Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

but saying that all the other farmers in the country should get no sfp! come on now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

BeeDI wrote: »
    Whelan, I doubt very much if you really appreciate the amount of rain that falls on in the west compared to the east. It is absolute night and day.

Look at the official rainfall map from Met Eireann.
    The lighter the colour the less amount of rainfall anually.
    Where do you fit in?

climate_rainfallmap.gif

That map shows bits of Kerry & West Cork and bits of Galway / Mayo getting the most rain? Sure twould surely be a sin to give all ALL the SFP to ALL lads west of the Shannon... Sure some of them might only be getting the same rain as lads in Wexford.

No, No - I think we should give it ALL to the poor devils living in these "black spots"
    ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

not getting into the whole sfp stuff, but iv not had 3 dry days in a row in the west of mayo since june, and a dry week since april, impossible to spray rushes among other things, def the worst ever year i remember, a lot of cattle already inside, iv a friend in wexford, its a completely different world for such a small country,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Whelan, I doubt very much if you really appreciate the amount of rain that falls on in the west compared to the east. It is absolute night and day.
    I have family in Dublin and lived there for 8 years. Different cliamate completely.
    In the west ............ we don't do tillage, because we can't. It's just not possible with weather and ground conditions.

Look at the official rainfall map from Met Eireann.
    The lighter the colour the less amount of rainfall anually.
    Where do you fit in?

climate_rainfallmap.gif

Since when is the level of SFP linked to the level of annual rainfall?? By that logic some of the drier areas in Spain France etc wouldn't get a penny and some of their farmers are working in far worse conditions than a lot of farmers west of the shannon

What a load of rubbish. We all have to farm to the same rules and regulations and at the end of the day the SFP is compensation for complying to those rules and the extra financial cost that brings.

getting back to the weather, my hands are really badly cracked again from the coldness is there a cream apart from nuetrogena that ye use?

whelan1 wrote: »
    getting back to the weather, my hands are really badly cracked again from the coldness is there a cream apart from nuetrogena that ye use?

Ah for God's sake Whelan - this is the farming forum not the ladies forum;):D

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Ah for God's sake Whelan - this is the farming forum not the ladies forum;):D
    :D thanks for your help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Vaseline . A fella working with me gets cracked hands in this weather too he swears that vaseline is better then than any hand cream

:D thanks for your help

Love helping the ladies:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

[Mod note: we're not allowed to give medical advice here]

Only Joking. :D:D:D:D

The old cure for for cracked hands was to rub goose grease into them several times a day. Later cures were lanolin. I remember my grandmother rubbing lanolin on exema that I had on my arm as a gossoon!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Savlon Barrier cream is great stuff. (I'm told!)

Rough hands can be very hard on silk underwear and the likes:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

christ lads, next thing we will be discussing back waxing and male face masks:D haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Being serious, there is a BIG case to be made, for having ALL, CAP money from Europe, paid to farmers west of the Shannon and the north west in general..

Never been to Cavan so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭cjpm

My mother used to always wear gloves milking with a tiny bit of talc in them to keep them dry. You could try wearing nitrile gloves doing some work. They'd keep your hands that tiny bit warmer and out of the worst of the cold in the wind.

cjpm wrote: »
    My mother used to always wear gloves milking with a tiny bit of talc in them to keep them dry. You could try wearing nitrile gloves doing some work. They'd keep your hands that tiny bit warmer and out of the worst of the cold in the wind.
    thanks but gloves when milking drive me mental, getting stuck in the cluster etc...i do wear them around the yard sometimes and they do make a difference

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

coopers dairy onitment for the hands,nothing like it!
    nitrile gloves for silage work,thats what causes my cracked hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭what happen

thanks but gloves when milking drive me mental, getting stuck in the cluster etc...i do wear them around the yard sometimes and they do make a difference
    get elcon cream for hacked or cracked hands its pom get it from the doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Silcocks Base. Available in all chemists. Great for the kids too (2 with excema(?)). Just wash your hands with it and a good dollop at night and rub in. Using it with years to prevent cracking and infections in my hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

I have no idea, but I heard lesser men say that the Norwegian hand cream is the best, one small application does the trick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭dar31

nitrle gloves for milking, can be reused a fair few times.
    and wear these http://www.jbsgroup.ie/catalog/mapa-ultrane-551polyamide-knitted-gloves-p-253.html?osCsid=udk4gg3vktouca62o8rktdf271 gloves out around the yard, dirt cheap, so keep a good few pairs going through the wash

the tips of my fingers split open in the winter, get so bad at times i cant get my hands into my pockets, tried a load of creams to no avail, so just use gloves all the time now

anyways:) heavy rain forecast for tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

[MOD] A few posts have been deleted, as some contained undiplomatic language, and the others were responses.

Folks, this is a DISCUSSION forum; you are more than welcome to DISCUSS things, especially things you may feel strongly about, but you MUST do so in a polite and respectful manner.
    Getting personal or resorting to foul language is neither polite nor respectful.

No-one has been infracted or sanctioned in any way, but further outbursts will be dealt with more robustly. [/MOD]

Tomorrow??? We have floods today. Last of the cows went onto the slats this morning. The poor girls were ploughing to their bellies in muck and the calves were standing under the bushes this afternoon with humps on their backs. They were delighted to see the shed. Have lots of grass -which I didn't have a month ago. Growing season is gone crazy! If we get some dry cold weather in the next week or two I might let out the autumn calvers to eat it. Calves will be much healthier outside. It'll save silage too.
    anyways:) heavy rain forecast for tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Weather so far this month here, hope this works...
    Monthly Climatological Summary for Oct 2011

Temperature (°C), Rain (mm), Wind Speed (km/h)

Heat  Cool        Avg
        Mean                              Deg   Deg         Wind                 Dom
    Day Temp  High   Time   Low    Time   Days  Days  Rain  Speed High   Time    Dir
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     1  13.7  15.4   21:13  12.3   08:02   4.6   0.0  11.2   2.6  25.7   21:11    NE
     2  15.7  19.0   17:09  14.2   04:16   2.6   0.0   1.4   9.8  24.1   09:02   SSW
     3  13.8  19.0   13:08   7.8   23:57   4.5   0.0   0.0  14.3  45.1   13:46    SW
     4  10.8  14.1   23:33   6.8   03:03   7.5   0.0   0.0  14.1  35.4   23:55    SW
     5  13.8  17.9   14:26   8.8   23:03   4.5   0.0   2.6  21.1  45.1   11:08   WSW
     6   8.5  11.2   14:21   5.8   07:03   9.8   0.0   1.0  21.1  66.0   16:18   WNW
     7   9.6  12.8   14:58   7.6   22:28   8.2   0.0   0.0  16.7  41.8   11:26    NW
     8  12.7  16.8   14:40   7.7   00:00   5.3   0.0   0.0  12.8  38.6   22:09     W
     9  15.3  17.1   10:38  14.2   02:41   2.9   0.0   0.0  17.6  43.5   23:14     W
    10  15.2  15.8   06:28  14.3   01:21   3.1   0.0   0.0  20.6  53.1   00:48     W
    11  14.9  16.5   14:32  13.3   22:59   3.3   0.0   1.0  14.6  45.1   01:50     W
    12  14.2  18.5   13:36  11.8   23:31   4.1   0.0   0.0  10.1  25.7   07:26     W
    13  13.2  17.9   15:16  11.1   05:11   5.1   0.0   0.0   5.1  27.4   20:50   SSW
    14  13.0  14.4   13:25  11.9   00:32   5.1   0.0   2.8  12.8  41.8   10:41     S
    15  12.3  13.4   13:58   9.6   22:34   6.0   0.0   3.0  11.8  40.2   00:12   SSW
    16   9.7  13.7   14:21   7.3   03:03   8.6   0.0   0.2  12.2  35.4   23:58    SW
    17   8.9  12.5   14:10   4.7   23:35   9.4   0.0   2.4  20.4  64.4   14:19    SW
    18   6.3  10.3   15:37   3.8   06:22  12.0   0.0   1.0  14.7  48.3   15:54     W
    19   5.5   9.3   14:53   3.4   04:53  12.8   0.0   0.0  10.4  41.8   13:18    NW
    20   7.1  10.7   15:11   3.1   03:51  11.1   0.0   1.8  12.1  33.8   21:48    SW
    21  10.8  13.0   14:23   9.5   00:00   7.5   0.0   0.0  21.1  49.9   22:56   SSW
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
        11.7  19.0     2     3.1    20   138.0   0.0  28.4  14.3  66.0     6     WSW

Max >=  27.0:  0
    Max <=   0.0:  0
    Min <=   0.0:  0
    Min <= -18.0:  0
    Max Rain: 11.2 on day 1
    Days of Rain: 11 (> 0.2 mm)  5 (> 2.0 mm)  0 (> 20.0 mm)
    Heat Base: 18.3  Cool Base: 18.3  Method: Integration

:D:D:D What weather station did that come from?

We had buckets of rain every day this week. That says that we had feck all :D:D:D`

Min wrote: »
    Weather so far this month here, hope this works...
    Monthly Climatological Summary for Oct 2011

Temperature (&#176;C), Rain (mm), Wind Speed (km/h)

Heat  Cool        Avg
        Mean                              Deg   Deg         Wind                 Dom
    Day Temp  High   Time   Low    Time   Days  Days  Rain  Speed High   Time    Dir
     1  13.7  15.4   21:13  12.3   08:02   4.6   0.0  11.2   2.6  25.7   21:11    NE
     2  15.7  19.0   17:09  14.2   04:16   2.6   0.0   1.4   9.8  24.1   09:02   SSW
     3  13.8  19.0   13:08   7.8   23:57   4.5   0.0   0.0  14.3  45.1   13:46    SW
     4  10.8  14.1   23:33   6.8   03:03   7.5   0.0   0.0  14.1  35.4   23:55    SW
     5  13.8  17.9   14:26   8.8   23:03   4.5   0.0   2.6  21.1  45.1   11:08   WSW
     6   8.5  11.2   14:21   5.8   07:03   9.8   0.0   1.0  21.1  66.0   16:18   WNW
     7   9.6  12.8   14:58   7.6   22:28   8.2   0.0   0.0  16.7  41.8   11:26    NW
     8  12.7  16.8   14:40   7.7   00:00   5.3   0.0   0.0  12.8  38.6   22:09     W
     9  15.3  17.1   10:38  14.2   02:41   2.9   0.0   0.0  17.6  43.5   23:14     W
    10  15.2  15.8   06:28  14.3   01:21   3.1   0.0   0.0  20.6  53.1   00:48     W
    11  14.9  16.5   14:32  13.3   22:59   3.3   0.0   1.0  14.6  45.1   01:50     W
    12  14.2  18.5   13:36  11.8   23:31   4.1   0.0   0.0  10.1  25.7   07:26     W
    13  13.2  17.9   15:16  11.1   05:11   5.1   0.0   0.0   5.1  27.4   20:50   SSW
    14  13.0  14.4   13:25  11.9   00:32   5.1   0.0   2.8  12.8  41.8   10:41     S
    15  12.3  13.4   13:58   9.6   22:34   6.0   0.0   3.0  11.8  40.2   00:12   SSW
    16   9.7  13.7   14:21   7.3   03:03   8.6   0.0   0.2  12.2  35.4   23:58    SW
    17   8.9  12.5   14:10   4.7   23:35   9.4   0.0   2.4  20.4  64.4   14:19    SW
    18   6.3  10.3   15:37   3.8   06:22  12.0   0.0   1.0  14.7  48.3   15:54     W
    19   5.5   9.3   14:53   3.4   04:53  12.8   0.0   0.0  10.4  41.8   13:18    NW
    20   7.1  10.7   15:11   3.1   03:51  11.1   0.0   1.8  12.1  33.8   21:48    SW
    21  10.8  13.0   14:23   9.5   00:00   7.5   0.0   0.0  21.1  49.9   22:56   SSW
        11.7  19.0     2     3.1    20   138.0   0.0  28.4  14.3  66.0     6     WSW

Max >=  27.0:  0
    Max <=   0.0:  0
    Min <=   0.0:  0
    Min <= -18.0:  0
    Max Rain: 11.2 on day 1
    Days of Rain: 11 (> 0.2 mm)  5 (> 2.0 mm)  0 (> 20.0 mm)
    Heat Base: 18.3  Cool Base: 18.3  Method: Integration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

must be in the sunny south east:D

reilig wrote: »
    :D:D:D What weather station did that come from?

We had buckets of rain every day this week. That says that we had feck all :D:D:D`

My own one, bought one recently, decided it would be useful for the farm and my own obsession with the weather.
    http://www.kilkennymet.com/

I'm in an area of Kilkenny that is classified as mountain under the disadvantaged area scheme.

The last real heavy rain was on the 30th of September with over 40mm of rain.

We have been relatively lucky so far this year with rainfall. I think that is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

70 mm of rain and strong winds forecast for the midwest over the 48 hours :(:(

That's actually cool. Does it feed automatically to the website?

What sort of money did it set you back?

My own one, bought one recently, decided it would be useful for the farm and my own obsession with the weather.
    http://www.kilkennymet.com/

I'm in an area of Kilkenny that is classified as mountain under the disadvantaged area scheme.

The last real heavy rain was on the 30th of September with over 40mm of rain.

We have been relatively lucky so far this year with rainfall. I think that is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

another wet week, cows ploughin the place up now, may shortly house them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I think the ground here is finally saturated today. Pools of water all over the place. Floods on the way I think:(

Crazy rain here all day..
    Pools of water round the yard everywhere :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 733 ✭✭✭jeff greene

bbam wrote: »
    Crazy rain here all day..
    Pools of water round the yard everywhere :(

Same here, I want to cry. Next week is the same I hear:(

Funny thing is my weather station reported 3 meters of rain last night. Now it really feels like that, need to check it out, probably spiders!
    Days like that I'd love to have all stock in just to make it handy, will leave them out to Hoover up the last of the grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

heavy rain for 24 hrs now,things change fast at this time of year,will be happy to get next week out of it and stock in.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭moll3

buckets here today as well some spots half way up d wellies (size 12):mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭charityboy

a lot of rain east of the shannon today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭case 5150

still raining everywher flooded nw. hate to have maize to get ou, sum hardship now for maize growers left ta cut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,481 ✭✭✭MfMan

case 5150 wrote: »
    still raining everywher flooded nw. hate to have maize to get ou, sum hardship now for maize growers left ta cut

WE

Even worse for potato growers. Know one grower who has a teleporter and a hi-mac in the field pulling the varvester and trailers along.

Radio presenter today said up between '20-30 kilometers' of rain possible in places - sure feels like that!

reilig wrote: »
    That's actually cool. Does it feed automatically to the website?

What sort of money did it set you back?

Yeah it sends the information automatically. I have a computer running to keep it updated but you can spend a bit more and have the information sent to a router and uploaded that way.

I got a Davis vantage pro 2, they are expensive but are the most accurate for the amount you pay.

I consdiered it an early Christmas present to myself :pac:

I got it here, you can see the price, not cheap... http://www.weathershop.co.uk/shop/brands/davis-instruments.html

some floods here today!

You probably needed an ark going by the news.

t'was a bit wet here today, alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

just home after taking more than 4 hours to get home from work in Dublin. What a F*****g evening.
    Glad I got my hedges cut before all this rain. Tractor wont be travelling on it for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Dundrum shopping center under water. what will all the yummy mummys do now? :D

some floods here today!

bloody rain...:mad:
    our sewage system flooded tonight and tripped out..
    wont know till the morning how bad it is...

we have a river going through our land , it was unreal, cows where out during the day and they go over the bridge to come in , the water was the height of the bridge

no bridge over ours, went from 3 inch to over 2.5 foot in a few hours.
    chanced crossing with the quad, could feel it drifting side ways down river.
    really should have gone back for tractor

dar31 wrote: »
    no bridge over ours, went from 3 inch to over 2.5 foot in a few hours.
    chanced crossing with the quad, could feel it drifting side ways down river.
    really should have gone back for tractor
    no quad here, and cows where on a go slow coming in yesterday evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

Lads and lassies, in the east of the country, what you are seeing now, is what we see here in the west all the time. If ye, got this sh1t, at the rate we get it, ye wouldn't have a hope. Ye were reared soft:p