Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlady keeping deposit and not sure of my rights

Options
  • 13-10-2011 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

I am looking for some advice with regards to getting my deposit back and have been left really confused by all the information out there and the various people I have spoken to.

I have been renting an apartment since 20th March 2008. On the 1st October this year I gave 1 month’s notice to my landlady over the phone as that is how we have always communicated and stated I would pay the balance between the 20th October and the 1st November, and she has accepted this and agreed to my moving out. She did however object to my giving my notice on a day other than the day the rent comes out which is the 20th of the month and initially said that we would lose half our deposit because of this. Obviously I wasn’t happy about this as I have never heard of you giving your notice on rent day before and decided to look into this. Since then I have come across this Residential Tenancies Act 2004 legislation and I have found that because I lived in the apartment for over 3 years I am meant to give 8 weeks notice although I had never in my life heard of this either, so I feel like I’m not protected in any way whatsoever right now. In my initial lease which was for 6 months it stated that after the six month’s -“In the absence of any formal agreement to continue after the term, the tenancy will continue as a periodic month-to-month under the original terms and conditions of the Agreement.” Which is what I had always believed would be the case as this is what was said in my