Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aviva Stadium Entrance Enforcement

• 09-10-2011 9:30am
    Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭

I bought tickets for the match on Tuesday. I've discovered I'm supposed to go to the red bath ave entrance. We're arriving by dart so the walk around is going to be 2 km (seriously), not fun with two small kids. How enforced is the correct entrance rule? According to this page http://www.garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=5959 strictly enforced but we're only 1 turnstile off the purple entrance, is there discretion given?

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Oddjob

Get off the dart at Grand Canal and it's about 500 yards to the Bath Ave entrance.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,125 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

The correct entrance rule is 100% enforced. Don't bother going to a different entrance than your ticket states, you'll be just be turned away.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭maclek

Ok, thanks for the update. I suspected as much.

How do you reckon it is only 500 yards from Grand Canal? Can you cut through past the gasworks building and on to bath ave place or do you have to go down upper grand canal st?

Either way it still seems shorter and should avoid some of the crowds.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

maclek wrote: »
    Ok, thanks for the update. I suspected as much.

How do you reckon it is only 500 yards from Grand Canal? Can you cut through past the gasworks building and on to bath ave place or do you have to go down upper grand canal st?

Either way it still seems shorter and should avoid some of the crowds.

Grand Canal is the one it recommends to get off at. A good bit shorter. Follow the crowds and will be grand.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

maclek wrote: »
    Can you cut through past the gasworks building and on to bath ave place or do you have to go down upper grand canal st?

I'm almost certain you can cut through the Gasworks.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 10,349 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

You can cut through the Gasworks but you must pay a €10 toll to each resident you meet........

• Registered Users Posts: 78,431 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Note that Grand Canal Dock station is often closed after games / events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

The daft entrance rules are enforced without question by the orange-bib mong-nazis.

First game we went to there I had to bring my 75 year old arthritic dad on a jaunt around the entire stadium to get from one side to the other of the railway crossing at the old south terrace end. From where we were stopped the entrance was less than 200m away.

Be warned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Oddjob

Victor wrote: »
    Note that Grand Canal Dock station is often closed after games / events.

He mentioned arriving, please stay on topic

• Registered Users Posts: 24,510 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Oddjob wrote: »
    He mentioned arriving, please stay on topic

who made you mod?

it's a valid and useful point to make as it would be likely he'll be leaving from the same station he arrived at...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Gee Bag wrote: »
    The daft entrance rules are enforced without question by the orange-bib mong-nazis.

First game we went to there I had to bring my 75 year old arthritic dad on a jaunt around the entire stadium to get from one side to the other of the railway crossing at the old south terrace end. From where we were stopped the entrance was less than 200m away.

Be warned!

If one of the 'Orange-Bib Mong Nazis' (as you so nicely called them) were to make an exception for you then they'd also have to make an exception, at all the various access points, to everybody that arrived with any sort of excuse with the potential for chaos. In that case there might as well be no systems in place.

If on the other hand you read your ticket/website/newspapers then you'd know which way to go to gain access thereby making life easier for both yourself and the aforementioned 'Nazis'

If he had have left people through on that occasion then they will come back that way again next week and try the same thing again. It's the old " ah sure they'll let us through that way anyway.." syndrome. I'm willing to bet that on subsequent visits you went the right way!!

Those rules are put in place by the Fire Officers and Gardai BTW. The 'Nazis' are only there to enforce them. It's a well known phenomenon that most people will try to exit a venue (particularly one that they're not familiar with) by the way that they came in. In the event of an emergency, which will already be chaotic, this will only add to the chaos.

(BTW, No, I'm not one of the Orange Bib Mong Nazis that you mentioned - just somebody that understands why these things are in place.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

Was the first big game there, I didn't really care about myself having to walk, but I was pissed off that the auld fella was made go on a pointless hike around the stadium.

A bit of cop on never goes astray.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭D

Gee Bag wrote: »
    A bit of cop on never goes astray.
    You are right.
    I am sure that you have learned from your mistake and that next time you are escorting an elderly person you will make sure that you have the details right so as to avoid any hassle to the person you are escorting.