Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else being blocked from Facebook,Hotmail ect in the library?

• 19-10-2011 10:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭

I can usually go on fb and other social networking sites in the library but yesterday I tried to go on them on my laptop and whenever I press the log in button the page never loads! :( I can't even go on gmail to check my ucd mail! What's up with that! I saw loads of other people who could go on facebook, but then I saw a few had problems like and could not login, I have tried other web browsers..... Anyone know whats wrong??

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Yeah gmail being blocked is ridiculous. It's not just in the library either. I couldn't even check my UCD mail on one of the suas computers a few minutes ago. Don't really care about going on facebook not being able to check college emails is really crap.

I heard librocop hacked into the admin pc and messed with the firewall settings.

Haha, facebook works grand.
    Stupid altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Stasya_x

Can't even check my UCD mail in the library..Hotmail wont work either..facebook is fine. Its ridiculous though, I could check my mail up until Monday..

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

They should really block facebook on all college computers, would be delighted if they did, but the gmail thing is too far. And you should be allowed waste your own time on your own laptop on facebook if you wish

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭xxpopopxx

It's absolutely ridiculous, what I don't get is how come some can go on and some can't ?? I can't log into any of them, so I'm surprised I could even log on to this. I really hope they fix this soon as it's beginning to annoy me that I can't even check my mail on my own laptop :mad::confused: Ridiculous carry on, well at least I know it's not just me then......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

gypsy_rose wrote: »
    They should really block facebook on all college computers, would be delighted if they did, but the gmail thing is too far. And you should be allowed waste your own time on your own laptop on facebook if you wish

Not in the library if there is demand for laptop spaces, which there usually is mid-semester and coming up to exams.

Would be delighted if they blocked fb altogether. Not being able to access Gmail sounds like it is a system problem as opposed to it being blocked, seeing as UCD email is now using Gmail.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Not in the library if there is demand for laptop spaces, which there usually is mid-semester and coming up to exams.

Would be delighted if they blocked fb altogether. Not being able to access Gmail sounds like it is a system problem as opposed to it being blocked, seeing as UCD email is now using Gmail.
    Many students communicate about their course on fb and share links about the course

tony007 wrote: »
    Many students communicate about their course on fb and share links about the course

And far, far more use it to piss about and waste college resources that others need for actual work.

Anything of immediate importance can be done via email etc. The rest can be perused in their own time.

And far, far more use it to piss about and waste college resources that others need for actual work.

Anything of immediate importance can be done via email etc. The rest can be perused in their own time.
    Not if you want to email the whole class about an issue that you wouldn't want ucdto know about

So Facebook should be allowed so that some people can contact fellow students on matters that they don't want UCD to find out about (despite the fact that the vast majority use fb for frivilous reasons anyway) even though, with even the smallest amount of organisation and cop on, you could organise an emailing list to do this anyway. Right.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,661 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Couldn't get on my ucd email earlier but could get on facebook (in the library)

massive fail

• Registered Users Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

I forward my UCD mail to my regular gmail account so I couldn't access that. The one day I bother to bring my laptop in this starts! I was about to try and access Facebook and gmail over Tor but then I was convinced I'd messed up the proxy settings in firefox and that was the problem.

Blocking FB on the SUAS computers should probably happen but people should have the choice on their own laptops! And blocking gmail is just stupid:mad:

So Facebook should be allowed so that some people can contact fellow students on matters that they don't want UCD to find out about (despite the fact that the vast majority use fb for frivilous reasons anyway) even though, with even the smallest amount of organisation and cop on, you could organise an emailing list to do this anyway. Right.
    How would you do that?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

All of the above sites are worked fine for me in the library today - try joining Eduroam instead of WaveLAN if you haven't already done so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Get off facebook and do some work. Jeez!

I mean if you have nothing to do on the web except go on facebook (or boards.ie for that matter) in the library, then don't go on the web at all. You're just slowing up the WaveLAN for people who need to use the internet for proper study.

The same goes for people at the SUAS computers (oh how my blood boils when I'm waiting to use a computer to print off stuff and there's a clown in front of me wasting vital resources on facebook ... must remain calm ... must remain calm).

In my honest opinion, I think that facebook needs to be blocked from the UCD system between 9am and 5pm.

People sleeping or watching videos at the laptop spaces kills me as well.
    There's a different thread for that though, I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,011 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I doubt there's an actual block: more like the usual WaveLAN traffic problems. It's not going to get any better in the leadup to exams, so use EduRoam if at all possible. If the IT people were going to block a site, it would be YouTube - a traffic hog far worse than any social networking sites.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

How would you do that?

Are you serious?

Edit: I've had a long day, its not nice to be snarky I guess...

Here's one suggestion off the top of my head. Maybe, just maybe, the same people could say on fb 'Hey, seeing as we can't/shouldn't use fb in the library hows about we post up our email addresses so that we could have a mailing list for important information instead.'

Surely you could've come up with that, or a whole host of other ways of obtaining your friends email addresses, yourself though?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

As much as I check fb during the day, I would be in favor of having it blocked along with YouTube. At least in the library which would be easily achievable given the complexity of the IT System in UCD.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Jigglypuff

The fact is, the problem of people hogging the computer for Facebook is mostly limited to the stand up and surf stations.
    You're not going to find many people in the library spending the whole time on facebook, it's usually just for 10 mins while you take a break.
    I needed to access facebook for a group project (we arrange meetings etc) over facebook and I couldn't log in.
    I also couldn't log in to UCD mail, gmail, hotmail, meaning I couldn't access an important report I needed to print that was on my hotmail account.
    Several of my friends experienced this problem as well.
    I flagged this to the guy at the desk, and he said nothing is blocked, and to take it up with ILTG.
    Could someone tell me the password to Eurodam so I can maybe access them through this?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Are ye for real?

students are complaining about facebook access in the library?!?!?!?

How would you survive in the real world where companies block most none work related sites .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jimi_t2

Its got nothing to do with bandwidth being used up or anything of the sort; there's simply some issue with https authentication or routing on the side of the UCD proxy. Gmail, Facebook, 02 webtexts - anything that uses https isn't working. I'm sure they're endeavouring to fix it has pretty serious consequences.

You can still log into facebook if needed by
    1. Going to http://m.facebook.com
    2. Clicking ''alternative login'' (less secure)
    3. When logged in, switch the first bit of the URL from ''m.facebook.com'' to simply ''facebook.com'' to get the non-mobile version of the site.

Unfortunately gMail doesn't offer a non-secure login so you'll just have to wait till its fixed.

----

Not to digress too much, but we're an educational institution - not a business and not a juvenile detention facility - ergo if it's not porn it shouldn't be blocked. Tbh, the majority of the time I see people faffing about in the library the most common sites seem to be asos (women) or fantasy football/rugby (men).

If you block social networking sites then they'll just find something, possibly more bandwidth hungry, to waste their time on. The whole beauty of procrastination is that it can be just about anything.

Indeed, social media sites are of integral benefit to college life. For example, I've three modules this year with no tutorials where the entirety of the discourse goes on in a facebook discussion group set up by the module co-ordinators. Its a de-facto communication and interaction standard in the Academic world, far surpassing Moogle or Blackboard in terms of its universal accessibility and ease of use. Hell, the fact that they have at least halved the amount of flyering around the college for clubnights is noteworthy in and of itself.

GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    Are ye for real?

students are complaining about facebook access in the library?!?!?!?

How would you survive in the real world where companies block most none work related sites .....

Yeah, you're a paragon of virtue yourself
    GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    Im a Team leader on a support desk for a leading retail chain in ireland ...

You realise that all your posts on boards.ie are stamped with the time and date? Just a friendly tip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Jigglypuff wrote: »
    Could someone tell me the password to Eurodam so I can maybe access them through this?

http://www.ucd.ie/itservices/itsupport/eduroam/

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Estragon

jimi_t2 is right about is being a https issue. I have a workaround, though, although I'm only giving it so people can access their GMAIL!

Use Firefox. Go to Options, Network, Configure how Firefox Connects with the internet. Select Manual Proxy.

There is an option to put in the proxy address specifically for https.

In here simply pop; proxy.ucd.ie and use 8485 as the port.

Disco.

Jigglypuff wrote: »
    The fact is, the problem of people hogging the computer for Facebook is mostly limited to the stand up and surf stations.
    You're not going to find many people in the library spending the whole time on facebook, it's usually just for 10 mins while you take a break.
    I needed to access facebook for a group project (we arrange meetings etc) over facebook and I couldn't log in.
    I also couldn't log in to UCD mail, gmail, hotmail, meaning I couldn't access an important report I needed to print that was on my hotmail account.
    Several of my friends experienced this problem as well.
    I flagged this to the guy at the desk, and he said nothing is blocked, and to take it up with ILTG.

Is entirely necessary to use facebook for group projects (etc..). I mean you can use e-mail or ask your lecturer to set up a facility on blackboard to cater for group discussions.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Is entirely necessary to use facebook for group projects (etc..). I mean you can use e-mail or ask your lecturer to set up a facility on blackboard to cater for group discussions.

Facebook is a much better tool in my eyes, as much as I hate it for wasting bandwidth and SUAS computers. Facebook has its merits in college life but I still would like to see it blocked on SUAS computers and library's, even 2 weeks before and during exams.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Facebook is a much better tool in my eyes, as much as I hate it for wasting bandwidth and SUAS computers. Facebook has its merits in college life but I still would like to see it blocked on SUAS computers and library's, even 2 weeks before and during exams.

Well if you're doing a group project online, for instance, facebook isn't really the best tool to use for such things as document transfer, etc.. There are very good facilities out there (some of which are provided by UCD), bar facebook, that can cater for these sort of things. People just need to use their imagination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

was wondering about this myself, couldn't get fb or gmail.

seems a bit weird, why would they bother blocking it?? especially gmail, the engine for college email!! :confused: