Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIVELINE Thread - (05/10/11 to 14/02/2012)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

"they buy into the whole mythology of it..."

Like religion??

• Registered Users Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

"Mr Owen, Mr Owen, what's that big shiny orange disc in the sky???"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

The Living Daylights ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

sudzs wrote: »
    Crayons... big stubby ones! ;)

Notes for the next book:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

They're all living in a different world Joe...

A bit like yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

"The Timothy Dalton one starts in North Korea"

No, The Living Daylights started off in Gibraltar, and License to Kill started off in the Florida Keys.

Die Another Day with Pierce Brosnan started off in North Korea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

okay Joe, we get the idea.. The Koreans, a great bunch of (oppressed) lads... can we move on to something else?

I've had enough of these Travelling Matt Fraggle types..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

I think this guy was in Malaysia....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

okay Joe, we get the idea.. The Koreans, a great bunch of (oppressed) lads... can we move on to something else?

I've had enough of these Travelling Matt Fraggle types..

Nice post number! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

"The hotel was great it was like the twin towers"

A smoky smouldering pile of rubble?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭scargill

he asks him - "so what about religion".

None, Joe, none - they revere Kim Jong Il like a god.

"So they are brainwashed ??!" - says Joe.

Yes Joe - in the same way Catholicism has brainwashed you.

I'll just leave this here....
    6a00d8341bf89d53ef01156fc7dd2f970c-pi.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Aha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha its NOT that funny Joe. get a life

I smashed tiles and Ryan Tubridy :) .... is a lovely man .. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Pity he didn't give Tubbers a smack or Gaybo for that matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

God he is so ignorant laughing at this guy for breaking his hand,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Poor North Koreans having to listen to his accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

So right from N Korea to the LLS and Dublin FM... ho ho ho. Great craic altogether. Dyanowhaoimean?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

So he said he met Tubbs, but was on with Gaybo... :confused:

I give up! Til tomorrow lads!

I hope Joe's brother releases a book to retort what Joe said about him in "Just Joe"...

He could call it "Just a load of old b*ll*x"

Joe is going to devote a whole programme tomorrow to vanity publishing??? :eek: Jaysus help us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 mazdaghd

Just to defend myself, I was the girl in North Korea. I was just giving information from what I experienced and what I was informed from my tour guide. I never claimed to be an expert. I was laughing at a funny story. I know people are starving there and that its a terrible situation for all the citizens of that country. I have a picture here of how far away I was from the public of the country. This is why i said they were far away and small. It is a fact that they are smaller than south koreans I though this was also an interesting fact. The three in the front of the photo are in my group. The others are the North Koreans.59023397a9515876541l.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

Mazdaghd, this is a very irreverent thread, so please don't take it personally or too seriously!! Nothing or nobody is sacred here!

And you must admit, the 'small and faraway' bit had immediate connotations of Father Ted, however true it was (as in your photo).

And the remark about laughing at a funny anecdote when people are starving - I can just picture some self-important little uniform jumping to direct a single car across eererily empty wide streets and junctions! Haha! It is funny, godammit. We just like being contrary! Good for you for braving the lions' dens - as in Lavelahnn and the gallery here!

(This has to be my favourite thread on all Boards.)

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

I never claimed to be an expert.

That's the thing that I think people were decrying.

You're not an expert, and have ony been to North Korea once, so what on earth possessed them to put you on national radio to talk about this subject?

Ha right I think I get this thread now. People are ripping the piss out of live line not the guest. :)
    I totally agree some1 who studied the country would have been better to talk on the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

mazdaghd wrote: »
    Ha right I think I get this thread now. People are ripping the piss out of live line not the guest. :)
    I totally agree some1 who studied the country would have been better to talk on the subject.

Fair enough!

While we have you here, did they ring you, or did you ring them?

They rang me. They had me on file from before. That guy Martin, was that his name he was on some show with me before talking on the subject. They must have had us both on file. We must be on some 2fm database tagged under North Korea or something of the like.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

The good news is it seems Joes book is now available in your local bargain basement, maybe by the time the cold snap hits it'll be down to €1 and will make handy firelighters.

Dec182011003.jpg

They rang me. They had me on file from before. That guy Martin, was that his name he was on some show with me before talking on the subject. They must have had us both on file. We must be on some 2fm database tagged under North Korea or something of the like.

So much for the callers dictating the show's content. This is yet another example of Joe indulging his own personal idiosyncrasies today. It makes me even more suspicious that those people who called the show last week to voice their anger at the property tax and possibly organise a mass non-payment were given very short shrift by the Liveline production team, under orders from Joe "the socialist" Duffy.

Hey, did anybody notice that Duffy was very reluctant to directly criticise Kim Jong Il.. And then it hit me.. They are actually kindred spirits

A man who hypocritically broadcasts socialist propaganda in North Korea.

propaganda_kimjong.jpg

A man who hypocritically broadcasts socialist propaganda in Ireland.

propaganda_joeduffy.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

They rang me.

Welcome to the way things are done by Liveline Mazdaghd.

Most of us regulars here on this tread are accused of stirring the sh1t by our reactions to what we listen to around lunchtime every day.

But then, no other programme will gauge the feedback of on a daily basis like Liveline does. This thread is proof of that.

It is evident that the production team, research team and presentation team (esp Joe) on Liveline have their own agendas.

This would appear obvious by the way you told us how his team contacted you rather than the other way round.

Most of the people on this thread love Joe. (Just see the comments when he's not there).

Liveline wouldn't be the same without him. But he knows, and all of us here know that anyone paid over €400,000 from you and me should be open to any form of scrutiny.