Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plan of Attack !!

• 13-10-2011 9:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭

Hey folks

Think its time to put my goals out there for all to see. I know if I write it out and monitor my targets I can achieve them as I am better focused.

Story so far is was very active as a teenager and was always super fit, involved in soccer,rugby and anything else that kept me fit. got badly injured and over years through driving, working and just being lazy piled on the pounds. Saying that even at my fittest I was always heavier than I looked as I am quite broad, I am 5ft 8 and now weigh 16.5 stone :eek: which is far too heavy for my height. I have never been one for worrying about weight , I always knew how healthy I was by how I felt but Im now 32 and know my diet and exercise just is not what it should be and I am fed up not doing anything about it. I have not been active for about a year now so I know it will take time and this is my plan.

My goals are as follows:

Drop 4 stone - time limit does not really matter once I do it through eating healthy and exercise, I am due first child in March so would like to drop at least 2 stone before then.

Cycle at least 100kms per week. Living in Wicklow and working in Dublin does not help this but I will try get back to a stage where I can commute the 50k once twice a week like I did before. For now build the legs by getting out 3-4 times a week.

Completely change my eating habits, always eat on the run and 2-3 times a day. Im looking to now eat 5-6 times a day with small healthy portions.

Started on Monday and so far this week I have put up 41k on the bike which is a Specialised Sirrus hybrid ! trips went as follows:

Monday 10km in 37 mins
    Wednes 10km in 30 mins
    Thurs 21km in 58 mins

I know the times aint great compared to you guys but its a start, All them were into good inclines ( benefit of living in Wicklow ) and good headwinds.

Anyway its now down and will try keep you posted as much as I can.
    Tips and advice greatly appreciated, sorry about the long winded post !!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Best of luck with your goals, you've some great cycling terrain around Wicklow which should help. Still relatively new to cycling, but the main thing I reckon is to enjoy your spins, so you're always itching to get out to do the next one. For winter, a bit of warm gear helps, reasonable gloves, overshoes, and beanie for under the helmet. If you don't already have this gear, it seems to be coming up in Aldi quite regularly at knock down prices.

Setting a longer term goal can also help keep you motivated, e.g. Wicklow 100 next year, etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Thanks for the encouragement and wise words. Its a good idea to set a long term target and something I had not thought of. Fair play.

Headed out for a spin this morning and I can only describe it as torture. I got up out of bed early and thought it would be a good idea to go out on an empty stomach so chucked a pint of water down and headed off. Started off like a train and was aware that I probably needed to slow down. 10 k in and I hit a wall. The first 12-15k is all a slow incline nothing too hard but I just did not pace myself. Hit a wall at about 12k and slowed right down but kept going. Just felt like I had no power in my legs all morning. Persisted and got through the 30k but took me 1hr 26 mins far to slow. Feel sore now but delighted I got out and pushed through even if I did nearly come to a stop.

re measured my spins for the week and are as follows

Monday 13km
    Weds 13km
    Thurs 21km
    Sat 30km

Grand total of 77km for my first week on a bike in couple of years !! Amazed at how slow i have become, Im sure weight has lots to do with it.

On a side note found the bike quite uncomfortable today, I know its a hybrid but thought it would have been more than good enough !! should I look at changing already ? was hoping to use it until xmas and pick something up then.

Again all advice and suggestions appreciated !!
    Heres hoping it gets a little easier

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Persisted and got through the 30k but took me 1hr 26 mins far to slow.

I wouldn't worry too much about the times for the first few weeks anyway, focus instead on gradually building up the mileage. Once your legs get used to the workload again you'll then be able to add more speed.
    On a side note found the bike quite uncomfortable today, I know its a hybrid but thought it would have been more than good enough !! should I look at changing already ?

What part was uncomfortable? If it's just your backside, it may be that just the saddle doesn't suit. If it's somewhere else, like shoulders or neck, it may be more to do with bike fit. Lots of things can be tried before you fork out for another bike.

To be honest just found the riding position a little uncomfortable and not having drop bars on it. I have tinkered with the saddle height and angle and it sits right for my height etc but just doesnt seem right. Was getting pins and needles in wrists and toes on that spin the other day yet I dont have lots of pressure on them ??? any ideas ?

I am a little saddle sore but seems to improve everytime I get out on it so will persist with it for a bit longer !! bedding in period I reckon

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

On a side note found the bike quite uncomfortable today, I know its a hybrid but thought it would have been more than good enough !! should I look at changing already ? was hoping to use it until xmas and pick something up then.

Been on a hybrid myself for over a year and found it fine for many miles over many hills. I did however change saddles twice and now have what I find to be superb in terms of creature comfort, ending up with a Brooks flyer which is, as was posted elsewhere on boards, akin to the sofa in your local pub. Chamois cream is also worthwhile if you're feeling a bit sore.

Just bought a second hand road bike myself last week, and had my first ever spin with drop bars on Sunday. While I found it a bit scary going from 32c tyres to 23c, it wasn't the very literal pain in the ass that I was expecting. I had less suspension and padding than I was used to, but this was compensated to some extent by having much more weight on my arms than on the hybrid. I'd say if you're used to drops, and have the option, get a bike with drops. I doubt it will be a silver bullet for your problems, but may be a help. Probably also look at your tyre widths, where wider often equates to comfier, heavier and slower.

one week on and its been a good week overall ! pushing myself a little more every night. I am now down to 16 stone flat, thats 5.5 lbs in one week and its simply down to firstly having it to lose, secondly eating the right foods little and often and finally pushing myself up them bloody hills around wicklow 3-4 days a week. I think my times could still be better but for the minute I just want to put the miles under my belt.

Training for the week went as follows:

Monday 20km - fast pace with lots of hills into a wind, that will do it. Was bloody freezing and first part of my trip was all downhill, couldnt feel my hands by the time I got to the bottom of hill so went hard to try warm up and just kept up the pace. Did it in 52 mins which doesnt sound great but considering the hills and wind I was happy with it.

Wednesday 20km- Went hard again but wasnt as tough a ride so knocked 6 mins off Monday nights time. That said wind wasnt bad but my jaysus it was brass monkeys, think its time to invest in some proper thermal gear.

Thursday 25km- didnt go hard at all last night, just wanted to improve on the distance, took off from wicklow out towards ashford and up towards coynes cross and back then taking in some of the town etc. Was sneaky hilly, thought it was a flat run but having done it there is slow burner hills throughout the route, to finish I hit marlton road out towards beehive and gave it a good lash just to finish on a bit of a heart buster ( for me ).

Total mileage so far this week 65 , Plan on doing 40km on Sunday weather permiting.

This will be second full week back in the saddle and I have to say already noticing the fitness level getting better and the trousers getting looser but more importantly I'm loving it, great to be back cycling. Looking for a new bike at mo so really gonna push hard when I get it and bring my mileage right up, I know the weight isnt going to keep coming off at this rate so program change, more mileage, pushing harder will be the key to reach my target weight !!

Bring on Sunday

Just back from my spin in horrible weather and windy conditions but delighted. I was so determined this week to get over my target of 100km in the week. I wasnt going to make the same mistake today as I did last week so got up early and got a litre of water into me and a bowl of porridge. An hour later I took to the roads, again trying to pace myself a little better than last week and not hit a wall. headed into wicklow town through the town to Rathnew and out to Gleanealy, kept a good steady pace all the way and was happy with how fresh I was feeling. Eating a good breakfast made a huge difference to my energy levels. Anyway went out past Gleanealy and took a left before Rathdrum and looped back around. Have never been up that road before and probably just aswell as I didnt know what to expect, hills lots of hills, nothing to severe in fairness but for my level I found them tough enough !! half way up I was fading and thought maybe I should turn back but I knuckled down and took one hill at a time at no great pace all spinning but was happy to just keep going.

Before I knew it I was on a nice descent and the back of the trip was broke. Amazing the difference in just one week, I flew up all the hills that I struggled with last week and I am still dropping weight easy enough, lets hope that continues !!

By the time I finished back at the house I was soaked to the bone, wife opened door to me and took one look, she must think I am losing the plot ha ha, look like I had been dragged in from sea.

All in all I completed 38km today, nothing to drastic I know but brings my weekly total to 103km which I am happy with.

Plan for next week is more of the same really, eat well, stay focused and get the miles under my arse, will be choosing a new bike this week so I am hoping this will also help my overall comfort and times.

Have a nice 25km spin tomorrow !! hoping the weather picks up

Anybody got any food-dietry plans they use !! I am eating little and ofter but finding it harder to keep variety in it, Appreciate any advice.

Week 3

This week wasnt great to be honest. Had a lot of work on and family stuff so my time was limited.

Monday :15 km cycle and a 5 km run
    Weds: 28km cycle at a good pace and felt very fresh !!
    Friday: 22km cycle again with a lot of sprints in it and pushed myself all the way.

Total for week: 65km cycle - 5km run

Have come down with a flu so did nothing the weekend so far, gonna try get out and do something tomorrow evening, even 30km to get moving again.

Starting weight 16 stone 7 lbs
    Todays weight 15.9 stone
    Total loss :13 lbs not bad for 3 weeks

Another 3 stone and 4lbs to go...long long way

Looking at putting down some more targets ! would like to do 4-5 sportifs next year just looking at the calendar and working out what I can manage !!

Another quick update :

Have had a good week on the bike for a small fat lad this week. I have a total under my belt so far of 97k and will be doing another 50k in the morning. Starting to really feel like I'm getting my fitness back. I have cycled every night since Monday and tonight is my first night off. Body feels good and looking forward to tomorrow.

This week has thrown up some very harsh riding conditions and some serious wind so has been a real test of endurance even though my distance ridden has not been huge its all been tough going and into wind and hills. Feel like I can take on a lot more now than when I started 3-4 weeks ago.

My weight has stayed the same this week at 15st 9lbs but I know for sure I have dropped in inches around my waist and lost body fat overall which I am happy enough with. I guess it is a little optimistic to expect to drop weight every week.

All in all a good week !!
    Plus I finally ordered my new bike !! Yeooowwwww

Week has been:

Monday 22k
    Tuesday 21k
    Weds 31k
    Thurs 23k
    Fri rest
    Sat 50k
    Sun rest

Total for week will be 147k

So went out today with some real cyclists and was brought down to earth with a bang !!

In the end the trip was 63k and I was fine for the first 50k then hit a brick wall. Annoyed again with myself, slept in and was running late so missed my porridge breakfast and only got some water and a cereal bar into me before the cycle. The guys I was with were great they kept me going all the way through and in the end I waved them on for the last 13k. Ended up 4m ins or so back at the finish but all in all delighted to complete that distance and only averaged 22km which needs to be worked on.

The guys kept saying I did great considering they were on road bikes and me on a hybrid but is there really a huge difference, I have road tyres etc on my bike ??

Anyway a good week had bringing my total upto 160k for the week.

I can enjoy my red wine and steak dinner tonight and not feel guilty.

Onwards and Upwards

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭barrmur

Keep up the good work. Just came across this thread and intend to follow how you are getting on. I was out myself this morning at it was very cold across the Sally Gap and even on lower roads. I suppose you could use the cold as a part excuse for a poor performance. I though I was setting decent time but when I looked at my Garmin when I get home it was not as good as I thought.

Thanks Barrmur appreciate the words !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

Good going buachaill ,I was wondering if you have tried any of those gel packs for an energy boost ? I was thinking of buying a few before I start going out again and it might help with the cold aswell.

I'd murder a beverage or wine myself :p

No I haven't tried any yet but will defo be getting some for next week, the short trips I do midweek dont really suffice for them but certainly today I could have done with one !! Ye live and learn.

Enjoying a nice glass of red as we speak, we need to allow ourselves little indulgences as we go, life too short for none at all ha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Don't get disheartened about your spin with a group. If you only had a cereal bar you probably just ran out of energy.

Don't bother with gels, they are overpriced and you only need them for racing/sportives really. Some real foods like bananas, fig rolls or cereal bars (not too dry...) will work well. Or jelly babies for a quick boost.

You're less aerodynamic on a hybrid and it does affect your average speed

chakattack wrote: »
    Don't get disheartened about your spin with a group. If you only had a cereal bar you probably just ran out of energy.

Don't bother with gels, they are overpriced and you only need them for racing/sportives really. Some real foods like bananas, fig rolls or cereal bars (not too dry...) will work well. Or jelly babies for a quick boost.

You're less aerodynamic on a hybrid and it does affect your average speed

Cheers Chakattack

I was foolish to not eat better that morning, just slept in and had no time had fully planned on a good bowl of porridge. I wasn't too disheartened to be fair I know I cannot expect to be up there after just four weeks back in the saddle and other factors like my bike, my weight and obviously not eating certainly wouldnt help. I have been on two spins since and my average speed is slowly rising, sitting in at about 24kph and have more in there so definitely getting there.

Looking forward to dropping a bit more weight and really giving it a go. Still having issues with my saddle and numbness !! the bike is correctly set up i have had it checked, so might just be the saddle, The harder I go the quicker it occurs on the cycles. Might need to change saddle but will wait till I get the new bike and see how the new one feels !!

Thanks Again

I went to my LBS and got great advice about saddles buachaill ,ended up getting a fizik nisene magnese for my hybrid ,will hopefully try it out by the end of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

In my own limited experience, saddles take a while to get used to. Your arse might be ok on the saddle when you're doing 20 to 30k, but when you increase the mileage, it takes a while for the muscles in your arse to get stronger again. By your third or 4th 50k spin, your arse will be in better shape.

I got a new bike 5 weeks ago. I have done 3 long (50k+) spins on it, and it was only the third spin that I felt more comfortable in the saddle. They just take a little while to get used to, but when you go out on the same saddle on a regular basis, you will get used to it.

Thanks Reilig I will persist with it for another little while and see how I feel. I have been out 3-4 times a week for the last 4 weeks and averaged 25k spins just thought it would have been getting easier at this stage

I am now a full 4 weeks into this Training log, 5 Weeks in total or so back on the bike.
    As usual I had my weigh in at 8am this morning like every other Friday. I was delighted with it. Now down to 15st 4lbs. Thats a full 5lb drop in a week. Last week I remained the same was determined to make sure and ate perfectly this week and I know now its the key if I want to achieve my Goals.

Stats so far this week:

Monday 25k 1hr 5 mins Didnt push too hard but wanted to spin a bit more
    Tues Rest
    Wed 31k 1hr 8 mins Burst it as much as I could was good conditions also
    Thurs 25k 1hr flat Didnt go to hard and again conditions were good
    Fri rest
    Sat 32k 1hr 15mins Planned on 50 but didnt have the time, was a nice cycle with a bit of everything
    Sun relaxing game of golf me thinks

Total for week will be 113k ( 47k less than last week )
    Weight Lost - 5lbs less on last week
    Total weight lost to date - 17 lbs

Goal weight : 12.5 stone , 39 lbs to go

I have had another good week and all heading in the right direction, I am kind of expecting hitting a brick wall were its just harder and harder to lose but thank god its still moving nicely. Still feel I should be putting more miles up but have noticed my speed has come up and good bit so I am pleased with that.

Hope weather picks up a little no fun in that rain

Excellent work mate ,the new bike will be well deserved:)

Great work mate. The miles are starting to pay off big time. Great news that the average speed is getting up, that's a real indicator of progress. Don't worry about the rain, "those miles will count double for you". By the time the summer comes around you will be eyeing the Wicklow 200 and the maracycle.

Cheers barrmur, I am very happy with progress but still a long way to go and a lot of work to be done. I am under no illusions. Its easy to burst off out of the traps and then slowly get lazier and take your eye off the ball. I am very determined to try stay on top of it hence writing this blog to keep me focused.

I will be certainly re-assessing my goals after xmas and putting my name in for some runs, Think its vital to keep raising the bar a little, Cant wait for the new bike.

I am also going to look at trading the hybrid for a winter run around, dont want to wreck the new gem over the winter !! A consistent and accurate riding position on both bikes I assume can only help, I cannot get that with the hybrid

Only managed 32k this morning as I was under pressure to get back. I was glad in the end my legs felt tired again. I had a good bowl of porridge before I left the house so was well fed, I decided to head out of Wicklow town up by the golf club and out to Brittas Bay and back down the N11. Was a nice little cycle, roads are not great but hey thats Ireland.
    Took me an 1hr 15mins so wasnt that quick but was a cracking morning for a cycle with some nice little pulls uphill here and there.

weekly update :

Did very little this week, with weather and work just didnt have much time so not a lot to report really.

Monday I did 25k and Wednesday I did 32k in what can only be described as a monsoon. Left the house at 8.00pm and by 8.02 I was saturated and frozen. Persisted on and after about 15 mins even though I was soaked had warmed up a little and actually felt good, I like training in the rain even if it does make it much harder to spot potholes and less visible and dangerous on the road, something refreshing about it all.

anyway ate really well this week, salads, fruit, porridge , fish, water, brown bread, veg etc and to be honest have not felt as good in years makes a serious difference to your day, less tired and up for the day.

That said I still have a long way to go and didnt lose a single pound this week but again noticing it in inches around the waste and face so happy enough, its not all about a weight to me. I know if I feel good in mind and look even a little better I am happy I put in a good honest week. Still would have likened to put in a good hard week on the bike and missed it since Wednesday but more eager now for next week !!

Hope bad winds feck off its nuts down in wicklow the last week

Got your post yesterday morning and it was the kick I needed to get out of bed and go for a spin, cheers. Good to hear that the work is paying off. When the new bike comes along and if you have any cash left you might want to invest in a trainer. I have recently got one and coupled with some "spinervals" DVD's its a great way of getting a workout in without having to leave the house. You can pick up a trainer, training tyre and spare wheel for about €250.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭walsh.peter

hi buachaill,
    Just saw you post and find it great. Allways nice to hear a sucess story. Your are putting in the work and you should feel proud of what you are achieving. I will follow this thread and look forward to hearing how you get on in the future.
    Well done and safe cycling
    Peter

Thanks Peter, I have started well to be fair but thats the easy part. I have done very little again this week because of work but again the key to me remaining as good as possible is my eating. Only back in from a 32k spin and it was last week when I was out and the difference in my legs were crazy. The difference a few days makes is huge so you just cannot afford to take your eye off the ball. I will be making another point to get at least one cycle in every 3 days. its too easy in this weather to kick back and get lazy.

Will still be maintaining over 100k a week but again that really needs to probably rise as my fitness level increases.

Thanks everyone again for all the support, that helps me on the nights I am not so upbeat about the spins for whatever reason.

On a side note, I am finding it much easier staying focused by writing up a note of all my training on this log, I am also writing down everything in a journal of what I eat and times. Its for no reason other than keeping a close eye on things and if I have to write it down I think harder about if I really need to eat it or not, silly I know but works for me

Thanks again

Hey guys, Happy new year to you all

Have been neglecting this log lately due to lots of factors but time to spark this bad boy back up. I have not been keeping as close a log as before xmas but again thats going to change. Work commitments suck.

Anyway just checking back in, collecting new bike this week and still getting in the spins. Will start a fresh on Monday with weigh in, distances and maybe some pics of the new beast.