Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIVELINE Thread - (05/10/11 to 14/02/2012)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

are most Gardai not happy to retire at 50?
    I was speaking to a German police man during the summer and they cannot retire until they are 60.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

What else does he bring to the area... usually a property portfolio, and a bag of donuts..

I think its more true to say that there is more petty crime in towns where there is a Garda station than in rural ares

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

you,d think it was the northern territory of australia they were discussing , this country is full of small towns with stations which are only open for a few days each week anyway , theese small towns are usually only three or four mile from larger towns so if you need a guard , its merley a case of waiting another five mins for the cops to arrive , as for this nonesense about needing a local copper to integrate themselves within the community , guards are not parish priests , only in a darby o gill movie , do they call round on thier bikes asking mrs o brien whether her cat is stuck up a tree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Big gennie might be a useful addition to anyone's home this christmas, especially if your home has wheels on...
    Just sayin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

irishh_bob wrote: »
    you,d think it was the northern territory of australia they were discussing , this country is full of small towns with stations which are only open for a few days each week anyway , theese small towns are usually only three or four mile from larger towns so if you need a guard , its merley a case of waiting another five mins for the cops to arrive , as for this nonesense about needing a local copper to integrate themselves within the community , guards are not parish priests , only in a darby o gill movie , do they call round on thier bikes asking mrs o brien whether her cat is stuck up a tree

I think you dont know what your talking about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Christ, this is one hell of a boring Liveline.

syklops wrote: »
    I think you dont know what your talking about.

i think your post lacks detail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Glad this one's uncle was ok but you have to wonder what real use is ringing you to see if you are ok when there is a robber actually inside your house!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,055 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ah fupin dumb damo today. Wats tge burning issues today?

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭kitsy13

what was that 1850 715 815

To be fair irish bob, even in an arguably less rural area like louth, within easy reach of Dublin criminals there are only a limited number of patrol cars for a very wide area that're not covered by manned stations... these c*nts are doing their break ins and getting out on the motorway again before gardaí arrive on the scene.

F*ck off Fergal...repak, another useless quango hanging on the tit of small business.

Wonder would that goat be so enthusiastic if he was on the way to the slaughter house.

Lapin wrote: »
    Christ, this is one hell of a boring Liveline.

...and it just moved down a quantum.
    Gok Wan is on line 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

National Costumes.

Get off the radio.

neris wrote: »
    Wonder would that goat be so enthusiastic if he was on the way to the slaughter house.

The cow sounds very refined !

Wertz wrote: »
    To be fair irish bob, even in an arguably less rural area like louth, within easy reach of Dublin criminals there are only a limited number of patrol cars for a very wide area that're not covered by manned stations... these c*nts are doing their break ins and getting out on the motorway again before gardaí arrive on the scene.

F*ck off Fergal...repak, another useless quango hanging on the tit of small business.

let them take a pay cut then if they dont have the resources to keep stations open in every one horse town , the country is in rescession ffs , cuts have to be made

The quest to find our National Costume. :rolleyes:

Has the Mooney Show started early today ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Jay Pee

An aran jumper of course

And the point of this csll is? Traditional costume is trackie, hoodie and nike air max

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭scargill

is this for real? Would you ever get back to work ffs !!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

National costume....from what I see

6a0120a65f3bd1970c01347fd02f7e970c-800wi

Only on a day when the 'Omen Filter' is in effect would that last call get on air.

She should go in the nip.

Because we have feckall in this country anyway.

Her Portugese hosts will understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Damien O reily has to be the most boring host of live line. Bring back Derek the finest davies.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

Damo having his 'Lambo' moment.

A call about Lambs - we're not on Ballyer FM anymore.

Its Radio Omen all day .

irishh_bob wrote: »
    let them take a pay cut then if they dont have the resources to keep stations open in every one horse town , the country is in rescession ffs , cuts have to be made

Listen I agree 100% with you, but even you can see that in times like these, crime will rise and especially in areas where the chances of being caught plummet due to lack of local officers... people at the very least deserve some protection from these vultures. Individual gardaí can't opt for a paycut...it's down to unions. Stuff like reservists are objected to by same unions...neighbourhood watch is grand and all but it's no deterrent to burglars and opportunists.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Damo: "Sure they were going to be slaughtered anyway" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭kitsy13

Wertz wrote: »
    Listen I agree 100% with you, but even you can see that in times like these, crime will rise and especially in areas where the chances of being caught plummet due to lack of local officers... people at the very least deserve some protection from these vultures. Individual gardaí can't opt for a paycut...it's down to unions. Stuff like reservists are objected to by same unions...neighbourhood watch is grand and all but it's no deterrent to burglars and opportunists.

Gardai cant be in a union