Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christening gifts

Options
  • 06-10-2011 11:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

Hey,

My newly arrived niece will be being Christened at the start of November. Its my first time being an uncle, I've absolutely no experience with kids and have also been made godfather. Help!

The Christening will be in the UK, but I was wondering if anyone could recommend places in Dublin for getting baby gifts? The only baby shops I know seem to be for more "practical" baby gifts, and I was hoping to get something for her a little more sentimental (and expensive) then another babygro/dress.

Has anyone even got any ideas of what sort of present a Godfather usually gives? My brother and his wife, and I, aren't the types who'd usually go for something overly traditional like a Christening spoon, and think I'd rather have something nice for her when she grows up a bit, rather than something that will be thrown in the attic after a few months!

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Comments

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

open a bank account for him and put in a 5 or 10 a month if you can afford it or put in a few quid for special occasions.
    I have 2 daughters so they got jewelery as their lasting presents.
    You could ask the parents what they need for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PerryRoko

Thanks! Already tried that, asked my bro what to do and got the very polite answer of taking the time off and expense to travel to the UK for it was present enough!