Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night Sky

Options
  • 20-10-2011 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭

Ok, so I saw all these orange lights overhead the last few nights. Are they Aliens or Meteors?

Only Kidding...

My question is to do with a telescope. Im brand new to star gazing/astronomy but I have to say the night sky has always facinated me and its about time that I learned more about it and starting exploring it. I'm thinking of getting the Celestron Telescope PS70/700 Refractor out of Argos for 150 euro. Now I know this is a beginners telescope and that suits me fine, but I was wondering as to what exactly I will be able to see in the night sky with a telescope of that ability. Will I be able to see other Galaxy formations? Will I be able to see the different colour dust clouds that exist? How close will the moon appear? Apologies for the basic nature of these questions but I really dont know what to expect. I also bought the magazine "the sky at night" the other day for the first time. Most of the stuff in there is double dutch to me but it was worth buying it for some of the photos they have in there - amazing. Really looking forward to getting into this hobby. Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Hi Thundercat!

A great start is: Boards Astronomy Scope info

Start by asking: "What do I want to look at?"

That'll point you along a scope direction....

Where are you going to be observing from?
    Is light polution an issue??

Do you want to observe or take photgraphs....or both etc.