Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dr Ferrari's Camper Van (off-topic discussion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Enough with the snow already!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Ha, yeah 5:45 sounds about right, maybe +/- 5 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

penguin88 wrote: »
    Was this at about 5.45pm? If so, I saw this too. That pedestrian crossing always seems to have people crossing without any regard for oncoming traffic, even encountered a woman with a buggy crossing one day with both cycle and car traffic heading her way!

I was turning left onto the canal from Harold's Cross Bridge one morning, light had gone green and it's a sharp drop and left hander, so i was holding the bars. Started to turn and this "woman" just started to cross with a pram pushed out in front by her, as I went past she pulled the pram back and shouted:

"Wha, no han' signal?"

I can't remember if there are pedestrian lights there or not, and the "look right" has been pasted over by a poor patch job, but she should probably look before using her pram as a means to test if it's safe to cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

Don't mind cycling in the wind but this blizzard is really taking the p*ss..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

**** it, i'm doing it. Stocking lane here I come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

happytramp wrote: »
    **** it, i'm doing it. Stocking lane here I come.

Well that was grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭furiousox

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Enough with the snow already!!!!

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

skidsagan.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭furiousox

Damn that Sagan, he's a constant reminder of my own lack of finesse! :mad:

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

There was a good ad on telly there from the rsa about how to drive around cyclists. It was very fair, haven't seen it before, mostly about giving cyclists space on the road.

http://www.rsa.ie/RSA/Road-Safety/Campaigns/Current-road-safety-campaigns/Cyclists/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Is this Landsdowne Road?

479945_10200890370638610_1219350801_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

el tel wrote: »
    Is this Landsdowne Road?

Who cares...thanks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,116 ✭✭✭buffalo

The Rose of Tralee has changed since I watched it last...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

AstraMonti wrote: »
    skidsagan.gif

sure all us mtbers could do that ;)

buffalo wrote: »
    The Rose of Tralee has changed since I watched it last...

for the better :D

Snow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

Dónal wrote: »
    Snow!

Been snowing lightly and melting ages but its just started sticking now :eek:

Glad I didnt head out for a spin about an hour ago I'd of been caught in
    that doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Oopsie_cyclinginquisition.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Rofo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Rofo wrote: »
    "Bad news, boss! There's been an error with the machines, we've accidentally created 5,000 black left shoes and 5,000 white right shoes. Will we create 10,000 new matching shoes in the right colours?"

"Nah, fnck it. Just throw them in boxes and call them special editions"

Weather looks relatively ridable today, hopefully I'm not caught in any blizzard! :)

Is it time for a Peter Sagan sub-forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

^whacha get^ ?

Collected her today! Sashay over to Images of beauty to see it!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Is it time for a Peter Sagan sub-forum?

Yes! We need more Sagan pics.

dbc087ef-d8f5-4d16-a026-7d2d9836f166HiRes.JPG

He'd get you pregnant just by looking at you. Even if you're a man.

Yes! We need more Sagan pics.

Take it to the thread Vlad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Brad768

3 days of the panne spoiler
    Wow what a finish! Didn't think Cav was going to have it in him to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Changing brake cables, replacing bar tape and indexing front derailleur is not such a great idea after three pints.

Who knew!

ROK ON wrote: »
    Changing brake cables, replacing bar tape and indexing front derailleur is not such a great idea after three pints.

Who knew!

that sounds like a great idea, make a new racing league where you get sloshed the night before and have to fully assemble your bike while intoxicated, and then race on that bike exactly as you left it the night before, its bloody genius :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,293 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Who knew!

I set fire to a hub once after a few beers, trying to attach the front wheel and lights to the bike.

Drinking + DIY = FUN, if shortlived, times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

that sounds like a great idea, make a new racing league where you get sloshed the night before and have to fully assemble your bike while intoxicated, and then race on that bike exactly as you left it the night before, its bloody genius :D
    Looking at some people's bikes, you'd think this was already going on...

colm_gti wrote: »
    Looking at some people's bikes, you'd think this was already going on...

Oh-you-93067263235.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

CramCycle wrote: »
    I set fire to a hub once after a few beers, trying to attach the front wheel and lights to the bike.

Drinking + DIY = FUN, if shortlived, times
    Fire.
    WTF were you doing with a flame near a wheel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

el tel wrote: »
    Is this Landsdowne Road?

479945_10200890370638610_1219350801_n.jpg

Gaybo Howard is enjoying himself :)

Does Mark Cavendish always have his head wedged up his own arse? Seems so I'll mannered any time I see him on tv :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

Think he's just sick of being asked stupid questions sometimes, plus the guy had just gone flat out for the last couple of km. maybe tired?

Zyzz wrote: »
    Does Mark Cavendish always have his head wedged up his own arse? Seems so I'll mannered any time I see him on tv :/

If you ever see an interview with him outside the race 'bubble', he's entirely different. Very fidgety, quiet-spoken, almost shy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,475 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

more mamil abuse in the indo :D
    http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/health/middleaged-man-in-lycra-cycling-turns-sane-men-vain-29158860.html

wonder when they will put that behind a paywall

Another cycling-related article in the daily rag.
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/drink-drivers-face-alcolocks-in-cars-cyclists-get-onthespot-fines-29160946.html

OTS fines for RLJs, and not before time.

Craig06 wrote: »
    Think he's just sick of being asked stupid questions sometimes, plus the guy had just gone flat out for the last couple of km. maybe tired?

I was thinking that..but then again he's like that even before the race has begun :pac: Could be as buffalo said being in his bubble :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

New bike computer from Pioneer, I see Laurens ten Dam is using/trying it.

Edit: my 1st thought was, does it have built-in speakers :pac:

New bike computer from Pioneer, I see Laurens ten Dam is using/trying it.

Edit: my 1st thought was, does it have built-in speakers :pac:

"but it’ll likely be between $2,000 and $2,500 at retail" well fcuk that, they could have put that at the start of the fecking article before i started getting excited hi :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

^^ oooops sorry bout that :D

Folks, don't blink during this video, you'll miss the action !!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,282 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Folks, don't blink during this video, you'll miss the action !!
    Old news;)

Fire.
    WTF were you doing with a flame near a wheel?

Drinking, I don't think I explained this right :D

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭Piercemeear

Yesterday I was coming up the contraflow lane on Andrew's street in Dublin and I had to swing around a taxi parked in the lane. The taxi driver had just jumped out, walking in front of me looking the other way. I stopped to let him cross. He apologised reflexively and then muttered after me "You're going to wrong way". I then apologised reflexively myself.

Sorry, I just had to write that down somewhere as I keep getting Post Injustice Stress flashes.

Just watching the first 10 minutes of Flight again.

Its exactly the right music just as your coming off a hairy descent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Found a key (a house key, I think) on the cycle track heading out Merrion Rd. today. It had something like "Blackrock Shoe Repairs" engraved on it, but no other identifying marks. There could've been more keys with it, as it was attached to a squashed chain. If it sounds familiar, I dropped it into Blackrock Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,523 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Poster from a Hotel we stopped into yesterday
    20130329_124759_zps7efa467b.jpg