Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade Talk 24/7/365

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Neo_g2001

Hi All

Sorry if I am off topic but does anyone know of anywhere in Dublin there is a playable arcade Killer instinct 1 machine? Long shot I know!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,937 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I was just coming in here to say theres a lad looking for a Killer Instinct machine in the Dublin board, why do you want to play such an inferior fighting game so badly? ¬_¬

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Neo_g2001

Haha! Blasphemy!

Listen my youth was spent perfecting Street fighter and Mortal Kombat so I am a beat em up junkie! I loved KI when it came out and spent more time than I should have in the local arcade playing it! I have it on the N64 but nothing beats the arcade machine!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

Time for a roll call thread/sticky

This would be cool, to see what cabs we have together. maybe a first post that a mod can edit to include all the photos and we can add to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

Keith I so want to see this kitchen of yours... Mines a disaster. Sega Rally Takes up most of it :)
    At least I sold two cabs, so Kitchen table is back again haha

Tempted buy proper shed and get all machines out of the house and have a proper gamesoom.
    6x4 shed fits more cabs than 5x4 :)
    Kevs%2520ShedCade%25202.PNG

Did whole thing to proper scale.
    *running machines inserted as no Sega Rally Gifs ha

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

The thread is up and the poll is set.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,876 ✭✭✭Steve X2

My Ridge Racer upright is back in action after a year or two(maybe more) of non working(because i was lazy about sending the chassis off) :):):)

Got the repaired chassis from Grant this evening and just got it installed. Thing of beauty it is, even if I now need to adjust all the monitor settings to get it just right.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,934 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Great! You can finally sell it to me now :pac:

I'd say you're chuffed, thats an amazing cab to own.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Great! You can finally sell it to me now :pac:

I'd say you're chuffed, thats an amazing cab to own.

Never gonna sell this baby :D
    Wouldn't be too broken hearted if i had to sell the Point Blank to make a bit of space, but the RRacer, never :)

Steve SI wrote: »
    Never gonna sell this baby :D
    Wouldn't be too broken hearted if i had to sell the Point Blank to make a bit of space, but the RRacer, never :)

1st in line for point blank!
    I had to adjust my dk monitor last night. Its such a pain in the swiss

The Ridge Racer looks tiny next to the Point Blank :)

EQpcpmS.jpg

Edit:

Quick and nasty vid.

Master of the Universe

Why do they always look so much smaller in photos? :eek:

The Aero is a beast. Much bigger than I expected. The back of it isn't flush so it sticks out from the wall a bit more than I'd like.

The monitor is only 26 inches, but it looks much bigger than the other two.

Delivery driver had an absolute fit when he saw them, originally thought it was a fridge. Asked could he take a photo :D

DSC_0977_zpsajzkoara.jpg

The monitor is in great condition, needs a little bit of tweaking but should be grand.

Buttons on the CP all seem fine, but the Player 1 stick is mangled and there's no kick harness either.

Still, absolutely delighted :D

Looks incredible! Wait is killing me :) Franco will sort ya out with a harness fairly quickly. No incidents this time? lol

Master of the Universe

No drops this time! :D

One thing I quite like about it being a bit bigger is that you can fully see the Aero City side art. Would have hated for that to be lost down the side.

Did they say what time yours is due? Would be gas if it was the same delivery man :D

No just rang yesterday saying it'd be today and they'd ring an hour in advance.....still no word! Grats man, looks great, granny would be proud :)!
    I've got a few spare ls-32's that came with the astro's if ya want one to bung in for the moment.

Master of the Universe

Nice one! That'd be really sound of you. I just need the one, player 2 seems fine :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Cab porn. Rapidly becoming my favourite type of porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,027 ✭✭✭Doge

After all the posts here lately i had a dream last night that i had a few arcade machines in the bedroom that i just "forgotten" about!

One must have been bought from keithgeo as it had 3 transformer logos on it in green red and blue.

They were all LCD screens though and would have been more at home in Mame Of Shame thread!

In fact, it was probably more of a nightmare than a dream! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭safetyboy

I have a new cap kit for my egret 2 but am too scared to take the chassis off. How easy is it to discharge the monitor without killing myself?

safetyboy wrote: »
    I have a new cap kit for my egret 2 but am too scared to take the chassis off. How easy is it to discharge the monitor without killing myself?

Vey easy, just take your time and be extra careful and double check everything (1 hand in pocket and all that). My first one was like I was defusing a bomb, the sweat was pouring out of me lol, but once I got it out was wondering what the hell was the big fuss. Just make sure ya have your screwdriver grounded to the frame when ya go to remove the anode cap. If ya get a pop leave it for a few minutes and go again.

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

Vey easy, just take your time and be extra careful and double check everything (1 hand in pocket and all that). My first one was like I was defusing a bomb, the sweat was pouring out of me lol, but once I got it out was wondering what the hell was the big fuss. Just make sure ya have your screwdriver grounded to the frame when ya go to remove the anode cap. If ya get a pop leave it for a few minutes and go again.

Good to know Mozie ... I will reread this thread when u send me that chassis... :)

"like I was defusing a bomb" Scares the ****s out of me :)
    Might let TV repair guy nearby just do it... Ill top up his life assurance first :)

Congrats on new Cabs Mozie and O1s1n. They look fab together O1s1n.

Mine arrived just as I was heading back to work, had to quickly get it in the door and head out, weighs a ton. Few poor phone shots, very clean and looks like a compact astro :) will get her polished up over the weekend and install new buttons joysticks and a few pics.

vOGYHN.jpg
    O5fbGR.jpg
    3ntCpY.jpg

Master of the Universe

Excellent! Great to see it landed safely.

It really does look like the baby compared to the other two. How does it compare weight wise?

Nice to see your marquee light is working by the way, the lamp died in mine after 5 minutes! :( need to pick up some new ones.

It's waaaayyy heavier than the astro's! could fire them around no problem but struggled getting getting the aero in!, ya my light was flickering but I fired a new tube in as i had a few spares for the astros..same tube.. 450/25mm 15w btw. 1p joystick is fecked too but got a few spare so gonna change them later, guess granny was hard on sticks lol

Wow lads. Some serious cabs there between the pair of you. Giving me regrets!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

They look great but.. I'd be a bit annoyed after spending that amount on them to have to change the sticks and buttons as soon as it arrives.

Ya could leave them there I suppose but nothing like a fresh pair of sticks and buttons, great excuse to wear them in ;)

Master of the Universe

They look great but.. I'd be a bit annoyed after spending that amount on them to have to change the sticks and buttons as soon as it arrives.

Ah, it depends really. I'd say if you asked him he's replace the lot, for a price of course. I'd rather do it myself though, it's part of the experience of getting a new cab :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

I would say new sticks and buttons are a given if the last owner was an operator and not a private collector like ourselves.

I say this for a couple of reasons. The operator is there to make money and will run the sh1t of the parts before replacing.

Secondly, the cabs that eventually come in to our possession are often in storage before they reach our shores. Rust can easily set in.

It's an expensive hobby.

Master of the Universe

I think what The Last Bandit means is that if you're spending up to 1k on a cabinet, it would be decent of the person selling it to make sure the sticks and buttons at least function.

I'd agree to a point. I wouldn't expect new sticks and buttons, but sticks and buttons that work should be there at a minimum.

The player 1 stick on my Pony was banjaxed too. This was a cabinet that had been stripped down and resprayed to maximize the resale value. Does seem a bit odd to include a borked stick.