Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rovers v Bohs 5/10 Setanta 19.05

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    They should easily beat UCD.

:confused: Are you for real? They are red hot at the moment. They've just beaten Dundalk, Bohs and Pats. THE form team at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

bohsboy wrote: »
    :confused: Are you for real? They are red hot at the moment. They've just beaten Dundalk, Bohs and Pats. THE form team at the moment.

Guffaws galore!!!

Sure who can't beat Dundalk? Oh, that's right Galway, who even managed a draw with them!!!!

I think Sligo may just edge UCD as the form team, and after all, Shamrock did beat them 6:0 last time out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I can smell smoke. Wait, is that Rome burning over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭S.R.F.C.

Couldn't hear sham fans at all. Poor turnout.

:D:D:D Absolutely classic, fair play.

Team came out far too relaxed second half and some bizzare calls by MO'N, still in our hands. Boez celebrations were good craic, amazing that the highlight of their season is getting a draw in Tallaght.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Good man Michael O'Neill, bottler of the highest order, hope to god he stays at Shams next year.

I think the neutrals and supporters of other clubs are sick of this but I have to point out that the MON is a spoofer/Cook is a genius hypothesis has a few flaws, not least that we are only two points behind you with a game less played. Plus we won the league last year and won the Setanta this year and got much further in Europe on merit in the last two seasons.

Any eleven that either club can field is not that far off each other in quality and this shows in the league positions. I would also bet that wage bills are not too far apart either. In fact, our team was weaker last year when we nearly won a double and far weaker again when we nearly beat bohs to the title in 2009.

Add the head to head record of MON vs Cook to the mix and the hypothesis looks even less watertight.

We have also lost a number of very key players this year for varying lengths of time and have played an unholy amount of congested matches. That's not an excuse, just a fact.

The simple fact is that both are good managers with their own faults. Weirdly enough what I don't like about MON is what cook has in spades: namely lack of caution but that is also Cooks failing in certain ways, especially In Europe which is a big part of a top LOI managers brief given the lack of money in domestic prizes compared to Europe.

This doesn't mean you won't win the title this year (I consider you favourites now) but none of the evidence backs up the assessment of both managers to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

S.R.F.C. wrote: »
    Boez celebrations were good craic

You better believe it. ;)

The view from The Square last night....

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/707/bohssoviet.jpg/

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

You better believe it. ;)

The view from The Square last night....

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/707/bohssoviet.jpg/
    Heh, I made that :p Seems to be getting around

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Team came out far too relaxed second half and some bizzare calls by MO'N, still in our hands. Boez celebrations were good craic, amazing that the highlight of their season is getting a draw in Tallaght.

Absolutely quality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

BOHtox wrote: »

Is that rovers fans standing in the next section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Is that rovers fans standing in the next section?

No, they were standing Bohs supporters who weren't singing. Beyond them was our sitting supporters.

I can only imagine the noise if you'd won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

stovelid wrote: »
    I would also bet that wage bills are not too far apart either.
    I reckon theres a huge gulf there. I know what some of our players are being payed and its nothing you wouldn't earn in McDonalds..

We had to let a couple of players out on loan to afford 300 per week for another signing. Thats not screaming big budget to me.
    stovelid wrote: »
    Cooks failing in certain ways, especially In Europe which is a big part of a top LOI managers brief given the lack of money in domestic prizes compared to Europe.
    We fucked up big time in Europe two years ago, though our team at the time was poor anyway. Not so this year, that Poltava side are very strong and would have comfortably beaten any LOI side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Boez celebrations were good craic, amazing that the highlight of their season is getting a draw in Tallaght.

Tallaght is a hole for atmosphere, you can hear nothing with the open ends.

Bohs celebration??? Were you not in the Shed when you equalised late? Now that was an over celebration, swear you had won the league.

Of course Bohs fans would go nuts, 1st point in Tallaght and the posibility of stopping you winning the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

AGC wrote: »

Bohs celebration??? Were you not in the Shed when you equalised late? Now that was an over celebration, swear you had won the league.

Of course Bohs fans would go nuts, 1st point in Tallaght and the posibility of stopping you winning the league.

I suppose the major difference would be that the rovers equalizer was the last kick(head) of the game when it looked like there was absolutely no hope of getting anything out of the game.

Anywho, it's a bullshit argument. It'll be a sad day for football if you don't celebrate with gusto after scoring an equalizer or winner against your biggest rival whatever the minute.

AGC wrote: »

And Dalyer isn't?

That said, having just over 600 at games these days can't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Good man Michael O'Neill, bottler of the highest order, hope to god he stays at Shams next year.

unledeez.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

He is absolutely killing our club in fairness lads. I mean closing in on defending our league title, a run in the Europa league, he is a poison and has to go!!!