Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIVELINE Thread - (05/10/11 to 14/02/2012)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

jaysus, I have re-written this post numerous times now due to its sensitivity of it.

Suicide again, now with a medical card slant.

Caller, don't blame the government, blame the HSE. They are who decide that frontline services get cut while consultants and managers remain on the gravy train.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

of course joe knows aqua. fine dinning in there for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

**** you Joe with your fake sighing. You don't give a **** what happened to this man's family, you are just thinking about ratings and advertising. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Why do they continue to let grieving parents on the air? Because its ratings gold, that's why. Disgusting.

smoked salmon socialists???

• Registered Users Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

I feel for this man...he is still in shock and Duffy should not have put him on the radio...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,998 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I can understand why the caller is looking for someone to blame, but this shouldn't be getting air time, surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭nosey guy

Radio porn...please someone ring in and tear duffy a new one for this ,he is part of the problem here..the man shouldnt be on air!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

"There's no backup services"

To be fair, this girl seems to not exactly have planned things out herself.. She had two kids within a year with a man she is no longer with.. From what this man has said, I'm pretty sure she was getting benefits from the State... If there was an issue with the medication, then they needed to buy it themselves until the issue was sorted...

A lot of people on benefits seem to blame the State for everything, while doing nothing to help themselves..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

neris wrote: »
    here we go again . blame blame blame. the banks, teh developers, the politicians, the neighbours, everyone but me
    The man is in grief. Cut him some slack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Why didn't the dad pay for her meds while she was waiting on her medical card?

I would have given anything to have known the state my brother was in before he killed himself (he told no-one) and I would have spent any amount of money to help him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

i`m gonna be blunt here but your man seems to be blaming everyone else for this terrible situation,maybe he could have done more himself!

"The HSE is adamant that there isnt a problem"

Who is the leader of the HSE? Who is the guy in charge? Answer: No-one.

A committee is a collection of people who individually can do nothing but collectively can decide nothing can be done. The HSE fits this description perfectly.

I want to discover who makes these statements in the HSE. I want to know their name, I want to know their face and then I want them to resign.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

neris wrote: »
    smoked salmon socialists???

joe wont like that seeing he is one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

To be fair, this girl seems to not exactly have planned things out herself.. She had two kids within a year with a man she is no longer with.. From what this man has said, I'm pretty sure she was getting benefits from the State... If there was an issue with the medication, then they needed to buy it themselves until the issue was sorted...

A lot of people on benefits seem to blame the State for everything, while doing nothing to help themselves..

A welfare state creates a culture of helplessness amongst it subscribers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

We get it, you think all working class folk are 'feckless'.

Where did he say "all working class folk". He is just commenting on this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

What is working class and who said she was?

Yakuza wrote: »
    The man is in grief. Cut him some slack.

Precisely why duffy shouldnt have him on the air.

I have no credit here..SOMEONE call in please .

Listen to the questions the moron is asking him..are the kids orphaned ???

WTF..

If i ever meet joe duffy ,sweet jebus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

county wrote: »
    i`m gonna be blunt here but your man seems to be blaming everyone else for this terrible situation,maybe he could have done more himself!

Jesus thats harsh

county wrote: »
    joe wont like that seeing he is one

think hes more champagne and caviar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

nosey guy wrote: »
    Utter nonsense, You can blame all the people you want ,you shouldnt be on the radio. Your daughter killed herself. Her responsability.

Duffy is a total disgrace putting this man on air.

you miss the point , the HSE is meant to provide services for people who are ill , the truth of the matter is that the HSE merley pays lip service to the needs of ill people , ive seen it myself with relatives who have a son - brother with severe psychological problems

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

She was eligible for the medical card but she didn't reapply for it, is that right?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Spudmonkey wrote: »
    What is working class and who said she was?

He has 'history' with these type of views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Dear Joe duffy..

You have reached a new low bringing this obviously still grieving man on the radio and asking the most insensitive questions about both his daughters suicide and the gaurdianship of his grandkids to make some point about the issuing of medical cards.

You are a disgrace

cordially

Jaysoose.

syklops wrote: »
    "The HSE is adamant that there isnt a problem"

Who is the leader of the HSE? Who is the guy in charge? Answer: No-one.

A committee is a collection of people who individually can do nothing but collectively can decide nothing can be done. The HSE fits this description perfectly.

I want to discover who makes these statements in the HSE. I want to know their name, I want to know their face and then I want them to resign.

some fella called cathal mcgee I think. he was up in front of one of those useless dail comittes this morning and from what i heard on the news he doesnt even seem to know whats going on in the hse

Who is going to point out that joe duffy is benefiting here from the misery of grieiving parents.

That was deidre,sweet lord.This is utter nonsense.The girl drove into the sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I certainly have a history of complaining about the Government's counter productive levels of social welfare and benefits... But how you can call this an attack on the working classes (given that people on benefits arent working) is beyond me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

the HSE lack of commitment to the area of mental health is a real issue and while every suicide case is different , if this case further highlights the shortcomings of policy in this area , that is a good thing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

I didn't get that from his post at all. You categorized her.