Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Scumbags let off Scot Free -Daily Grind here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Oh, it turns out other people can somehow misunderstand the incredibly simple. Live and learn.

I'd rather not argue with a satirical cartoon character, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

It was fear not compassion that invoked a plea for leniency. The only thing they would learn from this would be that they can get away with it, and that is the message that will be given to that side of society throughout Limerick.

It was a criminal case, not a civil one - so the case was brought against the perpetrators by the state, not the victim. It was up to the judge, and they made a bad decision. The way the man's plea for leneinecy was perceived by the judge just confirms how out of touch most judges seem to be.

There's a big elephant in the room wrt the Irish legal system. A nasty one that goes around ****ting everywhere. It isn't just in the legal system it is this society in general - but it's only really in the legal system that people seem so intent on not acknowledging it for what it is: The establishment and the scumbags do what they like while everybody else just hopes not to get crapped on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Again, here:

What's obvious is that you should be allowed leave your purse exactly where you want, it doesn't excuse someone breaking into your car to get it.
    You're just going around in circles here. Trying to tell me that I meant something other than what I said, It's time wasting and boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Leftist wrote: »
    You're just going around in circles here. Trying to tell me that I meant something other than what I said, It's time wasting and boring.

This is what your position is at present:

Situation 1: Victim behaves in reasonable manner, criminal commits crime, victim should modify behaviour/shares blame (robbery from car)

Situation 2: Victim behaves in reasonable manner, criminal commits crime, victim should not modify behaviour/does not share blame (rape)

That might look consistent to you, but I suspect other readers can see that there a slight difference in there.

I'm sure it's time wasting and boring for you to have your theories exploded on a forum, but it makes for a good laugh for the rest of us.

old hippy wrote: »
    I'd rather not argue with a satirical cartoon character, thanks.
    Based on your ability to misunderstand posts, I don't blame you. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Based on your ability to misunderstand posts, I don't blame you. :)

Oh, the irony using that moniker :D

This is what your position is at present:

Situation 1: Victim behaves in reasonable manner, criminal commits crime, victim should modify behaviour/shares blame (robbery from car)

Situation 2: Victim behaves in reasonable manner, criminal commits crime, victim should not modify behaviour/does not share blame (rape)

Shares blame thing again. Unbelievable. :confused:

I'm not familiar with this gentleman, he's got learning struggles or something?
    I don't want to be offending anyone here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

listermint wrote: »
    THIS is the horrifically battered face of a grandfather who was viciously assaulted by two men as sixty teenagers watched.

I think I need glasses. For a second, I thought it said sexy teenagers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

In my eyes any person who hurts an elderly person is the lowest of the low, right down there with anyone who hurts a child.

I would question the mentality of people who do something like this to an elderly man but....
    But many of their parents refused to allow the children to speak to gardai or identify the culprits who attacked Mr Leech outside the community centre in Athea, Co Limerick.

....this says it all.

Lets not do the old generalising trick though. My Gran is from an area not too far from Athea and she and the others I know from there are the kindest most decent people you could me.

Shares blame thing again. Unbelievable. :confused:

And here, for the third time, is where you suggest that the victim is to blame:
    They never just break up cars for no reason. That's more for stupid kids. So you shouldn't be leaving purses in sight. In the middle of north dublin city. bit obv really.

Will I post it for you again? Will it help you with your learning struggles? :pac:

And here, for the third time, is where you suggest that the victim is to blame:

Will I post it for you again? Will it help you with your learning struggles? :pac:
    Mate, come on seriously drop the pedantic act. It doesn't suggest you are to blame if you are robbed, it's basic common sense. Why would you have to spend money on security systems? to protect yourself, is it your fault that you have to protect yourself? it's basic common sense.

This is where I differentiate theft from assualt.

As do the courts.

Please pal? try to understand I'm not asking for an apology.

Yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I find this thread incredible .

We have people making excuses for people who commit crimes , saying that they are only doing it because they are hard up , or on drugs or whatever.

I am sorry if this makes me sound like a ' hang them high ' person , but it is never acceptable to beat the cr*p out of someone ( of any age ) . Those tow should have ended in prison. To me it seems like fear that the victim pleaded for a light sentence . As for the families that decided that silence is a reasonable option , sorry it's not .

Now as for other ' discussions ' going on here .

of course robbery / breaking into someones property ( a car ) is not equal to rape. BUT , remember this , a victim of any crime is exactly that A VICTIM.

Someone who is mugged may never be the same again , we should not make light of these crimes.

We should have a reasonable expectation that we can walk the streets, park our cars etc and not be molested . Just because you are on drugs/poor , that is not an excuse to commit crimes .

Mate, come on seriously drop the pedantic act. It doesn't suggest you are to blame if you are robbed, it's basic common sense. Why would you have to spend money on security systems? to protect yourself, is it your fault that you have to protect yourself? it's basic common sense.
    You are attempting to shift the blame from the criminal to the victim. There's nothing pedantic about pointing that out. It's a slight problem with your purported world view. If you don't like having that inconsistency, it's up to you to address it.

As do the courts.
    The courts make no such distinction. They don't let you off a robbery because the homeowner left a door unlocked.

Yet.
    Uh...what?

Davidth88 wrote: »
    of course robbery / breaking into someones property ( a car ) is not equal to rape. BUT , remember this , a victim of any crime is exactly that A VICTIM.
    As a point of information, nobody claimed that the crimes were equivalent. Certain old hippies and leftists may have tried to pretend that someone had done so in an effort to muddy the water. This is what we call a straw man.

You are attempting to shift the blame from the criminal to the victim. There's nothing pedantic about pointing that out. It's a slight problem with your purported world view. If you don't like having that inconsistency, it's up to you to address it.

The courts make no such distinction. They don't let you off a robbery because the homeowner left a door unlocked.

Uh...what?
    Wrong wrong wrong.

Since when did anyone say the courts let people off for theft. Or that they blame the victim.

Repeat the same thing again, go on....

Strawman. Sad to see. :(

Wrong wrong wrong.

Since when did anyone say the courts let people off for theft. Or that they blame the victim.

What distinction were you referring to? Your posts are very high in 'wrong wrong wrong' and 'wow bizarre and cheap' but very low in actual intelligent content. You seem to prefer to throw your arms in the air and weep rather than address people's points.

As in this post - if I was speaking about the wrong distinction, why do you not clarify what the right one was?

If this isn't very good trolling, it's absolutely hilarious serious posting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Indeed. How will that judge feel if the next time they attack someone the end up maiming or killing them?

We need a far less liberal ideals centered justice system. Build more prisons and load the ****ers up. The vast majority of these guys are beyond rehabilitation so we're spending millions pissing against the wind with the current manner in which things are run.

Lock them up and keep them away from decent people.

Here is another example of how fooked up our judges and judicial system really is.
    Two people are dead becuase of it.

gerard barry from Galway killed two innocent young people because our judiciary, who sees themselves above and immune from the financial troubles in this country, decided that he should be allowed walk the streets.

barry's history...and the list of judicial cockups.

In the summer of 1996, barry was ringleader of a gang of four who set upon a stag party in Eyre Square, resulting in the death of 26-year-old Colm Phelan from Tipperary, who died after being struck on the head with a bottle.
    17-year-old Barry was only found guilty of violent disorder in the killing of Colm Phelan, despite originally being charged with manslaughter. He was sentenced to five years, but served just two.

Earlier in the same year in which he was involved in the killing of Colm Phelan, barry had been sentenced to 18 months in prison for malicious damage. Had he served his full sentence, or even close to it, the Tipperary man would be alive today.

And, if he had not been granted bail, in accordance with Garda recommendations, for the assault of his partner in 2007, Manuela Riedo would be alive today.
    At that stage due the clothes he was wearing on the night he was chief suspect in the horrific rape of a French student.

barry strangled Ms Riedo after raping her on an isolated pedestrian walkway known as close to the Lough Atalia area of Galway city on October 8, 2007.

barry was sentenced to life imprisonment for her murder. Life in this country meaning an average of 14 years.
    He also received two five-year sentences for stealing her camera and a mobile phone – to run alongside his life sentence. But not one extra day for her rape. This was the justice system’s full might borne down on a man capable of the most awful of crimes.

Later Justice Paul Carney imposed a further two life sentences on him for the rape of a French woman – a crime he committed just seven weeks before he murdered Manuela – the system finally attempted to make amends for its past failures.

But in another damning indictment of our law – the sentences will again run concurrently – alongside his life sentence for Manuela’s murder.

Ladys and gentlemen this guy could be out in 14 odd years.

Sadly there are not enough Padraig Nallys in this country and there are too many judges who need to be made responsible for their inactions or rather pathetic actions.

I just hope the judges responsible for barry been given bail get to die a slow and painful death because they deserve nothing more.
    Two defenseless victims were sent to their early deaths because of them.

I am not allowed discuss …

Davidth88 wrote: »
    I find this thread incredible .

We have people making excuses for people who commit crimes , saying that they are only doing it because they are hard up , or on drugs or whatever.

I am sorry if this makes me sound like a ' hang them high ' person , but it is never acceptable to beat the cr*p out of someone ( of any age ) . Those tow should have ended in prison. To me it seems like fear that the victim pleaded for a light sentence . As for the families that decided that silence is a reasonable option , sorry it's not .

Now as for other ' discussions ' going on here .

Someone who is mugged may never be the same again , we should not make light of these crimes.

We should have a reasonable expectation that we can walk the streets, park our cars etc and not be molested . Just because you are on drugs/poor , that is not an excuse to commit crimes .

Yes but people are attacked and purses are stolen (oh no!).

So what do you do about it?

Hysterics aside the victim is of course not to blame.

But in a high crime area, would you flaunt your purse? seriously? or would you be more careful with detachable assets?

Bingo.

There you go.

Clarity. Such clarity.

It's called preventitive measures, and is recommended by law enforcement. :cool:

What distinction were you referring to? Your posts are very high in 'wrong wrong wrong' and 'wow bizarre and cheap' but very low in actual intelligent content. You seem to prefer to throw your arms in the air and weep rather than address people's points.

As in this post - if I was speaking about the wrong distinction, why do you not clarify what the right one was?

This guy :D

Like the cleaning of a house, it never ends.

Yeah alright pal, the victims are scum. People who get mugged get what they deserve, happy now? rejoice, for you have WON THE DAY.

But in a high crime area, would you flaunt your purse? seriously? or would you be more careful with detachable assets?
    There's a difference between 'flaunting your purse' and having your purse inside a locked car, or in a moving car with you sitting beside it.

This guy :D

Like the cleaning of a house, it never ends.

Yeah alright pal, the victims are scum. People who get mugged get what they deserve, happy now? rejoice, for you have WON THE DAY.

And once again you dodge all the questions. I'm sure nobody is noticing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

that's how what goes? you have personal experience with this kind of situation do you?

and it's limerick city that has a reputation, this is limerick county, but sure let's just make assumptions all over the place shall we.

It happens quite a lot. Report the wrong crowd and they'll be back with bricks through your window, slashed tires, threats, more beatings. I've seen it around my area a lot, my neighbor suffered awful abuse after reporting a scum family and was driven out of her home with her kids.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

jmayo wrote: »
    *snip*
    gerard barry stuff
    *snip*

Yeah, i remember seeing a documentary about this recently and i was literally sickened by how it was handled by the judges all the way through. It is as if the judiciary are actively fighting against both victims and gardai in this country.

Manuela Riedos parents were eternally greatful to the police in this country but simply couldn't understand how this man was walking the streets in the first place. They were completely failed by the courts in this country and the useless liberal judges involved have blood on their hands because of it.

But at least Gerard Barry isn't too badly discommoded by all this and he'll be out again in a few years. I'm sure he'll be a model citizen at that stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

biko wrote: »
    They should give Garda free reins for a months to clean up Limerick and Dublin, no questions asked.

Its the judiciary itself, If they actually gave a shít, The Gardaí would be capable of a lot more.

Pyr0 wrote: »
    It happens quite a lot. Report the wrong crowd and they'll be back with bricks through your window, slashed tires, threats, more beatings. I've seen it around my area a lot, my neighbor suffered awful abuse after reporting a scum family and was driven out of her home with her kids.
    I think the 'underprivileged' are overprivileged in many ways. The fact that one family can ruin a whole neighbourhood tells its own story.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Unfortunately I know of those 2 handicaps involved in this case. Jail is too good for them, should be shot many times in a field. No respect for themselves or society and then they get let free.

Irish Justice system at it's best. A fcuking joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Cillian13

I'd love to see him do a Harry Brown on it.

And once again you dodge all the questions. I'm sure nobody is noticing.

Dodging what question. Hit me with it straight.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I think the 'underprivileged' are overprivileged in many ways. The fact that one family can ruin a whole neighbourhood tells its own story.

I've been a victim of a group attack myself in the past year and a bit, found out who the blokes were and realised the danger my family and myself could be in if we reported any of them. The guards knew who they were but couldn't do anything unless I made a statement, we took one of the local guards aside to get his opinion. He admitted it was an awful situation to be put it but agreed it would be wise not to say anything. It's sickening.

Dodging what question. Hit me with it straight.....
    I realise that scrolling back through the thread is very challenging for some, so here it is again.
    What distinction were you referring to?

I realise that scrolling back through the thread is very challenging for some, so here it is again.
    I said spill it out pal.

Restart, refresh.

Put the question in plain english, that sentence is completely out of context now.

...waiting....

I said spill it out pal.

Restart, refresh.

Put the question in plain english, that sentence is completely out of context now.

...waiting....

You realise that you can click on the little arrows and it takes you to the post in question, right? :confused:

Whoa, seem to be hiding something here are't we.

Lay out the questions like a nice quilt, and I will answer if it is coherant.

Whoa, seem to be hiding something here are't we.

Lay out the questions like a nice quilt, and I will answer if it is coherant.

Haha - ok, you got me. Epic trolling. :)

Where's the question, how hard is it to write it out?

Seems like you've backed yourself into a corner.

No other reason for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

This case is unbelievable.

To everybody arguing.....Wrong.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

biko wrote: »
    They should give Garda free reins for a months to clean up Limerick and Dublin, no questions asked.

preferably resulting in multiple scumbag deaths and kneecappings..
    being all nice and sympathetic just doesn't seem to be working..

I'm just curious to see how you can string this out longer - here's the question, in context, seeing as clicking the little arrows proved too hard for you. :pac:

As do the courts.

Yet.

Wrong wrong wrong.

This is where I differentiate theft from assualt. As do the courts.

What distinction were you referring to?

What distinction was I referring to with what? the rest of your post doesn't explain anything it's just hurtful insults.

Reconfigure your sentence, I'm up to my eyes here can't be back and twoing over some nonsense that makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

listermint wrote: »
    As you can see from the photos in the article the little runts obviously dont give a flying f*

That little scumbag sticking up his finger.... He deserves to have it snapped off him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Pyr0 wrote: »

There are areas in Limerick where you can't call the Gardai or you'll get burnt out of your house. Actually, you'd be lucky if they do arrive ("we don't call down for domestic disturbances" to quote one Garda)

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    There are areas in Limerick where you can't call the Gardai or you'll get burnt out of your house. Actually, you'd be lucky if they do arrive ("we don't call down for domestic disturbances" to quote one Garda)

What would be the solution to this?

Let the garda free reign to club them to death or hospital?

Can see that working alright. Marginalising communities in a society to the point where they are routinely and officially physically assaulted by state security forces, yeah, sounds like it could work long term.

Or.

Why are these communities like this? what causes them to behave like this and is there anything that can be done in future to prevent it?

Would avoiding ghettoising low income families work?

No of course not.

Even though that's exactly what they are doing by moving away from creating new, large sprawling council estates and are placing social housing in small sections within regular housing estates.

Kaiser, he's trolling. He doesn't have time to answer any questions from me, but has time to answer you. Don't get sucked in - he's pretty good! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Kaiser, he's trolling. He doesn't have time to answer any questions from me, but has time to answer you. Don't get sucked in - he's pretty good! :)

The name's a bit of a giveaway.
    Might as well call himself 'Bleeding Heart Liberal' or 'Liberal Douchebag'

There is absolutely nothing wrong with what I posted.

Read it over.

Genuinely if you think that is trolling then I am flabbergasted.

Mounty pal, still waiting on that question.

Why are these communities like this?

Because they are allowed to be. Why would you bother going out and working for a living and obeying the law when you can be a worthless layabout who the state pays to do nothing other than commit crimes that you won't be prosecuted properly for?

Hell, you'll even get people who support your right to be a scumbag because you're "disadvantaged".

What would be the solution to this?

Let the garda free reign to club them to death or hospital?

Can see that working alright. Marginalising communities in a society to the point where they are routinely and officially physically assaulted by state security forces, yeah, sounds like it could work long term.

Or.

Why are these communities like this? what causes them to behave like this and is there anything that can be done in future to prevent it?

Would avoiding ghettoising low income families work?

No of course not.

Even though that's exactly what they are doing by moving away from creating new, large sprawling council estates and are placing social housing in small sections within regular housing estates.
    --Kaiser-- wrote: »
    The name's a bit of a giveaway.
    Might as well call himself 'Bleeding Heart Liberal' or 'Liberal Douchebag'

This is bleeding heart liberal?? Jesus. Is this stormfront forums?

If you think that is bleeding heart is says a lot about you.

Hell, you'll even get people who support your right to be a scumbag because you're "disadvantaged".

Prepare to be trolled, Micky...

Getting really boring now Monty. You cornered yourself, but keep telling yourself it's only a trick.

He hasn't really. You've just displayed the usual sickening leftie nonsense that has our society in the horrible state it is in now.