Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Most Shocking Film You've Ever Seen?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Gi joe! wrote: »
    Cannibal holocaust - 90 minutes of rape, dismemberment, real animal killing and a terrible soundtrack.

I agree with all that apart from the last point. Riz Ortolanis soundtrack is beautiful in parts, the opening theme especially. Dig this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kf1Vt6r-sj8 SFW

The most shocking film I've ever seen is either The Men Behind The Sun or Philosophy of a Knife - both of which are based on the same horrible real life events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭parrai

seanybiker wrote: »
    That wasn't bad. Thought it was gonna be very gruseome but was let down. :'(

Fair enough, seen it in 86 and was an eye opener for me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The Hostel was pretty rough too - it would put you off back packing in Slovakia;)

It made me want to go there :D..but Im a sick puppy!!!

Stayed here!!

http://www.possonium.sk/en/bar

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

"Valhalla Rising" is also prety messed up in places but is still worth a watch all the same..
    (if you're into mindless Viking violence that is..)

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭pinky 06

Adamantium wrote: »

Also BBC's Threads; a film for the whole family :P

I'm still freaked out by that film!! It's definitely had a lasting effect on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

krudler wrote: »
    one of the funniest films ever made, it is a comedy after all.

If you ever read the book, laughing will be the furthest thing from your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Insurgent wrote: »
    Not really as its a pile of crap!!

The
    male and female genital mutilation
    scenes are pretty shocking though.

That film Grim love about the German lad that ate another German lad's lad is pretty horrible. Not so much shocking, just the whole look and feel of the film would give you the no feeling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

"Teeth".

Never again. Who honestly came up with a plot for that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Seeing Harvey Keitel's langer was hard to take. I've never seen the full uncut version of the nun rape scene. Supposed to be very harrowing. I thought the film had a lot to say about the power of redemption. I thought it was a very religious film, strangely enough.

That's circumcision for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭rednik

Nil by mouth with Ray Winstone. Haven't watched it in years but it is a shocking and very hard to watch movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Super (not super 8 that's shyte) is pretty dam shocking too... takes you by surprise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Unless you find someone's extreme knowledge of the complete works of Genesis and Whitney Houston disturbing! :)

Bateman dismissed Gabriel-era Genesis and only rated them as a band post-Duke (i.e. after 1980).

rednik wrote: »
    Nil by mouth with Ray Winstone. Haven't watched it in years but it is a shocking and very hard to watch movie.

A Classic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The Bad Lieutenant was a weird film, anyone ever see it?
    Maybe I should see it again - saw it long ago, but don't remember it as all that shocking. After seeing loads of films that involve drug addiction, the things people do for drugs don't surprise me any more. (Trainspotting, anyone?)

For sheer OTT gore I have to mention Cold Fish. The shocking part was how casual it all was. The people behind it all seemed so nice, even as they were up to their elbows in someone's carcass. :eek:

But old films can be shocking too, even if they contain no overy violence. Peeping Tom is one, due to its context. Another was The Searchers, with John Wayne, which punctured much of the fantasy that Westerns had enjoyed till then. It wasn't exactly social realism, but it did leave the audience wondering just who was "right" in such situations.

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Sooopie wrote: »
    the whole genre of torture porn sends me running for the hills

and for the likes of von trier, i like his other stuff, but antichrist just sounds way too fcuked up & a try hard attempt at him to be controversial
    Yeah wouldnt be a fan either. When I was younger I was a horror fanatic but its just boring at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Anyone ever see Baise Moi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The Bad Lieutenant was a weird film, anyone ever see it?

brilliant film, really hard to watch aswell.. the not an actual remake remake by Herzog was really good too.

Melion wrote: »

now that is ****ed up... Was reading recently Karen Bach was dead, really surprised me...

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Melion wrote: »

this rings a bell!

i have seen it - those 2 mad birds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull.

They were feckin aliens!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭TheBegotten

Got to say, The Grey Zone did it for me. Not the film in its entirety just one scene when the Sonderkommandos were piling up the bodies and one callously throws the body of a small child onto the pile. It made me think think of how often that would have happened everyday at those camps. :mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

rednik wrote: »

That's a brilliant film. Winstone is a legend.. he's been in some amount of controversial movies. The War Zone is very good too, and just as difficult to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Anyone see Soldier Blue ? A 70s cowboy film with Candice Bergin and Peter Strauss. It was one of the best westerns that I have ever seen. It showed the cruelty inflicted on the Indians. There is a massacre towards the end of the film that is very shocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Got to say, The Grey Zone did it for me. Not the film in its entirety just one scene when the Sonderkommandos were piling up the bodies and one callously throws the body of a small child onto the pile. It made me think think of how often that would have happened everyday at those camps. :mad::(

Grey Zone was an atrocious film. Crap acting, low budget, just a waste of time. I didn't find it shocking for the very reason that it was so poor. Schlinders List, on the other hand, is one of the most moving pieces of cinema ever made.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭caspa307

anyone seen visitor q? http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0290329/ i dunno if its so disturbing that its funny or if its so funny its disturbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭phoenix833

"The Human Centipede" is without doubt the must messed up thing I have ever watched..

The b*astarding thing caught me unawares on the SciFi channel one night and I still feel sick at the thoughts of it...

Well if you didn't like that then you're probably not going to love its sequel...

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1530509/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

If you ever read the book, laughing will be the furthest thing from your mind.

I have, its in places too, but less rats and tubes in the movie, its probably the best adaptation of an unfilmable book to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Gi joe! wrote: »
    Cannibal holocaust - 90 minutes of rape, dismemberment, real animal killing and a terrible soundtrack.

Is it actually any good or just shocking? Quick look at Wikipedia and the concept sounds interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Anyone see Soldier Blue ? A 70s cowboy film with Candice Bergin and Peter Strauss. It was one of the best westerns that I have ever seen. It showed the cruelty inflicted on the Indians. There is a massacre towards the end of the film that is very shocking

I have it on Video Home System.

Scalping!

Candice Bergen = sex p*iss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,616 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Dead Ringers,with Jeremy Irons was bloody shocking in it's day.....probably wouldn't shock anyone nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭Mindkiller

RichieC wrote: »
    Yee should read the book if you think the Film's gorey! :pac:oooooo
    I've read some extracts from that book. If the book is an 8 or 9 in gore content then the movie must be a 3 or 4. Some insanely depraved stuff in that.

I'm going to have to watch A Serbian Film just so I have something to post in these threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Scarlet42

Wolf creek. I had flashbacks for Weeks afterwords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Scarlet42 wrote: »
    Wolf creek. I had flashbacks for Weeks afterwords

Yeah i saw that, apparently its loosely based on true events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

The Human Centipede!!!! Can't wait for the sequel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Sprouts

Bad boy bubby is worse than anything mentioned so far

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

Is it actually any good or just shocking? Quick look at Wikipedia and the concept sounds interesting.

It's not very good no. Honestly I only watched it due to its infamous reputation(being a complete gore hound!). In that regard though it definately lived up to the hype. Especially the scenes involving a tortoise and the burying of a child. Very disturbing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

chucken1 wrote: »
    It made me want to go there :D..but Im a sick puppy!!!

Stayed here!!

http://www.possonium.sk/en/bar

Despite them saying that it was Slovakia, Hostel was actually filmed in the Czech Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

DominoDub wrote: »
    I felt physically sick. It goes way too far.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Despite them saying that it was Slovakia, Hostel was actually filmed in the Czech Republic.

Cesky Krumlov and Prague ;)

I know but it was still a bit funny hostelling in Slovakia.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Last House on the Left
    Is the sickest stomach turning film that fwas ever released.
    It states its a horror its mainly about kidnap rape and murder not nothing like it said.
    a lot of couples left the cinema and three woman walked of the cinema crying because it was that disturbing
    Sickest film ever and i would personal like to smack the director of that film

I felt physically sick. It goes way too far.

I just googled that :eek:

No!!! That sounds way too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

There were two scenes that sickened me in "Casino". The head in the vice scene and the beatings in the corn field were very disturbing, I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Gummo - All sorts of weirdos in that film. One guy pimps out his Downs syndrome wife out.
    Palindromes
    Ichi The Killer - Ultra violence
    Cannibal Hollacaust
    Necromantik - guess, haha, easy one that.
    Dead Man's Shoes - not that shocking but it's some scenes are memorable.
    Kids - A skater kid who just got AIDS goes around de-virginzing young girls.
    Faces Of Death
    Salo - one girl in it gets forced to eat ****.
    Happiness - Dad finds out his sons school friend's parents are away and he goes over to do things. Pretty mental.

Gummo..

Happiness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

The film Big Nothing with Simon Pegg and David Schwimmer is pretty fcuking messed up in parts come to think of it, excellent film though.
    Yeah i saw that, apparently its loosely based on true events.

Quite loosely, mostly based on the Backpacker Murders in New South Wales in late 80's and early 90's. Apart from its setting in the Australian outback and a serial killer there's very little connecting the real events to the film to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I was going to say Dead mans shoes.the rite I found very disturbing.i wanted to walk out it was that bad.untouchable was bad too.gothika freaked me out.

the strangers was disturbing.i remember the whole cinema jumping.not shocking persay though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Requiem for a Dream was a horrible film to watch. Shocking stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Yeah but Dead Man's Shoes is a great film all the same.

Yep ,who said it wasnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

Once We Were Warriors.