slowly so made a run for the steps to get back up on it before it rolled away.

Missed the step up, front wheel coming towards me, hit me square into the hip and knocked me to the side and out of the way. Tractor stopped a few feet later but was haunted. If that had happened 99 other times the wheel would have rolled me for sure over instead of knocking me away.

This happened because we got tight and put off getting the tractor serviced and brakes properly fixed. The sake of saving a few extra euro nearly cost me my life.

I think farmers are the worst for this, essentially, penny-pinching on repairs or good tools/equipment/facilities instead of thinking that your actually investing in safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

About 3 years ago when I was 15 i was driving posts with one of these

post.jpg

All I can remember is lifting it up and starting to pull it down when next thing i know im panned out on the ground with half of my 2 front teeth on the grass infront of me and a few small bits gone off other 1's in the back of my mouth, i went to the dentist and there was 2 broken bones between my top lip and nose and broken nose, 2 weeks later the pain was unbarable in my teeth and had to get root canal done in them! To this day I still dont know exactly happened! :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Conor556 wrote: »

post.jpg

All I can remember is lifting it up and starting to pull it down when next thing i know im panned out on the ground with half of my 2 front teeth on the grass infront of me and a few small bits gone off other 1's in the back of my mouth, i went to the dentist and there was 2 broken bones between my top lip and nose and broken nose, 2 weeks later the pain was unbarable in my teeth and had to get root canal done in them! To this day I still dont know exactly happened! :confused:
    Ouch! :(

Was the stake driver on the stake or on the ground when you regained your senses?

If it was on the ground, I SUSPECT what happened was that you lifted it just a bit too high and when you started the down stroke, the bottom edge of the driver caught the top of the stake on the side farthest from you and it tipped over towards you. You looked up at it, and caught it with your face.

If it was on the stake, I have no idea how it could have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Rovi wrote: »
    Ouch! :(

Was the stake driver on the stake or on the ground when you regained your senses?

If it was on the ground, I SUSPECT what happened was that you lifted it just a bit too high and when you started the down stroke, the bottom edge of the driver caught the top of the stake on the side farthest from you and it tipped over towards you. You looked up at it, and caught it with your face.

If it was on the stake, I have no idea how it could have happened.

Ya it came back on top of me when I fell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

If anyone needs to do a safty statement go to health and safty web site you can do one one line about 20 mins. I makes you think and asess risks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

RIP :(

That said, what sort of "fumes" could silage generate that might kill a person, and under what circumstances?
    I've never heard of this before.

Edited to add:
    Carbon Dioxide and Nitrogen Dioxide, it would appear:
    http://nasdonline.org/document/901/d000741/watch-out-for-silage-gas.html
    Although, this would appear to be a particular hazard under conditions more often seen in the U.S., with the material in an enclosed silo.
    I'd imagine it would take a very unusual set of circumstances for it to occur under Irish silage making methods, polythene covered pits in the open air or individual wrapped bales.
    Still, it's something to be aware of all the same.

RIP. Strange reading back over previous comments about a mobile possibly saving your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

You know, a simple thing like always bringing a mobile phone with you everywhere you go, might just save your life some day. No harm to be nagging older relatives to bring theirs too. You know how much they hate them.........:rolleyes:

the mobile has saved my bacon a couple of times in the last 15 years. i tripped and fell about 10 years ago on winterr changing a fence for the cattle, end up rolling down an embankment and getting caught in a bared wire fence. broke the stake and the winre wrapped around my leg and arm, i was unable to unable to release my arm or leg to untie the fence so was stuck. to make matter worse the fence was electriifed. despite the shocks i manged to get my phone out and ring home to turn off the fenceer and come and untie me. not a very pleasant feeling.

about 4/5 years ago i was taking the plough off the tractor. i had 1 arm out when the plough slipped and fell sideways, trapping my leg between the tractor and plough. i was just about able to hold the plough up to keep it from snapping my ankle. managed to get out the phone and ring through to home luckily there was soemone there to come up and push the plough back with me to release my leg. i was very lucky only swellign and burising to the ligements and bones. doc said i was haunted as if i handt manged to slow down the plough and hold the full weight off my leg it would have snapped in two.

one of my friends in college wasnt as lucky. he was bringin in silage bales when he herd a crack on the trailer, got out to see the dmage when the frame of teh trailer cracked and a couple of the bales rolled off knocked him over and trapped him. he manged to get out his phone but was too weak to talk and passed out. a neighbour driving by saw the tractor stopped and ticking over in the field and the bales after falling off and called the ambulance. he got in his own tractor to lift off the bales. yer man had 2 broken legs but the bales missed his chest and thrso. the ground was soft so the leg we pushed into the soil if they had been hard ground he would have lost both legs. that was about 10-12 years ago and he still cant walk properly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Conor556 wrote: »

post.jpg

Hi Conor, same thing happened to me about 10 years ago, rushing to get job done, Friday evening etc!
    didn't break the teeth, but sat on the ground for a while, everything I looked at was a shade of pinkish red. Lump the size of an egg ot the top of the head. To make it worse, it was a home made one, cylinder from the dipper ram of an old hy-mac.

In many ways the strategy for addressing the problem needs to be split...

Firstly there is the issue with the very young and old being and working on farms. In no other workplace, never mind one with dangerous equipment and chemicals would it be acceptable to have children under 16 and the elderly working or having access to the workplace..

Then there is the issue of general safety for those who you'd expect to see in any workplace.. Training, auditing, and lastly enforcment.

The two issues need to be addressed in different ways..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭knotknowbody

That said, what sort of "fumes" could silage generate that might kill a person, and under what circumstances?

Edited to add:
    Although, this would appear to be a particular hazard under conditions more often seen in the U.S., with the material in an enclosed silo.
    I'd imagine it would take a very unusual set of circumstances for it to occur under Irish silage making methods, polythene covered pits in the open air or individual wrapped bales.

I heard about this on sunday, the story we heard was that he lost the phone while covering the pit, after a while he noticed it was missing and started looking for it, got someone to ring it and could hear it under the cover, he then climbed under the cover to retrieve it but got into difficulty and died, as I say this is just what we heard and may be completly removed from the reality of what actually occured, as with a lot of accidents there are many different versions doing the rounds and you can't be sure what really happened.

With many accidents on farms it is fairly clear and easy to understand what happened, in a case like this where an unusual incident happens will a report detailing what happened, how it happened and what preventative measures to take be made public after investigations are complete, it would be a great benifit to publish such a report so others could learn from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

I heard about this on sunday, the story we heard was that he lost the phone while covering the pit, after a while he noticed it was missing and started looking for it, got someone to ring it and could hear it under the cover, he then climbed under the cover to retrieve it but got into difficulty and died, as I say this is just what we heard and may be completly removed from the reality of what actually occured, as with a lot of accidents there are many different versions doing the rounds and you can't be sure what really happened.

With many accidents on farms it is fairly clear and easy to understand what happened, in a case like this where an unusual incident happens will a report detailing what happened, how it happened and what preventative measures to take be made public after investigations are complete, it would be a great benifit to publish such a report so others could learn from it.
    that's exactly as it happened except he himself was using another phone to find it, it was left down somewhere near where he was found outside the cover. No one knew where he was gone, so it was hours before he was found. R.I.P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

Edited to add:

very sad

under the plastic would be a very 'confined space'
    so u would also have no fresh air in there, or low oxygen levels,

The problem is when you leave a 16yr old lad on the farm for first time he is more of a danger to himself and others because he doesn't understand from a young age the dangers involved . I often hear the analogy ,you dont put 18yr old into a rugby scrum for first time. They need to learn from a young age how to handle a scrum otherwise they get badly injured. Does anyone agree with this?
    bbam wrote: »
    In many ways the strategy for addressing the problem needs to be split...

Firstly there is the issue with the very young and old being and working on farms. In no other workplace, never mind one with dangerous equipment and chemicals would it be acceptable to have children under 16 and the elderly working or having access to the workplace..

Then there is the issue of general safety for those who you'd expect to see in any workplace.. Training, auditing, and lastly enforcment.

The two issues need to be addressed in different ways..