Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIVELINE Thread - (05/10/11 to 14/02/2012)

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

More misery. Ah jaysus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Joe is joining in with his own offer ....

SELL YOUR BROTHER FOR A FIVER ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Joe is so caught up in his own enthusiasm for Fiver Friday right now that I reckon if someone phoned up and plugged their own shop for 30 seconds before announcing that they will be selling Bic biros for a fiver, he'd be congratulating them and saying Well Done for a while before someone gave him a dig.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,055 ✭✭✭✭neris

Why do culchie aul ones use "the" infront of everything. The nursing. The alzheimers. The blood

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

After several days of chat at last Duffy manages to get someone on who might be offering help to those with a family member with Alzheimers. There should be more of this.

neris wrote: »
    Why do culchie aul ones use "the" infront of everything. The nursing. The alzheimers. The blood

"The" Lebanon is another one that I don't get.

And its used as much by Moore St hags as it is by culchie aul ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Ah now we get down to it. She is putting two topics together, the cuts and the, er, whats it called? Oh yeah, Azheimers.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭stevensi

I suffer with Alzihmers but thanks be to jesus i don't have alzimers!

neris wrote: »

Its just an Irish colloquialism, part of what sets us apart from others. Nothing wrong with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

bijapos wrote: »
    After several days of chat at last Duffy manages to get someone on who might be offering help to those with a family member with Alzheimers. There should be more of this.

Joe will soon get bored.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭massiveattack

Id give you a belt too if you were my son

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Lapin wrote: »
    "The" Lebanon is another one that I don't get.

And its used as much by Moore St hags as it is by culchie aul ones.

John Delaney on Ian Demspey breakfast show this morning kept referring to "the Ukraine" when speaking about the euro championship, they are on in Poland and Ukraine, not THE Ukraine :mad:!!!!

15 minutes on Alzheimers = 5 posts on the thread.

15 minutes on Fiver Friday = 5 pages on the thread.

okay Joe I have a better offer....

400,000/52 weeks = 7692 Euros / 5 "working" days = 1538 Euros per Liveline...

So Joe if you could forgo the other 1533 Euros, and do Friday's show for a five that would be "wonderful, wonderful, well done, well done"..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,121 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Tears, I dont even have the energy or interest to write BING.......

Disgrace joe, disgrace terrible joe terrible

I'm kinda lost now.

Whats she saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Joe was reading this thread again earlier (he more or less referred to it).

Then he thought to himself

"I know what will shut those smart-arses up - Alzheimers! Fantastic!! "

I'm kinda lost now.

Whats she saying?

Her brothers and sisters were dicks and didnt look after her dad

• Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

10 minutes of crying now

Skid wrote: »
    "I know what will shut those smart-arses up - Alzheimers! Fantastic!! "

It will take more than memory loss to shut us lot up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I have yet to hear a trailer for Mooney which made me interested in any topic on his show.

county wrote: »
    10 minutes of crying now

My heart goes out to her, but as I said before on the old Liveline thread, People in such distress should seek professionals to council them through their troubles.
    Joe is not qualified to deal with it (although he has excellent backup). This woman's problems shouldn't be used to boost ratings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Joe was reading this thread again earlier (he more or less referred to it).

he did? I'm zoning in and out today...the fiver friday and alzheimers thing is a real turn off, sorry to say.

okay Joe I have a better offer....

390,000/40 weeks = 9750 Euros / 5 "working" days = 1950 Euros per Liveline...

So Joe if you could forgo the other 1533 Euros, and do Friday's show for a five that would be "wonderful, wonderful, well done, well done"..

Fixed that for ya. Joe took 6 weeks holidays this summer alone, plus Easter, Christmas and the odd mid term.

Wertz wrote: »
    he did? I'm zoning in and out today...the fiver friday and alzheimers thing is a real turn off, sorry to say.

There's no way I could sit through that Friday Fiver plugfest if I wasn't logged on here !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I have yet to hear a trailer for Mooney which made me interested in any topic on his show.

Thats how I usually feel, but Apollo 13 I am interested in.

syklops wrote: »
    Thats how I usually feel, but Apollo 13 I am interested in.

Me too...god I hope he covers it early.

What country is the eiffel tower in? really?

[edit] I don't think I'm going to make it... urge to kill radio...rising...

bijapos wrote: »
    Fixed that for ya. Joe took 6 weeks holidays this summer alone, plus Easter, Christmas and the odd mid term.

well done well done.. Funny Friday is a great idea, but I hate the way that Joe seems to be allowing only callers that append a little compliment for himself on the air..

Funny Friday is a great idea,

Wash your mouth out.